Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
If you're an Elvis fan you're going to want this DVD.
Published 14 days ago by Todd Irwin

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Insulting Document of Some Great Performances
Elvis achieves several classic performances in this video; highlights include "An American Trilogy" and "Bridge over Troubled Water" as well as informal gospel warmups and warmdowns such as "I John" and "Lead Me, Guide Me." But this tape should not be available to the public in its present form.
In spite of Elvis's greatness,...
Published on Jan. 10 2003 by Mateo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (DVD)
If you're an Elvis fan you're going to want this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis on Tour, Oct. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (DVD)
Elvis on Tour is very good, indeed.
A lot of excellent Elvis songs, good variety from early years and later on in Elvis career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Insulting Document of Some Great Performances, Jan. 10 2003
By 
Mateo (Mexico City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
Elvis achieves several classic performances in this video; highlights include "An American Trilogy" and "Bridge over Troubled Water" as well as informal gospel warmups and warmdowns such as "I John" and "Lead Me, Guide Me." But this tape should not be available to the public in its present form.
In spite of Elvis's greatness, the film is horrifyingly bad. The camera work and editing are amateurish at best, with several outrageous mistakes--most notably Elvis playing his guitar left-handedly because of accidental image mirroring. The sound may be the worst of any concert video ever legally released, with the sound coming in and going out as though the tape had been left in the sun, the piano completely indiscernable throughout the entire concert, and several of the other instruments frequently likewise indiscernable because of the extreme tape hiss. Finally, any sense of coherent direction is nonextistent, with irrelevant pseudo-documentary moments interrupting Elvis's performances.
BMG has taken over Colonel Tom Parker's job of insulting both the art of Elvis and the sensibilities of Elvis's fans. And this video may be the biggest insult yet. This video needs the same treatment as "That's the Way It Is" received; until that treatment comes, I will refuse to watch this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are only 3 Elvis "live" videos!, Nov. 17 2003
By 
Susan (Singapore, Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
There are only three released videos filmed of Elvis "live" during performances. This is one of the three and the only one to show the King on tour. For that reason, it is to be treasured. But not only for this: it also shows Elvis performing his early seventies numbers, and his interaction with the audiences of that time. Every appearance by the King is moving, shows his character and his mischievous nature and most of all - shows every new generation of fans what it was like to see the one and only King of Rock n Roll perform. Why this is not on DVD baffles me. Although re-editing of the movie would make it tighter, the live performance segments make up for everything! Hey, MGM/Turner, whoever! please, do you have any plans for this to be on DVD ? Are there any more Elvis performances locked away in a vault that you could put on DVD ? Elvis fans all over the world are a growing force and would LOVE to see more of the real Elvis - trust me, these performances are nothing like the inane Elvis movies which are so readily available! THIS is the real reason they called him the KING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religious experience, July 13 2008
By 
Shanti (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
Absolutely fantastic film. Elvis outstanding charisma and talent really comes through. We get to know the artist and person better then in any other Elvis documentary. PLEASE PUT THIS OUT ON DVD! MAKE IT A SPECIAL EDITION WITH LOTS OF BONUS MATERIAL THAT WAS CUT OUT OF THE ORIGINAL VERSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Document Of Elvis's Later Years, Jan. 31 2004
By 
anthony nasti (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
"Elvis On Tour" captures a loose, energetic King on the road. It features dozens of innovative split screen shots of Elvis. Whether he's making a quip or showing off his karate moves, this is Elvis at his peak.
"Elvis On Tour" is much looser than "That's The Way It Is". He does not seem nervous like he did on the previous tape, and he adds extra flare to the songs that he performed in the previous outing. Elvis's voice is in its greatest shape ever here. He delivers a powerful, intense vocal performance on "Bridge Over Troubled Water", then gives a gentle reading of "Funny How Time Slips Away". The rockers are also extremely good. Elvis gives electrifying versions of "A Big Hink O' Love" and "Lawdy, Miss Clawdy", plus a good version of "I Got A Woman". Closing this magnificient video is a beatiful rendition of "Can't Help Falling In Love".
I do have one gripe however. On the "Lost Performances" video, there are several performances filmed for this video that should've have been included. These songs are a powerful "Are You Lonesome Tonight", "I Can't Stop Loving You", "All Shook Up", "Release Me", "Teddy Bear"/"Don't Be Cruel", and a stunningly beautiful "How Great Thou Art". However, this truly is a must - have. Elvis is truly at his finest hour, his last moment of glory before sinking into the pits of drugs and fatty food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, not to be compared with Thats the way it is, July 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
I have seen some interesting reviews so far about horrible video taping and even some 'Elvis is decline' comments. This movie is a documentary, basically cameras following Elvis around on tour. This is not taped in Las Vegas. In Vegas, Elvis did 2 shows a day with no travel. When on tour, it was night after night of traveling from City to City, show after show. There are not 2,000 fans in the audience, more like 12,000-21,000 depending upon the city. He attitude between shows in Vegas and shows on the road are understandably different. A little less polished, a little more raw, and on ocassion a lot more powerful. I love the Vegas shows, but if you want to see Elvis 'on tour' this is the ONLY way to get close. I doubt I'll ever experience anything quite like it again, but I'll always have this video. The video does not portray very well what a concert is like, the highs and lows that happen from beginning to end. Again, it is the closest thing we have to remember by. As for Elvis going down hill, this was not long after Thats the way it is and just before Aloha in January of 1973. Had I named this movie, it would have been 'Elvis Unleashed'. Its a shame we don't have one those tour shows available from end to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley's last movie, Dec 18 2002
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
This is a rare Elvis Presley movie with outtakes (in the end credits). And there are some Elvis Presley movies with no end credits like Jailhouse Rock and Love Me Tender. This movie is Elvis Presley's last movie (if you count this and Elvis That's the Way It Is). Unlike Elvis That's the Way It Is, Elvis Presley is in concert in the begining or about to take the stage. But there are still questions that I would like to know. Why does Elvis get a guitar in the beginning of this movie and one other time in this movie, but not play in less he is going to go into a guitar break? How can singers/actors stand have light in thier faces if the house lights are not up? And even they have the light in thier faces during the of thier performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis At His Peak, Dec 15 2002
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
This 1972 Elvis Presley concert film is my favorite movie by The King. I first watched it when my friend at my local video store lended it to me. I watched it, and I was mesmerized. After returning the video to my friend, I went searching every video store in town for a copy, and I finally found one at a store in Menlo Park Mall.
This tapes features Elvis live at his best. His energy is very evident on several performances, most notably Polk Salad Annie, in which Elvis shows off his karate moves, swirling, twirling, and jumping. His voice is in top tier during an emotional performance of Bridge Over Troubled Water. When he performs Love Me Tender, it is intercut with scenes of Elvis kissing several female audience members and romantic scenes from his movies. There is also a scorching performance of Burning Love (third verse missing), and Elvis does a rocking resurrection of Lawdy, Miss Clawdy that is my favorite performance on the tape. His vocal performances on Can't Help Falling In Love and An American Trilogy shine, and Elvis delivers a rocking A Big Hunk O' Love.
Elvis On Tour is a must-have film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS AT THE TOP OF HIS GAME, Oct. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis on Tour (VHS Tape)
ELVIS PRESLEY SHOWS HIS GREAT SHOWMANSHIP IN THIS CONCERT FILM FROM 1972. THE FILM FEATURES IBTERVIEWS AND LIVE PERFORMANCES OF
" SEE SEE RIDER ", " LOVE ME TENDER ", " A BIG HUNK O' LOVE ",
" BURNING LOVE ", " LAWDY, MISS CLAWDY ", " POLK SALAD ANNIE ",
" CAN'T HELP FALLING IN LOVE ", " YOU GAVE ME A MOUNTAIN ",
" PROUD MARY ", " BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER ", " AN AMERICAN TRILOGY " AND MORE. IT ALSO FEATURES CLIPS OF THE ELVIS OF THE '50S'. THIS TAPE SHOWS ELVIS IN REHEARSALS AND IN JAM SESSIONS AS WELL. IT'S AN EXCELLENT TAPE WITH MANY SPLIT - SCREEN IMAGES THAT WERE WAY AHEAD OF THEIR TIME IN 1972. THIAS IS ELVIS'S SHINING HOUR. BUY IT TODAY ! "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis on Tour
Elvis on Tour by Robert Abel (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews