Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The island's choice
When we last saw the "Lost" gang, they had set off a nuclear bomb so the timeline would be reset. Well, obviously things don't go so smoothly, or the series would have ended LAST season.

And it serves as the springboard for "Lost: The Complete Sixth And Final Season," which serves as a brilliantly brain-twisting finale for this unspeakably weird series. JJ...
Published on May 23 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars NO, NOT PURGATORY. THEY WERE ...CalvinBalling IT ALL ALONG!!
I was a huge fan of LOST. I managed to avoid watching the episodes when first aired in order to enjoy each season in a LOST-binging weekend, when the DVDs were released. What a disappointment was waiting for us at the end!

>>>>>> SPOILERS AHEAD...
Published on July 11 2012 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The island's choice, May 23 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
When we last saw the "Lost" gang, they had set off a nuclear bomb so the timeline would be reset. Well, obviously things don't go so smoothly, or the series would have ended LAST season.

And it serves as the springboard for "Lost: The Complete Sixth And Final Season," which serves as a brilliantly brain-twisting finale for this unspeakably weird series. JJ Abrams doesn't quite manage to wrap up all the countless plot threads he's introduced, but he does manage to provide a semi-satisfying finale for the vast "Lost" saga and its many characters.

In the aftermath of the nuclear bomb, the survivors find themselves being taken captive by a mysterious man (Hiroyuki Sanada) at an ancient temple. At the same time, the Man in Black begins seducing people over to his side, while Jacob's ghost works to get a replacement for his position on the island. And Charles Widmore has finally arrived on the island for reasons of his own, dragging a reluctant Desmond with him.

In another timeline (one where the island is underwater and nobody ever went there), the plane lands safely in L.A. But the fates of the people who were on that flight are still drawn together inexorably -- even though their pasts have been radically different. The history and secrets of the island are revealed, as well as why the people aboard Flight 815 were drawn into the island. And for the evil Man in Black to be stopped, one of the survivors will have to do something unbelievable.

"Lost" has never been like other network TV shows, but the final season goes all out on the strange stuff -- we've got flashbacks to centuries (even millennia!) ago, two separate timelines, a large number of deaths, and the revelation that basically the entire series has been a yin-yang battle between light and darkness. The biggest problem: Not all the plot threads are neatly tied off, and not all questions are answered (why are the numbers BAD?).

And the finale is a rather mixed bag -- it's not entirely satisfying, but things end on a haunting, philosophical note. Disappointing as a sci-fi story, but very powerful as a personal story.

And the writers spare no emotion, wrenching out some truly powerful moments that mingle tragedy and pure beauty, such as the heartwrenching "Ab Aeterno" (in which we find out about Richard's past) or the painfully sad finale of "The Candidate." And hanging over every episode is the haunted feeling that something terrible is about to happen ("'Cause if you don't... todos nos vamos al infierno") and that it will be epic.

I still find Matthew Fox's Jack annoying (I laughed out loud when Dogen started pummeling him) but Terry Quinn is brilliant as the "evil Locke/Man in Black," a genial villain with icy eyes; Michael Emerson's creepy Ben is fleshed out to perfection; Josh Holloway's hatred, sorrow and pain are explored; and Yunjin Kim and Daniel Dae Kim are ideal when their characters finally reunite. And Jorge Garcia is, as always, the show's heart.

There's also some brilliant performances from the supporting cast -- Nestor Carbonell will break your HEART, Hiroyuki Sanada has a brief but excellent role, and Mark Pellegrino is eerie and a little sad.

"Lost: The Complete Final Season" does not answer all the questions raised, and the finale is too oblique, but it does conjure up a brilliantly complex, powerful final arc for this unique TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Converges into A Sea of Change, Nov. 17 2011
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
The final season of Lost reflects the French song "La Mer," which Shannon sings in the Season 1 episode "Whatever The Case May Be." That song is about change and mutability, and the image of the sea in the final season reflects how the characters change as they evolve through each other's mutual struggles. The sea is a symbol for change, which is both individual and universal. The book that Desmond reads on Oceanic 815 (in the flash sideways) is called "Haroun and The Sea of Stories." The image of the sea at the beginning of the first episode "LAX" evokes the sense of change that the characters experience. It is also interesting to note the symbolic significance of the relationship between Jacob and the Man in Black. They are both brothers and symbolically destiny and free will are brothers as well as they are closely related. Repetition is an important symbol as the lyrics of the song "La Mer" appear over and over again on Rousseau's map, and Desmond is forced to repeatedly push the button. The symbol of repetition reflects the close relationship between destiny and free will as the characters evolve through repetition (learning from the pattern of their lives) as well as the repetition of destiny (the pattern that reveals their individual and collective destiny). The symbol of the mirror pertains to how the characters are able to recognize their ability to change by looking beneath the layers of their consciousness. Jack breaks the mirror in the lighthouse partly because he recognizes that he has evolved and no longer views himself reflected in the past. In the flash sideways, Sawyer breaks a mirror as he recognizes that his past is trying to catch up with him. This is an amazing show and the final season intertwines all the symbolic elements to generate a harmonious philosophical whole. Desmond's act of pushing the button at the beginning of Season 2 symbolizes how one generation must maintain values such as love, hope and creativity in order for these values to be transmitted to future generations. Season 6 demonstrates that each season transmitted the symbolism to the following seasons in order for the characters to evolve along with the values they represent. The characters' evolution is reflected in how the island constantly changes location in space/time (which in turn is reflected in Jack's statement to Kate "I'd say it's hard for you to stay in one place." I highly recommend the final season of Lost as it is a beautiful masterpiece that allows all the symbols and metaphors to converge (hence the name of the book that Jacob reads "Everything That Rises Must Converge." At the end, fate and free will become reconciled, and the diverging points of view of the characters become unified, giving the impression that the island is actually a universal consciousness comprised of other people's hearts and minds. The island demonstrates how the characters are initially trapped in their limited perspective of themselves and life, and how they later become one through the mutual desire to achieve redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a show!, April 2 2012
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
Perfect ending to one of the most riveting TV shows ever! Although it received mixed criticisms from reviewers, I couldn't have hoped for a better ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Writers failed in my opinion... at least me anyways., May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
They had a mysterious uncharted tropical Island that healed, a classic supernatural struggle between good & evil, 3 human factions (The Dharma Initiative, The Others, and The Survivors of Oceanic Airlines Flight 815) and the writers couldn't think up something better then a ending which made it seem like a "it was all a dream" but all this case they were dead or stuck in a place between heaven and earth?. To many questions left unanswered and to much pointless scenes. Where did it start going wrong?!?, maybe when they did a flash forward to jack and kate in a dark parking lot and for sure the flash sideways or whatever the stupid idea was called.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just love the series, March 16 2014
By 
Arlene F. Bailey (Alberta,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
I had not seen season 6 so finding it a real treat. It's great to see it pulling the whole story line together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Final season!!, Jan. 2 2013
By 
Y. Gendreau "Teddy" (quebec, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
Finaly!
It's a good thing it's over, it was more and more complicated.
This ties the knot with prety much everything we saw in the serie.

Must watch the other 5 season because you'll be lost....ha! ha! ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok show hated ending, Nov. 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
ok show hated the ending another show that makes you think hated the ending some likable characters some you just don't want to be bothered with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NO, NOT PURGATORY. THEY WERE ...CalvinBalling IT ALL ALONG!!, July 11 2012
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
I was a huge fan of LOST. I managed to avoid watching the episodes when first aired in order to enjoy each season in a LOST-binging weekend, when the DVDs were released. What a disappointment was waiting for us at the end!

>>>>>> SPOILERS AHEAD <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< I started watching LOST for the deep personal stories that touched and interweaved with each other unexpectedly and mysteriously. I continued to watch LOST because of the paranormal mysteries that were hinted of having very normal explanations. Well, maybe not normal but at least logical. What was the Black Smoke? Why is Ben so important? Do the dead resurrect on the Island like Jack's father or dead means dead, like Ben's daughter? Why can it there be no children getting born on the Island? What do the Numbers mean? How was Lock able to walk again and why did he have to die at the end? Why did the statue have four fingers? And what about the polar bears, the one on the island and the other fossilized with a Dharma collar in ancient Egyptian ruins.

As it turns out, the creators of the series had no clue whatsoever. They kept throwing PostIts with ancient, urban and and religious mythology on the board and THEN they tried to mold the resulting pulp of ideas into a narrative. This way, something was bound to catch your interest every week. Yet, they had no idea where the story was going. Not even at the end. Well, especially at the end.

The problem with Season 6 of LOST was that, during the previous seasons, it had hooked us with so many lines that we expected either a fish or at least some uneaten bait at the end of them. Most of these lines simply ended, never to be picked up ever again.

No deeper meaning. No logical explanation that can tie around everything. Just a luminous steampunk spring that "is important".

I could not put it in words until I came across Jonathan McCalmont's Blog, Ruthless Culture: LOST was nothing but CalvinBall. An imaginary game whose rules are made up as we play along. No one keeps score, no one plans ahead, no one wins.

I did not expect the creators of LOST to provide serious answers to life's cardinal questions.
I did expect them to answer their own d@mn questions, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Didn't Understand The Ending Either, Oct. 25 2011
By 
Torie Monaghan (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
As this season 6 stars we are led to belive or mislead to belive that the bomb which was detonated at the end of season 5 exploded and everything worked as planned and there never was an incident and the hatch was never built and the plane never crashed ETC.

So we watch the plane land in LA and we're given what are refered to as " Sideflashes " to show us what would have happened to the passangers of the plane. these start off very normal of course, but then all of a sudden Miles and Sawyer are in LA working as Police?? Now I don't understand how the hatch never being built could have made Sawyer and Miles end up working as Police in LA. Or how Jack would have had a son or why Locke and his father were close.

And I have to admit as the season progressed it seemed to get darker and darker, especaily that episode "the candidate", I don't think anyone could have imagined the ending of that episode.

The ending to the series would have made a lot more sense if it ended with Jack dying and the camera pulling out to reveal Jack was still wearing his suit that he was wearing when the plane originally crashed and everything he was thinking AKA, the entire Lost series, was just his life flashing before his eyes as he slowly died because the whole thing about the light in the cave seems like what someone would think about when they are delusional and dying and the last thing him seeing being the plane flying away is his hope of Kate getting away being revealed.

I also have to admit that Terry O'Quinn, did an excellent job portraying the smoke monster.

I don't know what they were trying to get at with the final season of Lost but i gotta admit it was still intersting on DVD, trying to watch LOST on TV would have been a nightmare, infuriating and maddening!!!

There were far to many unanswered questions for this to rate 5 stars so i'll give it four stars and hope that maybe someday they'll be some sort of something ??

But us DVD people got the bonus chapter of," The New Man In Charge" staring Hurley and Ben, so who really knows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars french traduction, Oct. 22 2010
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season (DVD)
i did'nt knew that the movie had not french version
it was'nt mention in the description
you should always mention all traduction include in the movie
audio and subtitles
thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season
Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season by Jorge Garcia (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 27.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews