Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are only 3 Elvis "live" videos!
There are only three released videos filmed of Elvis "live" during performances. This is one of the three and the only one to show the King on tour. For that reason, it is to be treasured. But not only for this: it also shows Elvis performing his early seventies numbers, and his interaction with the audiences of that time. Every appearance by the King is moving,...
Published on Nov. 17 2003 by Susan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Insulting Document of Some Great Performances
Elvis achieves several classic performances in this video; highlights include "An American Trilogy" and "Bridge over Troubled Water" as well as informal gospel warmups and warmdowns such as "I John" and "Lead Me, Guide Me." But this tape should not be available to the public in its present form.
In spite of Elvis's greatness,...
Published on Jan. 10 2003 by Mateo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are only 3 Elvis "live" videos!, Nov. 17 2003
By 
Susan (Singapore, Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
There are only three released videos filmed of Elvis "live" during performances. This is one of the three and the only one to show the King on tour. For that reason, it is to be treasured. But not only for this: it also shows Elvis performing his early seventies numbers, and his interaction with the audiences of that time. Every appearance by the King is moving, shows his character and his mischievous nature and most of all - shows every new generation of fans what it was like to see the one and only King of Rock n Roll perform. Why this is not on DVD baffles me. Although re-editing of the movie would make it tighter, the live performance segments make up for everything! Hey, MGM/Turner, whoever! please, do you have any plans for this to be on DVD ? Are there any more Elvis performances locked away in a vault that you could put on DVD ? Elvis fans all over the world are a growing force and would LOVE to see more of the real Elvis - trust me, these performances are nothing like the inane Elvis movies which are so readily available! THIS is the real reason they called him the KING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Document Of Elvis's Later Years, Jan. 31 2004
By 
anthony nasti (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
"Elvis On Tour" captures a loose, energetic King on the road. It features dozens of innovative split screen shots of Elvis. Whether he's making a quip or showing off his karate moves, this is Elvis at his peak.
"Elvis On Tour" is much looser than "That's The Way It Is". He does not seem nervous like he did on the previous tape, and he adds extra flare to the songs that he performed in the previous outing. Elvis's voice is in its greatest shape ever here. He delivers a powerful, intense vocal performance on "Bridge Over Troubled Water", then gives a gentle reading of "Funny How Time Slips Away". The rockers are also extremely good. Elvis gives electrifying versions of "A Big Hink O' Love" and "Lawdy, Miss Clawdy", plus a good version of "I Got A Woman". Closing this magnificient video is a beatiful rendition of "Can't Help Falling In Love".
I do have one gripe however. On the "Lost Performances" video, there are several performances filmed for this video that should've have been included. These songs are a powerful "Are You Lonesome Tonight", "I Can't Stop Loving You", "All Shook Up", "Release Me", "Teddy Bear"/"Don't Be Cruel", and a stunningly beautiful "How Great Thou Art". However, this truly is a must - have. Elvis is truly at his finest hour, his last moment of glory before sinking into the pits of drugs and fatty food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religious experience, July 13 2008
By 
Shanti (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
Absolutely fantastic film. Elvis outstanding charisma and talent really comes through. We get to know the artist and person better then in any other Elvis documentary. PLEASE PUT THIS OUT ON DVD! MAKE IT A SPECIAL EDITION WITH LOTS OF BONUS MATERIAL THAT WAS CUT OUT OF THE ORIGINAL VERSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, not to be compared with Thats the way it is, July 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
I have seen some interesting reviews so far about horrible video taping and even some 'Elvis is decline' comments. This movie is a documentary, basically cameras following Elvis around on tour. This is not taped in Las Vegas. In Vegas, Elvis did 2 shows a day with no travel. When on tour, it was night after night of traveling from City to City, show after show. There are not 2,000 fans in the audience, more like 12,000-21,000 depending upon the city. He attitude between shows in Vegas and shows on the road are understandably different. A little less polished, a little more raw, and on ocassion a lot more powerful. I love the Vegas shows, but if you want to see Elvis 'on tour' this is the ONLY way to get close. I doubt I'll ever experience anything quite like it again, but I'll always have this video. The video does not portray very well what a concert is like, the highs and lows that happen from beginning to end. Again, it is the closest thing we have to remember by. As for Elvis going down hill, this was not long after Thats the way it is and just before Aloha in January of 1973. Had I named this movie, it would have been 'Elvis Unleashed'. Its a shame we don't have one those tour shows available from end to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis At His Peak, Dec 15 2002
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
This 1972 Elvis Presley concert film is my favorite movie by The King. I first watched it when my friend at my local video store lended it to me. I watched it, and I was mesmerized. After returning the video to my friend, I went searching every video store in town for a copy, and I finally found one at a store in Menlo Park Mall.
This tapes features Elvis live at his best. His energy is very evident on several performances, most notably Polk Salad Annie, in which Elvis shows off his karate moves, swirling, twirling, and jumping. His voice is in top tier during an emotional performance of Bridge Over Troubled Water. When he performs Love Me Tender, it is intercut with scenes of Elvis kissing several female audience members and romantic scenes from his movies. There is also a scorching performance of Burning Love (third verse missing), and Elvis does a rocking resurrection of Lawdy, Miss Clawdy that is my favorite performance on the tape. His vocal performances on Can't Help Falling In Love and An American Trilogy shine, and Elvis delivers a rocking A Big Hunk O' Love.
Elvis On Tour is a must-have film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis still in top form, don't believe the hype, Sept. 30 2002
By 
D. McClure "Magnum Opus" (Wilmington, DE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
The only major difference in Elvis' appearance between this film and 'That's The Way It Is' is that he doesn't have a tan, and his hair is longer. Elvis is NOT heavier, and even if he is, it couldn't be by more than 5 pounds. He is very lean in this, with a small waistline and overall striking figure. His voice is beautiful, and I love to hear how it matured and improved over the years. In this film, his voice is smooth, rich, and powerful. The way he sings "Bridge Over Troubled Water" knocks the original version right off the map. His energy during the song "Polk Salad Annie" is startling, this version being markedly faster than the 1970 version. The Stamps are spotlighted singing the moving gospel song "Sweet Sweet Spirit" that can move you to tears, especially seeing Elvis standing aside and admiring one of his heroes, J.D. Sumner. "I Got a Woman","Lawdy Miss Clawdy","Burning Love"...this film has no shortage of rockers. Also we get to go into the recording studio with Elvis while he records the song "Separate Ways", a poignant ballad about lost love clearly selected to mirror Elvis life while he was separated from Priscilla. We get to go backstage with Elvis and see his human side, he says "I've never gotten over what they call stage fright, I go through it every show". A long interview with Elvis was recorded to accompany some of the non musical moments, and we hear the man himself telling his story. They flash back to 1956 and show some of Elvis' early TV appearances to great effect. It was filmed in stereo, and plays just fine in Dolby surround. It's energetic, exciting, and contains some great songs. A must for any Elvis fan or fan of live concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE put this on DVD!, Sept. 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
EoT is one of the most AMAZING films ever. It chronicles the life of the King of Rock and Roll during his 1972 tour. All done in various forms of Pan & Scan, WIDE (and I empasize the word WIDE) screen, and that cheesy camera trick called Cinerama (multiple-screens). This was a popular trick in the 50s and 60s to get an even bigger screen. This was done on usually the tacky movies of the period, but split screen has never been any tackier, cheesier, or more beautiful than on Elvis on Tour. I guess that's why I get all mushy and sentimental on those parts because it reminds me of the decade of my childhood: the 70s.
The other amazing aspect of the movie is how Elvis had total control of everything. It seemed he had this magic spell over everything that was around him. The music itself? Well, it's the imperfect sound of Elvis in concert. There's beauty in imperfection.
I remember 25 years ago in 1977 when Elvis died. Thats when I got my first exposure to this amazing film. In fact, I have in my possession an audiotape of the broadcast of EoT. My 6 year old voice in on that tape, my mom and dad's voice is on that tape. It's a 25 year old time capsule! After the movie was over, I went into my bedroom with the tape recorder and imitated Elvis for hours. If not for sentimental reasons, if you haven't seen this movie, do yourself a favor and buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Viewing For Historian And Fan, Jan. 22 2002
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
Presley's second documentary focusing on live performance during his "Comeback" era ('69 to '73), this one is full of life and Elvis' high energy. His great rapport with his fans is captured beautifully - the close-up of the spellbound ladies at the conclusion of "You Gave Me A Mountain" is incredible.
The earlier "Elvis - That's The Way It Is" centered on one event - his third Las Vegas engagement [not counting the 05-56 gig], capturing the behind the scenes events of a huge venue and a huge star. There is a heady nervousness to those proceedings, whereas with "On Tour" we get a more "settled in" entertainer - but still the perfectionist!
There are many magnificent moments, i.e., Elvis recording the very personal "Seperate Ways" (written by friend/song writer/bodyguard Red West); Elvis warming up on [the still unreleased] Kaye's "Wandering" [interestingly enough, the melody upon which "I'll Never Fall In Love Again" is based - the Tom Jones/Elvis number] with friend/Music Publishing Rep./Lighting Tech. Lamar Fike, et. al; Elvis singing the Gospel "I, John" backstage with the Sweet Inspirations. Until this '72 movie, I'm sure many were unaware of the real significance of non-Secular music was in his life.
A reviewer noted a decline in Presley's voice from the '70 documentary. Yes, it is clear that he did lose some control, some color; his vibrato was not as strong. But he seemed to gain range and power. The slight decline could be attributed to constant touring - the instrument was worn.
The '56 TV clip was a terrific segment, capturing the young, raw Rocker, still on the rise. Watching him sing and play live was a revelation back in '73 when I saw "On Tour" in the movies. At the time, it caused me to discount the '70s personae as overblown, overproduced, unfunky. Today, I can see that a 37 year old man ain't gonna tear it up every time, especially if the average age out there is also (probably) 37.
One final thought: I read that the producers of this film recorded something like two-hours of Elvis being interviewed for the narrative. Would that make a great CD release! M'boy, m'boy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis in decline, but fascinating nonetheless, Dec 13 2001
By 
DJ McGovern "Derek McGovern" (Busan, South Korea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
What a difference two years can make in the life of a touring mega-star. Having recently purchased the excellent DVD of the 1970 Elvis - That's The Way It Is, I was unprepared for the drastically changed Elvis of this 1972 theatrical release. The changes are not just in his appearance, but more importantly in his vitality and vocal performance. In fact, the appearance aspect was the least of my concerns. True, he has put on weight since the earlier film, but so what? He still looks handsome at thirty-seven, and if there are telltale signs that his lifestyle is beginning to catch up with him, then this is hardly surprising after 16 years of relentless stardom. Far more worrying, however, is the decline in sheer vocal quality.
From the very first song (Johnny B. Goode), Elvis sounds tired and slurred. His voice is worn, and lacks the resonant beauty that it had just two years earlier. On many of the slower numbers (eg Separate Ways, Love Me Tender and Bridge Over Troubled Water), a distinct "wobble" has crept into his singing, making it difficult for him to sustain a smooth line in the quiet passages. (Compare these with, say, his 1970 recording of Twenty Days and Twenty Nights and the unevenness of his later singing is immediately noticeable.) The change is nowhere more evident than in his middle register. He is still able to belt out the notes in climactic moments - An American Trilogy is proof of that - but gone is the wonderfully rich baritonal quality and freshness of his earlier singing.
The decline seems to have set in from 1971 onwards. Up until then his voice had been magnificent, with 1969 and 1970 arguably his peak years. There would still be moments - even right up until the end - when he would regain much of his former vocal beauty, but overall I believe this documentary confirms an ominous decline that would continue with the 1973 Aloha from Hawaii concert.
Maybe the problem was simply tiredness and over-use of his vocal chords. If this was the case, then it's unlikely that those closest to him would have ever succeeded in reining him in. For as this video makes abundantly clear, Elvis loved touring, and his need to perform was a constant driving force.
And what a great performer he was! Vocal problems aside, this is a fascinating study of THE pop icon of the twentieth century. Far from being "static", as Leonard Maltin asserts, this is a fast-moving look at the hectic whirlwind of Elvis Presley's touring life. There are also reflective moments of quiet beauty, notably when Elvis rehearses gospel numbers with his troupe. Elvis' occasional narration also adds much to the film.
This is an honest, warts and all look at Elvis, and well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supurb concert performances from a fifteen-city tour, Nov. 1 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
This superb video focuses on the spectacular, 1972 Elvis Presley concert tour. Its chock full of entertaining segments of this captivating superstar, both on and off stage. Highlighting performances from his fifteen-city tour, he is clothed in an impressive array of costumes. All of them adorned with jeweled belts, capes and scarves. His presence on stage is totally spellbinding. Included are flash-back performances of a very riveting, young Elvis, as he sings and gyrates to "Don't Be Cruel" and "Ready Teddy." This is the actual performances as seen on the Ed Sullivan Show in 1956. Enjoy film clips of his boyhood days. Included are actual scenes of the famous hair cutting when he was inducted in the army. Experience Elvis singing all your favorite songs, up close and personal. See him perform "See See Rider," "Polk Salad Annie," "Proud Mary," "Burning Love," "Suspicious Minds," "Funny How Time Slips Away," " An American Trilogy," "I Got a Woman," " Mystery Train," " A Big Hunk O' Love," "You Gave Me a Mountain," "Lawdy Miss Clawdy," " Love Me Tender," " Bridge Over Trouble Water" and "Can't Help Falling in Love." A very entertaining movie from start to finish. Almost as good as being there with front row tickets. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis on Tour
Elvis on Tour by Pierre Adidge (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews