Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Fun Than You Can Possibly Imagine!
I consider myself well schooled in low budget schlock from various film genres. Watching cheesy films is an acquired taste, one not easily cultivated overnight. Even with some knowledge about who makes these types of films under my belt, I still stumble over major contributors to the clunker movie catalogue and wonder why I haven't spent time with these delicacies before...
Published on Nov. 11 2003 by Jeffrey Leach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh the horror, oh the schlock
When was the last time you saw a 2 legged humanoid mutant salmon / coelacanth combo chasing its bikini clad teen-age prey on a boardwalk's merry-go-round? Probably the same time you saw the newly crowned Miss Salmon at the same boardwalk bludgeon another humanoid with a piece of masonry. Yep, toss in the Shatner-esque late model Doug McLure, an evil Vic Morrow, and a...
Published on June 7 2000 by John IV


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Fun Than You Can Possibly Imagine!, Nov. 11 2003
By 
Jeffrey Leach (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
I consider myself well schooled in low budget schlock from various film genres. Watching cheesy films is an acquired taste, one not easily cultivated overnight. Even with some knowledge about who makes these types of films under my belt, I still stumble over major contributors to the clunker movie catalogue and wonder why I haven't spent time with these delicacies before now. Roger Corman is my latest discovery. I admit to having heard of Corman before in reference to the spate of Vincent Price horror classics that emerged in the 1960s along with a few other films he made over the course of his career, but until now I never saw any of them. This guy is a giant of the low budget film, producing or directing some 500 plus movies in the last forty years. He's still going strong as far as I know, and never limits himself to one particular genre; he's made westerns, horror, action, drama, and science fiction films with seeming ease. Moreover, according to the bio on this DVD, Corman helped launch the careers of numerous Hollywood bigwigs. If "Humanoids From the Deep" is any indication, I will spend a lot of time with this filmmaker's projects in the near future.
This movie really ought to be a huge cult cinema classic. Maybe it is in some circles, but if so, I never heard about it. What a shame, too, because "Humanoids From the Deep" is classic camp that rips off every 1950s monster film you ever heard about. The movie, set in a fishing town called Noyo, tells the story of a town rapidly fading away. The local tars are having a tough time catching enough fish to make a living, and just when it seems that all is lost a big time cannery corporation arrives on the scene promising to build a factory that will rejuvenate the local industry. Who can argue with an influx of well paying jobs? Certainly not a fisherman named Hank Slattery who sees dollar signs in the arrival of the suits. Most of the townspeople adopt Hank's position concerning the changing times, even level headed Jim Hill. Hill, who really doesn't care for Hank due to the man's racism against the local Indian tribe, grudgingly agrees that the cannery will help salvage the town. He's a bit suspicious about corporations in general, a thought shared by his wife, but he's willing to go along with it if it means food on table. The local Indians, led by Hank's nemesis Johnny Eagle, despise the idea of building a cannery on old tribal grounds. When a series of unexplainable incidents occur in rapid succession, the Indians and Slattery's goons duke it out with other over the future of the area.
What in the world could possibly cause all of the dogs in the area to die violently in the space of a single evening, lead to the disappearance of a few of the local ladies, and cause such discord between the Indians and the Anglo community? Why, humanoids from the deep, of course! That's right, within mere minutes we learn that Noyo has a big problem in the form of some weird half-salmon, half man beasties roaming around offshore. And these monstrosities take no prisoners, either, since they aren't above tearing open a few bodies, ripping off a few heads, or liberating a few bosoms in order to capture Noyo's women for mating purposes. Corman permeates this film with everything a low budget horror lover could want: completely unnecessary nudity, gallons of gore, and numerous massive explosions. The cars, houses, and boats blowing up in "Humanoids From the Deep" especially impressed me since the producers of the film sank a lot of money into these blossoming fireballs. This is obvious because they use the hilarious old "numerous camera angles and quick cuts" to get the most out of the effect. If you don't care explosions, there is always the gore to float your boat. The conclusion of the film, when Noyo celebrates their town festival and the humanoids make an impressive yet unannounced visit is sure to thrill you with the arterial sprays and gory amputations going on all over the place. What a great little film.
The performances aren't all that bad either. Vic Morrow plays Hank Slattery with all the menace you would expect from the late star. Doug McClure turns in steady work as the even tempered Jim Hill. The rest of the cast, while not as well known as these two actors, all do a pretty good job with their parts. Of course, the humanoids share top billing with the human actors, which is fine because the special effects used in creating these violent creatures worked quite well in my opinion. The humanoids are gruesome looking, with sharp teeth, oversized heads and arms, and a shambling gait resembling the undead in all of those Italian horror movies. I can't say I cared too much their endless shrieking and wailing, but the look and the unremitting violence of these monsters repeatedly entertains.
The DVD is quite a catch too (pun intended). You get five trailers: "Humanoids From the Deep," "Eat My Dust," "Big Bad Mama," "Death Race 2000," and "Grand Theft Auto." A short interview with Corman, conducted by Leonard Maltin, graces the DVD, along with bios for Corman and the cast. The film transfer looks good for an old film of this caliber, at least good enough to see all of the splattery effects and nubile young women running around town. "Humanoids From the Deep" is a must see for those looking for a way to spend a wacky eighty minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoh mama., March 24 2004
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
Pretty horrible, but bad in the Burial Ground or Pieces kind of way. The story here centers on a fishing town where the financial hub is evidently salmon. The fish have been thinning out, and all of the fishermen, morose beer-swilling lowlifes for the most part, are bitter. But there is one ray of hope in the form of the cannery that's supposed to revitalize the whole town. Add to this powder keg the Billy Jack-esque Indian guy that wants to preserve the land.
Apparently, a scientist working for the cannery has been tampering with salmon, I guess on some genetic level, to make better salmon or something. What this actually does is create a race of humanoid salmon, buck-toothed monsters with bulging brain sacks and gigantic rubber flippers. The monsters are coming ashore and mauling people, but they are particularly driven towards the chicks. You see, salmon monsters need love too, especially when it comes in the the form of bikini-clad or outright naked beach girls. There isn't much romanace involved. The girls just sort of scream and run, then make sure they fall once or twice so the rubber flipper tread can keep up with them. Now, when the girls aren't entertaining the salmon monsters, they're busy getting it on with land-based degenerates (who just want to drink some beer and have a good time.) More to the point, one girl, tenting on the beach near the tide line for some bizarre reason, is actually coaxed out of her clothes by a puppet with only slightly more finesse than the salmon monsters. There is one blonde girl, voluptuous, milky-skinned, that's kind of pretty, and the salmon monsters really take a liking to her. They take her to their lair, which is above ground, and this is okay, since the salmon monsters just randomly venture miles inland and take to the water only when it's convenient.
Eventually, one of the salmon monsters is killed, giving the salmon scientist a chance to study it and make a round of profound observations. Evidently these humanoid salmon are in fact humanoid, and their amphibious attack patterns suggest the fact that they might be turning amphibious! There's never really any satisfactory explanation as to why they chase girls. Probably it's just an ego thing. Or maybe they ARE just diehard romantics---personally I think that is the true reason. The Creature from the Black Lagoon needed love too, and his defense, they threw a super hot babe into each one of his movies, and that was because the Creature, unlike the salmon monsters, had panache and that quiet kind of cool.
This movie is great if you just want to watch mindless crap, as I very often do. I only got this movie a few days ago, and I've already watched it like five times. It's inexpensive, and for what it is it fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Monster Movie!, July 19 2003
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This was another classic from filmmaker Roger Corman.You have
legitimate actors in the persons of Doug McClure,Vic Morrow and
Ann Turkel. In this movie sea creatures come from the deep to
kidnap unwilling females for mating purposes. These creatures
are a cross between a giant salmon and the Creature From the
Black Lagoon.These females are taken and held by these creatures
and of course this starts a panic in the community.The good guys
seem to have no method to stop these creatures.The special effects also add to the quality of this film.The ending of the
film is also something to see. Buy this movie.You will find it
to be very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Corman's best schlockers!, Feb. 3 2001
By 
Bill W. Dalton (Santa Ana, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
Humanoids from the Deep is one of my favorite Roger Corman films, right up there at the bottom of the heap with Death Race 2000, Galaxy of Terror, Battle Beyond the Stars, et al. And since I'm a new devotee to the DVD format, my comments refer to the DVD version of this classic Corman work.
The image quality is good in most of the scenes. The audio quality is also good. And the "sleaze" quality is great! Some of Corman's best. But the movie is not in widescreen format and the special features are not too special. There is a trailer of the movie and some trailers of other Corman movies, some brief cast biographies, a scene index, a little booklet detailing the highlights of Corman's career, and a three minute Corman interview with film critic Leonard Maltin, which is not too informative.
In the interview Corman gives his not-too-original theory of how to scare audiences by not showing the monsters too much and letting the viewer's imagination do the work for him, a rule Humanoids seems to avoid, sine the mutant fish-men are on screen quite a lot. He also gives credit to director Barbara Peeters, saying she was the right person for the job at the time. However, he neglects to mention that both she and Ann Turkel, the female lead, both publicly denounced the movie and disavowed their parts in it, saying that Corman had turned it into "a T & A flick!"
Barbara Peeters had directed at least one other Corman movie before Humanoids, so she should have known what was expected of her. Evidently she and Turkel thought they were making a serious ecological disaster type movie, and were incensed when Corman brought in another director to add the nudity and rape scenes! Not surprisingly, since she failed to live down to his expectations, Peeters never directed another Corman film. She went into TV work instead.
During the production of this film, someone suggested that, for comic relief, one of the humanoids should be gay, and be seen attacking a male citizen of the small fishing village of Noyo, but Corman nixed the idea, saying, with a straight face, "There are no homosexual humanoids!"
As to the movie itself, the cast is good: Vic Morrow, near the tragic end of his career, is very villainous; Doug McClure, always competent, is stalwart and brave; Ann Turkel is beautiful and resolute as the lady scientist; Cindy Weintraub is beautiful and courageous as McClure's wife. And Linda Shayne is beautiful and naked, as are Lynn Theel and Lisa Glaser, all hapless victims of the Humanoids.
This DVD belongs in the collection of every Roger Corman fan, and every fan of schlock horror in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU GOT A TRILL FROM CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON!!, March 22 2004
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
I SAW THIS MOVIE WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT AND I THOUGHT IT WAS LIKE A SICK JOKE-ROTTEN FANTISY.THESE CREATURES ARE ON THE HOT SIDE .AND THEY DON'T WASTE ANY TIME TRYING TO MATE THE GIRLS& KILL EVERYTHING ELES.I REALLY WISHED THE MOVIE WAS ALOT LONGER.BUT I HAD TO ADD IT TO MY OLD MOVIE COLLECTION ANYWAY.IT IS ALWAYS A REAL PLEASURE TO WATCH THIS MOVIE.!!YOU WILL LOVE IT TOO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
Hugely enjoyable B movie from the Corman stable. This is certainly the best looking version I've seen of the film - though it does suffer a little from being transferred at the incorrect 4:3 ratio.
Rob Bottin's creatures of the title still hold up surprisingly well today and the film rattles along at a breakneck pace clocking in at a tight 80 minutes. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Monster Movie!, July 19 2003
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This was another classic from filmmaker Roger Corman.You have
legitimate actors in the persons of Doug McClure,Vic Morrow and
Ann Turkel. In this movie sea creatures come from the deep to
kidnap unwilling females for mating purposes. These creatures
are a cross between a giant salmon and the Creature From the
Black Lagoon.These females are taken and held by these creatures
and of course this starts a panic in the community.The good guys
seem to have no method to stop these creatures.The special effects also add to the quality of this film.The ending of the
film is also something to see. Buy this movie.You will find it
to be very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great monster flick!, April 30 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
If you trust Joe Bob Briggs over Roger Ebert, you're sure to like this movie. I first saw it on a whim in high school at a big theater that was in between "A" releases. By the time the movie ended with its infamous closing sequence, the audience was literally cheering! (I know, what a bunch of sicko's).
This one has it all, mutated fish-people, gratuitous sex and violence, and comic book-like characters (or caricatures) - the smart and sexy female scientist, the square jawed hero, the nature/outdoor man armed with a crossbow. Think about it, fish-people with a need to mate attack a town in the midst of a beauty pageant - Roger Corman is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly dull gore-fest, Oct. 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
This movie starts out in a small fishing town, which may or may not be getting a cannery built, depending on if the local political activist / indian chief gets his way. This whole subplot only exists to set up some explanation as to where the salmon men came from (the cannery people want to increase salmon population, and they use science - eek! - and it goes horribly wrong). Two things this introduction doesn't do is to 1) introduce the characters very well and 2) establish some sort of atmosphere. In the town, pretty much everybody dislikes pretty much everybody else; they argue, they scheme, they fight, they carry beer in from a truck. You don't really get to know (or care about) any of them. They're quite interchangeable actually. There are a few interesting secondary characters but they get little screen time, absolutely no character development at all, and are soon fodder for the special effects. As far as atmosphere, everyone seems to hang out on the dock or else go to the big annual salmon festival. And you should hear the salmon festival band - imagine a bunch of retired people going to the American Legion on a Wednesday night. Now imagine the band that might play there; now imagine a band four times worse than that. Egads, these folks must have been praying for salmon men to kill them for years if this is what they do for entertainment.
Anyhow, after suitable time is given to showing more and more of the monsters, they finally attack in force, and there's lots of blood spurting in all drections. Not an exceptionally exciting action sequence, but it is campy as can be.
Overall, this reminds me of something one might see on the Sci-Fi channel at 10:00 am on a Saturday morning. Not very good, but watchable. And there are some pretty girls getting nekkid. Too bad they didn't spend a lot more time on that, and a lot less time on those banal primary characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oh the horror, oh the schlock, June 7 2000
By 
John IV (Snohomish, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Humanoids From Deep [Import] (DVD)
When was the last time you saw a 2 legged humanoid mutant salmon / coelacanth combo chasing its bikini clad teen-age prey on a boardwalk's merry-go-round? Probably the same time you saw the newly crowned Miss Salmon at the same boardwalk bludgeon another humanoid with a piece of masonry. Yep, toss in the Shatner-esque late model Doug McLure, an evil Vic Morrow, and a few dozen convincing salmon monsters and you have a Corman classic. Does the back story matter? Well, sure, isolated fishing village languishes while a nearby research facility works to genetically produce superior salmon. Of course a batch escapes into the wild and mates with every crypto zoologists favorite fish, the 70 million year 'extinct' coelacanth. The resulting progeny grow into shambling golem style freakers, attacking bathing beauties in an attempt to er, spawn. Never mind the boyfriends, they're quickly dispatched in a shower of red dye. Marvel at the Prophecy-esque sub-plot between the local Indian trying to save his land and Vic Morrow, resident bully. What we're left with after the finale on the boardwalk are more questions [but not before McLure gets a chance to try out that rifle on the dang land fish], and a final scene nod to Alien. While it was amusing to be brought under the schlock spell for a few hours, let's just say I'm glad I caught this on the dish, for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roger Corman Cult Classics - Humanoids from the Deep
CDN$ 19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews