Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leading up to the Final season...
While not the best season as a whole compared to Seasons 1 and 2, There are many exceptional episodes that keep you hooked. The character development continues leading up to the final season. And I'm glad they're not splitting the DVD release into two parts like last season.

And yes, Amazon.ca does need to fix Canadian pricing.
I preordered this through...
Published on Jan. 30 2008 by M. Scott

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, mediocre season.
This show started out strong and remained so until somewhere in the second half of the second season. Season 3 still has glimmers of brilliance in it, though, so it's worth a look.

However, I must say the price discrepancy is really starting to get on my nerves. With the Canadian dollar pretty much at parity or even sometimes stronger than the US dollar, why am...
Published on Jan. 29 2008 by Jaclyn Ludwig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leading up to the Final season..., Jan. 30 2008
By 
M. Scott (Hamilton, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While not the best season as a whole compared to Seasons 1 and 2, There are many exceptional episodes that keep you hooked. The character development continues leading up to the final season. And I'm glad they're not splitting the DVD release into two parts like last season.

And yes, Amazon.ca does need to fix Canadian pricing.
I preordered this through Amazon.com and even after paying for shipping to Canada it's cheaper than the "sale" price at Amazon.ca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, March 20 2008
By 
Desmond Dapena (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sure, Season 3 didn't reach quite the same dizzying heights as 1 and 2, but it's still way up there in the stratosphere. The opening New Caprica arc of this season is amazing, and while the rest of the season didn't quite live up to its brilliance, it's still Galactica, meaning better than 99% of everything else on TV. The mid season arc and the final few episodes were great, and really moved the story forward in new and exciting directions. The problem is that the filler episodes in between just don't work as well. It isn't that kind of show; part of the appeal of BSG is its serialized nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, mediocre season., Jan. 29 2008
This show started out strong and remained so until somewhere in the second half of the second season. Season 3 still has glimmers of brilliance in it, though, so it's worth a look.

However, I must say the price discrepancy is really starting to get on my nerves. With the Canadian dollar pretty much at parity or even sometimes stronger than the US dollar, why am I paying 10 dollars more through Amazon.ca than Americans get through Amazon.com?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic season, great set, March 18 2008
Another top-notch quality Galactica set, no bait-and-switch with the 2.0-2.5 thing, no Razor included (which would have upset me with the double dip). Picture and sound quality is superb, another great archive of this fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great continuation!, March 14 2009
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just love this series for it's originality and hopefully it will continue for many years to come because it has a lot of material to cover. It's a great sci-fi and yes it's probably not for everyone, especially if sci-fi is not something you like, but it's definitely entertaining and it leaves you wanting more... I know I'm hooked, and even though they are a little pricey, I intend to purchase them all eventually. I can't compare this new approach of BSG with the older version because I haven't seen them, but I find the effects on this one pretty good and worthwhile for any sci-fi fans out there. Give this series a try and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, exciting, thought provoking science fiction, Nov. 11 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
One of my favorite television series of all time along with 'The Wire'
and 'Breaking Bad'.

Like 'The Wire' this is a complex, Dickensian study of human nature,
not afraid of asking big questions, and meticulously plotted like a
great novel, so that each episode is a chapter in a much larger whole.

Just as 'The Wire' used the overly familiar cliché' world of the cop
show to jump off from and shatter our preconceptions, and 'Battlestar
Galactica' uses the sci-fi series, and the idea of human versus robot
wars the same way.

This is thinking person's sci fi, in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke,
or Isaac Asimov. It's about why we are how we are, what it means to be
a human being, morality under constant pressure in times of war,
fathers and sons, impossible loves, metaphors for modern and recent
politics and real world situations.

My wife, far from a sci-fi fan was hooked after 3 episodes, and we tore
through 5 years of shows in just a few days. It's that addicting.

The acting is all at least quite good, and some cast members are
remarkable, creating characters full of depth, complexity and
contradiction. The writing is terrific, allowing the characters to
change and grow, but always in ways that make sense, creating seemingly
inexplicable conundrums, only to find surprising, sometimes shocking -
but ultimately logical and satisfying - ways to explain where they've
taken us. The special effects are generally very impressive for TV,
even if they're not really why you watch this show.

It also has some of the most tense episodes of television I've ever
seen, and some of the season enders left me completely wrung out and
blown away. I was sad to get to the last episode, just as one is sad to
finish a great book.

The third season represented a bit of a transition to something a
touch more surreal, a little odder, which would pay off fully
in the last two seasons. There are moments where the show seems
to have lost it's way a bit, but it comes back quickly, and some
things that have a 'what was that about?' feeling in season 3
will be very important in what's yet to come. Trust the show.

As far as getting the individual seasons, it looks as though
you can do possibly better buying the box set, although prices fluctuate
quickly here on Amazon and elsewhere, so I'd advise you do the math
and figure out the most reasonable way to own the complete set.

Also, Amazon UK currently has a complete region free blu-ray box
set for about $100 with shipping. It seems to have all the same extras
as the US box set. Well worth considering as long as the price holds up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica: Season 3, May 31 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Overall I am enjoying the entire series. What irks me is the same time wasting, looong start to each episode. I guess this way they didn't have to fill in as much story for the 1 hr television viewing. They could have cut it out for this format! If you are planning on watching this series You've got to watch the preceeding 2 seasons plus the "in-between" movies such as Razor. They help fill in some of the gaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci-Fi Series Ever!, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was part of a gift for my boyfriend since I started his collection two years ago. We both love the series for it is so well acted, written, executed and directed. Once you start watching that series, you won't be able to stop until it's finished and you'll want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best sci-fi serie, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Marcus King "Konig" (Montréal, Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica Season 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought them all when they were on sale at 20$, I usually hate sci-fi tv show because most of them have cheesy plots and crappy special fx, but it's probably one of the best tv show i've ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I simply love it!!, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favorites. I was thrilled to finally get it. I received it in perfect condition and in the time it was supposed to get to me. I'm truly happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica Season 3 [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 53.99 CDN$ 37.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews