Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on September 18, 2010
This irresistible new Disney animation featuring New Orleans Jazz music and the hard-working modern-day princess who is also a gifted chef is appealing to both girls and boys - it is about two transformative frogs'(Tiana & prince Noveen) journey through adventures, friendship and love of a lifetime. As the romance rises from the sea made musical by Louis the Alligator to the pair of twinkling stars brightening up the night sky from the loss of Ray the Firefly, this film has non-stop fascinating and dramatic scenes for the whole family. (Some parents are worried about the Voodoo part of the film. It seems like its presence is to provide enhanced suspense for plot development like other "dark forces" in its peer princess movies and it is controlled enough not to really scare little ones.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 19, 2010
I'm glad that 2D is coming back to Disney, because as I said: I grew up with the 2D Classics and I'll always love them for years to come. I mean 3D's great and all, but it's artistically beautiful as 2D. I think the animation is beautifully done; the music is awesome. After seeing it, the film instantly became one of my favorite new millennium Disney animated features, along with Atlantis: The Lost Empire, Treasure Planet, Brother Bear and Home on The Range. The film retells the age-old "Frog Prince" story - with a slight twist.

This story starts in New Orleans in the 1920s. A young lady named Tiana works two jobs...Yes she works two waitress jobs: one at night and one in the day. She works to earn money to own a restaurant, because it was her and departed dad's dream of owning their very own restaurant. One day, during her day-shift, her rich best friend Charlotte LeBouff is excited because Prince Naveen of Maldonia is coming to New Orleans, and is invited to her family estate for a masquerade party. Then Charlotte pays Tiana for catering at party. Excited by the amount of dollars Charlotte had given her, Tiana was sure she got money to the buy the old sugar mill to transform it into her dream restaurant.

For the next part of the story, yes, Prince Naveen did arrive in New Orleans. But not just for an invite to a masquerade party, but to marry Charlotte LeBouff for her dad's fortune. You see, his royal parents cut him off for his spoiled, play-boy, jazzy lifestyle. While on the streets with his butler Lawrence, they come across a voodoo magician Dr. Facilier referred as "The Shadowman." Facilier invites the men into his emporium, and cuts a deal with the Voodoo gods for the special powers that will enable him to turn Naveen into a frog; use a voodoo talisman to fill Naveen's blood with to make Lawrence look like Naveen to marry Charlotte. But really, The Shadowman plans to murder Lawrence and LeBouff, seize the fortune for himself, and turn the city over to the evil Voodoo gods, who will feed on the souls of the citizens.

Meanwhile while working at the LeBouff's grand masquerade party, Tiana learns that someone else put down a higher offer on the old sugar mill, and is now left with nothing unless she can top him after Mardi Gras - now that is just bull-s**t! Having given up hope, she desperately wishes on the evening star, when Naveen-the-frog appears. Thinking that she is a princess, for she is costumed as one, he convinces her to kiss him in order to break the curse and turn him back into a human again, but the spell backfires (because Tiana is not really a princess) and Tiana becomes a frog as well. And then, the two are chased out and head for the bayou, as Lawrence impersonates Naveen. But the talisman, filled with Naveen's blood, slowly starts to drain away. So Doctor Facilier sends out his shadows to retrieve the prince. In the bayou, Tiana and Naveen encounter Louis, an alligator who wants to become human so he can be a jazz musician and Ray, a Cajun firefly who is in love with the evening star (whom he has named Evangeline), which he thinks is another firefly. They take them to see Mama Odie, the good but eccentric voodoo priestess of the swamp. That's all I could tell you folks, you will have to see the film for yourself how it ends.

This is Disney's best film! And I think Dr. Facilier should join other great Disney villains like Chernabog (Fantasia), Maleficent (Sleeping Beauty) and Judge Frollo (The Hunchback of Notre Dame). To me the Dr. is like someone out of a story to scare kids into being good, like: "Don't stay up late, or the Shadowman will get you." "Eat your vegetables, or the Shadowman will get you." Or..."Come inside now! or I will tell the Shadowman." So my last word is that this film is awesome!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2010
In response to T. Burns,

Majority of Disney movies are romances. From Cinderella, Snow White, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Little Mermaid (just to name a few) and now Princess and the Frog.
It seems your issue with this movie more deeply rooted than it being a romance.

I thought the movie was great! It is exciting, the songs are fun and lively. On a deeper level it shows little girls everywhere to stick to your dreams. You don't have to give up any goals or aspirations to have the husband, picket fence and 2.4 kids.... you can have it all!

The fact that disney finally put a visible minority in the spotlight is an added bonus. This is the world we live in.

I highly recommend this movie. It will make a great addition to any Disney collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on March 9, 2010
I was a little skeptical about a new Disney movie as many of Disney's latest creations are not even remotely close to being as good as the classics, such as Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Mulan, etc. But after seeing this movie I was very pleased with the 2D "classic" animation and the overall plot of the movie. The musical skits were good, the best being Are You Ready sung by the villain of the story. I have already pre-ordered this movie to add to my extensive Disney collection and am looking forward to new Disney films which hopefully will "re-vamp" Disney's productions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2011
Getting Disney movies is like pulling teeth, as we all know. They do not go cheaper with age, they are re-released in pitiful quantities, so those DVD/Blu Ray combos that force Disney to get a few more movies on the market is a god-send for someone with a 5 yo girl. I am watching for any of the old princess movies coming out in this format, that's for sure. Cinderella, Mulan, Aladdin, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White... it would be awsome!

The movie itself, well, if you haven't watched it by now... It is a usual modernized Disney spin-off the title of a folk tale. It has absolutely nothing to do with the spirit of the original Russian tale, but people did turn into frogs, and it is fun and atmospheric. 5 yo finds woo dooo parts a bit scary, but is Okay. Not her favorite movie, but she'll watch it. Rapanzel is a better one, it is miles better than the annoying spoiled brat Ariel (and a better departure from the original than the Little Mermaid, grr!) but this is a good one to have on hand as well for one of those cold winter weekends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2010
I think this may be the first Disney "princess" movie where the main emphasis isn't on how beautiful the protagonist is, but moreso on the strength of her character and the goals she set for herself. That in itself makes this movie worth watching. To top it off, the story is original and the characters loveable.
That being said, if you're expecting castles and dragons and more mystical, storybook settings, this movie doesn't follow the usual Disney fare. There is definitely magic, though! Can't take that away from Disney.
I love this movie, and it's worth watching again and again, imo! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2010
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my neice.... and ended up buying another one for my other neice too! I haven't personally seen it, but it's been awhile since Disney came out with the hand-drawn stuff, and I've heard good things!

Shipping was quick, and the product was as described, with nothing loose in the case and sealed nicely. All in all, a good product that was cheaper to buy online than it was for me to go to a store for. (At least where I live.) I intend to buy all my movies from from now on!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2010
This is an enjoyable return to classic 'drawn' animation. The story's twist on the 'Frog Prince' is fun. It has a strong, hard working main female character (not a princess who 'assumes the position', waiting passively to be rescued, as stated in one of the Shrek movies). The minor characters, like the alligator and the firefly, are very well developed. The Cajun music is a nice change.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2011
I thought the hugely prasied Toy Story 3 was horrible. It was scary and the sentimentality was mean-spirited. The Princess and the Frog is a fun film with fun characters and a good message, that doesn't ruin the movie. Randy Newman, who scores every kids movie, writes a classic for this one. "Dig a little deeper" is a wonderful song with loads of energy. The three disk set is too pricey.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
My granddaughter was given a gift certificate for Christmas. She finally narrowed it down to either the PRINCESS AND THE FROG or BRAVE. After looking at the pictures on the cover she decided on the Princess. We have only watched it once so far but she seemed to like it. Must have now Gramma is expected to make her the dress. Isn't that a scene from thw movie?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Tangled by Mandy Moore (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 24.88

Mulan by Eddie Murphy (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 14.88

The Aristocats (Single-Disc Edition)
The Aristocats (Single-Disc Edition) by Phil Harris (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 8.88