Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very delightful!
Matt Smith plays the role of the Doctor perfectly in this series, with episodes that are never boring, nut always filled with suspense, and an extraordinary finale building up from even the first episode. I have enjoyed watching and re-watching the episodes to see things that you could only remark after seing the last episode. If you are a fan of Doctor Who, the old and...
Published on April 12 2011 by Francis Houle

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
Published on March 25 2011 by Doctor Who Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very delightful!, April 12 2011
By 
Francis Houle (Cookshire, Québec) - See all my reviews
Matt Smith plays the role of the Doctor perfectly in this series, with episodes that are never boring, nut always filled with suspense, and an extraordinary finale building up from even the first episode. I have enjoyed watching and re-watching the episodes to see things that you could only remark after seing the last episode. If you are a fan of Doctor Who, the old and the new series, you will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality, March 25 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good season, way too expensive, Dec 24 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
It was a good season to be sure, and Matt Smith is a great doctor. Not all the episodes were good, but overall an effort worthy of high praise. That said the present price ($70+ Canadian both retail and online)is an obscene amount of money to pay for 13 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Smith as the doctor does Wonderful Job as The Doctor, June 17 2014
By 
Kory Scott "Kory Scott" (Brandon, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Series 5 of New Who or series 32 overall in the entire series to date from 1963 is just awesome. Matt Smith As the 11th Doctor / 12th Regeneration does a wonderful job in all aspects of the role. From playing the doctors age of 900 plus to Matts on age of 26 at the time. The episodes / stories are great over all. As to me saying Matt's doctor is the 12 regen of this cycle of regeneration's only for 2 reasons. 1. David Tennant's Doctor (10th) came back during in the middle of the regenerating; so David's Doctor is Regeneration 10th and 11th. 2. There is also (Spoiler) an upcoming regeneration between Paul Mcgain's 8th doctor/7th Regeneration and Christopher Eccleston's 9th Doctor/9th Regeneration later in the show overall. I give series 5 out of 5 stars; and is a good jumping off point if missed the 1963 starting point back in the day with An Unearthly Child / Wiiliam Heartnell's Doctor the OG of the Doctors. Or the 2005 relaunch with Eccleston;s doctor (9th doctor). This set that starts Matt's run as the Doctor would make starting point for anyone coming in to the show for the first time and fans of the show should also enjoy this set as well to watch and put in to their Doctor Who collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very appreciated, Nov. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Was purchased and given as a gift. The person that received it did enjoy the movies. If he is happy then i am happy with this purchase.
As usual, Amazon fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting season, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
I quiet enjoyed this season/series of Dr Who, it had a very advanced plot line that stretched the whole series.

As for the individual shows and plots those were fantastic as well. I do very much enjoy Matt Smiths acting, as well as Karen Gillian. But lets face it who doesn't like a pretty an aggressive red head lol. The places they went to, and seen in this series were fantastic, as well as the last shows had quiet a few nice cliff hangers.

In the end this was well work the buy. I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars damaged DVDs, June 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
There were two or three episodes in which the DVD froze and we had to go through the episode scene by scene to get to the rest of the episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, May 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
It was what i ordered and as always The Doctor is wicked cool and i might just need to get a bow tie. haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, but not quite convinced, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
I was a Dr Who fan as a kid, and I have really enjoyed seasons one-four. I have not been enjoying season five as much, but must confess to being a little unsure why. Matt Smith does a decent job as the doctor, and Karen Gillan holds her own. There are some good one-liners as well. I find it aimed at a younger audience than the previous seasons, and the Doctor comes across as a little stunned, rather than wise and internally strong. I feel that the previous seasons had a bit more emotional depth. The foreshadowing of future disaster is more than a little heavy and the flashbacks to keep reminding us that there was foreshadowing in the previous episodes of the series starts to be a bit annoying. Anyway, I am watching it, and not hating it. Just not falling in love with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!~, Nov. 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series (DVD)
This show is all about the power of words and thoughts - so much innuendo and so much fun! Love it! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series
Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series by Matt Smith (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 99.90 CDN$ 48.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews