Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous if imperfect repack
Man, does this make me feel old. Back in my highschool days when I first got serious collecting music, British Steel was a must-have. It was considered the quintessential Priest platter, and even back then when it was only in the recent past, it still had all the makings of a classic. Now, on its 30th (!) anniversary, it is given the treatment it deserves, perhaps not...
Published on June 7 2010 by LeBrain

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Steel 30th Aniversary Edition=2001 Remaster+DVD of concert and making of
Judas Priest is one of the most influential metal bands, the metal gods have delivered many times during their career and their back catalog is nothing short of classic and amazing. They made so many great albums during their long career like "Sad Wings of Destiny", "Stained Class", "Screaming for Vengeance", "Painkiller" and of course "British Steel". I'll admit "British...
Published on May 11 2010 by Tommy Skylar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Steel 30th Aniversary Edition=2001 Remaster+DVD of concert and making of, May 11 2010
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Judas Priest is one of the most influential metal bands, the metal gods have delivered many times during their career and their back catalog is nothing short of classic and amazing. They made so many great albums during their long career like "Sad Wings of Destiny", "Stained Class", "Screaming for Vengeance", "Painkiller" and of course "British Steel". I'll admit "British Steel is not my favorite Priest album but it's up there and it's the one that first got me into the band to begin with. I remember seeing the video for "Breaking The Law" and it got me hooked on the band, I listened to everything Judas priest from then on. I still listen to Judas Priest and "British Steel" today, it's one of the albums that defined metal. Point is...they're one of the metal greats and "British Steel" is an excellent album yeah yeah. 2010 marks the 30th anniversary of British Steel and to commemorate this event a 30th anniversary edition of the album is released. What does this special edition of a classic metal album offer more than what was on the 2001 remaster? Well it turns out that they added things to the 2001 remaster (this remaster gave two extra tracks if you remember "Red, White & Blue" from the Turbo sessions and "Grinder (Live)" from the Defenders of the Faith tour). There also a three disc edition (the same thing as this one except with a live disc with the songs of the concert that`s on the DVD)available of this special edition trough Judas Priest`s website and as an import on Amazon.

In terms of new music there's nothing much here, in fact there's absolutely nothing at all. It's the 2001 remaster of British Steel repackaged with a DVD. This means no extra songs, demos etc. None at all. Seeing how the extra songs on the 2001 remaster weren't from the Bristish Steel sessions or tour they could have done something special but there's nothing from either the session or the tour. There's a different album cover yeah, it's the razor blade from the original cover without the hand in a black background with blood underneath.

Judas Priest celebrated the album in 2009 playing Bristish Steel live from beginning to end, the included DVD with the 30th anniversary edition of the album is a concert from the Seminole Hard Rock Arena in Hollywood. If you check the preview at the top of this page you can watch "Breaking The Law" and it gives you an idea of the DVD, the energy of the show and how much fans are still into it! Great concert and Halford hits all the high notes which amazed me, I didn't think he would be able to do so, maybe it was that he was fueled by the audience. This is more evident during "The Ripper", simply amazing. "Freewheel Burning" has the motorcycle intro which is really cool. "Diamonds and Rust", "You've Got Another Thing Coming" and "Hell Patrol" are among my favs so to see that the band still plays all of them is special to me. There is also "Prophecy" from Nostradamus the last album which is great. The selection of songs is really classic songs with British Steel songs totaling 15 songs. The band is into it, the crow is into it and you will definitely be into it as well. In terms of DVDs that comes with an album this one is by far one of the best and not just because I love Judas priest! There are many times when the DVD you get with a CD is mediocre, not this one, and the show is filmed at reasonable pace so that it doesn't switch the action every second I'm thankful for that. There is also on the same DVD a documentary on the making of British Steel which interviews the band members (except drummer Dave Holland) about the album that I liked, it lasts about half an hour.

Good news is if you want to own this package to upgrade your version of British Steel ( whether it's on Vinyl, the remastered CD...) to get the DVD is that it's only $12 at time of reviewing on Amazon(I paid mine 16$ in a local CD store) so it's pretty reasonable. My only disappointment is that the record company didn't include the extras they could have and that fans would really want such as demos, unreleased songs (if there are any) and other live tracks. So basically you are buying the 2001 remaster with a very good DVD of 15 songs and a making of, not exactly the best thing but not the worst either because it's a very good concert, the reason to buy the thing. Maybe you`ll want to get 3 disc edition for the extra concert CD. 3 stars.
Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous if imperfect repack, June 7 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: British Steel (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Man, does this make me feel old. Back in my highschool days when I first got serious collecting music, British Steel was a must-have. It was considered the quintessential Priest platter, and even back then when it was only in the recent past, it still had all the makings of a classic. Now, on its 30th (!) anniversary, it is given the treatment it deserves, perhaps not the exact treatment we dreamed of, but it is certainly satisfying.

I've bought this album 5 times now. First was a cassette back in highschool, then I picked up a used vinyl. I bought the remastered CD when it came out, then a 180 gram vinyl reissue. Now this!

Also, Amazon's DVD tracklist is incorrect and I will provide the full correct tracklist at the end of this review.

This 3 disc edition is beautifully packed in digipack with lots of photos in a nice booklet with essay. The photos are all from their recent tour, none are vintage, which disappointed me. I would have loved some fly-on-the-wall photos of them recording this album at Ringo Starr's house, Tittenhurst Park. Maybe no such photos exist.

Disc one is the recent British Steel remastered edition, straight from the last reissue. That means the original 9 tracks, a live version of "Grinder" from an unknown tour, and the completely unrelated "Red, White & Blue". This song has no place on the album as it was written and recorded for the Turbo/Ram It Down sessions in the late 80's. It is merely a holdover from the Priest remastered collection issued in the early 2000's.

The second disc, exclusive to this version, is an audio disc of the concert on the live DVD, minus one song ("Prophecy" is the missing track, due to the 80 minute running time of a CD. However it is available on download editions of British Steel, plus an older 2008 live take of it is available on A Touch Of Evil: Live). Otherwise it is a pretty straight audio version of the DVD.

The third disc of course is the DVD. Backed by a British Steel backdrop, Priest played the album in sequence remarkably well considering their ages! Only drummer Scott Travis wasn't around for the original album, but he plays the drum parts pretty straight to the original.

The main question people have when discussing Priest live is, "What was Halford's voice like?" It is true that he is an older man today and has to restrain himself and change arrangements in order to sing the songs. This is no exception, but man, when he screams, he still has it! He just screams less, which makes sense. The vocal melodies of some songs have been re-arranged, which may or may not be to your taste. Surely, the vocal melody is such an important part of each song. Halford sings what sounds like harmony parts to the original melodies in order to sneak around certain high parts. It is what it is. And, as per many concerts, the audience sings some choruses on their own when it comes to the big hits.

I was pretty impressed with the live stuff after British Steel. This is surely one of the best live versions of "Victim of Changes". Halford nails that angry end scream perfectly, I thought his head would explode. "Hell Patrol" was a nice touch. "Freewheel Burning" stumbles a bit. "Prophecy" was excellent, and I'm glad a Nostradamus track was included (though only on digital download editions, and DVD). Satisfyingly, "Diamonds and Rust" is done in its electric version. An excellent surprise. The album ends, predictably, with Halford's "audience participation" thing, and "Another Thing Coming" which I could probably do without at this point.

One thing I kind of noticed, is that Priest are sort of nerdy live. From Rob's audience participation thing ("Yeah, yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah YEAH yeah!"), to the stage moves, to Scott Travis' weird drum stick thing on "United", this is the concert equivalent of a Star Trek convention in some ways. But Priest have never been trendy, and they've always seemed oblivious to it. I guess that's what makes them cool.

As good a package as this is, I wish there was less emphasis on the "today" portion and more attention paid to the 30th anniversary of this album. There is at least one full concert from the 1980 tour out there, it was released on CD in 1998 (same time as the Live Meltdown CD) but pulled from shelves when the band disapproved. That 1980 live album is a Priest holy grail of sorts, maybe it would have been nice to see it released as a part of this package. Just sayin'.

Anyway, here's your actual live album/DVD tracklist. There is also a brief "making of the album" feature included.

1. "Rapid Fire" 4:18
2. "Metal Gods" 4:34
3. "Breaking the Law" 2:43
4. "Grinder" 4:06
5. "United" 3:45
6. "You Don't Have to Be Old to Be Wise" 5:24
7. "Living After Midnight" 4:53
8. "The Rage" 5:04
9. "Steeler" 5:23
10. "The Ripper" 3:09
11. "Prophecy" (DVD and digital download audio edition only) 6:12
12. "Hell Patrol" 3:57
13. "Victim Of Changes" 9:29
14. "Freewheel Burning" 5:49
15. "Diamonds And Rust" 4:07
16. "You've Got Another Thing Comin'" 8:58

5 stars. Despite my beefs, this is a great collection for your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should've kept Les Binks...., Nov. 22 2003
By 
e5150 (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
First, a note on the remaster: The Bonus track live version of "Grinder" was NOT recorded on the British Steel tour as they claim, but is taken from the radio broadcast concert from California on the Defenders Tour. When I first saw this falsehood, I went so far as to attempt to contact the band through their website to find out why they were trying to mislead people like that. I got no reply, but noticed that all the subsequent cd releases after the first four did not specify the source location of the bonus live recordings. I'm not claiming responsibility, but I sure hope they now realize that their fans aren't that stupid.
Anyway, back to British Steel...
Here come the anthems!! "Hell Bent for Leather" was just the preamble, while British Steel was the body of their Metal Constitution and set the stage for the rest of their career, as far as subject matter goes. "Breaking the Law", "Living After Midnight", "You Don't Have to be Old to be Wise"--not a ballad in sight. But as with all of the remasters, take the printed lyrics with a grain of salt, because their accuracy is way off in some places.
British Steel has a very upbeat, good time atmosphere throughout and nearly compels you to raise your fist and shout. Warning: doing this in your car will result in several strange glances from passers-by, and perhaps even the odd restraining order from people you don't even know.
The only real downer here is Dave Holland, the new "drummer". WTF? The guy hardly ever uses his toms, instead utilizing a plain, boring Ringo Starr style of snare/kick-snare/kick which any drummer will tell you saps the music of any extra muscle it could've potentially had. It's no surprise that, four albums later, they replaced him with a drum machine for most of the recording, and soon after that they picked up Scott Travis.
And Dave just didn't "look" the part, either. With that 'gay bar' mustache, goofy hair and bored-out-of-his-mind smirk, I was sure that he was the queer one in the band all along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Priest, May 17 2010
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
Judas Priest are metal gods, they forever changed rock/metal music and for the better, they are an incredible band that continues touring and recording music even today. After the complex brand of rock'n'roll Judas Priest was doing during the 70's there seemed like they couldn't expend much further on this sound and therefore the band decided to go a simpler way with the arrival of the 1980's. There's no problem with the sound of British Steel at all, sure it's less complex than "Stained Class" for example and I must say that the blues elements are gone as well but it's still Judas Priest. The fact that Priest simplified their music doesn't mean they didn't have any creativity or great music left in them, as it turns out British Steel is one of the albums that really defined metal, is considered one the band's best albums and when the band is mentioned it is often for BS .

British Steel has them all: heavy songs (Rapid Fire), classics (Metal Gods, Living After Midnight) pop-metal anthems (Breaking The Law) and radio staples (United). Honestly there is not a single bad song on this album, no fillers it's all good (even if some are better than others). The singles are excellent Priest but the rest of the album is equally as great if not more impressive. The 2001 edition remasters series of Judas Priest albums features extra songs and this one is no different, it only has two of them "Grinder (live)" from the Defender of the Faith tour and "Red White And Blue" from the Turbo sessions. The unfortunate thing is that those two songs aren't from the era of BS, there is nothing extra from the album's sessions or even the tour supporting the album but two extra songs is two extra songs so I'll take them.

Although this is not my favorite Priest album I'm going to have to go with the majority and rate British Steel 5 stars, it really deserves it. It was my introduction to Judas Priest and I'm sure it was for many other fans. Classic album, greats songs, great musicianship and I could go on. If this is not in your rock/metal collection then let me tell you that there is a huge hole in your collection! It's an essential classic.
Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Pounding the world like a battering ram", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
The track "Grinder" is a perfect description of British Steel. Most of the songs off Judas Priest's first release of the 1980s sound like guitars thrown in a grinder. Those who know this album chiefly by the two singles "Breaking the Law" and "Living After Midnight" will be surprised at how non-commercial the rest of this album is. Rob Halford, through much of the 1980s, called British Steel the best Judas Priest album. As a fan of 1980s Priest, I'd give the nod to Screaming for Vengeance and I may even put British Steel behind Defenders of the Faith. Still, British Steel is a classic 5-star album and a must for any metal fan. "Living After Midnight" aside, any fan of raw, grinding metal who does not like too much of the good time rock 'n roll sound, will be a big fan of British Steel.
"Breaking the Law" is one of the more well-known songs by Priest receiving a lot of play with the cool retro (although rather silly) music video. It is a very accessible and fun rocker. "Rapid Fire" is one of those grinding songs. It is my least favorite off British Steel as it is very repetitive and doesn't seem to go anywhere. It has no chorus to speak of. "Metal Gods" and "Grinder" also have a very raw sound but are also very catchy. The former is classic Priest and "Grinder" is one of my favorites on this album. "United" is a chanting anthem which was probably more appropriate live with audience participation.
The most played Judas Priest track is definitely "Living After Midnight." It is a good rock 'n roll song, but it is also very commercial and not really what Priest was/is all about. In terms of the best songs on this album, I put it in the middle of the pack. To me, the best song on this album is "Don't Have to Be Old to Be Wise." It is a powerful track with excellent lyrics and incredible vocals. Rob Halford really demonstrates his range on this one! The album ends with two more grinders, "The Rage" and "Steeler." The former is the better of the two as it actually comes to a climax. "Steeler," like "Rapid Fire," just grinds away and is mostly instrumental with driving guitars and drums. Metal purists will probably enjoy it. I don't agree with some reviewers that British Steel is Judas Priest's best album, but it is still a classic and essential for any metal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Pounding the world like a battering ram", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
The track "Grinder" is a perfect description of British Steel. Most of the songs off Judas Priest's first release of the 1980s sound like guitars thrown in a grinder. Those who know this album chiefly by the two singles "Breaking the Law" and "Living After Midnight" will be surprised at how non-commercial the rest of this album is. Rob Halford, through much of the 1980s, called British Steel the best Judas Priest album. As a fan of 1980s Priest, I'd give the nod to Screaming for Vengeance and I may even put British Steel behind Defenders of the Faith. Still, British Steel is a classic 5-star album and a must for any metal fan. "Living After Midnight" aside, any fan of raw, grinding metal who does not like too much of the good time rock 'n roll sound, will be a big fan of British Steel.
"Breaking the Law" is one of the more well-known songs by Priest receiving a lot of play with the cool retro (although rather silly) music video. It is a very accessible and fun rocker. "Rapid Fire" is one of those grinding songs. It is my least favorite off British Steel as it is very repetitive and doesn't seem to go anywhere. It has no chorus to speak of. "Metal Gods" and "Grinder" also have a very raw sound but are also very catchy. The former is classic Priest and "Grinder" is one of my favorites on this album. "United" is a chanting anthem which was probably more appropriate live with audience participation.
The most played Judas Priest track is definitely "Living After Midnight." It is a good rock 'n roll song, but it is also very commercial and not really what Priest was/is all about. In terms of the best songs on this album, I put it in the middle of the pack. To me, the best song on this album is "Don't Have to Be Old to Be Wise." It is a powerful track with excellent lyrics and incredible vocals. Rob Halford really demonstrates his range on this one! The album ends with two more grinders, "The Rage" and "Steeler." The former is the better of the two as it actually comes to a climax. "Steeler," like "Rapid Fire," just grinds away and is mostly instrumental with driving guitars and drums. Metal purists will probably enjoy it. This remastered edition has the bonus studio track "Red, White, and Blue" is Turbo/Ram It Down era. I have a 1988 article in Blast! magazine where Halford stated it (as well as "Prisoner of Your Eyes") did not make Ram it Down but might "surface in 1989 or 1990." Well, it surfaces here and "Prisoner" (a nice ballad) surfacing on the remastered Screaming for Vengeance. I don't agree with some reviewers that British Steel is Judas Priest's best album, but it is still a classic and essential for any metal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Greatest Metal Album of All Time!!, May 17 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
If you like heavy metal, hard rock, guitar rock, or any other one of the endless names given to late 70's / early 80's rock n' roll you have to own British Steel. This album alone shows where rock stood in the dying days of disco and what was to come with spandex sporting Eddie Van Halen wannabe's focusing more on cans of hair spray than guitar work. Judas Priest (the original line-up and not the karaoke years with Ripper as singer) is one of the greatest bands of all time, and British Steel is one of thier best albums. You get the fantastic Priest anthems like "United" and "Metal Gods" to the pre-Metallica thrash of "Rapid Fire". The great songs on this disk all surround what is possibly THE Judas Priest signature song of "Living After Midnight". Priest's dual guitar works is top notch with Tipton and Downing at their prime. Rob Halford is truly an amazing vocalist! If all you have heard off of this disk is "Living after Midnight" do yourself a favor and pick up the disk. I am so glad to hear Halford has reunited with the band and are touring this year. Priest live is must for any metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars One of the most overated album of all time, Feb. 21 2004
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
Most metal fans say that this is the Priest's best album, but I strongly disagree. This is a decent metal album, but in no means is this one of the best JP albums. After the brilliant proto-trash metal of Sad wings of destiny, Sin after Sin and Stained Class, Priest decided to make a 180 degree career shift with Hell bent for Leather. But this album, while being more hard rock than metal, still had high quality songwriting. This is not really the case with British Steel. The album open quite nicely with the simple but heavy "Rapid Fire", with Rob Halford favoring a rough barking vocal style over his banshee screaming of yore. This song is really catchy, but the complex metal of old priest is sorely missed. Then comes "Metal Gods", another ultra-simplistic song driven by nice vocal line and hypnotizing guitar riffage. Once again, the childish simplicity of the song leaves you with an uneasy feeling but it's still an high quality song. "Breakin the law" is the best song of the album, with a nice riff, a nice drive and ultra catchy melodies. But you can't overlook the fact that this song is no more than a re-write of their song "hell bent for leather". "Grinder" is the last good song of the album, once again with simpler-than-punk guitar work but the chorus is pretty memorable and the groove never let down. But all the remaining songs are worthless. "United" is a embarassing Queen rip-off, "You don't have to be old to be wise" is a pure AC/DC pastiche, "Living after midnight" is one of their most popular song but it is too hard-rock/almost hair metal for my tastes. "The Rage" manage to rock quite hard, until you realize with disgust that Priest stole Led Zeppelin's "black dog" riff note-for-note. "Steeler" is a filler re-write of "Rapid Fire", with weaker riffs and a generic Halford melody.
Only for the completist. I'd suggest Sad Wings of Destiny, Stained Class, Defenders of the faith as their best albums, with Screaming for vengeance, sin after sin and painkiller as good albums. The rest is not very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Priest enters the eighties..., Feb. 4 2004
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
British Steel (1980.) Judas Priest's sixth album.
In the seventies, Judas Priest had proven themselves to be the kings of hard rock/heavy metal. Although most people give Black Sabbath the credit for starting up the heavy metal revolution, these guys deserve every bit as much credit. When the eighties rolled around, many once great rock bands came crashing down - some due to dying band members, some due to the times changing. How would Judas Priest handle the transition into the new decade? Would they be instantly destroyed, or would this new decade bring them to even greater heights than we could have ever imagined? Read on for my review of Judas Priest's sixth album, British Steel.
With this album, Judas Priest began going for a much more "mainstream hard rock" sound than they had been on their recent albums. One way this shows is in the fact that this album contained two of the band's major hits - hits that became so popular, even non-Judas Priest fans know and love them! These songs are the hard rocking and extremely memorable Breaking The Law, and the equally notable Living After Midnight. It's only proper that these songs became so popular - they're everything fans could want. But this album doesn't stop with the hits. The album's opening track, Rapid Fire, is one of the band's fastest and heaviest songs to date. In my opinion, this is the best song on the album. Why didn't THIS song become more popular? The next song, Metal Gods, is also very good. It takes on a slower, more epic sound than the previous one. Another excellent track is the band's take on an arena rock anthem, a little track called United. If you listened to Killing Machine's (Hell Bent For Leather in America) Take On The World, you know how well the band can do songs of this style. Another notable rocker is You Don't Have To Be Old To Be Wise, in which the band attacks an age-old belief - and does a damn good job of it! However, as good an album as this is, it falls flat when you compare it to, say, Stained Class or Screaming For Vengeance. Grinder is just weak when you compare it to the rest of the album - and the horrible lyrics don't help things either. The Rage and Steeler, though not bad tracks by any means, seem more like fillers when you compare them to the rest of the album. They seem more like B-Sides than tracks that should have been put on the album. Overall, this album is very good, but I don't agree with the editorial review above that calls this the band's best album. It's their most popular, but that doesn't necessarily make it the best.
Like the other rereleases in the Judas Priest remasters series, this one has two bonus tracks. On this particular reissued album, you get an unreleased studio session entitled Red White And Blue, and a live take on Grinder. The former is a much slower and more melodic track than what you're used to hearing this band play, but it's still very good. This is Priest at their most patriotic, as the title may have implied. The latter is disappointing. Grinder is the weakest track on British Steel, so the fact that they chose to do a live version of it is just depressing. Why couldn't they have picked a better track to do a live version of? Halford's intro to the live take is nice, but the song ends up being even weaker than the already weak studio version... what a shame.
Overall, British Steel is a great album. It's not their best one by any means, but I still feel it is an excellent one. If you're new to Judas Priest, this is the album I strongly recommend starting with. DO NOT buy one of the band's hits compilations, as they are bound to disappoint you. Stick to buying the studio albums, as they give you a number of underrated masterpieces you won't soon find on any hits compilation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Britsh heavy metal so let us rock, Sept. 30 2003
This review is from: British Steel (Audio CD)
You can devide the Judas Priest(halford)-era in three periods of four albums. You got the silver period:Rocka rolla,Sad wings..,Sin after sin and Stained class that's characterised by searching for a sound, vague experimentation and a bluesy feel to it. You got the bronze period:Defenders..,Turbo,Ram it down and Painkiller that's charaterized by different moods on each of the albums and trying different things out. And then you got the golden period:Killing machine,British steel,Point of entry and Screaming.. that's charaterized by raw agressive riffs, flashy solos, short songs, sing-a-long choruses and a meaty sound. Too many people this is classic Priest and it is the sound that defines the band and also heavy metal in general. British steel is a Priest-gem. It's short,sharp and deadly.The first song on it is the anthemic Breaking the law, a real classic. No wonder that Beavis and Butthead sing it. Rapid fire is one of Judas Priest's fastest songs ever. and Grinder proves that mid-tempo songs can also sound very agresive as does Metal gods with it,s machines destoy the eart fantasy-text. United is an infectious football style sing-a-long tune and ofcourse the catchy yet heavy sounding Living after midnight. If you're a metalfan you must have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews