Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A RACE TO THE FINISH
Okay, let's get two sore points out of the way: Yes, Clint is really a little too old for the leading role, especially in pairing him with such young ladies; and yes, James Woods goes way over top in his cartoonish role as Alan, the editor in chief. But, aside from that TRUE CRIME is an astounding work for the director Eastwood. The real stars of the picture, however,...
Published on Oct. 5 2003 by Michael Butts

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!
I was astounded that a major studio/star cast could make such a worthless film. The plot is as old as the hills: innocent man wrongfully convicted of murder awaits excecution on death row - innocent man is saved at the last minute by the good guy(s). This movie gives you cheating wives, cheating husbands, irresponsible fathers, paper thin plot, superficial characters,...
Published on Aug. 24 2003 by Mr. Einstein


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, Aug. 24 2003
By 
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
I was astounded that a major studio/star cast could make such a worthless film. The plot is as old as the hills: innocent man wrongfully convicted of murder awaits excecution on death row - innocent man is saved at the last minute by the good guy(s). This movie gives you cheating wives, cheating husbands, irresponsible fathers, paper thin plot, superficial characters, and boring dialog. I totally lost my respect for Clint Eastwood after viewing this - and "Unforgiven" is one of my all time favorite films! How can a person be so inconsistent? (I think I know the answer; it's called "a slump.")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A RACE TO THE FINISH, Oct. 5 2003
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
Okay, let's get two sore points out of the way: Yes, Clint is really a little too old for the leading role, especially in pairing him with such young ladies; and yes, James Woods goes way over top in his cartoonish role as Alan, the editor in chief. But, aside from that TRUE CRIME is an astounding work for the director Eastwood. The real stars of the picture, however, are Isaiah Washington and Lisa Gay Hamilton. As the doomed but innocent Frank Beecham, Washington controls his performance, making him both heartbreakingly real. No overacting here. He uses his face, his body, his voice to convey the hopelessness and fear of his impending execution for a crime he did commit. Hamilton as his wife, Bonnie, has a very demanding role, and her grip on this character is unbelievably subtle and intense. Some real tear-jerking scenes in this one. Hard to believe Washington and Hamilton were overlooked at Oscar time. Denis Leary is exceptionally good as Eastwood's boss who finds out his wife is sleeping with Eastwood. Leary could have taken this over the top, but he again controls the anguish, jealousy (both professionally and personally), and doesn't resort to familiar tactics. Bernard Hill as the warden, Michael Jeter as a key witness, and Michael McKean as a really scuzzy minister also do well.
Also, the lovely song voiced by Diana Krall, should have made it to the Oscar nominations too! Her voice reflects the hopelessness and despair of the film's script. The writers should also be commended for its faithfulness to Andrew Klavin's excellent novel.
A very good film and worth seeing.
IT MAKES YOU STOP AND THINK ABOUT THE DEATH PENALTY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clint Is Still Number One, April 4 2004
By 
Levan Guinn (in the woods near Belle Mo.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Crime (VHS Tape)
Clint Eastwood's 1999 release, True Crime, was based on an Andrew Klavan novel and filmed in a style that reminds me of movies made in the late 70's or 80's. As I watched the first few minutes, my first thought was that poor Clint was to old to portray the part of Steve Everett and this movie had been a waste of money. At first, it actually kind of "creeped me out" watching him come on to the beautiful young women in the movie, but you cannot always judge the movie by your first impressions. Steve Everett is a cheating husband, a horrible father, a recovering alcoholic, and a womanizer, but he is, first and foremost, a newspaper reporter with a "nose" for the truth. His boss, Bob Findley (Denis Leary), assigns him to cover an execution as a human-interest story. Bob has a hard time working with Steve, knowing that Steve has been sleeping with his wife, and struggles to maintain a professional office relationship. Steve has a hunch that Frank Beechum (Isaiah Washington), a black man convicted of the murder of a pregnant white girl, is innocent, but only has one day to come up with evidence before the execution takes place as scheduled. The plot to this movie is predictable and has been done in other movies many times, but Clint Eastwood's skill as a director turns this otherwise "dog" into a suspenseful thrill ride. The performances of Isaiah Washington and Lisa Gay Hamilton are precise and moving. James Woods is hilarious and Francesca Fisher Eastwood, Clint Eastwood's daughter in real life, is adorable. Michael Jeter, Michael McKean, Bernard Hill, and Diane Venora also give great performances and help make True Crime a very good movie that is definitely worth 127 minutes of your time. Oh, and about my first impressions, I was wrong, Clint is not too old for the part or the beautiful young women. Clint is still number one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Race Against Time, Dec 31 2002
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
Clint Eastwood plays reporter Steve Everett,who puts his job on the line and his family on hold to prove the innocence of an unjustly condemned man. He was given the story as a human interest piece,a story that was to depict the last few hours in the life of Frank Beechum(Isaiah Washington).He is at odds with his editor and is warned not to turn the story into a "Dick Tracey investigation".
Steve is alot of things. He's an alcoholic(on the wagon),a womanizer, and lacks in the qualities needed to be a good father and husband to his family. But one thing he does have, is his reporter's instinct. He has "his nose" for the truth. He senses something fishy about the case which has already gone through numerous appeals,and with only hours to the execution, starts digging around, and takes us on a thrilling ride as he tries, up to the very last second, to save Frank from the death penalty.
There is another storyline that runs parallel to the main focus of the film. The two families each going through their own personal anguishes. Frank's family, his wife and little girl, going through the agonizing last few hours with him, and Steve's wife and child must deal with his indiscretions and inattention to his own daughter.The wives played by Lisa Gay Hamilton and Diane Venora are expert at showing us the emotional states they are in. The little girls played by Penny Bae Bridges and Francesca Fisher-Eastwood(his real life daughter) are also terrific at making emotional demands on their Daddies at a time of crisis.
Eastwood's expertise behind the camera, as well as his powerful on screen presence combined with a terrific cast and crew to bring us a thrilling and moving story.Many wonderful performances add to it. James Woods, Dennis Leary and Bernard Hill to start with. Frances Fisher(the film is a bit of a family affair)plays the D.A., Michael Jeeter and Michael Mckean also give fine performances, and to my delight Christine Ebersole makes an appearance as well as the legendary William Windom(check behind the bar for him).Music by Lennie Niehaus and photography by Jack Green are the icing on the cake.
The DVD(WB) looks and sound great.It is presented in the original theatrical widescreen(matted), the picture is perfect and distingishable even in the darker scenes.Colors are pleasing and vibrant, and the sound excellent in the Dolby5.1 Surround.
There are a number of Special Features, including Behind The scenes Documentaries, a video by Diana Krall, and a compelling story told by a real reporter of a real life experience similar to the story(although this film was not based on that).See tech info for complete list of extras.
This is Clint's 21st film as a director. He has a way of reaching an audience that touches the humanness in us that only gets better with each film...enjoy...Laurie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, July 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
Clint Eastwood proves that he's a legend in his own mind with this predicatble, BORING and slightly sickening tale. One- do you know how many people are actually pardoned as they are being executed? What a stupid premise. The entire movie is based on Clint finding clues to a long ago murder that others have missed. Ok, I know the police aren't perfect, but come on. I also found the scene where he's wrapped in a towel gross. I LOVE watching old Clint Eastwood movies. The guy was definitely a fox, but when he made this movie he was as old as my grandfather AND HE LOOKED LIKE HIM!!! I have no problem with aging actors, heck, Clint may have been ok if he hadn't tried so hard to be "sexy". Maybe the message was that this guy is totally past his prime, but I was so put off by this movie, the stupid premise, the aging star, that I did not like it. If you are a serious moviegoer, give this one a pass. The only redeemable part in the movie was James Woods- his horrible treatment of Clint's character was the only thing I found myself rooting for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Eastwoods of the last years., April 22 2002
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
Once i said I would watch any movie directed by Clint Eastwood, no matter genre, cast or plot. I maintain it. Eastwood has reached a point of his career where he has no longer to prove that he is good as his job. His critical success with "Unforgiven" and his still-alive popularity have converted him in one of the greatest film directors of all-time and -probably- one of the last living classics.
The important thing in this movie it is not the so-called plot. It is deliberately unbelievable and stereotypical: a convict waiting for his execution and the investigation which may or may not result in stopping the execution, literaly, on the nick of time (Eastwood's character, Everett, starts investigating the very same day of the execution). This thriller plot is deliberately kept as much time as possible in a second term, while Eastwood focuses in what is the main interest of the movie, character description.
During a great deal of the movie, the plot grows in function of the characters and their psychology. The important thing is not that an investigation is on the way, but what the said investigation reveals of the characters. Of Everett it reveals that he is, more than ever, an outsider, and that the main reason of his acts are to prove that he was right and all the rest were wrong, Of Everett's superiors, it reveals their mean -though they are conveniently humanised- thinking, it explores the problems of the convict's family, etc, etc.
Add one of Eastwood's best directing skills -absolutely not a spare shot during the two hours of the movie-, a joyful sense of humour, wonderful performances by the whole cast, nice touches of drama and satire, sharp dialogue and one of the most thrilling climaxes I have ever seen.
I don't care if it could be more thrilling, I don't care if the plot is schematic (it is deliberate) and I don't care if Eastwood has more critically aclaimed films. If not only to watch Eastwood at work again and succeed with style, I am definitely watching this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, entertaining movie, April 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
A solid, entertaining movie that was marketed as a thriller, but in truth it's a riveting, character-driven drama. Unlike most other superstars, Clint has never fallen into the trap of simplying repeating himself over and over (though I suspect there are many who wish he would.) I thought his role was great and very convincing -- if people don't think an older man can be a womanizer, think again. It's going on all the time, including to the real life Clint, who's wife is quite young and exceptionally beautiful.
All in all, Clint is an exceptional director, who always gets great performances from his actors, and this is no exception. His pacing is always meticulous, outside of the typical Hollywood thriller, reminiscent of older times when story and character was more important than special effects (and CGI) and also of European movies. This movie doesn't rank up there with his best, like Play Misty for Me, High Plains Drifter, Unforgiven, Bird, A Perfect World, etc, but still very good. Well worth watching -- a few times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Clint Eastwood drama, March 22 2002
By 
Matthew Horner (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Crime (DVD)
Clint Eastwood has been a star for thirty-five years. He is also a good composer and a respected director. In 1993, he won the Oscar for Best Director for Unforgiven, which also won Best Picture. Now nearly seventy, his movies since then have reflected a more reflective, but still sure, pacing and tone. True Crime, then, is not the action-adventure picture it was merchandised as.
Eastwood plays Steve Everett, a hard-living, womanizing reporter. He used to have a great career in New York City, but he blew it. Now he works for The Oakland Tribune in California, where his job, like the rest of his life, is perilously close to coming apart. Steve is a brilliant and complex character, and Eastwood gives a fine performance. Steve is a sort of Everyman of modern American society. He has lived his life without much continuity, and his relationships have been the shallow sort typical of our times. Now his one gift, which he calls following his hunches, is beginning to fail him. His lifestyle leaves him with no one to save him.
One day another reporter is in an auto accident, and Steve is assigned to take over the story of an execution, which is to take place that night. The editor wants an interview with the condemned man for a human interest story. Steve, though, is of the old school and is always looking for a news story. After some research, his hunch is that his subject is probably innocent of the crime. Of course, there is little time for Steve to prove his theory, and this is what gives True Crimes its tension.
The condemned is Frank Beecham [Isiah Washington], who has always claimed he did not kill a college coed over a $96 debt six years before. Almost half the movie takes place inside the prison, where we see Frank's grim last hours, which include a heart-wrenching visit from his wife and young daughter. There is a parallel here because Steve is estranged -- or nearly so -- from his wife. They also have a young daughter. We see that both characters are basically good, but got into their present predicaments through past behavior. Just as no one believes Frank is innocent, Steve's wife and coworkers do not believe him when he says he can change.
There are elements in True Crime which do not ring true, although they do not ruin the movie. They make it good rather than great. Eastwood's career has been primarily built on characters who are manly loners. Handsome though he is, he's rarely been believable as a romantic lead. Age has not been as kind to him as it has to Sean Connery and Harrison Ford, and the easy with which many women fall for him in the film is hard to swallow. Also, there is a wild chase scene at the end of the picture, which is at odds with the tempo of the overall effort. It's almost as if Eastwood felt obligated to revert to his former image for the sake of his fans.
On the whole, True Crime is interesting and thought-provoking. With its sultry jazz score and its emphasis on characters, it makes for decent, but not riviting, entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just relax and let yourself be caught up in the story, Jan. 20 2002
By 
Linda Linguvic (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Crime (VHS Tape)
I like Clint Eastwood, and wanted to see this video even though the reviews had been lukewarm at best. However, I found myself relaxing and getting into the story although the suspense was non-existent, the story full of cliches, and the casting weak. Eastwood plays a reporter who saves a black inmate (Isiah Washington) from death row. From the beginning the inmate is portrayed in a sympathetic fashion, as is his wife (Lisa Gay Hamilton) and young daughter visit him on the day of the execution. There are a lot of interesting details about how an execution is carried out and the warden as well as the prison guards are portrayed as real human beings with internal conflicts of their own.
Eastwood was born in 1930, but this role as a womanizing reporter who beds young women should have been played by a younger man. James Woods is the newspaper editor and the two of them exchange bawdy one-liners that seem more suited to adolescents than to grown men. There are a few scenes where Eastwood takes his young daughter to the zoo. She's about 5 years old, and I remember thinking that he is much to old to play the father. However, I later found out that the little girl cast in the role actually is his real-life daughter. But real life does not equal a good movie.
In spite of these many faults I liked the movie. Why? Maybe because I always yearned to be a journalist myself. Maybe because I like Eastwood's strong presence, although I do not now nor did I ever find him sexy. Maybe, because in spite of the lack of suspense, I found the tempo and cadence of the film relaxing. There are a lot of reasons to watch a video. One is to leave the world behind for a little while and let yourself get caught up in a story. This is a story that's been told before. And will be told again. It is the story of the underdog (the reporter) whose life is a mess, and through this good deed, redeems himself and achieves reward and recognition. I recommend this film for what it is and not what the critics would like it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood's Crime: Unforgivable, Nov. 26 2001
This review is from: True Crime (VHS Tape)
Clint Eastwood made a mistake, and that mistake was "True Crime." Produced by, directed by, and starring Eastwood, this movie was so bad that I walked out thinking I must have missed something. Could the distinguished Clint Eastwood have really made a movie that awful? The answer, sadly, is yes. Based on a novel by Andrew Klavan, this film is predicable and overflowing with clichés. While the plot seems promising at first, this would-be thriller ends up as suspenseful as a bubble bath. Steve Everett (Eastwood) is a recovering alcoholic, womanizing, down-and-out reporter who was fired from his prestigious position in New York City and is now a metro reporter for the Oakland Tribune. He is assigned a human interest story on Frank Beachum (Isaiah Washington), a black Death Row inmate scheduled to be killed by lethal injection that day for allegedly murdering a pregnant convenient store worker over $96 and a bottle of steak sauce. Of course, Steve has a hunch that Frank is innocent and has less than 12 hours to prove it and save his life.
Sounds good, right? Unfortunately, this plot summary glosses over the movie's many problems. First off, the plot is so contrived that I found myself laughing aloud (and I wasn't alone) at the ridiculous coincidences that allow Steve to solve this six-year-old mystery within a few hours. The embarrassingly obvious script is painful to listen to, and the paint-by-number characters exhibit no depth or development. Each one is a cartoon-like stereotype of some kind of person, embodying only one trait and pursuing it to the most agonizing extreme. The scenes with Frank and his wife (Lisa Gay Hamilton) and daughter are patronizing, if not humorous.
Eastwood is tragically miscast. He needs to realize he's almost 70 and his Dirty Harry/ladies' man act is no longer effective. In an uncomfortable sex scene, we watch as a woman half his age runs her fingers along his wrinkled torso. Squirming and embarrassed, I turned away from the image of a man who has about as much sex appeal as my grandfather. Glaring, grumbling, and squinting, Eastwood utters each of his lines as if they contain some profound meaning ... but they simply don't. Eastwood's laid-back, jazzy style is all wrong for what should be a nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat race against time, and his leisurely, languid pace fails miserably, resulting in a disjointed and annoying film. The exceedingly clumsy script keeps the audience ten minutes ahead of the characters. With its molasses-like pacing peppered with inappropriate comic relief, one has to wonder what Eastwood was thinking; he should have known better. It is difficult to believe that the man who had a hand in such great movies as "Unforgiven" and "The Outlaw Josey Wales" could have had anything to do with this unfocused and directionless flop.
I do have two good words to say for this movie, and those two words are "James Wood." His remarkable performance as Steve's politically incorrect chief editor feels as if it was wrenched out of a different and much better movie. His few scenes with Eastwood consist of pure cleverness as the two men exchange lightening quick, sarcastic witticisms. However, this one oasis of entertainment in a 127-minute desert devoid of any other drop of amusement does not change the fact that the true crime about this movie would be wasting your money to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Crime (Sous-titres franais)
True Crime (Sous-titres franais) by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews