Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take
This was a different take on the done to death concept of Sherlock Holmes. This version portrayed the character in the sense it was originally cast in- not only a genius, but eccentric bordering on slightly insane and unstable.
There's something for everyone here- comedy, action, romance, suspense. Plenty of SFX that are generally well done.
While the plot is...
Published on May 22 2010 by Foreverwolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmres
Le film Sherlock Holmes est arrivé en bon état conforme à l’annonce faite par le vendeur. Il s’agit d’un bon film que je recommande à tous en précisant tout de même que parfois dans le film il y a des scènes qui déroulent trop vite nuisant à la compréhension de l'histoire..
Published 14 months ago by Daniel Mérineau


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 of the Superb sherlock Holmes B-R films in 2 sepaate cases holders for $9.,99 I think? AMAZING!, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
2 of the Superb sherlock Holmes B-R films in 2 sepaate cases holders for $9.,99 I think? AMAZING!

Delivery was AMAZINGLY Fast as well!

Bravo Amazon.ca - You;ve done it again! :-)

-= KaptainCanada =-

-= K C =-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not true Sherlock, but still fun, July 10 2014
Robert Downey-Jr. is not what I would consider an appropriate choice for Holmes except in the manic sense. A fun re-imagining of Sherlock's world that takes a lot of liberties. This is still good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a long journey from here to the rope.", Oct. 21 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This might not be the best thing to watch if you have a preconceived idea of Holmes and Watson from the books or the classic "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" (1939) with Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce. You do not want to besmirch the image.

Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) in this presentation is just as observant as usual but is better informed of different disciplines that the original. He uses wily disguises and beautiful women to accomplish his goal of detecting and foiling the cunning bad guys. This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series.

Dr. Watson (Jude Law) is more of second Holms but a different set of bad habits. He saves Holmes' bacon several times. However, Watson wants to go his own way and settle down with his newfound love Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams.)

This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series. Holmes is bantering with the insidious Lord Blackwood (Mark Strong) who has recently risen from the dead and is determined to create a new world order. Little does he know that they are all pawns in a larger scheme by "you know who." Oh, all right I will say it Professor Moriarty.

This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series.

Keep watching as the final credits role by. It is nice to see that they tie the names of the character and the actors together with pictures of the characters. I cannot stand disembodies names scrolling by. The is a picture of a naked man, handcuffed to the bead and the caption "Costumes Designer Jenny Beavan"

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

They Might Be Giants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Nov. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, fun to watch. The quality was good, but I could not tell if the blu ray was the reason. However my Blu ray player had a bit problems read the disc at first. He didn't recognize it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downey Jr makes a great Sherlock, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
or perhaps it's just because I'm a Downey Jr. fan :-) regardless, these are well done and he makes for an entertaining Sherlock Holmes. The action is great and the characters are fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Beginning, Dec 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
A fun and creative start to the serious. Hope there will be more. A good combination with Robert Downey Jr and Jude Law. Sure hope there will be a serious of these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 7 2010
By 
Leslie McGhee "Crazy Reader" (Newmarket, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Robert Downey is back with a venegence. It was a superb movie with lots of action and excellent characters. Jude law was good too but Downey really stole the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I simply love it!!, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favorites. I was thrilled to finally get it. I received it in perfect condition and in the time it was supposed to get to me. I'm truly happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, Sept. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well done! Great rapport between Law and Downey. Lots of tongue-in-cheek innuendo. Doesn't take itself too seriously and is fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast service, Sept. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shipped promptly and arrived quickly, I would recommend anyone to order movies here. Very affordable and comparable to shopping locally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual)
Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) by Robert Downey Jr. (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews