Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....hoping for a sequel or two!
Great story, wonderful photography/scenes/clothing/settings.
Fast and witty conversations between characters. Had to watch it
a couple of times to catch all the slow/speedy sequences.
Well cast and totally a great film. Hoping for more, as that's how it
leaves you at the end.
Published on July 4 2010 by L. Marsh

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They spent how much money making this?
What a dumbed-down Hollywood movie full of cliches and cartoon fight scenes. Any depth or originality the filmmakers attempted to give to these characters is undermined throughout by cheesy humor. There is a resemblance to Holmes and Watson only in the broadest sense. I think they ripped off their action sequences and comedy from Daffy Duck as Doorlock Holmes. (Daffy...
Published on Oct. 17 2010 by Whisper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a long journey from here to the rope.", Oct. 21 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This might not be the best thing to watch if you have a preconceived idea of Holmes and Watson from the books or the classic "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" (1939) with Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce. You do not want to besmirch the image.

Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) in this presentation is just as observant as usual but is better informed of different disciplines that the original. He uses wily disguises and beautiful women to accomplish his goal of detecting and foiling the cunning bad guys. This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series.

Dr. Watson (Jude Law) is more of second Holms but a different set of bad habits. He saves Holmes' bacon several times. However, Watson wants to go his own way and settle down with his newfound love Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams.)

This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series. Holmes is bantering with the insidious Lord Blackwood (Mark Strong) who has recently risen from the dead and is determined to create a new world order. Little does he know that they are all pawns in a larger scheme by "you know who." Oh, all right I will say it Professor Moriarty.

This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series.

Keep watching as the final credits role by. It is nice to see that they tie the names of the character and the actors together with pictures of the characters. I cannot stand disembodies names scrolling by. The is a picture of a naked man, handcuffed to the bead and the caption "Costumes Designer Jenny Beavan"

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

They Might Be Giants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downey Jr makes a great Sherlock, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
or perhaps it's just because I'm a Downey Jr. fan :-) regardless, these are well done and he makes for an entertaining Sherlock Holmes. The action is great and the characters are fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful!, July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
A great work by Robert Downey Jr. The mastermind of Sherlock Holmes is quite amazing! Easy to watch several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, March 2 2013
By 
Carol Pollard (SPRINGBORO, OHIO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it was different and fully enjoyed it and will watch again and loved the characters they portrayed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes.....a must to your collection, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Could not choose better duo as actors for the roles. And what about his lady friend...a delight for the eyes....miam miam....lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Beginning, Dec 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
A fun and creative start to the serious. Hope there will be more. A good combination with Robert Downey Jr and Jude Law. Sure hope there will be a serious of these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I simply love it!!, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favorites. I was thrilled to finally get it. I received it in perfect condition and in the time it was supposed to get to me. I'm truly happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast service, Sept. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shipped promptly and arrived quickly, I would recommend anyone to order movies here. Very affordable and comparable to shopping locally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take, May 22 2010
By 
Foreverwolf (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was a different take on the done to death concept of Sherlock Holmes. This version portrayed the character in the sense it was originally cast in- not only a genius, but eccentric bordering on slightly insane and unstable.
There's something for everyone here- comedy, action, romance, suspense. Plenty of SFX that are generally well done.
While the plot is predictable, it does offer some humorous twists that keep it from being boring. The actors have done a fantastic job.
I don't like to give too much away in my reviews- spoilers suck, lol- but this movie is most defintiely a must see no matter your tastes!
As everyone has different tastes, I would, as always, recommend renting before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 7 2010
By 
Leslie McGhee "Crazy Reader" (Newmarket, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Robert Downey is back with a venegence. It was a superb movie with lots of action and excellent characters. Jude law was good too but Downey really stole the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb054f504)

This product

Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual)
Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) by Robert Downey Jr. (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews