Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Love love love this movie. Was in amazing condition & watching an old movie like this on blue ray is even better
Published 14 months ago by Lana Lange

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
the film is pretty good when it's focused on the action.but Jada Pinkett-Smith&Blair Underwood drag the film down.Vivica A.Fox&Kimberly Elise are alright in there parts.Ella Joyce is solid as well.but it's the Break-Through performance of Queen Latifah that makes the film worth seeing.she should have won all kinds of awards for this performance.F.Gary Gray has...
Published on Jan. 29 2000 by mistermaxxx08


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love love love this movie. Was in amazing condition & watching an old movie like this on blue ray is even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SET it off, Feb. 10 2011
By 
Lavergne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Set It Off (DVD)
C est un film génial , inoubliable et culte de f Gary Gray un film que j avais découvert en 1997 en VHS le film est jamais sortie en France en DVD c'est honteux! Que Warner ne l a jamais édite avec une version francaise alors que les doublages français existent! Car je ne parle pas l'anglais , pensez a mettre des versions française sur des films aussi anciens que le prix a payer dit SET it off si un jour il est réédité avec cette fois une vf incluse , je n'hesiterai pas une seconde je le rachete! Peu importe son prix! Merci!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TALENT!!, May 2 2004
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
It's a great film, with great acting and a great story. Queen Latifah played a shocking part, but she did it well. Jada Pinkett ( one of my favorites) was just as good..., actually all the actresses did a fine job. I defintely recommend people to see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie But Goodie, March 17 2004
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
I love this movie no matter how many times I watch it.My favorite part is where Queen Latifah says to Jada Pinkett-Smith "Look Stoney we HOT then she says I know you not gonna play us for that bumpie at the bank" This shows some camaraderie as sister friends which is really hard to find. This movie also was very sad at certain points with mucho action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Off the Hook!!!!, Feb. 26 2004
By 
S. M. Anderson "sma331" (Lithia Springs, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
This film is good!!!! 4 ladies finally have enough of the tough life, and come up with a sceme to rob banks so they can get out of the hood. All I have to say is surpurb acting!!! Especially by Queen Latifah. She was just convincing as the lesbian tough gal. All the women in this film were great, and the movie was a good, good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good!!, Feb. 12 2004
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
I was pretty amazed at how a good a film this turned out to be..The girl who played Latifah's g/f is a one hot broad..Personally, I didn't really see how all the controversy about Latifah being a lesbian got to the magnitude that it reached..The love scenes b/w Latifah and the other girl were not explicit at all..
Back to the film--Great film..Combined all the elements, love, suspense,action, drama etc...
Film does have some dragging moments, but all in all, its a must see and the ending is one of the better endings that I have seen...
4 out of 5 stars in my book.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this film is off da hook, Jan. 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
this is one of my all-time favorite movies and i really reccomend it. it has all of the different elements of a great film from comedy to drama to action to romance. the end of the movie was the best and it is a real sad ending. but if you get a chance you should definetly watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just tooooo Excellent, Sept. 5 2003
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
Wow, is the only thing my husband and I could say after watching this move for the first time. Wow, excellent and exciting, especially Queen L. and Jada P. Their performances were just amazing, Vivica F. is always great, yet to see these other actresses kicking (up the) screen, was a delight. The movie is very realistic and had good wit, I would advise kleenex to any new viewers. I highly recommend this movie to Everyone, it's life at any point in your existance, no matter your believed status.
This is a movie, we will have to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the life of drugs banks and life of survival, Aug. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
Well, in this crime thriller Queen Latifah Jada Pinkett Vivica A Fox and Kimberly Elise are 4 friends Stony (Jada Pinkett) is a sister of stevie She tries to help stevie get into college Cleo (Queen Latifah) Is a lesbian who has been fixing up a car eversince she was little.Frankie(Vivica Fox)is a hard-working bank teller and got fired for not stopping the bank robbers and the last Tishean (Kimberly Elise) Is a single mom who has a child but now since she dosen't have a baby sitter and the chuild protecter services are trying to take the child and when the four fri4ends have a problem and tey rob all the city banks and the sad part was cleo frankie and tishean die stony goes to mexico and lives the rest of her life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, July 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Set It Off (Widescreen) (DVD)
this is the best movie in the world. Ive seen it liek a hundred times, and i still cry. Its both action packed and emotional, and i recomend it for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Set It Off
Set It Off (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews