Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible New Princess
This irresistible new Disney animation featuring New Orleans Jazz music and the hard-working modern-day princess who is also a gifted chef is appealing to both girls and boys - it is about two transformative frogs'(Tiana & prince Noveen) journey through adventures, friendship and love of a lifetime. As the romance rises from the sea made musical by Louis the Alligator to...
Published on Sept. 18 2010 by Reflection Haiku

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars biligual
Next time I will read carefully what BILINGUAL is. To me it's English and French, it is my mistake, so I will keep it. Good movies lot of fun. Merci je vais m'en servir pour apprendre l'anglais à mes enfants. Le colis était bien enveloper et le service a été rapide.
Published 2 months ago by FORTIN, Ginette


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible New Princess, Sept. 18 2010
By 
Reflection Haiku "Lily Wang, Author" (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
This irresistible new Disney animation featuring New Orleans Jazz music and the hard-working modern-day princess who is also a gifted chef is appealing to both girls and boys - it is about two transformative frogs'(Tiana & prince Noveen) journey through adventures, friendship and love of a lifetime. As the romance rises from the sea made musical by Louis the Alligator to the pair of twinkling stars brightening up the night sky from the loss of Ray the Firefly, this film has non-stop fascinating and dramatic scenes for the whole family. (Some parents are worried about the Voodoo part of the film. It seems like its presence is to provide enhanced suspense for plot development like other "dark forces" in its peer princess movies and it is controlled enough not to really scare little ones.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, March 11 2010
In response to T. Burns,

Majority of Disney movies are romances. From Cinderella, Snow White, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Little Mermaid (just to name a few) and now Princess and the Frog.
It seems your issue with this movie more deeply rooted than it being a romance.

I thought the movie was great! It is exciting, the songs are fun and lively. On a deeper level it shows little girls everywhere to stick to your dreams. You don't have to give up any goals or aspirations to have the husband, picket fence and 2.4 kids.... you can have it all!

The fact that disney finally put a visible minority in the spotlight is an added bonus. This is the world we live in.

I highly recommend this movie. It will make a great addition to any Disney collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally New Life In Disney!, March 9 2010
By 
L. Burchett "KPED" (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was a little skeptical about a new Disney movie as many of Disney's latest creations are not even remotely close to being as good as the classics, such as Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Mulan, etc. But after seeing this movie I was very pleased with the 2D "classic" animation and the overall plot of the movie. The musical skits were good, the best being Are You Ready sung by the villain of the story. I have already pre-ordered this movie to add to my extensive Disney collection and am looking forward to new Disney films which hopefully will "re-vamp" Disney's productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars biligual, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
Next time I will read carefully what BILINGUAL is. To me it's English and French, it is my mistake, so I will keep it. Good movies lot of fun. Merci je vais m'en servir pour apprendre l'anglais à mes enfants. Le colis était bien enveloper et le service a été rapide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, my 3 year old daughter loves it, Jan. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
My 3 1/2 year old daughter loves this movie. It is a very nice movie and it is nice to see a black Disney princess. It is a nice story with an important message behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars modernized fairy tale, June 13 2013
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
My granddaughter was given a gift certificate for Christmas. She finally narrowed it down to either the PRINCESS AND THE FROG or BRAVE. After looking at the pictures on the cover she decided on the Princess. We have only watched it once so far but she seemed to like it. Must have now Gramma is expected to make her the dress. Isn't that a scene from thw movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2D comes back to Disney, March 19 2010
By 
Frances L. Arsenault "lover of literature" (Nanaimo, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm glad that 2D is coming back to Disney, because as I said: I grew up with the 2D Classics and I'll always love them for years to come. I mean 3D's great and all, but it's artistically beautiful as 2D. I think the animation is beautifully done; the music is awesome. After seeing it, the film instantly became one of my favorite new millennium Disney animated features, along with Atlantis: The Lost Empire, Treasure Planet, Brother Bear and Home on The Range. The film retells the age-old "Frog Prince" story - with a slight twist.

This story starts in New Orleans in the 1920s. A young lady named Tiana works two jobs...Yes she works two waitress jobs: one at night and one in the day. She works to earn money to own a restaurant, because it was her and departed dad's dream of owning their very own restaurant. One day, during her day-shift, her rich best friend Charlotte LeBouff is excited because Prince Naveen of Maldonia is coming to New Orleans, and is invited to her family estate for a masquerade party. Then Charlotte pays Tiana for catering at party. Excited by the amount of dollars Charlotte had given her, Tiana was sure she got money to the buy the old sugar mill to transform it into her dream restaurant.

For the next part of the story, yes, Prince Naveen did arrive in New Orleans. But not just for an invite to a masquerade party, but to marry Charlotte LeBouff for her dad's fortune. You see, his royal parents cut him off for his spoiled, play-boy, jazzy lifestyle. While on the streets with his butler Lawrence, they come across a voodoo magician Dr. Facilier referred as "The Shadowman." Facilier invites the men into his emporium, and cuts a deal with the Voodoo gods for the special powers that will enable him to turn Naveen into a frog; use a voodoo talisman to fill Naveen's blood with to make Lawrence look like Naveen to marry Charlotte. But really, The Shadowman plans to murder Lawrence and LeBouff, seize the fortune for himself, and turn the city over to the evil Voodoo gods, who will feed on the souls of the citizens.

Meanwhile while working at the LeBouff's grand masquerade party, Tiana learns that someone else put down a higher offer on the old sugar mill, and is now left with nothing unless she can top him after Mardi Gras - now that is just bull-s**t! Having given up hope, she desperately wishes on the evening star, when Naveen-the-frog appears. Thinking that she is a princess, for she is costumed as one, he convinces her to kiss him in order to break the curse and turn him back into a human again, but the spell backfires (because Tiana is not really a princess) and Tiana becomes a frog as well. And then, the two are chased out and head for the bayou, as Lawrence impersonates Naveen. But the talisman, filled with Naveen's blood, slowly starts to drain away. So Doctor Facilier sends out his shadows to retrieve the prince. In the bayou, Tiana and Naveen encounter Louis, an alligator who wants to become human so he can be a jazz musician and Ray, a Cajun firefly who is in love with the evening star (whom he has named Evangeline), which he thinks is another firefly. They take them to see Mama Odie, the good but eccentric voodoo priestess of the swamp. That's all I could tell you folks, you will have to see the film for yourself how it ends.

This is Disney's best film! And I think Dr. Facilier should join other great Disney villains like Chernabog (Fantasia), Maleficent (Sleeping Beauty) and Judge Frollo (The Hunchback of Notre Dame). To me the Dr. is like someone out of a story to scare kids into being good, like: "Don't stay up late, or the Shadowman will get you." "Eat your vegetables, or the Shadowman will get you." Or..."Come inside now! or I will tell the Shadowman." So my last word is that this film is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, and Where did you find this?, Jan. 5 2012
I eagerly opened up my package expecting just a normal 2-disk blu ray edition of a Disney product like every other one I have found so far but I was a little blown away by the beautiful tin box set in came in. Missing only the little papers on the inside of the tin box, this Movie set is perfect. I'm glad to add it to my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish more movies were in this format/this price, Nov. 22 2011
Getting Disney movies is like pulling teeth, as we all know. They do not go cheaper with age, they are re-released in pitiful quantities, so those DVD/Blu Ray combos that force Disney to get a few more movies on the market is a god-send for someone with a 5 yo girl. I am watching for any of the old princess movies coming out in this format, that's for sure. Cinderella, Mulan, Aladdin, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White... it would be awsome!

The movie itself, well, if you haven't watched it by now... It is a usual modernized Disney spin-off the title of a folk tale. It has absolutely nothing to do with the spirit of the original Russian tale, but people did turn into frogs, and it is fun and atmospheric. 5 yo finds woo dooo parts a bit scary, but is Okay. Not her favorite movie, but she'll watch it. Rapanzel is a better one, it is miles better than the annoying spoiled brat Ariel (and a better departure from the original than the Little Mermaid, grr!) but this is a good one to have on hand as well for one of those cold winter weekends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small mixup, but well handled by seller, Nov. 7 2011
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) (DVD)
After an initial mix up, product arrived in reasonable time and in perfect condition.

Original problem was reported by the seller before the product arrived and everything was handled by them hassle free with updates to its status. I will buy from them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb095f0c)

This product

The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual)
The Princess and the Frog (Bilingual) by Ron Clements (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews