Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Romantic Comedy
Jennifer Lopez plays Zoey - a single attractive woman living in New York with a dream of having a baby. Having not met any special guys, she decides she cannot wait any longer and goes for artificial insemination. On the same day she meets Stan played by Alex O'Loughlin. The two begin to date and Zoey lets Stan in on her secret - that's she pregnant. Stan decides to stay...
Published on March 29 2011 by Cozy Evenings with a Book

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Run of the mill boy-girl situation comedy
Every contemporary actor has to do at least one of these formula predictable comedies. These movies are Hollywood machine cranked out of the factory to placate the proletariat. Keep people happy, keep the economy going, and distract us with the same formulas. I am one of those people that do not mind watching these movies yet I think of how many hours were wasted saying...
Published on Sept. 5 2010 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Romantic Comedy, March 29 2011
By 
Cozy Evenings with a Book "Book Lover" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Back-Up Plan (DVD)
Jennifer Lopez plays Zoey - a single attractive woman living in New York with a dream of having a baby. Having not met any special guys, she decides she cannot wait any longer and goes for artificial insemination. On the same day she meets Stan played by Alex O'Loughlin. The two begin to date and Zoey lets Stan in on her secret - that's she pregnant. Stan decides to stay with Zoey and try to make their relationship work. They go through some rough patches but in the end, love conquers all.

This is your typical romantic comedy - it's easy going, hilarious at times, touching and overall a good movie. I would put it in the same category as: While You Were Sleeping, Sweet Home Alabama, Wedding Planner, etc. Jennifer Lopez looks great and is a pleasure to watch and Alex O'Loughlin matches her perfectly. If you want an easy watch, a heartwarming romantic comedy, then you can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great with Friends, May 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Back-Up Plan (DVD)
A great chick flick.Alex is great eye candy!!!Friends and I enjoyed this light-hearted romantic comedy while drinking rum and cokes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cute idea, Jan. 29 2012
This review is from: The Back-Up Plan [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I absolutely love the concept of this movie and the cast is fantastic for it's chemistry and believability. It's absolutely hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Run of the mill boy-girl situation comedy, Sept. 5 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Back-up Plan (Blu-ray)
Every contemporary actor has to do at least one of these formula predictable comedies. These movies are Hollywood machine cranked out of the factory to placate the proletariat. Keep people happy, keep the economy going, and distract us with the same formulas. I am one of those people that do not mind watching these movies yet I think of how many hours were wasted saying "stay in the car" or "don't do that". It is possible that, someone familiar with that sort of the genre may be able to discern between a three-star in a five-star version depending on the type of acting in the subtleness of the story. However, for me this just looks like another of a long chain the situation comedies with boy and girl misunderstanding each other until they understand each other and would have been better off misunderstanding each other.

However, sit back and enjoy the twists and turns as Stan and Zoe (Alex O'Loughlin and Jennifer Lopez) anticipate and observe parenthood.

The background is sound is more like a musical review:
"Bottles"
"A Beautiful Day"
"Chrystal Rain"
"Disco Lies"
"Say Hay (I Love You)"
"You Me & The Bourgeoisie"
"Let's Finish (Sinden Remax)"
"Fallin' For You"
"Key to My Heart"
"Daisy Belle"
"Golden Slippers"
"Mool Mantra"
"Crabuckit"
"Sweet Calypso Woman"
"Pizzicato Waltz From Sylvie"
"Trumpet Voluntary"
"What a Wonderful World"
"She Drives Me Crazy"
"What is Love?"

I have only seen the Blu-ray version of this presentation so I cannot comment o others. However, some of the scenes would have been better in a much, much lower resolution. There are the standard extras that we just take for garnet are on DVD's as Deleted scenes and the making of. For the socially orientated -Live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Back-Up Plan (DVD)
Wonderful movie to watch. I love both Actors they are grets to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible!, Sept. 5 2012
This review is from: The Back-Up Plan (DVD)
To be fair, I only watched the first 30 minutes of this movie. Still, I can't believe I watched that much. It was really cheesy and felt really strained for the comedy. It felt like lame crude humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment, Nov. 13 2010
This review is from: The Back-Up Plan (DVD)
Was looking forward to watching. Waited in anticipation for the story line to improve which never happened. Sorry we invested in the purchase of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Back-Up Plan [Blu-ray]
The Back-Up Plan [Blu-ray] by Alan Poul (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews