Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting season
I quiet enjoyed this season/series of Dr Who, it had a very advanced plot line that stretched the whole series.

As for the individual shows and plots those were fantastic as well. I do very much enjoy Matt Smiths acting, as well as Karen Gillian. But lets face it who doesn't like a pretty an aggressive red head lol. The places they went to, and seen in this...
Published on June 27 2013 by Jason O'Rourke

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound quality
Have the first 4 series of the new Doctor Who and have really enjoyed watching them, however, the sound quality on this video box set is terrible. The background sound is so loud that it's difficult to hear the actors dialogue, thus ruining the story. There are 3 episodes where the sound was alright and really enjoyed watching those episodes.
Published on March 25 2011 by Doctor Who Fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Packaging and discs damaged, seems to work so far, July 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Inside cling wrap the plastic cover was broken, and at least one disc seems to be scratched or cracked. I am concerned that it may have been previously sold and rewrapped.
The disc we have tried worked fine so far. My concern is more about who treated the product so badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Smith as the doctor does Wonderful Job as The Doctor, June 17 2014
By 
Kory Scott "Kory Scott" (Brandon, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Series 5 of New Who or series 32 overall in the entire series to date from 1963 is just awesome. Matt Smith As the 11th Doctor / 12th Regeneration does a wonderful job in all aspects of the role. From playing the doctors age of 900 plus to Matts on age of 26 at the time. The episodes / stories are great over all. As to me saying Matt's doctor is the 12 regen of this cycle of regeneration's only for 2 reasons. 1. David Tennant's Doctor (10th) came back during in the middle of the regenerating; so David's Doctor is Regeneration 10th and 11th. 2. There is also (Spoiler) an upcoming regeneration between Paul Mcgain's 8th doctor/7th Regeneration and Christopher Eccleston's 9th Doctor/9th Regeneration later in the show overall. I give series 5 out of 5 stars; and is a good jumping off point if missed the 1963 starting point back in the day with An Unearthly Child / Wiiliam Heartnell's Doctor the OG of the Doctors. Or the 2005 relaunch with Eccleston;s doctor (9th doctor). This set that starts Matt's run as the Doctor would make starting point for anyone coming in to the show for the first time and fans of the show should also enjoy this set as well to watch and put in to their Doctor Who collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Doctor SO good, Aug. 9 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I didn't think anyone could replace David Tennant, but Matt Smith sure filled his shoes! The bluray version isn't AS good as some other discs but the show still looks great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very appreciated, Nov. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Was purchased and given as a gift. The person that received it did enjoy the movies. If he is happy then i am happy with this purchase.
As usual, Amazon fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Dec 12 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm only about half way through the season and I love it! I wasn't too sure if I would like Matt Smith, as I am such a fan of David Tennant's tenth doctor, however Mr. Smith has been a pleasant surprise. He's not trying to be the previous Doctor, but making the role his own. With a strong supporting cast and excellent story lines from Steven Moffat, Series 5 is a lot of fun and I am excited to see how it unfolds.

As for the quality, the HD is very well done and the packaging, with the handful of extras is quite nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars damaged DVDs, June 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There were two or three episodes in which the DVD froze and we had to go through the episode scene by scene to get to the rest of the episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, May 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was what i ordered and as always The Doctor is wicked cool and i might just need to get a bow tie. haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!~, Nov. 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show is all about the power of words and thoughts - so much innuendo and so much fun! Love it! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fifth Series, June 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I add the caveat that I am a Doctor Who fan (the modern Doctor Who).

This is a great series with some wicked twists and turns. There are really great episodes that are well-written and really grab your attention. The villains were awesome. And not to mention that Churchill was in this series! The new companion Amy Pond is brilliant, clever, and a nice change from the previous companions (although I do miss Rose).

Matt Smith's a great doctor, does an awesome job of replacing David Tennant (who I still miss!). The bow tie is definitely super cool and then add to that the wicked suspenders. Great combination!

Some aspects of it certainly will anger sticklers (mostly I'm thinking of the iPod coloured Daleks) but most of it is great. It's a series that can be watched by anyone, good family fun.

I do agree that it is a bit pricy but it's well-worth it, especially to promote good, quality programming and I am a bit of a sucker for BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Jan. 13 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Too much to explain. It's doctor who, worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 109.90 CDN$ 69.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews