Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars699
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

130 of 138 people found the following review helpful

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical versions were mired in controversy due to the digital noise reduction (DNR) used on Fellowship of the Ring. The video has been completely remastered from the film's 2K digital files, and the result is a vast improvement in details: beards never get blurry, not once, and facial features remain pure. Blacks are inky. The new controversy is the greenish tinge, because the colour timing was redone. Thus, the picture looked different from the original DVD version. But according to the studio, this colour timing was approved by Peter Jackson and cinematographer Andrew Lesnie. Overall, the picture was very pleasing. But don't be surprised when future prequels (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, due in theatre December 2012, and The Hobbit: There And Back Again, due in theatre December 2013) are out that the studios may triple dip with another "newly remastered" version of the film. (4/5)

The Two Towers (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 107 minutes; Part 2: 129 minutes). The presentation was magnificent, with great details and strong black levels. Contrast is excellent. (5/5)

The Return Of The King (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 128 minutes; Part 2: 135 minutes). Fine detail is abundant, with lovely contrast and accurate color. The image is delicately textured and highly dimensional. The sweeping shot as King Théoden and his Rohirrim charge the advancing line of Mûmakil on the fields of Pelennor looks almost three-dimensional. (5/5)


The audio in all three films is in DTS-HD MA 6.1. In one word: perfect!! All three tracks are nothing short of splendid, with pitch perfect dynamics, wonderful directionality, constant and appropriate localization effects, superb clarity, impeccable prioritization, wonderful volume spikes, and plenty of down and dirty bass to keep the entire experience engaging, no matter how thoroughly worn out you are by the length of the material. The soundstage is constantly filled, putting you in the middle of the experience throughout the entire affair. This trilogy, with three powerful DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1 mixes, is one reason why this release may rule them all. (5+/5)

There are a total of 15 discs with extensive supplements. This extended blu ray edition will provide many hours of enjoyment for the whole family for years to come: like a Lord Of The Rings marathon during a long weekend. Although it is not perfect, it is still considered the ultimate, definitive Lord Of The Rings for now. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2011
Just a quick note that i took the risk to order this canadian boxset (zone A) for use here in Belgium (zone B players) as i had read here & there that normally these blurays could also be played on european players. Got it delivered within 4 days (so-called 'slow' delivery, fantastic !) and tried it immediately: i can confirm it's also zone B.
Packaging is slightly different to european (french) version, box is narrower (good news too for gain of space in your collection) but french subs are there and for those who wonder about french language it's proper french too, not canadian dubbing.
So: all's fine, great !

PS I've only given it a 4-star because there are those logos & presentations you can't skip at every new vision.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
90 of 98 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2012
Just to say, there are both english AND FRENCH audio option!

Pour les francophones, il y a la version anglaise ET la version française dans ce coffret blu-ray! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 28, 2008
This is another of my retro reviews on products that have been out for awhile but I have never written on.I am happy to be writing this one as, so far as DVD box sets go, there are very few past and present that can come up to the standards set by this special platinum series extended edition of the Lord of The Rings Trilogy of movies.
The discs themselves sit in trays in a fold out folder,that extend two folds per side.Each movie has four discs to each pack.The first two discs are for the movies themselves and the second two are for the special features.There are hours upon hours of special features in these packs,many of which are new.You learn everything from the smallest detail from the production of the movie,to the special effects to interviews with cast and crew.Just a phenomenol range of information.
The first film "Fellowship of the Ring" contains 30 extra minutes of footage to extend it to a running time of roughly 208 minutes.The second film"The Two Towers" contains 43 minutes of extra footage which extends its' running time to about 223 minutes.And the third film"Return of the King" has an extra 50 minutes worth of footage which extends its' run to about 250 minutes.
It is easy at first glance to think that the extra time/footage is just culled from deleted scenes and/or other extraneous footage left out in the original theatrical versions.Director Jacksons' approach,so we are told,was to reconstruct the films as if there was no original version and without time constraints.The end result are these wonderful films.It might also be tempting to think that extra footage will equal extra boring.Surprisingly but happily I must say such is not the case and in fact had there been more footage I would have been glad of it.It is a credit to director Jackson and crew that reassembled these new versions that they never strayed from Tolkiens' books and/or their own original thrusts from the first pictures,but instead expanded and fleshed out many back stories,characters,plots and sub plots that take these films to a whole new level.The extra footage and the fleshing out they give us along with the ingenious re-editing here and there of scenes is a plus and NEVER a minus throughout all of the new versions.Along with the new footage comes a new orchestral score and both are integrated seamlessly throughout.
In conclusion I cannot recommend this set enough to all lovers of Tolkien,fantasy and for all of the fans of these films.Each extended film takes itself and the entire series to an entirely new level of creativity from Peter Jackson and his crew and to a higher and better level of understanding for us,the audience.Therefore the impact of each film is just that much greater and more rewarding.A magnificient achievement off screen and off and a credit and standard for good filmmaking everywhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2007
As much as I love Star Wars, this is definitely the best trilogy ever made.

Do I really need to say everything you probably read or heard somewhere already? Yes, all three films are equally great. They were all shot together after all.

Fellowship of the Ring is about as strong an opening chapter as

you could ask for. Two Towers makes you forget it's just a middle chapter

because it's just as brilliant and... Return of the King sets a new standard for the finale of an epic trilogy.

As if owning the best trilogy ever made wasn't enough, these extended editions are superior to the original theatrical versions. They make the films feel more complete. Oh yeah and all those extras are so detailed you'll want to check out everything though you probably will never find the time to do so. Basically, this set may look expensive but it's worth every


By the way, if you love the movies, I highly recommend the books. They're

absolutely wonderful as well and I'm not a big reader.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2011
The video quality of these 3 movies is amazing. Even on a large projection screen, the detail of the images and the colors far surpass the DVD versions. The extended editions content definitely adds to the understanding of the story. I don't always replace DVD's with Bluray's because with up-conversion they don't necessarily look that much better, but in this case I couldn't be happier. We will watch these again and again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 5, 2013
If you have the DVD version I wouldn't recommend purchasing this box set as there is little benefit. Even with a high end 5.1 HD sound system and picture, I found the difference from the DVD to be less intensive compared to other such examples I have "re-purchased" as Blu-Ray while already having the DVD version (i.e. Serenity, JFK, Underworld)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2011
Great Blu-Ray Set. Excellent video quality and packaging all around. My only issue is the ridiculous amount of previews before the first menu. I'm sorry, I think when you pay for a physical media you shouldn't be subjected to movies you don't care about...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2011
I freaking love this movie, I only just received it yesterday and had to update my blu-ray player to play the media, but it's worth it. Solid quality, I love the extra scenes, some of them don't fit as well as they should (or I'm picking them out because of my mind's established view of the movie). My only gripe is the amount of previews that aren't skipable, so every time you start the movie up, you're spending either half an hour watching previews or taking a couple minutes to skip over them.

Love it. Get it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2011
I've been waiting for this since the extended editions first came out on DVD. I held off on getting a DVD set or the Blu-Ray Theatrical editions because I knew this would be the definitive set to get. Needless to say I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's not BAD per se; it just could have been better.

It's great that FOTR got a new transfer for this release (compared to the theatrical editions), but in getting that new transfer the infamous green tint issue popped up. I know some people say that it's supposed to be like this because Peter Jackson said that the new transfer looks really good and how he intended for it to look - but he said that at the time that the transfer went out for an HDTV broadcast. That statement was made well before this Blu-Ray set came out, so he couldn't have seen what they did to the Blu-Ray. If you compare screenshots with the DVD versions, you can see that the colours are pretty off in this tinted version, especially inside the Hobbit dwellings where it causes everything to appear unnaturally yellow and other colours to be dulled out. The colours on the DVD version are much more vibrant. The detail on the BR version is much better, sure, but the colours really mar what could have been a great release. The colour shift back to "normal" is noticeable when you go from the first movie to the second.

Secondly, one could say that it's really cool that this set includes so many discs of extras, but that actually shows the relative laziness of the studio, because the extras come on DVD discs and unnecessarily bulk up the set. Even if the extras are in SD, we're buying a Blu-Ray set so they could have fit those 9 DVDs of extras onto one or two Blu-Ray discs and saved some space and plastic. It's great to have so many extras, just not great to keep having to switch discs in and out when the technology is there not to have to do so.

Lastly, the Canadian version is an Alliance release and has forced trailers that the American version doesn't have.

All in all, I don't regret buying this set and it's be best available version of the LOTR trilogy, but it's not the definitive set that the fans could have had. It's unlikely the studios are going to do anything about it though, since plenty of people still bought it and lined the execs' pockets with their hard earned cash, so we'll just have to live with it for now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed