Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the Worst movie ive Ever seen
Got dragged to this movie. Never saw the first movie... i thought ok let's see what all the hype is about... half way thru i was in awwwe... i couldn't believe a movie so bad was in a theater... the movie, the plot, the acting... Everything was the worst id ever seen... it was so bad I actually thought it was a joke, like the theater played a high school play version of...
Published 1 month ago by Cliff

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New mooning
Teen Romance = True Luv. Breaking up with your True Luv is a fate worse than death. Months-long depression and suicide are valid responses to being dumped.

At least that seems to be the underlying message of the second Twilight Saga movie, "New Moon," which is effectively a teen-angst version of "Romeo and Juliet," but with more werewolves and less suicide...
Published on May 16 2010 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New mooning, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Teen Romance = True Luv. Breaking up with your True Luv is a fate worse than death. Months-long depression and suicide are valid responses to being dumped.

At least that seems to be the underlying message of the second Twilight Saga movie, "New Moon," which is effectively a teen-angst version of "Romeo and Juliet," but with more werewolves and less suicide. It's also a flabby adaptation that leaves you wishing that something unpredictable and un-teen-angsty would happen... but it never does.

Bella's (Kristen Stewart) eighteenth birthday party is wrecked when she cuts herself. Jasper goes into a feeding frenzy, and the Cullens realize that she's too tasty to be safe around them. Edward (Robert Pattinson) dumps Bella, and the clan leaves town permanently. Cue emo music, for Bella's life is empty and worthless without Edward. Seriously. We have a fadefest in which we see how empty and lifeless life is without her Hot Rich Sparkly Coverboy.

But after Bella puts herself in danger, she hears Edward ordering her to stop -- so of course she gets a motorcycle and takes up cliff-diving. She also starts palling around with Jacob Black (Taylor Lautner), an Indian lad who has a supernatural secret of his own (I'll just say it: he's a werewolf) -- and this comes in handy when some Evil Vampires come around hungry for her oh-so-tasty blood. But her daredevil antics have led Edward to believe her dead... and he's going to take drastic action unless she stops him.

"New Moon" is one of those movies that is essentially the book splattered on the big screen, and not much more. Stephenie Meyers' fans will devour it like so many sparkly vampires, but the rest of the population will probably start wishing that the Volturi would wipe out all of Forks. Where are some brief moments of action and excitement, but most of it is Bella endlessly moping about her Edwardless state, while the world's smallest violin plays.

The biggest problem with "New Moon" is that it's tediously devoid of any tension: it's pretty obvious from the start how the vampiric "damnation" angst, the clashes with the Volturi and werewolves, and even the central love triangle will turn out. Does Bella continue to mope after the brooding, tortured "goth" Edward, or does she cut her losses and go with buff, caring "jock" Jacob? But there's never a shred of doubt who she'll select... which makes the whole triangle rather pointless.

I'll give Chris Weitz credit -- he does try to spice up this bland affair with action scenes and CGI werewolf battles. Unfortunately he also doesn't seem to have cut anything from the storyline, which makes the whole movie feel flabby and overstuffed. And despite the drippy cheesiness of the script ("Bella you give me everything just by breathing!"), the movie also takes itself deadly seriously, without a trickle of humor or self-deprecation.

Playing a tragic, lovelorn heroine is difficult, but it stretches Stewart far beyond her limits -- she conveys Bella's emotional states entirely through blank staring and constipated twitches. Bella's aging wangst because she's turning eighteen (so elderly) is pretty contrived, and it's disturbing that our "heroine" deals with her post-breakup blues by almost killing herself over and over. Great message to send young girls.

Pattinson is mostly absent except for some ghostly visions Bella has, and while he's far more skilled than Stewart, he frankly seems bored by his small role. Lautner and his buff pectorals are a more vibrant presence as Jacob, and he spends most of the movie being heroic and extremely caring. Why is he supposed to be inferior to Edward again?

"New Moon" is one of those movies aimed at pleasing the fans of a particular book. Standing alone, it's a tepid, suspenseless affair that devotes itself to teen wangst, and left me hoping for a Volturi bloodbath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars yike! what wooden performance, Nov. 29 2010
I would give this movie a 2 out of 5. 2 is for the special effect and nothing else. I think the casting of the stewart girl was a mistake. She may be good looking but she cannot act worth a #@%!. She would be great as a robot though - no emotion whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the Worst movie ive Ever seen, Oct. 18 2014
Got dragged to this movie. Never saw the first movie... i thought ok let's see what all the hype is about... half way thru i was in awwwe... i couldn't believe a movie so bad was in a theater... the movie, the plot, the acting... Everything was the worst id ever seen... it was so bad I actually thought it was a joke, like the theater played a high school play version of the movie.... ive never rolled my eyes so much as in this movie. ranks as the worst movie I've ever seen in the theater and in the top 10 of all time worst overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much for special features, April 21 2010
By 
K. McLeod - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There wasn't much for outakes or other special features
like there was for the first DVD. I found that to be the
reason for buying the special edition DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little slow, Jan. 3 2011
By 
Janet Johnston (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight Saga: New Moon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Found "New Moon" a little slow. Continued on with the story but not as exciting as Part One and Three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved them all!, Oct. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased all the series and watched it with my girls. I had to fast forward one part because of content but for the most part the whole series was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seperations...sometimes it's part of the process, Sept. 7 2013
By 
J. Chiasson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twilight Saga: New Moon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Lots of people maybe did not love this moving because they found it depressing. I loved it! What they went through, most of us have gone through it at least once in a life time. Unless you never had to get to experience a really intense romance...A real true love romance. When a movie can bring you back to your own painful memories and realize you lived through it and survived it like they did. Bingo, you have a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Arrived promptly, no damage what so ever to outside or inside. Received a friendly message about separate packaging, but arrived one after the other :) Now I can't wait to watch the whole series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Je vais écouter se film très souvent merci il est parfait pas de bris rien tout fonctionne parfaitement merci a vous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies, Jan. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Can't wait for the next one. My daughter loves the series also. Kept my interest throught the entire series.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twilight Saga: New Moon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Twilight Saga: New Moon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Chris Weitz (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews