march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage scflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars344
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$6.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 1, 2015
parfait
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
Clever movie. I enjoy it more each time I watch it. Helps if you are very familiar with Romeo and Juliet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
had the movie before - wanted it again - really liked it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
Not able to be played in this region ! ! !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2014
Love movie night
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
Story line not great. Probably historically accurate. Definitely not a "watch-again" DVD or one to be added to a collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I loved this film.
It is about a fictional love affair between Shakespeare & his love for a woman who desires to be an actress.
In Elizabethan Times females were not allowed to act on stage, & their roles were played by males.
The plot of the romance is an inter-play with the play he is writing - Romeo & Juliet.
It is well done & very cleverly presented. It is rather amusing & comical as well.
Anyone who loves Romeo & Juliet will enjoy & relate to this film.
Gwyneth Paltrow & Joseph Fiennes give a great performance, as does Judi Dench as an aging
Queen Elizabeth 1. The movie won 7 Academy Awards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2011
This is not a review of the film which harvested 7 Academy Awards but of this blu-ray release. It is the worst I have so far. No extra features at all, not even a trailer, and, yes, not even a chapter menu!! The film itself is presented in 1080i at 29.97 fps and not in 1080p/24 which is standard for feature film releases on blu! How low can you go? Only one more step is possible: Remove the lossless audio. Congratulations Alliance, never ever will I buy one of your products again!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2011
This Alliance version is probably one of the worst releases ever! First, there is no menu and no subtitles. This alone would be somewhat acceptable in your case if you understand English accents very well, but on top of that you get a very bad transfer with a noticeable blue tint on the edges of the movie! Looks like bleeding light from the scanner. Really bad. Try to get the other releases, avoid the Alliance one.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2011
The product is out of Canada and therefore 1080i not p as we are accustomed. The shipping charges are outrageous. I think I could have shipped a case of them for this price. Not a great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse