Customer Reviews


824 Reviews
5 star:
 (688)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride & Prejudice
I can watch this version of Pride & Prejudice repeatedly and never get tired of it. One of the best DVD purchases I have made. It is by far and without a doubt the best version of Pride & Prejudice there is. Hours and hours of great drama and Colin Firth plays an excellent role as Darcy. In fact, the whole cast is very well suited for their roles. This is definitely...
Published on July 24 2006 by Jen Morris

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I had to return it!
I love this movie - it's one of my all-time favorites. I was so looking forward to owning this as my very first DVD. However, this DVD presentation is very poor. The images are washed out - the actors' faces are white with very little color and the whites of the dresses sometimes merge with the light backgrounds! And the music sounds a bit muted. There is a...
Published on March 24 2002 by Margaret


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride & Prejudice, July 24 2006
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice (DVD)
I can watch this version of Pride & Prejudice repeatedly and never get tired of it. One of the best DVD purchases I have made. It is by far and without a doubt the best version of Pride & Prejudice there is. Hours and hours of great drama and Colin Firth plays an excellent role as Darcy. In fact, the whole cast is very well suited for their roles. This is definitely a don't miss DVD and well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb show - very poor quality color, July 4 2006
By 
D'Arcy Draper (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice (DVD)
The story and production are the best I've seen. Unfortunately, Amazon is selling a DVD with very poor quality reproduction. It's not defective, just poor color. When I saw the original broadcast on PBS the color was excellent. These copies are average at best, still worth seeing though, it's THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I had to return it!, March 24 2002
By 
Margaret (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice (DVD)
I love this movie - it's one of my all-time favorites. I was so looking forward to owning this as my very first DVD. However, this DVD presentation is very poor. The images are washed out - the actors' faces are white with very little color and the whites of the dresses sometimes merge with the light backgrounds! And the music sounds a bit muted. There is a "Making Of..." piece included on the DVD in which they use full-screen video images where the color is normal - faces are pink, not white, and the scenery is rich. The contrast with the movie presentation is astonishing - you really see what your missing! I don't recommend you buy this DVD. I'm going to wait for another version which will hopefully have corrected color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor Transfer, Oct. 2 2006
By 
Austen Fan (Toronto,ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my favourite adaptation of the novel, but it really deserves a better transfer. This 10th Anniversary Edition is a marginally better transfer than the original DVD release, but both versions look very washed out. It's difficult to understand why when the clips from the film used in the "Biography" Jane Austen documentary look great. It's a sad day when the VHS version looks better than the DVD. This new edition has some good extras, but no interviews with Jennifer Ehle or Colin Firth. Also, the packaging is not great (it's a bit difficult to get the discs out), so you'll want to think about buying new DVD cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His pride, her prejudice, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice (DVD)
Of all the Jane Austen movies, the 1996 miniseries "Pride and Prejudice" is arguably the best and most detailed. While remaining faithful to the original comedy of manners, the story remains steadily-paced and exceptionally acted. It's sort of a thinking-girl's romance movie.

The Bennett family is in an uproar when wealthy Mr. Bingley (Crispin Bonham-Carter) moves into the neighborhood, and Mrs. Bennett is especially happy when he takes a liking to eldest Jane (Susannah Harker). But her forthright, independent sister Lizzie (Jennifer Ehle) immediately butts heads with wealthy, aloof Mr. Darcy (Colin Firth), who scorns the rural village.

A flurry of proposals, road trips and friendships arrive, with Lizzie fending off her slimy cousin Mr. Collins, and befriending the flirty, hunky Wickham (Adrian Lukis), who claims to have been wronged by Darcy. Lizzie believes Wickham's account -- and she's in for a shock when Darcy unexpectedly proposes, and reveals what Wickham won't tell her.

And finally things take a scandalous turn when Lizzie's idiotic younger sister Lydia (Julia Sawalha) elopes with Wickham! The family is plunged into disgrace, which also wrecks any chances of marriage for the other daughters. The only one who can set things right is Darcy, who will do whatever he must to make amends to Lizzie.

It's obvious from the very first scenes -- when Lizzie jokingly comments that "a man of good fortune MUST be in want of a wife" -- that this is an adaptation that was done with love. The subplots, characters and atmosphere of "Pride and Prejudice" are all here.

The plot unfolds slowly, one piece at a time, but with several subplots that tie together as the story progresses. For a miniseries, it's actually rather spare and lacking in filler. And the dialogue -- based on Austen's -- is wonderfully well-written ("Beauty is not the only virtue. She has just inherited a fortune of ten thousand pounds, I understand." "Now THAT is a definite virtue!")

The time period is recreated with loving detail, from the muddy roads to the sweeping mansions with elaborate grounds. Even the hairstyles are recreated. And the entire plot is steeped in the mores of 19th-century England, with the attitudes toward marriage, love, and propriety that bound everyone (especially women).

The casting of the leads is absolutely perfect for this movie: Ehle and Firth are nothing short of amazing. Both are witty, smart, and a bit snotty in their own ways. Firth's Darcy is a selfish man who gradually becomes warm and kind, while Ehle's Lizzie is strong, independent, and Darcy's equal in every way. And neither will marry for anything but true love.

They're also backed by an excellent supporting cast, with slimy clergy, screeching moms, sly seducers, sardonic fathers, innocent sisters and aristocratic old harpies adding colour to it all. Sawalha is especially good as the 19th-century Valley Girl, and Alison Steadman gives a grating but suitable performance as the whiny, marriage-obsessed Mrs. Bennett.

"Pride and Prejudice" is the cream of the Austen crop, and an understatedly romantic movie as well. Definitely to be watched, again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KUDOS TO A&E FOR BRILLIANT HD 2009 RESTORATION!, April 15 2009
By 
CINEPHILE 1 "CINEPHILE 1" (VANCOUVER, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
FORGET THE PREVIOUS TRANSFERS OF PRIDE AND PREJUDICE (1995). THIS 2009 BLU-RAY IS A REVELATION AND PUTS THE DVD VERSIONS TO SHAME! IT HAS BEEN METICULOUSLY RESTORED AND COLOUR CORRECTED FROM THE ORIGINAL 16mm NEGATIVE AND THE RESULTS ARE STUNNING. IF YOU DO NOT YET OWN A BLU RAY PLAYER AND YOU ARE A HUGE FAN OF THIS MINISERIES, GO OUT AND BUY A PLAYER AS SOON AS YOU CAN TO PLAY THIS BLU-RAY 2 DISC SET - YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality is Amazing!, Feb. 23 2010
By 
Marie (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading the Blu-ray reviews and being highly disappointed with my supposedly-restored DVD version of P&P, I splurged on the Blu-ray version. OH MY GOD! The picture quality is amazing! It truely is restored! Elizabeth, Darcy, the English country side and those fabulous costumes are just as vivid as I remember seeing on TV over 10 years ago! My boyfriend who has never seen P&P started watching it with me while I was on Disc 2, and after finishing that requested to watch it from the begining! An new Austen fan! The Blu-ray version is totally worth the money. Disc 2 also has a special feature detailing that until Blu-ray technology came along, they just couldn't make P&P look that great in digital. For people that don't own P&P yet, don't waste your money on the DVD version, get a Blu-ray player and truely enjoy this P&P and fall in love with Darcy and Elizabeth again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Dec 29 2009
By 
Stuart P. Buckley "ICONaPIX Photography" (Pickering, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having watched the DVD many many times, it was time to see what all the hype was about the Blu-Ray version.
Suffice to say, I've thrown the DVD away. The conversion from DVD to Blu-Ray is like day and night.

Colours pop, sound is clear, they've done an awesome job of remastering every frame of the original 16mm film.

If you have a Blu-Ray player, and are toying between the DVD and Blu-Ray, do not even think of buying the DVD.
Blu-Ray all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If You've Not Read The Book You'll Likely Enjoy It, May 22 2004
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice (DVD)
Jane Austen (1775-1817) was among the early English novelists--and so exceptional was her talent that today her reputation as a great artist remains largely unsurpassed and her novels are among the most critically praised and most beloved in world literature. Many, myself among them, consider PRIDE AND PREJUDICE her single finest work, and when I heard this 1995 BBC miniseries praised as a flawless adaptation I was eager to see it.
The story, of course, concerns the verbal and emotional duel between the sharp-witted and incisive Elizabeth Bennet and the formidable Darcy as they negotiate their era's highly restrictive code of conduct--first despising each other and then gradually and often grudgingly falling in love. But where Austen presents us with a brilliant comedy of manners told with tremendous speed, grace, irony, and brilliant bursts of satire and wit, here we have something much more akin to your run of the mill period melodrama.
Basically, producer Sue Birtwistle, director Simon Langton, and screenwriter Andrew Davies seem to have confused Austen's Elizabeth and Darcy with Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester. Jennifer Ehle certainly looks the part of Elizabeth Bennet and gives every evidence of being able to play Austen's creation to tremendous effect--but her sharpness is repeatedly blunted by the direction, and far from being spirited she seems to vacillate between bemused humor and fits of hysteria. Even so, this corruption of the original character pales beside Colin Firth's Mr. Darcy, which is completely unlike anything Austen ever wrote in any novel, much less in PRIDE AND PREJUDICE.
Firth is horrifically miscast, and instead of seeming to be a gentleman of high birth, tremendous wealth, and a great estate he seems considerably more like a bootblack trying to pass for gentry. Moreover, he plays the role in exactly two notes, alternating sullen glances with loving looks; it has all the depth of a pancake, and a very thin one at that. Nor is Firth the only horror among the cast; David Bamber (Mr. Collins), Julia Sawalha (Lydia Bennet), and Alison Steadman (Mrs. Bennet) do their level best to reduce their roles to pure character. Indeed, Bamber is so incredibly bad, Sawalha is so determined to play her role as if she were a Victorian streetcorner tart, and Steadman is so unbearably strident that I frequently found myself visiting the bathroom during their scenes.
Even so, the film does have saving graces. There are a number of astonishingly good performances scattered throughout, including performances by Susannah Harker (Jane Bennet), Benjamin Whitrow (Mr. Bennet), and Lucy Briers (Mary Bennet)--the latter of whom neatly sidesteps the host of traps inherent to the role. Particularly fine is Barbara Leigh-Hunt, who gives an astonishingly inspired turn as the overbearing and utterly ridiculous Lady Catherine de Bourgh, bring Austen's character off the page and to the screen with true brilliance. The production values are also remarkably fine--it would seem as Austen herself ordered them, and it is a tremendous pity that the talents involved here paid considerably less attention to Austen's description of character than they did to her descriptions of gowns, furnishings, and a look of early 1800s rural England.
The two disk set describes itself as "The Special Edition," but in truth there is very little "special" about it. The transfer is mediocre at best, often undercutting the impact of the visual elements, and the DVDs offer only truly minor information re Austen and a superficial "making of" documentary. But the documentary does offer one interesting point: producer Birtwistle flatly states that she set out to make a popular film of a popular novel. It is true that PRIDE AND PREJUDICE is one of the most popular novels of world literature, but it is a great deal more than just pop fiction, a point that Birtwistle seems to have missed entirely.
All in all, if you've never read a word of Jane Austen's novel you'll very likely enjoy this film--and if that enjoyment leads you to actually read the book so much the better. But for all its fine feathers, this 1995 BBC production isn't a patch on the four hour 1985 BBC version starring Elizabeth Garvey, which is considerably truer in tone to Austen's brilliance.
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly by the book, Nov. 29 2003
This review is from: Pride & Prejudice (VHS Tape)
This is the absolute best version of Jane Austin's classic that has ever been filmed. It follows the book, right on down to the dialog. The casting is impecible, I cannot imagine anyone better to play any of the roles. Colin Firth is appropriately brooding, and his expressions speak volumes. We have watched the five-tape set over and over again, and it is as enjoyable the 20th time as it was the first. Highly recommended! See it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb29563fc)

This product

Pride and Prejudice (Restored Edition)
Pride and Prejudice (Restored Edition) by Colin Firth (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 49.99 CDN$ 24.99
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews