Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Non redux
Clint Eastwood appears - looms - in this gritty Western in the cowboy tradition of High Noon and Shane. Eastwood also directed Pale Rider, a movie in which he's known only as Preacher, because when he appears in town, he's wearing a clerical collar. Hard for the beleaguered miners (who are being terrorized by a smarmy land-grabbing tycoon and his band of local baddies) to...
Published on Oct. 5 2003 by Peggy Vincent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Eastwood Western is hurt in comparison to Shane
Pale Rider is worth watching, but unfortunately, it draws too heavily on George Stevens's classic western Shane, which just might be the greatest western ever made. It is well-acted and nicely shot, but it really can't hold a candle to Shane.
Three stars.
Published on Sept. 29 2003 by Jamie Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Non redux, Oct. 5 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pale Rider (VHS Tape)
Clint Eastwood appears - looms - in this gritty Western in the cowboy tradition of High Noon and Shane. Eastwood also directed Pale Rider, a movie in which he's known only as Preacher, because when he appears in town, he's wearing a clerical collar. Hard for the beleaguered miners (who are being terrorized by a smarmy land-grabbing tycoon and his band of local baddies) to figure out at first is whether Eastwood is a good guy or a bad guy. There's the requisite pretty woman and adoring child who belong to one of the miners, and it gives Eastwood to prove his intensions are high-minded.
Classic Eastwood, classic cowboy, classic classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I never much cared for westerns but this movie has made me look at them differently . Awesome movie with a great message in it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clint Eastwood knows how to make a movie and act in a movie. I love all of his stuff and think he is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love clint Eastwood and my favorites are the "spaghetti westerns". In my opinion these are the quintessential Clint Eastwood movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mythic tale excellent done..with good subplot, Oct. 27 2012
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One reviewer found this tale dull and pretentious as the writer turns to myth in his tale like a religious story
where we dont know anything about person who comew to town not even his name but just preacher. They know that by his behavior, he has a religious sense to him, that is missing in others. Here we have a tale of a gold mine where the homesteaders are not being dealt fairly by a group known as hood(or something like that) so the problem heree is not rich against poor but as in myths the nature of a group of people who have appropriated the law to achieve their ends, means justifies ends. The characters are not really well rounded and we dont know that much about them, just a young girl and her mother and Eastwood rarely talks. One scene with the young girl she tries to seduce hum but he puts her off and she talks of love, and he tells her she needs to further understand that word, she wants some kind of physical relationship. He then says your MOTHER is a fine woman and when he rescues her from a gang assault and brings her to her home, dishevelled and at wits ends instead of hugging her mother she hugs the preacher. A later scene has the mother making a pass at the preacher but he leaves, and isn't interested in her, then she decides to go back to another man, she knows he's leaving town...and says to her husband he's a fine man. A little story about the meaning of love and relationships, and the preacher surmises the young girl needs to experience love in the
outside world. Reviewers may not like characters set up as types but this is the terrain where Eastwood goes in this film and others, looking into moral natures, and even the towns and everything are nameless, perhaps planetless.
I film which admittedly borrows from Shane and High Noon, but its a cogent piece of work since he goes elsewhere and here the preacher and the film is well set up. The rest of the tale is well written of in a high noon ending..and his westerns are different and not localized, much more deeply layered, and here he examines a family unable to love, these types of stories should not be explained since everyone takes from it what his life leads him to find there..I've just mentioned a few things I've not seen...I recall this film from years ago and enjoyed it again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Dec 22 2011
totally enjoy this movie, amazon did a great job of having this in stock and getting it out to me .thanks RICK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an homage to clint westerns, July 16 2004
By 
brainwhistle "brainwhistle" (Westlake Village, CA United States) - See all my reviews
yes the story is similar to shane (although the preacher was
(likely) dead before the film starts, compared to shane who
was (likely) dead as the film ends)
but if anything this was more like a retrospective of clint's
western characters, with a hint of Dirty Harry thrown in
for good measure
the parallel with High Plains Drifter is obvious; the ending
where LaHood gets shot is straight out of Joe Kidd. the character
of the preacher is a pastiche of the man-with-no-name; the way
the last deputy is dispatched looks like a scene from Hang 'Em
High (and after all, by then he had fired 6 shots -- or was it
only 5?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Eastwood Western is hurt in comparison to Shane, Sept. 29 2003
By 
Pale Rider is worth watching, but unfortunately, it draws too heavily on George Stevens's classic western Shane, which just might be the greatest western ever made. It is well-acted and nicely shot, but it really can't hold a candle to Shane.
Three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than "Unforgiven"!!!, July 30 2003
This Clint Eastwood western got little attention in 1985, but it still holds up well today, with Eastwood playing the man with no name mantra, it starts out with many outlaw cowboys terrorizing mountain settlers who they are trying to run off because of possible gold that could be there, we discover that the town's owner wants the mining expedition all to his self & will do anything to acquire it, this is where Eastwood comes in, in which he helps the settlers keep what is theirs, with Michael Moriarty(Law & Order) as the settler's leader & Sydney Penny(T.V.'s All my Children) as his stepdaughter who developes a fixation on Eastwood, we learn he is a priest or so we think who has sort of a mysterious past & not much is known about him, when the town's owner realizes they have outside help, he attempts to bribe him to join his cause, when that fails he then hires a ruthless sherriff & his 6 deputies who uphold whatever law there is to the highest bidder, a sherriff which Eastwood has a past with, but not much is revealed about their past, in which they have a showdown towards the end, this movie has many subplots in it that really work & the look on the shrriff's face when he realizes who he is up against is creepy, I am not sure if Eastwood was trying to make a sequel to "Outlaw of Josey Whales" or what, but it sure plays on that theme as if the sherriff was one he missed in that one, or vice versa, & is better than "Unforgiven" which in some ways could be a sequel to this one, but this one stands out & could be a stand alone movie, it should be noted that Eastwood directed all 3 films, & might have had that intension all along, I used to like "Josey Whales" the best, but this one is the better one I think!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "...and it's rider's name was death", June 24 2003
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
The situation is familiar enough, previously dramatized in another film, Shane (1953): A stranger appears and becomes involved with good people who are being tormented by a powerful adversary as they struggle to eke out a living as miners camped along a river. Eastwood has duly acknowledged several similarities with Shane while explaining that he wanted to create his own version and commissioned a script based on that basic situation. As for the film's title, as she was reading the Bible with her mother (a widow, played by Carrie Snodgrass), Megan Wheeler (played by Sydney Penny), comes upon this passage: "And I saw, and behold, a pale horse, and its rider's name was death, and hell followed him." Soon after, a lone horseman (Clint Eastwood) dressed as a preacher, rides into camp. His name is never revealed, nor is his background, but the miners soon realize that the Preacher is probably much handier with a gun than he is with holy scripture. Of course, the confrontation with LaHood and his hired gunmen (led by a man named Stockburn) is inevitable. There is a vague but inescapable implication that the Preacher may have once ridden with Stockburn. There is no doubt that they once knew each other.
To his credit, Eastwood underplays any Biblical implications. In fact, most of the action occurs slowly. Opportunities to develop a sub plot are rejected, probably because Eastwood wants to sustain the focus on the conflict between decency and mendacity. Although the widow is obviously "taken" with the Preacher and he feels at least some attraction to her (as was also the case with Shane and Marion Starret), the Preacher rides off as the film ends, as does Shane. Hull Barret is Joe Starret's counterpart. Both are willing but neither is equal to the challenge of saving their friends from oppression. Shane and the Preacher become involved because they care about the good folks, of course, but also because (it is implied) their destiny is to confront and eliminate evil, then depart. Stockburn is a contract laborer, as is Jack Wilson in Shane. Literally, a hired gun. Nothing personal, although Stockburn (as portrayed by John Russell) seems to me somewhat world-weary whereas Wilson still seems to enjoy killing whomever he must to complete an assignment.
One final point: I have admired as well as enjoyed the development of Eastwood's skills as a director over several decades, beginning with Play Misty for Me (1971). I think there is much greater diversity in his selection and presentation of material as a director than there is as an actor. Some have characterized this as a "noir film" and in certain respects it is. The somber tone he establishes and then sustains in Pale Rider (1985) may well have contributed to the effectiveness of a comparable tone in later films, notably Unforgiven (1992). I am eager to see what new challenges he takes on in films yet to be directed but I am equally eager to see relationships of those films with earlier works such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pale Rider / Le Cavalier Solitaire (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews