Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take
This was a different take on the done to death concept of Sherlock Holmes. This version portrayed the character in the sense it was originally cast in- not only a genius, but eccentric bordering on slightly insane and unstable.
There's something for everyone here- comedy, action, romance, suspense. Plenty of SFX that are generally well done.
While the plot is...
Published on May 22 2010 by Foreverwolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmres
Le film Sherlock Holmes est arrivé en bon état conforme à l’annonce faite par le vendeur. Il s’agit d’un bon film que je recommande à tous en précisant tout de même que parfois dans le film il y a des scènes qui déroulent trop vite nuisant à la compréhension de l'histoire..
Published 7 months ago by Daniel Mérineau


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take, May 22 2010
By 
Foreverwolf (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was a different take on the done to death concept of Sherlock Holmes. This version portrayed the character in the sense it was originally cast in- not only a genius, but eccentric bordering on slightly insane and unstable.
There's something for everyone here- comedy, action, romance, suspense. Plenty of SFX that are generally well done.
While the plot is predictable, it does offer some humorous twists that keep it from being boring. The actors have done a fantastic job.
I don't like to give too much away in my reviews- spoilers suck, lol- but this movie is most defintiely a must see no matter your tastes!
As everyone has different tastes, I would, as always, recommend renting before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining gorgeous film, fantastic blu-ray extra, June 3 2010
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
In addition to being a very entertaining film, Guy Ritchie's stylistic direction adds greatly to this interpretation of a literary classic, by visually demonstrating Holmes' thought process and rapid-fire analysis. The period setting comes alive on blu-ray, thanks to some gorgeous set design and wonderful CGI-enhanced backgrounds. As bonus materials go, the blu-ray contains a unique alternate viewing with the director intermittently hosting a split-screen presentation (the film on one side and various behind-the-scenes on the other), as well as various pic-in-pic commentary clips etc. (which are also available thru a separate menu), and character timelines. This is a very inventive presentation option (for those interested). Otherwise, Sherlock Holmes remains a very entertaining period film, which looks gorgeous on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....hoping for a sequel or two!, July 4 2010
By 
L. Marsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Great story, wonderful photography/scenes/clothing/settings.
Fast and witty conversations between characters. Had to watch it
a couple of times to catch all the slow/speedy sequences.
Well cast and totally a great film. Hoping for more, as that's how it
leaves you at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holmes reborn, July 13 2011
By 
Russ Crossley "Rusty by the Sea" (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Slightly flawed in part which may spoil it for some, but over all a rollicking adventure. Holmes for the 21st century. I hope they make more but I suspect some purists won't like this interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This will raise expectations..., May 9 2011
By 
....but the new Holmes movie reminded me of, believe it or not, Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Not as good, but I had this revelation during an action sequence. I found myself thinking, Í am actually enjoying this action sequence'. It wasn't perfunctory, or effects-laden. It furthered the plot. And it was reminiscent of the bit in Raiders, where Indy is going up against the Nazi giant. It had that same sense of fun. The same sense of taking a beloved art form, and updating it for modern audiences.

It actually seemed more to me like a 1980s/90s updating of Holmes, stylewise.

Downey and Law were good. Very changed from Rathborne era, and also from Brett. But very recognizable. And you could see more why they might be friends. Downey's Holmes was much more like the guy in the Zero Effect - he needs Watson to merely act as a conduit to exist in the real world, being so dysfunctional himself.

There were also some nice homages. The Free Mason angle was clearly from Murder by Decree. They do a pan down to 221B Baker St. that is right from Brett. And, most shocking of all, the final solution (in terms of where the final murder takes place) comes straight from JL Borges' homage to Holmes, "Death and the Compass". If you're going to steal....steal from the best!

All in all, I guess it was most like Star Trek. Taking something well loved, but somehow dated, and creating a sort of best-of montage for modern audiences. Meaning, some purists won't like it, but most will see what they're doing. And those brought up on Michael Bay, will see how movies can be made without hammering the audience with explosions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not Your Grandfather's Sherlock Holmes, April 18 2011
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
this is not your Grandfather's Sherlock Holmes.this Sherlock Holmes is just as much of an intellectual,but also shows a physical prowess.he isn't afraid to get down and dirty.he's also much more liberal in his thinking than previous incarnations.he's not so staid and stoic about things.and there's no deerstalker cap here.Watson is also shown to have quite the intellectual prowess himself.he's also handy physically.guy Ritchie directed this film,and did a good job.my only complaint is that the movie drags in a few spots and i feel it could have been shortened.overall,though a fine effort.for me,Sherlock Holmes (2009)is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not true Sherlock, but still fun, July 10 2014
Robert Downey-Jr. is not what I would consider an appropriate choice for Holmes except in the manic sense. A fun re-imagining of Sherlock's world that takes a lot of liberties. This is still good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Very entertaining movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmres, May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Le film Sherlock Holmes est arrivé en bon état conforme à l’annonce faite par le vendeur. Il s’agit d’un bon film que je recommande à tous en précisant tout de même que parfois dans le film il y a des scènes qui déroulent trop vite nuisant à la compréhension de l'histoire..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual)
Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) by Robert Downey Jr. (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews