Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blind Side
I can see why Sandra Bullock got a Golden Globe. She engrossed herself in the character and made a real situation believable. Yes it is like Rudy, but are not all real life situations that are not all blood guts and gore, more close to home emotionally. With all the negative news in life, isn't it heart warming to know there are still kind people out there that care about...
Published on Feb. 9 2010 by JB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rassurant!
S'il s'agit d'une histoire vécue, c'est une bonne histoire, mais pas si originale après tout. Intéressant de constater qu'il y a encore de bonnes personnes.
Published 2 months ago by S. Lavoie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blind Side, Feb. 9 2010
By 
JB "JB" (Northern America) - See all my reviews
I can see why Sandra Bullock got a Golden Globe. She engrossed herself in the character and made a real situation believable. Yes it is like Rudy, but are not all real life situations that are not all blood guts and gore, more close to home emotionally. With all the negative news in life, isn't it heart warming to know there are still kind people out there that care about human kindness and giving when they have the means. No I am not one of the fortunate ones who have the funds to do so, but it gives us all hope for a better future.
The story is engrossing, especially sense we all know it is based on true facts. It is something parents can enjoy with their children and not have to ashamed of afterwards, just to please them or spend time with them.
This on another level is as good as Gran Torino, with Clint Eastwood, life lessons are hard to come by in this fast moving day and age and when so many are just out for self gratification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good stuff, April 9 2010
By 
Andre Villemaire (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great movie based on real life events. Sure its predictable, but the way it
is delivered makes its very interesting. Great stuff when you can sit down and
watch and enjoy a movie without commercial interruptions.
If i had the choice of picking the winner for the Oscars between Hurt Locker and
this movie...well The Blind Side would have won, second Avatar and then the Hurt
Locker. And its not just Sandra that did a good acting job...they all did.
Recommended and is a keeper for future views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Film About Giving a Helping Hand, Jan. 7 2011
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It is really quite remarkable what the Touhy's did for Michael Oher, the football player this film is based upon. They were a very well to do family who did much more than give money to charity, they actually offered love to someone who was almost a total stranger from a totally different background. They did this to the extent that they made him a member of their own family. Frankly, not many people could or would have the courage to do such a thing, so regardless of any other factors, what they did was exceptional. It is also amazing how Mr. Oher was able to not allow his emotionally and physically deprived background harden him emotionally so that he could accept the love offered by the Touhy family.

The film does a very effective job at conveying the generosity of spirit of the Touhy's to Mr. Oher. It is very much a feel good movie that at times can bring tears to one's eyes.

Everything about this film is first rate. It does a marvelous job of trying to cover most of the questions a viewer may ask about these characters. The direction and writing are solid, and the acting superb. Particular merit goes to Sandra Bullock, who probably does the best "acting" job of her career, getting away from her typical movie star persona on film, and to the young actor Quinton Aaron, who plays Michael Oher with the adeptness of a seasoned actor.

You can't go wrong viewing this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, May 22 2010
By 
Debrah Courville "Lvr of Buks" (Northern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Blind Side: is a great movie that shows the true ways of a real christian family should be like. I love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story that will move you., Dec 12 2011
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Blind Side / L'Éveil d'un champion (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Original post, Amazon USA, Nov 2009.

I go to see movies all the time, while still in release.

In this time of year, we offer high-profile films like A Christmas Story, New Moon (same vampires) and the world comes at the end of 2012. So. It is easy for this film to get lost in the shuffle.

It was so easy to miss this film, and such failure to do so. That is one of the best films of the year, and one of the few I recommend whole heartedly.

Sandra Bullock gives you the best performance of her career, plays Leigh Anne Tuohy, tough, and mother, to see Big Mike, a young boy oversized never a role model, and never did well academic, because there was no reason to believe in themselves. It's the underdog, we like to root.

Tuohys to get a plush home, and we get sucked into the experience, perhaps, that this story would be a more appropriate description. But Mike has a hidden talent that others can identify as a sports coach and other teachers to begin to trust him, so who knows what will happen.

If you're like me, is a film about the importance of a mentor, and I believe in people, the more you believe in them as much as begin to believe in themselves. If you like this, I also Akeelah and the Bee, other five-star movie. In the first 14 days of The Blind Side has made over 108 million U.S. dollars at the box office, ensuring that it is one of the biggest hits of the year.

While the Academy is not usually rewarded prize-comedy, Sandra Bullock can get a nomination, so the writers for Best Adapted Screenplay, and can win a Golden Globe for her performance.

One point of interest in the film are Lily Collins, daughter of Phil Collins, who plays the daughter of Sandra Bullock.

Update, 29 Jannuary 2010. If you win a Golden Globe is a rehearsal for the Oscars, waiting to get the nomination of Oscar, and lays the groundwork for an interesting game with Meryl Streep for her performance in Julie and Julia. Both actors played real-life characters, an interesting mix of drama and humor. While Oscar does not usually given for this kind of performance, except for Marisa Tomei in My Cousin Vinny. I predict this will be the year of the exemption. Streep was nominated 15 times winning only twice. That would Bullocks first appointment.

Updated 2/3/2010. The Blind Side has been nominated for two Oscars, for Best Actress and Best Film. Since 2010, the best picture category has increased from 5 to 10 pictures, partly due to reduced estimates, and partly because many popular films have historically been the same level of love Oscar movies as received, including The Blind Side is received from the public.

Blindside have grossed over $ 238,000,000 dollars at home, making it the eighth highest grossing film of 2009 and No. 63 all-time domestic box office, and is still in release.

I hope this was useful to you, and I think you'll enjoy the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, almost fantastic, April 1 2010
I think this was a good film. Rarely these days do you see something come out that blows you away (and this was almost there. I thought Sandra Bullock did a nice job, she was really funny in many scenes and so was the kid that played S.J. In the end everything works out, and its a happily ever after. But I felt they needed more emotion. True, they were crying as they parted ways, but personally I needed to be in the moment a little bit longer. What pulls this story through is Bullock. If another actress played Mrs. Tuoy, I don't think it would have succeeded as well. Thats just my opinion. And also, I like strong woman characters, and syrupy before and after stories. I mean, what kind hearted person would not want to take in a kid/teen like that? There could have been a little more substance, but altogether it's worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Aug. 17 2010
By 
Shane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is one of Sandra Bullocks best movies, what makes this movie so great is that it is based on a true story, pretty much about a guy that ends up living on the streets, and ends up getting picked up and takin care of by a family with Sandra Bullock playing the role as the mother, and Tim Mcgraw playing the role as the father, so to make a long story short they end up getting him educated and enroled in school football. and ends upplaying for a college team and then ends up playing in the N.F.L. Just shows how a very successful family is humbled enough to take this young guy in as there own son, and ends up being one of the best defensive players in the N.F.L. Definetly recommend getting this definetly a 5 star movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What belief in others and self can do!, Jan. 24 2011
A wonderful film that shows what belief and love and the knowledge that someone believes in one can accomplish! Hope is given where a future seemed not possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, Sept. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome movie if you haven't seen it..........a real family movie. All the actors do a fabulous job on their parts and the movie was based on a real life situation. It does my heart good to know there are good, kind people who would take a strange kid off the streets & help them become someone special (and he in return changed their lives forever better). Not a tearful movie just good hearted laughs & outcome.......highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make Love Your Aim, May 3 2010
By 
I usually enjoy movies based on true stories. The Blind Side I tended to appreciate more especially because of the character played by Sandra Bullock. The strong woman in a family who knows what she wants and can stand up to anyone but yet still respect her spouse's decision...lol

The story was greatly told and I hope that miracles and stories like these are still happening in our world today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blind Side / L'Éveil d'un champion (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 7.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews