Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third "re-purchase" as Blu-Ray, from existing DVD version
If you have the DVD version I wouldn't recommend purchasing this box set as there is little benefit. Even with a high end 5.1 HD sound system and picture, I found the difference from the DVD to be less intensive compared to other such examples I have "re-purchased" as Blu-Ray while already having the DVD version (i.e. Serenity, JFK, Underworld)
Published on July 5 2013 by Troy Lohnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 368 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!, Jan. 19 2005
By 
This 12 disc set is amazing. 2 discs each for the 3 movies, and 2 discs each for preproduction/production/post production information.
I used to think buying movies with special features (i.e., movie in the making peeks) was just a waste of money, but being a LOR fan I just had to have the extended edition set, and, Lo and Behold! ..I had as much fun watching the special features and it made me appreciate the movie more. My husband wasn't much into LOR (he isn't a 'reader'), but now he's a fan as well. We found everything else on TV boring after watching it when we got it for Christmas.
Plus, you can watch the movie 4 times more with different audio commentaries from cast and crew. It was worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great but marred by green tint, too many discs and forced trailers., Dec 5 2011
By 
Pedram Saleh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been waiting for this since the extended editions first came out on DVD. I held off on getting a DVD set or the Blu-Ray Theatrical editions because I knew this would be the definitive set to get. Needless to say I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's not BAD per se; it just could have been better.

It's great that FOTR got a new transfer for this release (compared to the theatrical editions), but in getting that new transfer the infamous green tint issue popped up. I know some people say that it's supposed to be like this because Peter Jackson said that the new transfer looks really good and how he intended for it to look - but he said that at the time that the transfer went out for an HDTV broadcast. That statement was made well before this Blu-Ray set came out, so he couldn't have seen what they did to the Blu-Ray. If you compare screenshots with the DVD versions, you can see that the colours are pretty off in this tinted version, especially inside the Hobbit dwellings where it causes everything to appear unnaturally yellow and other colours to be dulled out. The colours on the DVD version are much more vibrant. The detail on the BR version is much better, sure, but the colours really mar what could have been a great release. The colour shift back to "normal" is noticeable when you go from the first movie to the second.

Secondly, one could say that it's really cool that this set includes so many discs of extras, but that actually shows the relative laziness of the studio, because the extras come on DVD discs and unnecessarily bulk up the set. Even if the extras are in SD, we're buying a Blu-Ray set so they could have fit those 9 DVDs of extras onto one or two Blu-Ray discs and saved some space and plastic. It's great to have so many extras, just not great to keep having to switch discs in and out when the technology is there not to have to do so.

Lastly, the Canadian version is an Alliance release and has forced trailers that the American version doesn't have.

All in all, I don't regret buying this set and it's be best available version of the LOTR trilogy, but it's not the definitive set that the fans could have had. It's unlikely the studios are going to do anything about it though, since plenty of people still bought it and lined the execs' pockets with their hard earned cash, so we'll just have to live with it for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!!!!, Dec 1 2011
Great Blu-Ray Set. Excellent video quality and packaging all around. My only issue is the ridiculous amount of previews before the first menu. I'm sorry, I think when you pay for a physical media you shouldn't be subjected to movies you don't care about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, except..., Oct. 18 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I freaking love this movie, I only just received it yesterday and had to update my blu-ray player to play the media, but it's worth it. Solid quality, I love the extra scenes, some of them don't fit as well as they should (or I'm picking them out because of my mind's established view of the movie). My only gripe is the amount of previews that aren't skipable, so every time you start the movie up, you're spending either half an hour watching previews or taking a couple minutes to skip over them.

Love it. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double Dipping, Feb. 8 2010
By 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Its one thing to double dip by re-releasing on a differnt format but to hold off on the extended editions again?? after they are alread available anyways? No way waste of money especially with this hype about bluray's having soo much capacity yet they release everything with less features then a dvd ? come on. Lord of The rings is awesome but this set is a waste of money wait for the extended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get WB's attention - you're rating the release not the movie, March 18 2010
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade from DVD, Feb. 20 2011
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
There are a lot of bad reviews of this item due to the fact that they are the original theatrical releases and not the extended versions. The fact of the matter is that these are excellent films as they are. The blu-ray versions of these movies have great picture quality; when you see the Witch King on his fell beast you'll be amazed!

Unless you have your heart set on owning the extended versions on blu-ray, I'd recommend buying this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jackson Ruins Lord of the Rings!!, April 23 2015
Sadly I am one of the few who thinks Peter Jackson is a complete tool. This idiot pursued his own vision of what he thought the Lord of the Rings should be instead of creating a faithful adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien's masterpiece. No Tom Bombadil for God sakes! Because of the big budget we'll be at least 30 years before anyone thinks to make a true movie. Too bad Christopher Tolkien is a sell out that cares more about a fast buck than preserving his father's legacy.

The movies tarnish the nobility of both Aragorn and Faramir. Aragorn NEVER wavers in is love for Arwen, and Faramir NEVER tries to take Frodo back. Then Dr. Claw from Inspector Gadget cartoons shows up as the chief orc in Return of the King making Sauron's army look comically stupid. The only masterful character is Gollum, kudos to Andy Serkis and the team behind Gollum. Gimli and Frodo are horribly done. These actors especially sucked in portraying their character. Legolas was also done well. I could go on for pages pointing out things not done in a way that would make the series truly awesome.

That being said, 90% of why this series is bad is PETER JACKSON. His perversion of the Tolkien vision has ruined this saga for an entire generation. Now he's done the same with the Hobbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, great dvd set!, Dec 1 2009
the box set came in perfect condition within 5 days of ordering, which is great speedy delivery considering im an international customer residing in Singapore thru standard shipping. im in love with the box set, everything about it is excellent - from the movie to the extras. Only thing that stopped it from becoming a perfect buy was the missing pamphlet in the two towers set, but no big loss there since it merely states what're the contents inside the discs.

the extras in this set is worth mentioning, as the director in charge of it made sure it did not feel like the additonal featurettes were simply added on for the sake of it. these extras actually complement the trilogy extremely well. try watching the appendices from the 1st disc to the last, it'll make you feel as though the making of LOTR is a lot like the movie itself, from the beginning where the cast and crew all came together to form a fellowship, to the end of an era when they all had to part after years of working and living together. the reunion of the cast and crew for the 2004 oscars is reminiscent of the good times they had, and a poignant reminder of the fact that they have all gone on separate paths now.

it's epic and monumental, and considering that it only could so because of the sheer brilliance of the source material, it's sad that something of this scale will probably never be achieved ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - But Discs' Garbage is Annoying, Jan. 18 2015
By 
C. Alarcon "Master Uchual" (Markham, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must have collection for any LOTR aficionado. They have an excellent Bluray quality (video and sound) rendition of the films. The extras (DVD quality) are plentiful and interesting to follow.

I personally don't mind the fact that each part of the trilogy is split in 2 discs, as they each are long enough to require a bathroom/snack break in between.

The one thing I really dislike about this particular package is the amount of previews (a.k.a. garbage) at the beginning of each part. And the fact that there is no way to jump from there to the main disc menu (only by means of pushing the skip scene button many times). I can accept previews and other uninteresting material in rental discs, but not in a movie collection set like this one. A huge disappointment for this reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 368 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 73.99 CDN$ 34.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews