Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 for the action 4/5 for the story
Ninja Assassin is the story of a young child raise in an assassin brotherhood. Top of his class, he is send on mission to assassinate people that thinks against the values of the assassins.

In this movie you will not see a lot of assassinations but you will learn how this young assassin became what he is (5/5 stars). Along with that story, a second story is...
Published 13 months ago by Cajetan Bouchard

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A run-of-the-mill Hollywodd extravaganza...
After V for Vendetta, James McTeigue fans had great expectations for his next project. Sadly, it didn't come to be as interesting as it should have been. The plot's abysmal at best and the characters are washed up and bleached versions of better protagonists. Granted the script wasn't written by the Wachowskis, but that alone should have sounded the alarm that something...
Published 17 months ago by Simon Bergeron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 for the action 4/5 for the story, Aug. 29 2013
By 
Cajetan Bouchard "Software Engineer Master St... (New-Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Ninja Assassin is the story of a young child raise in an assassin brotherhood. Top of his class, he is send on mission to assassinate people that thinks against the values of the assassins.

In this movie you will not see a lot of assassinations but you will learn how this young assassin became what he is (5/5 stars). Along with that story, a second story is told about an international organization who try to make a stop to this brotherhood (3/5 stars). The movie has amazing visual effects that you will appreciate in the version of the Blu-ray (totally worth it) (5/5 stars).

As for the content of the disks
- It comes with a combo Blu-ray DVD/Digital Copy (Digital Copy expired on March 14, 2011)
- Video (for Blu-ray) is in 1080p 16x9 2.4:1
- Audio English (DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1), French (Dolby Digital 5.1 doublé au Québec), Spanish (Dolby Digital 5.1)
- Subtitles in English, French and Spanish.

Great movie for fans of martial arts and action movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kick Ass!!, May 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Assassin (Bilingual) (DVD)
Loved the action in this movie! Non stop from beginning to end, too bad there wasn't a sequel to it :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars non stop action, Dec 27 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
this is a great action movie form start to finish. Well worth the cost of buying it. Common story but heck who cares I was entertained. Thats all that matters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, Nov. 2 2012
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray]Love Love this movie can not say one bad thing about it don't expect this to be someting on the emotional side so forget it this is good fight scene..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And just as you thought there couldn't be more blood..., Oct. 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
First of all, it's important not to start watching this movie thinking it'll be the emotionally poignant and historically accurate. I actually think the title says it all. By the time you've heard of that movie called "Ninja Assassin", you already know if either it's going to be awesome or if it's going to be the worst movie ever.

For those of you who know a little about Japanese anime, this might be the live-action movie that comes closest to this genre. We've got a decent story that, in the end, just serves the purpose of tying together the bloody action sequences. The martial arts involved are well made and are surreal but not as much as "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" for instance. Ninjas are bound to the shadows and, in this movie, they literally disappear in/leap from them. There's a lot of CGI blood and cut limbs and it fits the concept well. Speaking of shadows, I first saw this movie at the theater and it's much better on a decent screen on Blu-Ray because there are many scenes that are very dark so the high definition really benefits this movie.

In the end, it's as bloody as it is entertaining and it has this 80's action movies vibe where you just turn off your brain and enjoy the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE EVER, April 11 2010
By 
T. Burns (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ninja Assassin (Bilingual) (DVD)
i tell yea im not a blood fan but i think i am now i loved this movie went to the movie theatre five time in one week i keep telling people that this movie should be on the top ten list of DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninja Assassin = The Definition of a Martial Arts Flick, March 25 2010
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Raizo (played by Rain), an orphan, was taken to a secret ninja training camp run by the Ozunu Clan when he was just a boy. After years of harsh, even deadly, training, Raizo was brought up to be the greatest ninja of the clan, even one who would one day take it over as leader.

While a child and through his growing-up years, he befriends Kiriko (Anna Sawai) and she is just as strong-willed as he is except where he lacks feeling, she has a heart and doesn't agree with all the clan teaches. When Kiriko tries to escape, Raizo sees what it truly means to be a member of the Ozunu Clan and from then on follows his own path to take the clan down.

Enlisting the help of a Europol agent, Mika Coretti (Naomie Harris), together they try and bring the clan to justice. However, not is all what it seems and the Ozunu Clan has plans of their own. Led by Raizo's brother, Takeshi (Rick Yune), the two are hunted, and only after the swords stop slicing and the blood cools will a victor be decided.

This movie is hardcore, man. There's really no other word for it. Total and utter blood-soaked craziness that reminded me of Mortal Kombat (the game). I was just waiting for a low, ominous voice to say "Fatality." Awesome.

The kung fu in this flick is intense, especially the swordplay. Those bladed fights were among some of the best I've seen, right up there with the stuff in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. Rain looked brilliant, his body and demeanor as hard as steel. More than once was I reminded of Bruce Lee in Enter the Dragon with the way he moved. The flashback sequences also worked well and really added to Raizo's back story and firmly cemented us in his psyche so we know why he fights the way he does, why he's on the path he's on, and what motivates him as a ninja. Well done.

What I especially liked in this movie was the ninjas' mystique and their power, namely the part about them being one with the shadows and the paranoia those being hunted had with the dark. The idea of always keeping the lights on and bright was a great way to play this up. The ninja-morphing with the shadows was also cool, giving the impression that these guys, after all that training, have become something more than human.

This is just one crazy bloodbath of a movie. Non-stop action. Amazing sword battles. Cool enough story to string one fight scene to the next.

Ninja Assassin is the definition of a martial arts flick.

Yeah, go check it out. Definitely.

A.P. Fuchs
Canister X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!!!, April 17 2010
By 
N. Aziz (Toronto, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Ok, if you're looking for an avant garde, pushing-the-boundaries, artsy fartsy kind of movie - this is not for you. But if you want a Ninja movie that has awesome fight scenes, a nice coming-of-age-i-gotta-take-revenge setup, beautiful locations, cool background stories, and the hottest lead actor (K-Pop star Rain) I've ever seen, then seriously - YOU HAVE TO GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ninja cinema!, March 29 2010
By 
Charles Lécuyer (St-Rémi, Qc. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
This is definately a must own blu-ray. This may very well be the best action/martial arts hybrid movie I have ever seen, ever ! Wall to wall action, gory blood soaked sword fights (lots of it!) and just plain amazing ninja action! Most highly recommended for fans of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A run-of-the-mill Hollywodd extravaganza..., May 5 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
After V for Vendetta, James McTeigue fans had great expectations for his next project. Sadly, it didn't come to be as interesting as it should have been. The plot's abysmal at best and the characters are washed up and bleached versions of better protagonists. Granted the script wasn't written by the Wachowskis, but that alone should have sounded the alarm that something was wrong. There's loads of blood, even the question of how "superhuman" the ninjas actually are, but no question you can ask yourself will be answered, be it in-depth or even scratched.
The features don't show much either as you get the usual Warner extras. In a word: less than twenty minutes worth of it.
Glad I didn't pay over $5 for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français)
Ninja Assassin [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) by James Mcteigue (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews