Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting season
I quiet enjoyed this season/series of Dr Who, it had a very advanced plot line that stretched the whole series.

As for the individual shows and plots those were fantastic as well. I do very much enjoy Matt Smiths acting, as well as Karen Gillian. But lets face it who doesn't like a pretty an aggressive red head lol. The places they went to, and seen in this...
Published on June 27 2013 by Jason O'Rourke

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
Published on March 25 2011 by Doctor Who Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting season, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
I quiet enjoyed this season/series of Dr Who, it had a very advanced plot line that stretched the whole series.

As for the individual shows and plots those were fantastic as well. I do very much enjoy Matt Smiths acting, as well as Karen Gillian. But lets face it who doesn't like a pretty an aggressive red head lol. The places they went to, and seen in this series were fantastic, as well as the last shows had quiet a few nice cliff hangers.

In the end this was well work the buy. I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality, March 25 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good season, way too expensive, Dec 24 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
It was a good season to be sure, and Matt Smith is a great doctor. Not all the episodes were good, but overall an effort worthy of high praise. That said the present price ($70+ Canadian both retail and online)is an obscene amount of money to pay for 13 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed every minute of it, Feb. 9 2011
By 
Jane Skinner (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
Long-time Doctor Who fans always approach regeneration with a bit of trepidation. You just don't know what (or Who) you might be getting! Well have no fear, this one goes to 11, and Matt Smith is absolutely marvellous! The episodes are generally good overall, some are excellent, and none of them are duds. Matt Smith captures that erratically whimsical yet serious quality that the Doctor must have, reminiscent of the great Tom Baker in some ways; it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, but not quite convinced, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
I was a Dr Who fan as a kid, and I have really enjoyed seasons one-four. I have not been enjoying season five as much, but must confess to being a little unsure why. Matt Smith does a decent job as the doctor, and Karen Gillan holds her own. There are some good one-liners as well. I find it aimed at a younger audience than the previous seasons, and the Doctor comes across as a little stunned, rather than wise and internally strong. I feel that the previous seasons had a bit more emotional depth. The foreshadowing of future disaster is more than a little heavy and the flashbacks to keep reminding us that there was foreshadowing in the previous episodes of the series starts to be a bit annoying. Anyway, I am watching it, and not hating it. Just not falling in love with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously good, June 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
Dear BBC, thank you for making excellent shows. This is one of my favorite shows right now, and this season was consistently entertaining. If you haven't watched Doctor Who before, this is a good season to start on, because it kicks off with a new doctor and new side characters - new almost everyone - and you can follow without any real confusion. (It's where I started, and I loved it enough to go back and catch up from the beginning during the off seasons.) If you're looking for a fun scifi show, I would absolutely recommend Doctor Who, and especially this season. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who is new .... and VERY enjoyable too., March 14 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The introductory series for The Eleventh Doctor is fabulous! Goodness knows how Matt Smith did it but he is as good (better, some would say) David Tennant in this role. And the companions who join him make for a FUN series. Definitely a new writer, but it freshens things up and there is most definitely a direction from day one - the series is a story that has tidbits doled out to the viewer episode by episode but until the end you don't even realize that you've been spoon fed the information you need to make sense of the grander tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great serie!, Oct. 9 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
I am a new fan of Doctor Who and I appreciate Math Smith in his role. He tends to be so light hearted that when he is serious... we take him seriously! The episodes are varied and fun. It's a great show for adventures, a bit of mystery and some laugh, without the constant suspense and stress: a great way to relax and be entertained. The only drawback is that there is not enough episodes, but at least, it is priced to match. I am looking foward the second half of this serie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is the best summer DVD that I have watched this summer, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is the best summer DVD that I have watched this summer. When Steven Moffat & Mark Gattis write scripts (with help with other writers too), they are GREAT! I am really enjoying my 1st. introduction viewing/watching of Doctor : WHO BBC show. I am pleased with the acting performances by Matt Smith & Karen Gillan in the Complete Fifth Series of " Doctor : WHO".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very delightful!, April 12 2011
By 
Francis Houle (Cookshire, Québec) - See all my reviews
Matt Smith plays the role of the Doctor perfectly in this series, with episodes that are never boring, nut always filled with suspense, and an extraordinary finale building up from even the first episode. I have enjoyed watching and re-watching the episodes to see things that you could only remark after seing the last episode. If you are a fan of Doctor Who, the old and the new series, you will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series
Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series by Matt Smith (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 145.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews