Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is intense
I bought "Sigh No More" a week ago, based on hearing the title song on the sound system at a local music store. This CD absolutely smokes! Mumford & Sons are an amazing marriage of the immediacy of folk music, the energy of rock, and the relentless drive of bluegrass. The anthemic quality of some of the music is beautifully complemented (and softened) by the flawless...
Published on Aug. 28 2010 by Tony99

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy LP
Side A has horrible sibilance, and is almost unlistenable. Side B is much better in terms of sibilance, but all the good tracks are on side A. Major bummer.
Published 19 months ago by Stephen McCracken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is intense, Aug. 28 2010
This review is from: Sigh No More (Audio CD)
I bought "Sigh No More" a week ago, based on hearing the title song on the sound system at a local music store. This CD absolutely smokes! Mumford & Sons are an amazing marriage of the immediacy of folk music, the energy of rock, and the relentless drive of bluegrass. The anthemic quality of some of the music is beautifully complemented (and softened) by the flawless harmonies of the vocals. The lyrics do not always rhyme, but they always fit. It feels like they just couldn't afford to take the time to find a rhyme, because the words just had to get OUT! The music is beautifully melodic, with a plethora of briliant hooks, and enough minor chords to make the sound profoundly moving. The relentless rhythm of the banjo (banjo??) pulls the music to conclusions that are brilliant, but leave you wanting more. I have hit repeat on songs on this CD more often than I have on any recent purchase.
Absolutely fabulous. The best thing I have heard so far this year. Buy two copies, and give one to a friend. We need to make these guys so successful that they have no choice but to make more music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt Folk Rock, Dec 13 2011
By 
Stella Carrier "joyfulwoman2078" - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sigh No More (Audio CD)
"Sigh No More" by Mumford & Sons contains musical tracks that blend elements of indie rock and folk. I was intrigued to obtain this collection because of the musical tracks and videos of "The Cave" and "Little Lion Man." I have frequently heard both of them on the radio and at first was very neutral about "Little Lion Man". However, "Little Lion Man" eventually grew on me the more that I heard it. This collection contains songs that are soul stirring, and these are among some of the ones that resonated with me:
"I Gave You ALL": A great song about how the singer poured out his heart with intensity.
"Awake My Soul": This seems to be about being exposed to situations that ignite the spirit, and increase the fire in a soul.
"Winterwinds": "Winterwinds" appears to be a message about what happens when following the heart.
"Sigh No More" by Mumford & Sons is great to get for the many who like to listen to folk rock and/or indie rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BIG SEA - MOVE OVER !, Sept. 22 2010
By 
Frederic White "FredEric White" (Montreal, QC.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sigh No More (Audio CD)
Mumford & Sons is a folk rock band formed in 2007 and rose out of the emerging UK folk scene. They are heavily inspired by a wide range of folk rock acts who dominated the charts in the early 1970s.

The band's debut album, Sigh No More, was released in the UK in the fall of 2009, and in the early spring of 2010 in North America.
With an addictively naive bar band approach to orchestration, they are currently the darlings of the UK's music elite.

The material on this release will instantly command the attention of the North American public at large while conjuring up a wide gamut of musical comparisons to such artists as GREAT BIG SEA, THE NITTY GRITTY DIRT BAND and even to a degree CAT STEVENS.

Even if their label desperately wants to draw up parallels to CSNY - upon this release they do not constantly demonstrate the same harmonious devotion to vocal synchronization as did CSNY.

The sole song that truly does mirror the sound of CSNY is the track "TIMSHEL" while
the tracks "AFTER THE STORM" & "THE CAVE" have a definite 1970s Cat Stevens vibe.

Mumford & Sons is more of "good-time" & "male bonding" band - and there is nothing wrong with that.
They currently defy all musical odds and trends by being unique and quirky.
Such is the case with the introduction of the mandolin into several of their folk rock compositions!

The tracks recorded upon this release are musically sculpted & geared towards encouraging the non "metro sexual" male to become inspired & to get up and dance to uptempo songs that reflect the carefree atmosphere of a local pub.

MUMFORD & SONS are a true feel good band with the ideal musical product to inspire and promote "male bonding" & "beer drinking".

BEST TRACKS:

I GAVE YOU ALL
WHITE BLANK PAGE
DUST BOWL DANCE
LITTLE LION MAN
TIMSHEL
ROLL AWAY YOUR STONE
THE CAVE
AFTER THE STORM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Feb. 9 2014
By 
Luc M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Nothing new here , but fun music to hear and groove too. The guys are a tight bunch and these are tight and , I believe , highly crafted works. Some of these songs stay in your mind. Considering this is basic blue grass , an achievement.
Nice going boys.

Cheers
LM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Great album. Sounds even better on Vinyl. Highly recommended for any vinyl junkies like myself. Good price as well. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite, Nov. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Audio CD)
The best compilations of songs in an album that I've listened to. I like this one better than Babel. They made me like bluegrass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, great Vinyl, Nov. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Vinyl) (LP Record)
The sound is perfect and the album is very nice, very good music that has a very great sound on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, Nov. 8 2013
By 
Marjorie Jones (Lanark Highlands, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Audio CD)
These lads know how to put music together and make it wonderful to the ear. Who would have thought a banjo could blend so well with the other instruments? A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Oct. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Was a gift arrived as described, some scratches. He loved it and it sounds alright. Good record. Fantastic service. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, Sept. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigh No More (Audio CD)
Love this CD, I had purchased Babel prior to Sign No More and I immediately knew I needed to have this CD, as well, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sigh No More
Sigh No More by Mumford and Sons (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews