Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars L.A Bore
Allow me to justify the title--it may seem flimsy the fact that I rate the game 4/5 stars while giving this game a title with the word 'bore'. The graphics are phenomenal, nothing I've seen before in any game. The characters portray the actors who voice them using some new type of technology and it works beautifully! The game is very realistic. With that said, it is also...
Published 23 months ago by j-maAN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game but gets repetitive really fast.
I loved this game...when I first started to play it.

Great concept. Great graphics. As I soon discovered...repetitive game play.

This is not like GTA. This is more story based.

At around 2/3rds through the game I just lost interest.
Published on April 13 2012 by P. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars L.A Bore, May 28 2012
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
Allow me to justify the title--it may seem flimsy the fact that I rate the game 4/5 stars while giving this game a title with the word 'bore'. The graphics are phenomenal, nothing I've seen before in any game. The characters portray the actors who voice them using some new type of technology and it works beautifully! The game is very realistic. With that said, it is also slow-paced and extremely repetitive regardless of the ranks you climb. Although I have not yet completed the game and remain in 'Vice', this is where I became bored of the repetition. Although the map is huge, and you can explore extensively throughout the game, and it is a unique design of the 1940/1950's LA, the game gives the player limitations in regards to what can be done within such a large map; either you're on a case or responding to misdemeanors on dispatch. Regardless, the first 3/4ths of the game are enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, if a little flawed, June 15 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
L.A. Noire is a great game for those who enjoyed the openness of the GTA series, but wanted a greater focus on story. The closest thing I can think of to compare it to was "The Getaway" for the PS2.

Pros:

- Looks fantastic; you'll not only recognise the voices of the characters, but their faces too. Everything is superb in this department - enjoy, fans of Mad Men!
- Mostly historically accurate; the set is fantastic, most of the ads, cars, etc. are good too; you will feel like you're in 1947 L.A.
- Crimes based off real events (can't say too much because of spoilers, but look out for one of the most infamous murder cases in U.S. history)

Cons:

- Gets repetitive; you will do a lot of the same thing over and over again. In my opinion, this constitutes a good portion of what real detective work must be like, but some will find this tedious.
- The facial recognition is not perfect; following the correct cues and patterns of your suspect will not always get you the correct response; this can be frustrating.
- The story seems to wind down halfway through the game; while I thought the second to last desk was a total lackluster compared to the one prior, and the final desk was brilliant, if positioned wrong, I do feel the game reaches it's climax well before it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game but gets repetitive really fast., April 13 2012
By 
P. Smith "P.D.Smith, RN, BSN." (Fort ST. John, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
I loved this game...when I first started to play it.

Great concept. Great graphics. As I soon discovered...repetitive game play.

This is not like GTA. This is more story based.

At around 2/3rds through the game I just lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, July 8 2011
By 
Robert Coulombe "Rasczak" (Montreal, QC CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
For all the comments about Rockstar games, this had nothing to do with it. I though Red Dead Redemption was a great game - if a bit repetitive at the end.
L.A. Noire is a terrible game, it fails to raise interest in the cases, the characters and the storyline.

Pros:
- Very nice graphic. Feels like you are in a movie, especially as you truly recognize some known actors;
- Driving around town is fun. You can run over people as you wish, take any car, destroy properties, it's all fun - your actions have no repercussion.
- The city feels like its living;

Cons:
- Story lacks that something that sucks you in. It is too linear and no matter what you do, your fate is already cast;
- Characters are uninteresting. The main characters is overly agressive. Partners are useless and insipid;
- Cases feel like they are all the same. The process never changes. The worse about it is that you are not in control of the inquiry. The question/answer rythm is set in advance so you can ask questions about things you don't know (if you interview someone ahead of the fixed chronology) or the suspect can tell you he won't answer anymore question without his lawyer, yet he will answer every other question you ask. Also, you can't interrogate suspects as you wish and you can't
- The side quest are so repetitive and keep sending all across town.
- Too much climbing on the roof - a Tarzan game wouldn't get that much climbing!
- You are nearly invincible - ducking is pointless as your opponents can't shoot straight.
- Is it me or people in L.A. don't know how to drive? Traffic light are useless as people stop at green, turn left on red.

The idea for the game was great, but they turned it into something so linear that it does feel like being in a movie - just watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh, June 21 2011
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
game was ok, it was good for the first few missions, it was like oh, this is new and interesting, but as it went on, it got to repetitive. Each mission felt like it was the same, and with the option to have your partner drive to the location makes it that much more pointless, a mission on average takes 30 mins or more, just to find out you missed something or said the wrong thing most times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, March 7 2014
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
I like this game, it's something different. If I could compare it to anything, it would be like the adult version of those Nancy Drew PC games from the early 2000's.

Some of the cases are a little boring compared to the others. By the time you finish the game, you'll definitely have a favourite case and a favourite desk position and a favourite partner. It can get repetitive (drive around, go here, drive around, go there, drive around and around and around), but the graphics, voice acting and music are awesome!

The story is alright. I didn't have a problem with it. A friend of mine said he got a little lost at points. There were some things they should have included in the narrative. I don't want to put spoilers on here, so I won't say exactly why that is... but there is an event in the game and it comes out of no where. It's almost out of character for Phelps because it wasn't established correctly.

This isn't a game for everyone. It can move slow and you need to have patience. This is a detective game. Don't go into this expecting to be able to draw your gun on everything that moves.

Overall. It's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, Jan. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
was an amazing story with fun game play, awesome cut scenes, and appropriately eerie atmosphere. Want to play it through again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it again, Oct. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
The game look very beautiful. It look like in 1940s in L.A. WOW!!! I love it. But it was very short to beat up all missions. This is only 21 missions. Also, this is not same like GTA IV or Red Dead Redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classy music, intriguing plots, Aug. 6 2013
By 
braindata (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
I feel as though this game is like an episodic drama show, so I never deal with more than one case in a play session. What I get out of it is a cool trip back in time when people were actually vulgar and society was naive about the dream of success. Maybe we're not so much different from them. But it amuses me to hear a jingle on the car radio that was made to sell cigarettes to children.

Having had a false start playing this on Xbox 360, I have switched to the PS3 version and the gameplay is better due to the controller but the mechanics of movement are still sloppy. Despite that this game is brilliant. And if nothing else I would start the game just to hear the excellent title music. But I do play the game and the act of investigating crimes is like a breath of fresh air to all the other choices of games. This game works, and although I didn't think it was necessary to include the action elements or even the Grand Theft Auto driving (way to make a game drag, no pun intended) they do add some element of surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, May 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LA Noire (Video Game)
fun but it starts to drag a bit at the end. buy it for the production values not the game-play.

also terrible ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa985742c)

This product

LA Noire
LA Noire by Take 2 (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 16.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews