march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage scflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$136.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 27, 2013
I quiet enjoyed this season/series of Dr Who, it had a very advanced plot line that stretched the whole series.

As for the individual shows and plots those were fantastic as well. I do very much enjoy Matt Smiths acting, as well as Karen Gillian. But lets face it who doesn't like a pretty an aggressive red head lol. The places they went to, and seen in this series were fantastic, as well as the last shows had quiet a few nice cliff hangers.

In the end this was well work the buy. I enjoyed it immensely.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
It was a good season to be sure, and Matt Smith is a great doctor. Not all the episodes were good, but overall an effort worthy of high praise. That said the present price ($70+ Canadian both retail and online)is an obscene amount of money to pay for 13 episodes.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2011
Long-time Doctor Who fans always approach regeneration with a bit of trepidation. You just don't know what (or Who) you might be getting! Well have no fear, this one goes to 11, and Matt Smith is absolutely marvellous! The episodes are generally good overall, some are excellent, and none of them are duds. Matt Smith captures that erratically whimsical yet serious quality that the Doctor must have, reminiscent of the great Tom Baker in some ways; it's great!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2014
Series 5 of New Who or series 32 overall in the entire series to date from 1963 is just awesome. Matt Smith As the 11th Doctor / 12th Regeneration does a wonderful job in all aspects of the role. From playing the doctors age of 900 plus to Matts on age of 26 at the time. The episodes / stories are great over all. As to me saying Matt's doctor is the 12 regen of this cycle of regeneration's only for 2 reasons. 1. David Tennant's Doctor (10th) came back during in the middle of the regenerating; so David's Doctor is Regeneration 10th and 11th. 2. There is also (Spoiler) an upcoming regeneration between Paul Mcgain's 8th doctor/7th Regeneration and Christopher Eccleston's 9th Doctor/9th Regeneration later in the show overall. I give series 5 out of 5 stars; and is a good jumping off point if missed the 1963 starting point back in the day with An Unearthly Child / Wiiliam Heartnell's Doctor the OG of the Doctors. Or the 2005 relaunch with Eccleston;s doctor (9th doctor). This set that starts Matt's run as the Doctor would make starting point for anyone coming in to the show for the first time and fans of the show should also enjoy this set as well to watch and put in to their Doctor Who collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I was a Dr Who fan as a kid, and I have really enjoyed seasons one-four. I have not been enjoying season five as much, but must confess to being a little unsure why. Matt Smith does a decent job as the doctor, and Karen Gillan holds her own. There are some good one-liners as well. I find it aimed at a younger audience than the previous seasons, and the Doctor comes across as a little stunned, rather than wise and internally strong. I feel that the previous seasons had a bit more emotional depth. The foreshadowing of future disaster is more than a little heavy and the flashbacks to keep reminding us that there was foreshadowing in the previous episodes of the series starts to be a bit annoying. Anyway, I am watching it, and not hating it. Just not falling in love with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
Dear BBC, thank you for making excellent shows. This is one of my favorite shows right now, and this season was consistently entertaining. If you haven't watched Doctor Who before, this is a good season to start on, because it kicks off with a new doctor and new side characters - new almost everyone - and you can follow without any real confusion. (It's where I started, and I loved it enough to go back and catch up from the beginning during the off seasons.) If you're looking for a fun scifi show, I would absolutely recommend Doctor Who, and especially this season. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 14, 2015
The introductory series for The Eleventh Doctor is fabulous! Goodness knows how Matt Smith did it but he is as good (better, some would say) David Tennant in this role. And the companions who join him make for a FUN series. Definitely a new writer, but it freshens things up and there is most definitely a direction from day one - the series is a story that has tidbits doled out to the viewer episode by episode but until the end you don't even realize that you've been spoon fed the information you need to make sense of the grander tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
An excellent series of Doctor Who. I was very leery of such a young and unknown( to me anyways) actor to play the Eleventh Doctor but Matthew Smith pleasantly surprised me. I also really enjoyed Amy and later Rory as companions. Some fans say you can start the Doctor who series by watching this series although I personally disagree (as I love the tenth doctor )they aren't technically wrong. Another fun minor character in this series is Craig one of the Doctors neighbour who is played by James Corden!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
I am a new fan of Doctor Who and I appreciate Math Smith in his role. He tends to be so light hearted that when he is serious... we take him seriously! The episodes are varied and fun. It's a great show for adventures, a bit of mystery and some laugh, without the constant suspense and stress: a great way to relax and be entertained. The only drawback is that there is not enough episodes, but at least, it is priced to match. I am looking foward the second half of this serie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse