Customer Reviews


620 Reviews
5 star:
 (424)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (96)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
336 of 386 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 362 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third "re-purchase" as Blu-Ray, from existing DVD version, July 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have the DVD version I wouldn't recommend purchasing this box set as there is little benefit. Even with a high end 5.1 HD sound system and picture, I found the difference from the DVD to be less intensive compared to other such examples I have "re-purchased" as Blu-Ray while already having the DVD version (i.e. Serenity, JFK, Underworld)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviews are getting mixed up?, March 18 2011
So many reviews here are people complaining about the set they purchased not being shipped. However, these reviews are all for the DVD set, not the Blu-ray. So why on Earth is Amazon listing all those reviews on the Blu-ray product's page? It's bound to get confusing for customers. I know I was wondering what these people were talking about at first until I saw another review clarifying the others were referring to the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double Dipping, Feb. 8 2010
By 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Its one thing to double dip by re-releasing on a differnt format but to hold off on the extended editions again?? after they are alread available anyways? No way waste of money especially with this hype about bluray's having soo much capacity yet they release everything with less features then a dvd ? come on. Lord of The rings is awesome but this set is a waste of money wait for the extended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get WB's attention - you're rating the release not the movie, March 18 2010
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!!!!, Dec 1 2011
Great Blu-Ray Set. Excellent video quality and packaging all around. My only issue is the ridiculous amount of previews before the first menu. I'm sorry, I think when you pay for a physical media you shouldn't be subjected to movies you don't care about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade from DVD, Feb. 20 2011
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
There are a lot of bad reviews of this item due to the fact that they are the original theatrical releases and not the extended versions. The fact of the matter is that these are excellent films as they are. The blu-ray versions of these movies have great picture quality; when you see the Witch King on his fell beast you'll be amazed!

Unless you have your heart set on owning the extended versions on blu-ray, I'd recommend buying this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, great dvd set!, Dec 1 2009
the box set came in perfect condition within 5 days of ordering, which is great speedy delivery considering im an international customer residing in Singapore thru standard shipping. im in love with the box set, everything about it is excellent - from the movie to the extras. Only thing that stopped it from becoming a perfect buy was the missing pamphlet in the two towers set, but no big loss there since it merely states what're the contents inside the discs.

the extras in this set is worth mentioning, as the director in charge of it made sure it did not feel like the additonal featurettes were simply added on for the sake of it. these extras actually complement the trilogy extremely well. try watching the appendices from the 1st disc to the last, it'll make you feel as though the making of LOTR is a lot like the movie itself, from the beginning where the cast and crew all came together to form a fellowship, to the end of an era when they all had to part after years of working and living together. the reunion of the cast and crew for the 2004 oscars is reminiscent of the good times they had, and a poignant reminder of the fact that they have all gone on separate paths now.

it's epic and monumental, and considering that it only could so because of the sheer brilliance of the source material, it's sad that something of this scale will probably never be achieved ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ditto for no EE no buyee, March 25 2010
By 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I'm in the camp that won't buy this until the EE version. If it included EE i would have insta-bought it... Too bad for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely dissapointing!, March 17 2010
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I completely agree with the other '1 star' posts - don't buy this. Wait for the Extended Edition. This is a blatant attempt to mislead consumers. It's one thing to release both versions at different times just after the movies have gone through the theatres. But to try this as part of a format change when both versions have been out on DVD for years shows complete disregard for consumers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I guess the Money factor outweighs the pre-rewiews to this ripoff., March 6 2010
By 
Peter Browne (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Despite the Negative publicity over the Studio releasing a STANDARD version of the LOR in Blu-ray instead of the Extended Version, some greedy little whanabe has decided `Why Not give it a Go, after all, there's money to be made!' Hope it goes down in flames, and to get rid of the excess inventory, they have to sell off the STANDARD Blu-ray version at $9.95!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 362 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy - Theatrical Edition [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 73.99 CDN$ 34.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews