Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....hoping for a sequel or two!
Great story, wonderful photography/scenes/clothing/settings.
Fast and witty conversations between characters. Had to watch it
a couple of times to catch all the slow/speedy sequences.
Well cast and totally a great film. Hoping for more, as that's how it
leaves you at the end.
Published on July 4 2010 by L. Marsh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmres
Le film Sherlock Holmes est arrivé en bon état conforme à l’annonce faite par le vendeur. Il s’agit d’un bon film que je recommande à tous en précisant tout de même que parfois dans le film il y a des scènes qui déroulent trop vite nuisant à la compréhension de l'histoire..
Published 2 months ago by Daniel Mérineau


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes, Jan. 18 2014
By 
katzi - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
I purchased this for myself - I am a mystery buff. this meets my taste in mystery and it is priced well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the godliness of Robert Dowey Jr., Dec 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
A fantastic movie, clever and witty, wonderful characters, an amazing era-like set up. You can't make a better sherlock Holmes movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 of the Superb sherlock Holmes B-R films in 2 sepaate cases holders for $9.,99 I think? AMAZING!, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
2 of the Superb sherlock Holmes B-R films in 2 sepaate cases holders for $9.,99 I think? AMAZING!

Delivery was AMAZINGLY Fast as well!

Bravo Amazon.ca - You;ve done it again! :-)

-= KaptainCanada =-

-= K C =-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Holmes! Brilliant Watson! Epic recreation!, Dec 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is THE role for Robert Downey Jr. It is better than him as Iron Man, and better than most of his stuff in the 80's and 90's. This role has certainly not only rekindled my love for his acting, but also for my faith that he - like Holmes - could overcome addiction and behavioural issues to tackle a difficult role like this and do such a smashing job!
Watson is brilliant and so is the acting of the other characters. The direction, CGI, and dialogue are all spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Nov. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, fun to watch. The quality was good, but I could not tell if the blu ray was the reason. However my Blu ray player had a bit problems read the disc at first. He didn't recognize it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a long journey from here to the rope.", Oct. 21 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This might not be the best thing to watch if you have a preconceived idea of Holmes and Watson from the books or the classic "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" (1939) with Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce. You do not want to besmirch the image.

Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) in this presentation is just as observant as usual but is better informed of different disciplines that the original. He uses wily disguises and beautiful women to accomplish his goal of detecting and foiling the cunning bad guys. This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series.

Dr. Watson (Jude Law) is more of second Holms but a different set of bad habits. He saves Holmes' bacon several times. However, Watson wants to go his own way and settle down with his newfound love Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams.)

This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series. Holmes is bantering with the insidious Lord Blackwood (Mark Strong) who has recently risen from the dead and is determined to create a new world order. Little does he know that they are all pawns in a larger scheme by "you know who." Oh, all right I will say it Professor Moriarty.

This looks like the pilot for a series or at least the beginning of a film series.

Keep watching as the final credits role by. It is nice to see that they tie the names of the character and the actors together with pictures of the characters. I cannot stand disembodies names scrolling by. The is a picture of a naked man, handcuffed to the bead and the caption "Costumes Designer Jenny Beavan"

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

They Might Be Giants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downey Jr makes a great Sherlock, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
or perhaps it's just because I'm a Downey Jr. fan :-) regardless, these are well done and he makes for an entertaining Sherlock Holmes. The action is great and the characters are fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful!, July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) (DVD)
A great work by Robert Downey Jr. The mastermind of Sherlock Holmes is quite amazing! Easy to watch several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, March 2 2013
By 
Carol Pollard (SPRINGBORO, OHIO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it was different and fully enjoyed it and will watch again and loved the characters they portrayed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes.....a must to your collection, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Could not choose better duo as actors for the roles. And what about his lady friend...a delight for the eyes....miam miam....lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual)
Sherlock Holmes (Bilingual) by Robert Downey Jr. (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 6.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews