Customer Reviews


634 Reviews
5 star:
 (441)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
341 of 393 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 364 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get WB's attention - you're rating the release not the movie, March 18 2010
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!!!!, Dec 1 2011
Great Blu-Ray Set. Excellent video quality and packaging all around. My only issue is the ridiculous amount of previews before the first menu. I'm sorry, I think when you pay for a physical media you shouldn't be subjected to movies you don't care about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade from DVD, Feb. 20 2011
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
There are a lot of bad reviews of this item due to the fact that they are the original theatrical releases and not the extended versions. The fact of the matter is that these are excellent films as they are. The blu-ray versions of these movies have great picture quality; when you see the Witch King on his fell beast you'll be amazed!

Unless you have your heart set on owning the extended versions on blu-ray, I'd recommend buying this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, great dvd set!, Dec 1 2009
the box set came in perfect condition within 5 days of ordering, which is great speedy delivery considering im an international customer residing in Singapore thru standard shipping. im in love with the box set, everything about it is excellent - from the movie to the extras. Only thing that stopped it from becoming a perfect buy was the missing pamphlet in the two towers set, but no big loss there since it merely states what're the contents inside the discs.

the extras in this set is worth mentioning, as the director in charge of it made sure it did not feel like the additonal featurettes were simply added on for the sake of it. these extras actually complement the trilogy extremely well. try watching the appendices from the 1st disc to the last, it'll make you feel as though the making of LOTR is a lot like the movie itself, from the beginning where the cast and crew all came together to form a fellowship, to the end of an era when they all had to part after years of working and living together. the reunion of the cast and crew for the 2004 oscars is reminiscent of the good times they had, and a poignant reminder of the fact that they have all gone on separate paths now.

it's epic and monumental, and considering that it only could so because of the sheer brilliance of the source material, it's sad that something of this scale will probably never be achieved ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ditto for no EE no buyee, March 25 2010
By 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I'm in the camp that won't buy this until the EE version. If it included EE i would have insta-bought it... Too bad for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely dissapointing!, March 17 2010
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I completely agree with the other '1 star' posts - don't buy this. Wait for the Extended Edition. This is a blatant attempt to mislead consumers. It's one thing to release both versions at different times just after the movies have gone through the theatres. But to try this as part of a format change when both versions have been out on DVD for years shows complete disregard for consumers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I guess the Money factor outweighs the pre-rewiews to this ripoff., March 6 2010
By 
Peter Browne (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Despite the Negative publicity over the Studio releasing a STANDARD version of the LOR in Blu-ray instead of the Extended Version, some greedy little whanabe has decided `Why Not give it a Go, after all, there's money to be made!' Hope it goes down in flames, and to get rid of the excess inventory, they have to sell off the STANDARD Blu-ray version at $9.95!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great but marred by green tint, too many discs and forced trailers., Dec 5 2011
By 
Pedram Saleh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been waiting for this since the extended editions first came out on DVD. I held off on getting a DVD set or the Blu-Ray Theatrical editions because I knew this would be the definitive set to get. Needless to say I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's not BAD per se; it just could have been better.

It's great that FOTR got a new transfer for this release (compared to the theatrical editions), but in getting that new transfer the infamous green tint issue popped up. I know some people say that it's supposed to be like this because Peter Jackson said that the new transfer looks really good and how he intended for it to look - but he said that at the time that the transfer went out for an HDTV broadcast. That statement was made well before this Blu-Ray set came out, so he couldn't have seen what they did to the Blu-Ray. If you compare screenshots with the DVD versions, you can see that the colours are pretty off in this tinted version, especially inside the Hobbit dwellings where it causes everything to appear unnaturally yellow and other colours to be dulled out. The colours on the DVD version are much more vibrant. The detail on the BR version is much better, sure, but the colours really mar what could have been a great release. The colour shift back to "normal" is noticeable when you go from the first movie to the second.

Secondly, one could say that it's really cool that this set includes so many discs of extras, but that actually shows the relative laziness of the studio, because the extras come on DVD discs and unnecessarily bulk up the set. Even if the extras are in SD, we're buying a Blu-Ray set so they could have fit those 9 DVDs of extras onto one or two Blu-Ray discs and saved some space and plastic. It's great to have so many extras, just not great to keep having to switch discs in and out when the technology is there not to have to do so.

Lastly, the Canadian version is an Alliance release and has forced trailers that the American version doesn't have.

All in all, I don't regret buying this set and it's be best available version of the LOTR trilogy, but it's not the definitive set that the fans could have had. It's unlikely the studios are going to do anything about it though, since plenty of people still bought it and lined the execs' pockets with their hard earned cash, so we'll just have to live with it for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - But Discs' Garbage is Annoying, Jan. 18 2015
By 
C. Alarcon "Master Uchual" (Markham, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must have collection for any LOTR aficionado. They have an excellent Bluray quality (video and sound) rendition of the films. The extras (DVD quality) are plentiful and interesting to follow.

I personally don't mind the fact that each part of the trilogy is split in 2 discs, as they each are long enough to require a bathroom/snack break in between.

The one thing I really dislike about this particular package is the amount of previews (a.k.a. garbage) at the beginning of each part. And the fact that there is no way to jump from there to the main disc menu (only by means of pushing the skip scene button many times). I can accept previews and other uninteresting material in rental discs, but not in a movie collection set like this one. A huge disappointment for this reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Dec 24 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a lover of fantasy since childhood, I first read the Lord of the Rings novels in 1968, and many times since. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, though derived from Norse, Icelandic, and Anglo-Saxon legends/sagas, is the basis for the current popular literature of fantasy. The first set of movies set in New Zealand were marvelous. But there were several things missing. The Two Towers was disjointed. The section with the Ents was a bit short. The Return of the King underplayed the secondary romance with Faramir and the Rohan princess. This extended series sets it right. (Most of it. I do miss Tom Bombadill.)

The extended Lord of the Rings is truly astounding. This is and will be for a long time, the definitive movie of a definitive novel, the underpinning of all modern fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 364 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 73.99 CDN$ 34.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews