Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary
The Who are my second fave band and this fan made documentary is just superb. Its full of live performances from concerts and TV shows as well as countless interviews. Well done...full marks.
Published 6 months ago by Bootsy Bass

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GET FOOLED AGAIN.........
Won't get fooled again?....Yeah, I was pretty fooled by this new DVD version of "The Kids Are Alright." This "Who" Documentry Directed byJeff Stein has very little added to it 25 years after it originally came out.
The good thing about the re-release is the cleaned up footage and clarity in the audio. The bad thing is that the film doesn't offer...
Published on Dec 14 2003 by William Cordova


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GET FOOLED AGAIN........., Dec 14 2003
By 
William Cordova "william" (overtown, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Won't get fooled again?....Yeah, I was pretty fooled by this new DVD version of "The Kids Are Alright." This "Who" Documentry Directed byJeff Stein has very little added to it 25 years after it originally came out.
The good thing about the re-release is the cleaned up footage and clarity in the audio. The bad thing is that the film doesn't offer much but clips of great performances and chopped up interviews that could have been interesting. The32 page book is short on in-depth information and the tiny photos are a huge dissapointment. The second DVD which reveals the clean up process is alright but not really worth one's money. They could have put complete performances in that one...what a loss.
The last tragedy here is the interview voice over with Director Jeff Stein. Stein never seems to give a straight answer to the simplest question. He rambles and constantly praises Keith and Pete but doesn't articulate on the film scenes, process or motivation. It is the most painfull part of the entire film. trully a horrible voice over! I still purchased it for the rare footage and the great performance of "Baba O' Riley'" and "Who Are You." If you want the actual "Who" I would suggest "The Who's Maximum R&B video." It contains complete performances from the rarest places all in great Stereo sound.
I guarentee you "won't get fooled again!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Who are my second fave band and this fan made documentary is just superb. Its full of live performances from concerts and TV shows as well as countless interviews. Well done...full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, The Best collection of live Who performances on DVD, Aug. 2 2003
By 
P. Forget (Beverly, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw this movie in 1983 at a 'Who Film Festival'. To see it on the big screen was incredible. This film cemented in my mind, who was the best live band ever. Have been waiting for this DVD release patiently for a few years now. I am blown away by the special features that come with this movie (DTS surround, director commentary, Roger Daltrey interview, alternate camera angles, 5.1 mix of the studio version of "Who Are You", assorted featurettes). The producers of this DVD really did a great job with the mastering and packaging of this product. You WILL NOT be disappointed.
Reasons why you should buy this DVD:
1. You will not find a better live version of any of the songs in this movie, on any other Who release. Trust me, I own every Who release there is, and many bootlegs.
2. Interviews with the band - Townshend and Keith Moon are in rare (not sober) form. These really show the four distinct personalities within the band.
3. Rare performances from the very early years & television programs that have not been released on anything else.
4. The special features mentioned above. Check out the multi angle feature for "Baba O'Riley" and "Won't Get Fooled Again" - 4-6 camera angles are available on each, so you can watch any member of the band for the entirety of the songs. Also contains a feature to view/listen to the same two songs with John Entwistle's bass part on an isolated track. Besides being an interesting feature, imagine this would really appeal to somebody that has tried to learn his bass lines.
5. The 'My Generation' opening on the Smothers Brothers show. If that kind of performance went down on Leno or Letterman today, it would probably result in authorities shutting down the show and some arrests being made.
6. Song selection - Live cuts from every Who studio album through Who Are You, except Quadrophenia. Plus some off cuts thrown in like 'Cobwebs and Strange', 'Success Story', 'Shout and Shimmy'.
7. The tour scene through John Entwistle's home, showing off his guitar collection and gold record skeet shooting ability.
8. Last live performances of Keith Moon before he died in 1978.
There may be other bands with better production in the studio, such as Led Zeppelin or the Rolling Stones, but this movie does a great job of showing you who the best live performance band is. Hands down it has to be The Who. Live performance was and is the Who's niche. Production can't hide what other bands are not capable of on stage.
If you need your live fix of Quadrophenia songs, I strongly recommend 'The Who: Live at Royal Albert Hall'. Townshend acoustic version of 'Drowned', Entwistle "BASS Cam" solo on '5:15' is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, June 29 2004
By 
Terence Dollard (Hauppauge, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It took far to long for The Kids Are Alright to get out on DVD. After seeing and hearing the new special edition, it was worth the wait! Keith Moon has to be seen to be believed. The extended A Quick One really shows how amazing and entertaining he could be. The Ox Cam on the 2nd disc is a fitting tribute to the man who held the band together, but is rarely seen compared to his more flashy band-mates. This is a great package with great content and should be required in every home where music is played. Just don't smash your TV when it's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rock N Roll Movie Ever !, June 16 2004
By 
B. Blankholm "starshutch" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a "must see" Rock N Roll movie, there are not bands like this anymore. Thankfully, the movie has been fully restored,and the quality far exceeds the cinema release.
Although I would have loved it if Jeff Stein could have located
more concert footage or even added more of The Who's Woodstock
performance. I know for a fact that 5 songs were filmed, as I have seen them, years and years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Response to "A viewer from the UK", June 10 2004
By A Customer
This DVD is phenomenal. Extreme care - and as much passion - went into the restoration of making this one of the best rock DVD presentations ever. The Who was the greatest band on earth, and even today, they still are one of the best. Originally released in 1979, this movie chronicled the band's time with original drummer Keith Moon, who sadly died the previous fall (Sept. 1978). The color is rich with many textures - notice the sweat on Pete's forehead during "Won't Get Fooled Again," which wasn't apparent in previous, inferior video versions. Entwistle's isolated bass tracks on "WGFA" and "Baba O'Riley" will remind everyone what a pioneer the Ox was on the bass.
As a response to "a viewer from the UK," how can you call Daltrey and Townshend "two old rockers" pretending to be what they were, now simply being "their own tribute band." It's odd that people like you say this, being the fact that the only reason why Moon and Entwistle no longer are in the band is because they passed away. Watch this new DVD's interview with Daltrey and listen to his memories of watching a rough cut of this film with Moon. Pay close attention to Daltrey's face as his voice pauses, and then tell me that Moon and Entwistle wouldn't be in The Who if they were alive today. Rubbish. I always have to laugh at people when they make reunion tour jokes and bash The Who now - 99.9 percent of those people have never even seen The Who in concert after Moon died. Talk to someone who actually saw them on their 2000 tour, and be prepared to be told how they were blown away by the band's roaring performance.I saw them on that tour in Aug. 2000, the last tour with Entwistle and the first post-1982 tour where Pete was the only guitarist onstage, and they were brilliant. Entwistle sounded better that night than anything I had heard before, including "Live At Leeds." (I've been a bass player for 20 years). It's still The Who today as long as Pete and Roger call it that. (Zak Starkey has been with them longer now than Kenney Jones was). It's not quite the same, granted, but it's as much The Who today as it is The Rolling Stones today. The Stones have had more personnel changes over the years than The Who ever did (and I like The Stones too).
Anyway, this is a fantastic DVD that surpasses the quality of the original VHS tapes (which were sped up!) and laser discs. A must-buy for any rock and roll fan.
Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More Than Alright, May 5 2010
By 
Karl E. Hourigan "KH" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Exhausting, watching the mayhem captured on this DVD. Great concert footage, TV appearances, and interviews. A crash course on The Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rock movies ever!, June 19 2006
Of all the rock movies available, this is probably my favourite. Viewers have the opportunity to see the band perform through different time periods and in various settings, including the second DVD which contains interesting extra material. Also, this movie shows both how good the band was in its heydays and how lively and witty Keith Moon was as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good DVD, June 7 2004
By A Customer
Overall,this is a good DVD and film restoration.However,the quality of the audio and video varies throughout the film because of the age of some of the footage and the sources which were less responsive to the use of digital enhancement.The footage from the 60s of course is kind of rough,but still enjoyable.Some great video highlights include a spot on the smothers brothers show,in which you can see Keith Moon`s "pictures of lilly" drumkit custom made by Premier in 1966! It took premier months to produce this kit,keith smashed it to pieces in one show! he actually put dynamite in one of the bass drums and the resulting explosion destroyed pete townshends hearing.The Smothers Brothers were furious at Keiths antics and barred him from the show thereafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more than alright, May 29 2004
By 
Cameron Boahn "soundfactorync1" (NYC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the kids are amazing. this is a landmark film in rock biography. the stories of rock bands had not really been the stuff of feature films at that point. the movie effectively encapsulates what is special about the who with performances from the beginning to the last performances of keith moon. as other reviewers noted, the restoration of the film is stunning. this restoration is all the more evident thanks to special features on the second disk giving before and after examples to show how dramatic the improvements have been. this set is essential for fans of the band or classic rock in general. my only complaint is that there was a medley of songs from 60s tv shows that were edited together instead of being shown in their entirety including pictures of lily and magic bus. why not give us the whole clips? apart from that this collection is flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabbefa8c)

This product

Who Kids Are Alright [Blu-ray]
Who Kids Are Alright [Blu-ray] by Jeff Stein (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews