Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Performance from Pacino!!!
Al Pacino plays Carlito Bregante, an ex-con who is very famous for his previous crimes but is trying to lead a straight life. This is an excellent movie for anyone but a definite must see if you are an Al Pacino fan. Carlito slowly gets pulled back into the life he lead before because he is trying to help the people he cares about. I'm not gonna tell the whole story...
Published on April 19 2004 by music/moviefan03

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD freezes
I love this movie, but the dvd freezes throughout the movie and, i did not keep the receipt to send it back. that is ok i guess, maybe it is just my dvd player.
Published 6 months ago by Kim Bohun


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Do The Right Thing, Jan. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Carlitos Way (VHS Tape)
This engaging and underrated drama from Brian De Palma tells the somewhat familiar but interesting story of Carlito (Al Pacino), an ex-con who tries to give his life a meaning and therefore avoids some earlier behaviours and habits. However, obstacles came across as his old "friends" get on his way creating a couple of difficult, tension-filled situations. Despite the predictability of the plot in some moments, this is still a very solid movie with a bunch of intriguing and moving scenes. Also, Sean Penn plays an unusual character worth taking a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sad Script, Sad Acting, Sad Direction, Sad everything!!!, Jan. 8 2004
Practically everything about this movie is AWFUL!!!
This piece of crap is one of the worst flicks I've ever seen. It's probably the first of Pacino's worst films (his streak is still going strong)! I love Pacino's early work, but ever since this one, he REALLY started to suck. He should never try to impersonate a latino EVER again... His effort was simply offensive, esp. with all of the great hispanic actors out there practically begging for work. Another example of Hollywood at it's worst (and most obvious)... Stop the Madness!!!
And for those of you out there who think I'm so different from you, ya oughta' know that I even have a friend who's IN this movie, not to mention I love these TYPE of movies (i.e. The Godfather, Scarface, The Sopranos, Good Fellas, Traffic, etc.) AND most of all, I'm a HUGE Brian DePalma fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's do it Carlito's Way, Dec 13 2003
By 
This was a great mob movie. Pacino is always at his best and in this movie he does a great acting again. For me this movie was scarface with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carlito's Way., Nov. 28 2003
Seen them on video,would like to own them, but can't buy them as they will not play on Australia region 4 DVDs ( Toshiba players.Also Barbarosa,Good Thief,Blood Simple,Wild Bill,Extreme Prejudice,Iceman Cometh(both versions),Red Circle,The Killers,Any help would be appreciated to buy these on Net and play in Australia. Thanks Richard Boue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, Nov. 12 2003
By A Customer
This is a great movie, just as good as scarface. The story is superb, acting is great and characters are interesting. This movie will keep you hooked from start to finish. Al Pacino at his best, alongside Sean Penn, really great performances. Brian DePalma's last great movie, the only flaw is the DVD not enough extras but an all round great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carlito's Way, Oct. 27 2003
By 
JASON HRICAK "GFJ" (GRAND FORKS, ND United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was absolutely hooked from begining to end. Carlito's Way has always been one of the most under rated Mob flicks ever released. I actually thought this movie was far more engrossing that Scar Face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A favor gonna kill you faster than a bullet...", Oct. 5 2003
One of the best gangster movies ever made (in my opinion), Carlito's Way is finally given a Special Edition treatment on DVD. And while the transfer is great, the extras are kind of slim. A making-of featurette, a photo gallery and a theatrical trailer. Wow. This movie deserves better, but I guess I can't gripe too much about it. At least Universal had the generosity to re-release it in anamorphic widescreen.
Carlito's Way is kind of a semi-sequel to Scarface, but at the same time they're two completely different movies. Both films are directed by Brian De Palma, star Al Pacino and have to deal with drug dealing gangsters, but the stories are yin and yang. Scarface is about a volatile hoodlum who does whatever he can to get to the top, whereas Carlito's Way is about a man with morals (street morals, but morals nonetheless) who is doing whatever he can to get OUT of the "game." After being released from prison, Carlito Brigante hooks up with his old flame, Gale, who is the only bright light in his otherwise dark world and also the only one he completely trusts. While trying to save up enough money to get him and Gale out of his twisted surroundings, everyone from old cohorts, young punks and even his drug-addled attorney (Sean Penn in one of his best performances) have other plans for Carlito. In the opening credits, we see that Carlito's plans for a future in paradise are shattered as someone guns him down at a train station. De Palma could have easily avoided doing this, saving it for the end to create more suspense during an already fantastic chase sequence, but what I think he wanted to illustrate was that in the life of Carlito, there is absolutely no hope. As the tagline of the movie suggests, once you're in, there's no getting out. Period.
This movie makes a great companion piece to the aforementioned Scarface, but it's also a great stand alone movie. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super De Palma!, Oct. 3 2003
By 
W. Pender "honuscat" (Cathedral City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carlito's Way (Widescreen) (DVD)
You can't beat the combo of Brian De Palma and Al Pacino. This film excels in every way and rivals Pacino's flawless performance in 'Scarface'. Solid acting from all, imaginative photography and well written story come together to make this a winner. Even Sean Penn (who has never been a favorite of mine) turns in a fine showing in this crime thriller. The train station climax is one of the most gripping scenes of its type that I've ever seen. No weaknesses in this gem that I could find. No Pacino collection is complete without "Carlito's Way".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You think this is big time!?, Aug. 1 2003
This review is from: Carlito's Way (Widescreen) (DVD)
Al Pacino is Carlito Brigante, a small-time hood whose brush with gangster-greatness earned him a 15 year upstate stint. The film tells the story of his last chance to go straight, now that his coke-addicted ace of a lawyer (Sean Penn doing a deliciously evil Dirshowitz parody) has has sprung him out. Released after 5 years on a technicality, Carlito feels redeemed - rehabilitated, reassimilated and soon, gonna be relocated, he tells the judge who must now release him. Though out in a fraction of the time he faced, Carlito was scarred enough by his experiences that he must now go straight. He takes over a tony Spanish Harlem nightclub, setting himself on becoming an honest businessman. He even courts the girl he left behind - played by Penelope Ann Miller. Unfortunately, though his heart is in the right place, or because of that, Carlito is doomed to fail. Carlito is only one of many vile characters that Penn's character represents, but he feels honor bound to the lawyer for springing him. When one of Penn's more powerful clients - a mob boss waiting trial on Rikers - blackmails Penn into helping him escape, Carlito's debt drags him along. De Palma even throws in John Leguizamo as another small-time hood, meant to symbolize a younger Carlito perhaps, as a threat to Carlito's freedom and his life. As the forces surrounding and constricting Carlito's life intensify, he is struck between an unlikely chance at a lawful life, and a return to the old evil ways of "The Last of the Mo-Ricans". Just as the story looks to bring Carlito's decision to a head, Carlito finds himself the target of Penn's mob associates, and "Carlito's Way" degenerates into a high-powered cat-and-mouse-with-guns story that riffs on the famous stairway scene in "The Untouchables".
This is a lot of fun, though it's just one more flick that leans on Pacino's gift of gab instead of rewarding it. Penelope Ann Miller seems an odd choice for a love interest - she's the voice of his conscience, but when your own voice sounds like Al Pacino, anything else pales in comparison. Sean Penn's character is great, but in the end, his wicked ways degenerate into a typical drug-induced haze. John Leguizamo's character is so one-noted, that you wonder why he's even there at all (though you won't have to wonder long, and you can tell just when and where he'll reappear). Still, it's a ride, and whenever you need an excuse to catch some Pacino, "Carlito" provides a fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pacino's best performance, July 18 2003
By 
Mrs B (London, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carlito's Way (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie centres around Carlito Brigante, an ex-con who wants out of the cycle of crime he's been in all of his life. Everyone around him laughs at his dream of being part of a car dealership in the Bahamas with his ex-con friend, but he's determined to earn enough money to buy into this business by saving the profits over time from the night club that he is running. However, he can't seem to get away from the criminals that he used to be involved in, and the new crop of junior criminals who view him as a legend. The worst of these criminals is his own lawyer, played by Sean Penn, who has no idea how things work in the street and yet keeps on pushing the envelope to get what he wants from the various hoodlums.
Pacino and Penn both play their roles brilliantly and the cinematography is equally deserving of praise and notice.
Go rent it! It's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carlito's Way [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews