Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very delightful!
Matt Smith plays the role of the Doctor perfectly in this series, with episodes that are never boring, nut always filled with suspense, and an extraordinary finale building up from even the first episode. I have enjoyed watching and re-watching the episodes to see things that you could only remark after seing the last episode. If you are a fan of Doctor Who, the old and...
Published on April 12 2011 by Francis Houle

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
Published on March 25 2011 by Doctor Who Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fifth Series, June 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I add the caveat that I am a Doctor Who fan (the modern Doctor Who).

This is a great series with some wicked twists and turns. There are really great episodes that are well-written and really grab your attention. The villains were awesome. And not to mention that Churchill was in this series! The new companion Amy Pond is brilliant, clever, and a nice change from the previous companions (although I do miss Rose).

Matt Smith's a great doctor, does an awesome job of replacing David Tennant (who I still miss!). The bow tie is definitely super cool and then add to that the wicked suspenders. Great combination!

Some aspects of it certainly will anger sticklers (mostly I'm thinking of the iPod coloured Daleks) but most of it is great. It's a series that can be watched by anyone, good family fun.

I do agree that it is a bit pricy but it's well-worth it, especially to promote good, quality programming and I am a bit of a sucker for BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed every minute of it, Feb. 9 2011
By 
Jane Skinner (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Long-time Doctor Who fans always approach regeneration with a bit of trepidation. You just don't know what (or Who) you might be getting! Well have no fear, this one goes to 11, and Matt Smith is absolutely marvellous! The episodes are generally good overall, some are excellent, and none of them are duds. Matt Smith captures that erratically whimsical yet serious quality that the Doctor must have, reminiscent of the great Tom Baker in some ways; it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Dec 12 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm only about half way through the season and I love it! I wasn't too sure if I would like Matt Smith, as I am such a fan of David Tennant's tenth doctor, however Mr. Smith has been a pleasant surprise. He's not trying to be the previous Doctor, but making the role his own. With a strong supporting cast and excellent story lines from Steven Moffat, Series 5 is a lot of fun and I am excited to see how it unfolds.

As for the quality, the HD is very well done and the packaging, with the handful of extras is quite nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great serie!, Oct. 9 2011
By 
I am a new fan of Doctor Who and I appreciate Math Smith in his role. He tends to be so light hearted that when he is serious... we take him seriously! The episodes are varied and fun. It's a great show for adventures, a bit of mystery and some laugh, without the constant suspense and stress: a great way to relax and be entertained. The only drawback is that there is not enough episodes, but at least, it is priced to match. I am looking foward the second half of this serie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Doctor SO good, Aug. 9 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I didn't think anyone could replace David Tennant, but Matt Smith sure filled his shoes! The bluray version isn't AS good as some other discs but the show still looks great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously good, June 10 2011
Dear BBC, thank you for making excellent shows. This is one of my favorite shows right now, and this season was consistently entertaining. If you haven't watched Doctor Who before, this is a good season to start on, because it kicks off with a new doctor and new side characters - new almost everyone - and you can follow without any real confusion. (It's where I started, and I loved it enough to go back and catch up from the beginning during the off seasons.) If you're looking for a fun scifi show, I would absolutely recommend Doctor Who, and especially this season. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The season that made me quit, Jan. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There's sort of an unspoken rule that the Doctor doesn't go back in time and just tell himself how to solve every problem, get himself out of jail, or leave himself notes from the future on how to beat the bad guy. In this season all of that just... keeps... happening. It's painful. Once you cross that line, you have to ask "why doesn't he do that in every situation?"

Also, he saves the entirety of creation. Again. He did that last season after spending three seasons building up to it. If you go right back to that well without even one season break, it just becomes tired and pedantic.

It's sad how this season had production values far above any of the previous seasons, but it had the laziest writing of the new Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the product but delivery was to slow, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I ordered the Doctor Who The Complete Fifth Series, I had placed my ordered well before December I was guaranteed to receive the item before Dec 19th. I didn't receive the item until Dec 24th if it had been any later, the person who it was intended for wouldn't been able to receive it due to the fact they were from out of town. I had purchased another item from amazon which I ordered later and it came well before this item came find that odd. When I did receive the item it was in good condition thanks but delivery should of been quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the doctor can't survive shipping, Sept. 2 2011
i was very pleased with the ACTUAL product. of course, even buying the DVD set means you're automatically going to be pleased b/c you're a fan.

i was very upset when it came to the condition, however. when it arrived one of the box set corners was mashed in like it had been dropped, and the plastic disc holder 'pages' inside were cracked in several places. the worst part, however, was the fact that the final disc, containing that season's doctor who confidential, was cracked, rendering the entire disc unwatchable. i was extremely upset, but given that my purchase was not from amazon directly, i figured i'd never actually see compensation should i complain or attempt to return the discs.

very pleased with the product itself and the money i saved, but i gave it a lower overall rating because of the condition it arrived in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Run away!, Jan. 17 2011
By 
Thomas Koschate (Brampton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
The BBC have finally taken copy protection to a new level - this DVD set cannot actually be watched on a normal DVD player. Unless you're willing to watch on a computer and/or rip a copy without the egregious copy protection scheme, you're best off avoiding this particular go-round of The Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray]
Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] by Toby Haynes (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 109.90 CDN$ 50.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews