Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leading up to the Final season...
While not the best season as a whole compared to Seasons 1 and 2, There are many exceptional episodes that keep you hooked. The character development continues leading up to the final season. And I'm glad they're not splitting the DVD release into two parts like last season.

And yes, Amazon.ca does need to fix Canadian pricing.
I preordered this through...
Published on Jan. 30 2008 by M. Scott

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, mediocre season.
This show started out strong and remained so until somewhere in the second half of the second season. Season 3 still has glimmers of brilliance in it, though, so it's worth a look.

However, I must say the price discrepancy is really starting to get on my nerves. With the Canadian dollar pretty much at parity or even sometimes stronger than the US dollar, why am...
Published on Jan. 29 2008 by Jaclyn Ludwig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leading up to the Final season..., Jan. 30 2008
By 
M. Scott (Hamilton, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While not the best season as a whole compared to Seasons 1 and 2, There are many exceptional episodes that keep you hooked. The character development continues leading up to the final season. And I'm glad they're not splitting the DVD release into two parts like last season.

And yes, Amazon.ca does need to fix Canadian pricing.
I preordered this through Amazon.com and even after paying for shipping to Canada it's cheaper than the "sale" price at Amazon.ca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, exciting, thought provoking science fiction, Nov. 11 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
One of my favorite television series of all time along with 'The Wire'
and 'Breaking Bad'.

Like 'The Wire' this is a complex, Dickensian study of human nature,
not afraid of asking big questions, and meticulously plotted like a
great novel, so that each episode is a chapter in a much larger whole.

Just as 'The Wire' used the overly familiar cliché' world of the cop
show to jump off from and shatter our preconceptions, and 'Battlestar
Galactica' uses the sci-fi series, and the idea of human versus robot
wars the same way.

This is thinking person's sci fi, in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke,
or Isaac Asimov. It's about why we are how we are, what it means to be
a human being, morality under constant pressure in times of war,
fathers and sons, impossible loves, metaphors for modern and recent
politics and real world situations.

My wife, far from a sci-fi fan was hooked after 3 episodes, and we tore
through 5 years of shows in just a few days. It's that addicting.

The acting is all at least quite good, and some cast members are
remarkable, creating characters full of depth, complexity and
contradiction. The writing is terrific, allowing the characters to
change and grow, but always in ways that make sense, creating seemingly
inexplicable conundrums, only to find surprising, sometimes shocking -
but ultimately logical and satisfying - ways to explain where they've
taken us. The special effects are generally very impressive for TV,
even if they're not really why you watch this show.

It also has some of the most tense episodes of television I've ever
seen, and some of the season enders left me completely wrung out and
blown away. I was sad to get to the last episode, just as one is sad to
finish a great book.

The third season represented a bit of a transition to something a
touch more surreal, a little odder, which would pay off fully
in the last two seasons. There are moments where the show seems
to have lost it's way a bit, but it comes back quickly, and some
things that have a 'what was that about?' feeling in season 3
will be very important in what's yet to come. Trust the show.

As far as getting the individual seasons, it looks as though
you can do possibly better buying the box set, although prices fluctuate
quickly here on Amazon and elsewhere, so I'd advise you do the math
and figure out the most reasonable way to own the complete set.

Also, Amazon UK currently has a complete region free blu-ray box
set for about $100 with shipping. It seems to have all the same extras
as the US box set. Well worth considering as long as the price holds up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci-Fi Series Ever!, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was part of a gift for my boyfriend since I started his collection two years ago. We both love the series for it is so well acted, written, executed and directed. Once you start watching that series, you won't be able to stop until it's finished and you'll want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best sci-fi serie, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Marcus King "Konig" (Montréal, Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica Season 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought them all when they were on sale at 20$, I usually hate sci-fi tv show because most of them have cheesy plots and crappy special fx, but it's probably one of the best tv show i've ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I simply love it!!, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favorites. I was thrilled to finally get it. I received it in perfect condition and in the time it was supposed to get to me. I'm truly happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great show, Feb. 12 2012
I had not watched any of the series before buying the dvds. Absolutely worth it! I loved every minute of BSG and the podcast commentaries work wonders for insomnia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, mediocre season., Jan. 29 2008
By 
Jaclyn Ludwig (Calgary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This show started out strong and remained so until somewhere in the second half of the second season. Season 3 still has glimmers of brilliance in it, though, so it's worth a look.

However, I must say the price discrepancy is really starting to get on my nerves. With the Canadian dollar pretty much at parity or even sometimes stronger than the US dollar, why am I paying 10 dollars more through Amazon.ca than Americans get through Amazon.com?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great show tumbles in quality, Feb. 20 2008
By 
GoonMoon (San Rafael, CA) - See all my reviews
In short, season 3 is pretty lousy. Season 2 reached an apex with the brilliant mid-season cliffhanger, "Pegasus", and the show has never reached those heights since. Indeed, the cracks were starting to show by the end of that season, with a few real clunkers in the second half.

Season 3 feels rushed and short of ideas. One also can't help get the sense that the writers looked at the "dark, gritty and really well-constructed" praise for the previous seasons, and thought that the important parts were the "dark" and "gritty". The show frequently hits the viewer with the sledgehammer of doom and depression without bothering to check if the plots make sense, engage, or offer interesting character development. Sometimes it feels as though the writers have painted themselves into a corner with the occupation storyline, the relationships of Lee and Kara and (worst of all) the constant in-fighting of the Cylons. The last of these leaves the show reminding me of "V", whose later seasons became a ridiculous soap-opera with the visitors killing each other just as often as the resistance did. Gone are the days when the Cylons were a mysterious, dark, fascinating menace. Instead, we know them intimately, and they feel like a bunch of kooky religious pals armed with high-tech weaponry. They're no longer scary, and they're just one faction among many, which might be interesting in a Tolstoy novel, but doesn't really make for exciting TV drama. We're not really rooting for anyone anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, March 20 2008
By 
Desmond Dapena (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sure, Season 3 didn't reach quite the same dizzying heights as 1 and 2, but it's still way up there in the stratosphere. The opening New Caprica arc of this season is amazing, and while the rest of the season didn't quite live up to its brilliance, it's still Galactica, meaning better than 99% of everything else on TV. The mid season arc and the final few episodes were great, and really moved the story forward in new and exciting directions. The problem is that the filler episodes in between just don't work as well. It isn't that kind of show; part of the appeal of BSG is its serialized nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic season, great set, March 18 2008
Another top-notch quality Galactica set, no bait-and-switch with the 2.0-2.5 thing, no Razor included (which would have upset me with the double dip). Picture and sound quality is superb, another great archive of this fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica Season 3 [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 53.99 CDN$ 39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews