Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars21
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 15, 2012
L.A. Noire is a great game for those who enjoyed the openness of the GTA series, but wanted a greater focus on story. The closest thing I can think of to compare it to was "The Getaway" for the PS2.


- Looks fantastic; you'll not only recognise the voices of the characters, but their faces too. Everything is superb in this department - enjoy, fans of Mad Men!
- Mostly historically accurate; the set is fantastic, most of the ads, cars, etc. are good too; you will feel like you're in 1947 L.A.
- Crimes based off real events (can't say too much because of spoilers, but look out for one of the most infamous murder cases in U.S. history)


- Gets repetitive; you will do a lot of the same thing over and over again. In my opinion, this constitutes a good portion of what real detective work must be like, but some will find this tedious.
- The facial recognition is not perfect; following the correct cues and patterns of your suspect will not always get you the correct response; this can be frustrating.
- The story seems to wind down halfway through the game; while I thought the second to last desk was a total lackluster compared to the one prior, and the final desk was brilliant, if positioned wrong, I do feel the game reaches it's climax well before it should.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2012
Allow me to justify the title--it may seem flimsy the fact that I rate the game 4/5 stars while giving this game a title with the word 'bore'. The graphics are phenomenal, nothing I've seen before in any game. The characters portray the actors who voice them using some new type of technology and it works beautifully! The game is very realistic. With that said, it is also slow-paced and extremely repetitive regardless of the ranks you climb. Although I have not yet completed the game and remain in 'Vice', this is where I became bored of the repetition. Although the map is huge, and you can explore extensively throughout the game, and it is a unique design of the 1940/1950's LA, the game gives the player limitations in regards to what can be done within such a large map; either you're on a case or responding to misdemeanors on dispatch. Regardless, the first 3/4ths of the game are enjoyable!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 7, 2014
I like this game, it's something different. If I could compare it to anything, it would be like the adult version of those Nancy Drew PC games from the early 2000's.

Some of the cases are a little boring compared to the others. By the time you finish the game, you'll definitely have a favourite case and a favourite desk position and a favourite partner. It can get repetitive (drive around, go here, drive around, go there, drive around and around and around), but the graphics, voice acting and music are awesome!

The story is alright. I didn't have a problem with it. A friend of mine said he got a little lost at points. There were some things they should have included in the narrative. I don't want to put spoilers on here, so I won't say exactly why that is... but there is an event in the game and it comes out of no where. It's almost out of character for Phelps because it wasn't established correctly.

This isn't a game for everyone. It can move slow and you need to have patience. This is a detective game. Don't go into this expecting to be able to draw your gun on everything that moves.

Overall. It's pretty good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
This game is a bit of a mess. I put in a few hours, but you never get the sense that you're uncovering an over-arching narrative like with GTA or other Rock* games. Rather, it feels like a bunch of mini-episodes with not much cohesion. Also the interrogation mini-game is a bit of a puzzler--I don't know if I'm supposed to base my decisions on the facial expression of the person I'm talking to, or if it's strictly based on the items I already have in evidence, and if it's the latter, it suggests that I need to visit places in a specific order, which makes for a more linear game. Also, the fact that if you fail, you can have a redo, makes things kinda pointless. Loved GTA IV, am loving Red Dead now. This one, not at all. This is one formerly Sony exclusive title that Microsoft should've stayed away from...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 13, 2012
I loved this game...when I first started to play it.

Great concept. Great graphics. As I soon discovered...repetitive game play.

This is not like GTA. This is more story based.

At around 2/3rds through the game I just lost interest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 21, 2011
game was ok, it was good for the first few missions, it was like oh, this is new and interesting, but as it went on, it got to repetitive. Each mission felt like it was the same, and with the option to have your partner drive to the location makes it that much more pointless, a mission on average takes 30 mins or more, just to find out you missed something or said the wrong thing most times
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on July 8, 2011
For all the comments about Rockstar games, this had nothing to do with it. I though Red Dead Redemption was a great game - if a bit repetitive at the end.
L.A. Noire is a terrible game, it fails to raise interest in the cases, the characters and the storyline.

- Very nice graphic. Feels like you are in a movie, especially as you truly recognize some known actors;
- Driving around town is fun. You can run over people as you wish, take any car, destroy properties, it's all fun - your actions have no repercussion.
- The city feels like its living;

- Story lacks that something that sucks you in. It is too linear and no matter what you do, your fate is already cast;
- Characters are uninteresting. The main characters is overly agressive. Partners are useless and insipid;
- Cases feel like they are all the same. The process never changes. The worse about it is that you are not in control of the inquiry. The question/answer rythm is set in advance so you can ask questions about things you don't know (if you interview someone ahead of the fixed chronology) or the suspect can tell you he won't answer anymore question without his lawyer, yet he will answer every other question you ask. Also, you can't interrogate suspects as you wish and you can't
- The side quest are so repetitive and keep sending all across town.
- Too much climbing on the roof - a Tarzan game wouldn't get that much climbing!
- You are nearly invincible - ducking is pointless as your opponents can't shoot straight.
- Is it me or people in L.A. don't know how to drive? Traffic light are useless as people stop at green, turn left on red.

The idea for the game was great, but they turned it into something so linear that it does feel like being in a movie - just watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
This is a change of pace and for me i love it, you get to investigate cases like a real detective chase people around, use your gun and fight.

The driving is not has good has in GTA4 or Sleeping dogs, but still good. Don't expect a game like GTA because its not, but if you are in for something different this is it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
Great game, a little bit repetitive at times but all in all had lots of fun playing the story! Graphics are pretty realistic and the interrogations can be mind bending!

Ps: The shipping to Canada from USA took no time at all, very pleased!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
The game look very beautiful. It look like in 1940s in L.A. WOW!!! I love it. But it was very short to beat up all missions. This is only 21 missions. Also, this is not same like GTA IV or Red Dead Redemption.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
LA NOIRE PS3 by Cokem International Ltd. (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 21.60

Red Dead Redemption - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition
Red Dead Redemption - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition by Rockstar Games (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 18.95