Customer Reviews


1,165 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,097)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch television, grounded before its time.
If you're not a science fiction fan, you may be looking at the endless string of rapturous reviews for "Firefly" and rolling your eyes. While "Firefly" certainly doesn't lack in geek appeal, its sharp writing, excellent cast and often-striking visual style elevate it into the ranks of Just Plain Great Television. After a somewhat bumpy start, this series found its groove...
Published on Oct. 14 2003 by Nathan Alderman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Bad quality of Blue ray discs.
I love the show and wish that it had not been cut short.

And I highly recommend this show to anyone.

The quality of the discs on the other hand was a very large disappointment to me.

The first disc was completely unplayable, and all three discs were very dirty, like someone had thrown them in the dirt before selling them.
Published 5 months ago by William Dean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Keep Serenity flying!, Feb. 28 2005
By 
Dawn (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
The only bad thing about this series is that you'll be left wanting more, as Firefly was undeservedly prematurely cancelled by shortsighted TV execs (Now that's never happened before!!!), but the 14 episodes in existence are total gems. Excellent writing, witty dialogue, great characters that you really care about, humorous and dramatic storylines...and the list goes on!
An intriguing and entertaining blend of western and sci-fi, but even if you're not particularly a fan of either of those genres, you're sure to enjoy it.
Buy it now...you won't regret it! (Just look how many people have taken the trouble to submit reviews (this is the first time I've ever cared enough to submit one), we can't all be wrong!)
And don't despair...a film is now on the way (Serenity), due out in September 2005. (Hopefully to be followed by sequels, and, in a perfect world, resumption of the TV series!) Mark it in your diaries, and go along to your local cinema (with as many family members and friends as possible!!) and show your support for Serenity, Captain Tight-pants and the rest of the crew!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Buy this DVD!, Aug. 24 2004
By 
H. Deveaux "HistoryLover" (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Firefly remains one of my favourite tv shows of all time. The characters are vibrant, quirky and real, their dialogue sparkles; the story lines are well developed, highly entertaining, and just great fun to watch. Joss Whedon has conceived of a future world that is believable, interesting, and well worth watching. Even the theme song is beautifully well-written. I find myself humming it all the time.
I still cannot believe the stupidity of FOX execs for first, totally screwing up the launch of the show, then messing around with the scheduling constantly, and finally cancelling it because folks were slow to figure out when it would be on! With the tremendous volumes of mindless and pointless programming on in recent years, I suppose I should not have been shocked to see one of the most intelligent and entertaining programs taken off the air to make room for more inexpensive, "reality" drivel. I have since cancelled my cable subscrption in disgust. But at least I have this DVD, and look forward with great anticipation to the launch of the movie "Serenity" next spring. "You can't take the sky from me!"
The DVD is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't know a thing., July 14 2004
By 
J. M Quiggins "Sole_Fish" (Owensboro, Ky. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this DVD collection on a whimsy. I could not find anything else i wanted. And i couldn't stomach Punky Brewster. I had never even seen this series. So, i looked at the packaging. Nice. I read the excerpts. Interesting. I dropped the thirty five bucks. Then, i watched it. Episode one left me feeling 'bleh'. By the end of episode 2 i began to realise i was watching one of the most enthralling television series i had ever watched. Never had i been so glued to any television program since 'V' the miniseries, or Stephen Kings' 'The Stand'. And, that is exactly what this plays out like. A powerfully orchestrated high budget mini-series. The continuing story-line is compelling. Even downright memorable. I had honest and loud physical and verbal reactions while watching this. That is how PERFECTLY they fleshed out these characters. I feel i now know them. And i am not happy they are gone. Shame on you FOX. You should've tried harder. Don't you realize that this has a true future? Dump the reality shows ,you idiots, and get this back on the air. A mix of western, a little star trek, even romance and spelunking. What an incredible ride it has been watching this set. I only wish there could be a second one. Buy this set and show the moronic TV execs what real entertainment is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, July 12 2004
By 
J. Norris (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firefly is, quite simply, breathtakingly good. This DVD set is worth every dollar that you will spend on it and as you watch each episode of this amazing series you will say two things over and over again:
1. This is AMAZING!
2. HOW could FOX have cancelled this?!
Where to start? The first thing that's really impressive about this series is that I haven't been able to find a person that doesn't like it yet. I'm a NASA engineer and a science fiction geek, so it's no surprise that I like it. But, my psychologist wife, my artist sister-in-law, my teenage history-buff brother-in-law - everyone loves it. The second thing I'll mention is the consistent quality of Firefly's episodes. There are NO "bad episodes" in this series. Even my favorite Sci Fi series, Babylon 5, had at least a couple of lousy episodes each season.
There are so many other things I could mention about this series - it's visual effects are on par with the biggest hollywood science fiction movies, the costumes and sets are gorgeous, and the actors all believable and fun to watch. I'll save you the time - just buy the series and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fox has no soul, July 11 2004
I watched most of the series at my Uncle's house this weekend.
This is so unfair, I remember watched this series when it first came out and not being able to understand it because I came into what I thought was the middle of the season. It was not in fact the middle of the series that was where it really started with episode 2 that was why I was so confused. Firefly has gained another fan I will be one till I die.
Basic plot is standard-two different factions fight a war one side The Alliance had more guns and ships than the other side the disorganized and poorly armed Independents. They do not lack for courage but the Independents are forced to give way in the face of superior fire power.
Six years later those Independents who have the guts have hightailed it to the end of space finding an uneasy niche amongst the smugglers, pirates and other unsavory types that run the different systems.
The series follows the adventures of one of these crews.
I don't understand why this show was canned especially when you play the episodes in the order they were meant to be viewed so the plot makes some type of sense. The people in charge of Fox are idiots, but I guess they had to make room for Joe Millionaire 25
Trust me any of you that had a problem with this series when it was aired because the episodes were being aired out of sequence are not alone. I urge you to buy the DVD and may your experience with this fresh, original and unjustifiably canceled show be as positive as mine was
Overall-I hope the Firefly will be the Star Trek of the 21st century, but it probably will not be because there is no justice in the world.
Remember guys "You can't take the Sky from me"
(been dying to say that)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you jonesing for quality tv writing??, July 10 2004
By 
Fighting Midget (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Firefly is THE most underrated television series of all-time. During a time when reality TV is slowly but surely destroying the minds of America, along came a series that was intelligent yet entertaining at the same time. Have you ever thought television executives were just throwing darts against a wall choosing which television series to cancel and renew? Well, not far from the truth. Firefly being pulled from the airways by one of the networks was the single worst crime committed by Hollywood against the American public.
I wholeheartedly endorse purchasing this complete series and tuning in for yourself. It is one of the greatest television programs ever created. The writing is brilliant, and the acting of the series stars is top-notch. It is a fantastic example of seeing how an entire production crew (from the producer, director, actors, etc.) all LOVE and truly BELIEVE in what they are doing.
Buy it. Buy it today. Buy it for your friends, family, and neighbors. You will NOT be sorry you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Take the Sky From Me, July 10 2004
By 
Damon A. Schmidt (Lambertville, New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firefly is sci-fi in the best sense. It is a story about characters where the technology doesn't overwhelm the characterization. In contrast to Gene Roddenberry's near utopian vision of the future, the people of Joss Whedon's 'verse still has some wrinkles to work out.
The highest of tech is something only the core worlds can afford. Out on the rim, people make do with whatever they can. Sometimes this means that they farm and raise cattle and expend a lot more sweat and time doing it the old fashioned way.
Serenity is a Firefly class transport ship commanded by Malcolm Reynolds, an officer on the losing side of the recent galactic civil war (Independents vs. Alliance); his first mate Zoe fought at his side during the war. The other characters include the mercenary known as Jayne, the engineering miracle worker Kaylee, Zoe's husband, the pilot, Wash, and the (nod, wink) Ambassador, Inara. Inara is a Companion, one of a guild of cultured, well trained, well... high class call girls. She provides a little 'respectability' to the crew, allowing them to go places and get jobs they might otherwise be unable to.
Mal takes jobs both legal and illegal, anything to keep Serenity flying, but he has a strong sense of right and wrong. In the course of things, the crew picks up Simon Tam and his sister River, fugitives from the Alliance as well as a man named Book who claims to be a Shepherd. Many secrets remain untold about these passengers, some of which are revealed over the course of the series.
Firefly is wonderfully written, beautifully shot and acted and a joy in every way. Its dramatic, scary, charming, adventurous, and laugh-out-loud funny. I can hardly wait for the movie, Serenity, to continue the story of my favorite crew. Serenity's still flying, and that's enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly - The Complete Series, July 10 2004
By 
DeVario Lopez (Sacramento, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, let me tell you a little story. In the fall of 2002, I began to see promos for a new show created by Joss Whedon called Firefly. Pretty much all I thought about it was, "Cool, he made another show?" I was already aware that he was the man behind the shows Buffy and Angel. The concept of Firefly looked interesting, but I didn't think much else of it because I didn't (and still don't) watch TV that much. I couldn't even if I wanted to because at the time my work hours wouldn't have permitted it. I didn't hear or see much about the show anymore after that.
Maybe a year or so after Firefly's cancellation, I once again began hearing talk about the show, about how great it was and about how FOX was stupid for mishandling it the way they did. The DVD set of the complete series had been released, and I remembered that this was the show that I saw promos for everywhere back in '02. All the word-of-mouth got me curious, then genuinely interested. I began looking at more reviews and other info I could find. My growing interest in seeing this show made me decide that I would take the plunge and make a blind purchase of the DVD set. After all, dozens upon dozens of favorable reviews can't be wrong, right?
And so it was, just a few weeks ago I FINALLY headed over to a Virgin Megastore and grabbed my copy of this here set that I'm reviewing now. Turns out those dozens upon dozens of favorable reviews WEREN'T wrong. I have already seen all the episodes and I really enjoyed this show. I may have jumped onto the fanwagon almost two years after the fact, but it's never too late to get into it. If you want to know what I like about this fine series, then you can check out some of the other reviews, because I'm sure I agree with what they have to say as well. This is one of the few DVDs in my vast collection that I keep returning to time and again.
It's too bad that the show wasn't given a fair chance by the FOX network, but I know the movie is coming out next year and I applaud Universal for knowing they have a good thing. But enough talk, it's time to watch some more Firefly episodes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show! Not just for sci fi junkies!, July 10 2004
By 
Jason Jackson "Jason Jackson" (Rapid City, SD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I started watching this show when it came out on Fox a couple of years ago, and loved it. The characters and stories were all well thought out. Being a space western, the feel of the show was unique and the special effects were better than anything seen on TV. However, something always seemed a little weird, like the episodes were out of order. As it turns out, my gut feelings were right. What can only be called horribly management and scheduling by Fox, episodes were played out of order. The 2 hour series premiere was not shown first. Instead another episode started the series on TV, jumping right into the middle of a plot line and characters that the audience didn't know. Eleven episodes later Fox had done such a poor job promoting this critically acclaimed show that it was cancelled with another 3 episodes left unaired. These episodes are included, fully produced, on the DVD set.
So many Firefly DVD sets have now been sold that Universal Studios has series creator Joss Whedon (Buffy and Angel fame) already filming a Firefly big screen movie called "Serenity" (serenitymovie.com). I would encourage anyone to by the series. You will be left wanting more, which will be coming next spring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is FOX on Drugs?, July 8 2004
By 
I remember hearing about this show and seeing few advertisments when it was first broadcasted on Fox, I perked my interest but I missed the shows due to having to work and such. And then It disappeared from existence never to be heard from again, until now. A fellow cashier bought it and told me it was awesome and since I like some Science Fiction shows, I thought maybe I should...and I did. This is one of the best scifi shows ever created. What it is is a science fiction western in space. There are no alien races or anything, it's just human who teraformed various planets to inhabit themselves and they colonized out there (ie: the wild west in space).
It's really creative and has some very interesting characters. Like the captain who has personal issues, his first woman who always follows orders, her husband who's a wimpy funny guy, and the very attractive "space hooker." There's others and things get really complicated when they pick up a doctor and his sister who are wanted by the Alliance (the typical corrupt gov't power).
If you like science fiction, westerns, and some comedy...you need to get this. Lets hope the movie ("Serenity") does excellent and is able to revive this show. Or maybe the sci fi channel will pick it up, after all, they made Stargate Sg-1 one of the most famous scifi shows ever...after FOX dropped the ball. They do that a lot it seems...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firefly: The Complete Series
Firefly: The Complete Series by Nathan Fillion (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 37.98 CDN$ 33.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews