Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big bluesy beats and slick soulful vocals
The Black Keys are back with Brothers, a lushly produced album that hits you with a head-on assault of big bottom, soul searing blues rock. We are definitely surfing a wave of retro goodness on most of the tracks, especially when vocalist/guitarist Dan Auerbach stays in falsetto for the entire length of Everlasting Light accompanied by background vocalists giving a few...
Published on June 6 2010 by Torval Mork

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brothers - the Black Keys
I have really liked the music I have heard on the radio from the black keys, but this album was a disappointment to me. Part of the reason I purchased was based on other reviews, including a favourable comparison to CCR, but I found nothing comparable at all. I think you need to really be a dedicated fan to enjoy an entire album. If anyone wants to purchse a slightly...
Published on July 5 2012 by Lynne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big bluesy beats and slick soulful vocals, June 6 2010
By 
Torval Mork (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
The Black Keys are back with Brothers, a lushly produced album that hits you with a head-on assault of big bottom, soul searing blues rock. We are definitely surfing a wave of retro goodness on most of the tracks, especially when vocalist/guitarist Dan Auerbach stays in falsetto for the entire length of Everlasting Light accompanied by background vocalists giving a few "shoo shoo waahhh's " for full effect. Ten Cent Pistol is swaggering number, a throw-back to mid-seventies CCR that has some organ thrown in to fill out the sound. In fact, there is quite a bit of keyboard on this album compared to Attack and Release, and I find it is used sparingly enough that it doesn't detract from the guitar/drum aesthetic that has come to define The Black Keys. Drummer/producer Patrick Carney lays down, as usual, a heavy dose of big beats, making this a perfect album for window-rolled-down cruising on a summer day. Clocking in at just under an hour, sure they could have stripped away a few tracks to saturate the album into 40 minutes of rock honey, but I like the length. The two minute interlude of Black Mud, an instrumental track, serves as the perfect runway for the foot stomping She's Long Gone. Along with some Gary Glitter channeling on Howlin' For You, these 15 tracks of full-on rock are a highly referential offering from a band that just keeps doing what it does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YESSSSS, Feb. 4 2012
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
Incredible good rock with '' nut and balls '' performance... like all Bkack Keys CD. Good rough guitar and drums impact. It's more '' commercial '' than their previous but I like also their new direction about the sound and the songs on this one are better recorded too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars moved up the list into my own top ten, Nov. 19 2011
By 
Jane Skinner (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
There are albums that I own - we all have them - that end up being something we reach for again and again, because of the sheer beauty of the music. Some may not think the raw, bluesy cooking sound of the Black Keys is beautiful, but it is. Not only are Dan and Patrick 100% rock solid, they also write wonderful lyrics ... listen to Unknown Brother (which brings tears to my eyes, very special song) and These Days ... amazing. This is not your boy-meets-girl-etc territory, this is really good stuff. I can hardly wait for El Camino; The Black Keys are now my favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Blues Rock, May 19 2010
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
This new album from the duo of Dan Auerbach & Patrick Carney will be on heavy rotation in my car for some time. Perhaps a little more produced-sounding than their previous work, this is definitely not a bad thing, as the result is really quite great. The band offers several blues ballads, with some stellar foot-tapping, grooving tunes, all about love & loss, of course. Stand-out tracks include; Everlasting Light, Howlin' For You, She's Long Gone and Tighten Up (produced by Danger Mouse). Good disc to pick up in time for summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing, May 29 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
Brothers by the Black Keys
another excellent album, i'm so glad dan didn't do another solo album. typical black keys sound but more mature with better musicianship. i only discovered them about 3 years ago but they have become one of my favorites. even my 13 year old son likes them. they have a unique form of combining southern rock with pop on this album. the keyboard use is heavier on this album then others. the music is a little retro sounding, i, like the back up singers, they give it more soul. Check them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
Awesome, awesome and more awesome. This album is a little touch of rock and roll, with some good old blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "might also like", Jan. 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
Bought: The house That Dirt Built by The Heavy and needed another cd to get free shipping.This cd was one of the "might also like" cd's at the bottom of the page.Looked them up on Itunes and decided to add to my cart.Love this cd!! These guys are amazing.Good throw back blues,rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great record. Prompted me to explore their back catalog, April 16 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great record. Prompted me to explore their back catalog, which is more rugged and raw, less trendy and commercial and I believe superior to their more popular works. A stellar band with a strong discography. All of their albums are worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love it, Oct. 20 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
My chiropractor got me hooked on The Black Keys. I found a couple of their songs on YouTube and was hooked. Every song has a distinct sound and doesn't sound like it should be blended into the rest of the album and forgotten about. Awesome CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars merci, Nov. 2 2011
This review is from: Brothers (Audio CD)
le délai de shipping était parfait
l'état du disque correct,j'imagine que la craque sur la pochette c'est produit pendant la livraison.
Je suis tout de même satisfaite
merci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brothers
Brothers by The Black Keys (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
In stock on July 8, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews