Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a major first for the movies
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.
This film is well known and the first technicolor film about ballet. It is based loosely on the Hans Christian Andersen tale of the same name. In this version, a ballerina with great potential is forced to make a decision between her promising career and her lover. The film has a famous 15 minute...
Published on April 20 2004 by Ted

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May or may not be what your looking for
This is a DVD release of a movie that was originally filmed in 1948. "The Red Shoes" is about a ballet company owned by Boris Lermontov (Anton Walbrook) He discovers a unknown composer, Julian Craster (Marius Goring), and a new leading ballerina, Victoria Page (Moira Shearer), to play the lead in a new ballet called "The Red Shoes". This is basically the oft repeated...
Published on May 21 2003 by R. Nicholson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a major first for the movies, April 20 2004
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.
This film is well known and the first technicolor film about ballet. It is based loosely on the Hans Christian Andersen tale of the same name. In this version, a ballerina with great potential is forced to make a decision between her promising career and her lover. The film has a famous 15 minute ballet sequence that has been adored throughout the ages.
The DVD includes the following special features.
A slide show of martin scorsese's collection of lobby cards related to the film.
Theatrical trailer
Slide show of publicity and production photos
series of paintings with alternate angle shot that has side by side comparisons between the ballet sequence with the storyboard paintings.
a partial Powell & Pressburger filmography with photos and clips of some of their films. (some of which were subsequently released by Criterion Collection
full length audio commentary
audio of Jeremy Irons reading the Andersen tale and excerpts of film novelization by Powell & Pressburger.
The films of Powell & Pressburger have been imitated many times by modern filmmakers and this isno exception.
a must for ballet enthusiasts and Criterion fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Restoration!, July 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Short and sweet. The restoration work on this movie is simply astounding! It looks like it was made yesterday...only better...because of the beautiful 3 strip Technicolor hues that you never see any more. The picture is sharp as a tack. The sound is also good, although not to the same level as the picture, given the limitations of the day. I have never been as "crazy" about The Red Shoes as some people. However, after reading so many positive comments about this Blu-Ray I decided I had to finally purchase it and am very glad it did. If you want to see what Technicolor was in its glory, then this is the film for you. If you want to see what sort of restoration work is possible on a classic film, then this is the movie for you. Needless to say, if you are a fan or the film, do not hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion Rules, March 31 2001
By 
R Stevens (St Albans, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
The best mastering i've seen of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing movie and a great addition to a film buffs collection, Aug. 24 2010
This review is from: The Red Shoes (Criterion) (DVD)
I think this movie really is in a league of its own. The story, ballet scenes, music, acting are all great. I've read some reviews regarding the quality of the picture. Criterion did a wonderful job restoring the picture. The picture quality is amazing and there aren't any scratches or dust particles that show up on the screen.

There's a little sticker shock, but definately worth it. And it includes a whole bunch of extras. The film really is a gem in my eyes, and I recommend it to film buffs everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May or may not be what your looking for, May 21 2003
By 
R. Nicholson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is a DVD release of a movie that was originally filmed in 1948. "The Red Shoes" is about a ballet company owned by Boris Lermontov (Anton Walbrook) He discovers a unknown composer, Julian Craster (Marius Goring), and a new leading ballerina, Victoria Page (Moira Shearer), to play the lead in a new ballet called "The Red Shoes". This is basically the oft repeated story of joyous success and love followed by separation and tragedy.

Whether you like this movie or not will depend on what you are looking for. If you wanted a show of some historical significance that was considered a ground-breaking achievement at its time, then this may be a show that you will really enjoy. To a movie-buff/collector this would probably be looked upon as an archival gem.

If, you are looking for great acting then I'd advise you to spend your money elsewhere. The plot is not bad, but, really, the acting by today's standards is mediocre at best, although there is some good dancing in this show by Ms. Shearer.

All in all, an expensive DVD. Not what I was looking for. I hope these comments will be useful to you if you are considering purchasing this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect red, Oct. 16 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
The Russian ballet has come to town and due to circumstance; a student Julian Craster (Marius Goring) becomes a brilliant composer. An orphan Victoria Page (Moira Shearer) protected by a patron of the arts has an opportunity to become a great dancer. Neither the composer nor the dancer wants anything more. Together under the direction of the company owner Boris Lermontov (Anton Walbrook), they create the perfect ballet "The Red Shoes".

The story of the ballet is base on a story of Hans Christian Anderson. It is about a girl infatuated with a par of dancing shoes. She places them on her feet. Moreover, begins dancing. When she tires, the shoes insist on dancing g and do so through time until her demise. You will find that there is more depth to the story than just a real life reflection of Anderson's story.

The only requirement of the company owner is that everyone focuses on their career and not fall in love. When the ballerina and the composer do just that, it raises the ire of the company owner. He forms a scheme to what end?

This film is an Archer film and holds true to the quality and entertainment value. I suggest you watch the Criterion version. There is a 19194 voice over commentary, by film historian Ian Christie with interviews of Marius Goring, Moira shearer, Jack Cardiff, Brian Easdale, and Martin Scorsese.

There is also a voice over reading of the Powell and Pressburger novelization of "The Red Shoes".

The Criterion version did not clean up all the film scratches. If this hits Blu-ray, I hope they will leave in all the criterion extras but clean up the scratches.

A Perfect Red: Empire, Espionage, and the Quest for the Color of Desire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If it sounds too good to be true ..., Aug. 27 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
First of all, I enjoy a good movie of any vintage but generally prefer the movies of yesterday ie from the classic silents to
the noirs, westerns and epics of the 40s, 50s and early 60s.
Engaging storylines, characters you can invest in emotionally & compotent direction are, in my humble opinion, elements found less and less in recent years.
The Archers clearly need no introduction to even the most casual of film buffs. I own and enjoy several other Powell/
Pressburger titles eg BLACK NARCISSUS, COLONEL BLIMP, etc. Recently purchased RED SHOES from Amazon Marketplace (I won't identify the seller) thinking I was getting a great deal on the
Criterion edition but instead received a no-name, no-label
Asian import version. Terrible transfer of both sound and picture. Would not read on one of my DVD players, froze after
one hour on a second one ... I finally got through the whole movie on a cheap player and a 14" screen. Would expect to find a disk of this quality in the $4.99 bin at our local Walmart.
With regards the movie, as others have written, not one of the
Archers' stonger efforts but the Red Shoes ballet sequence is
truly breathtaking ... I'll probably shell out the big bucks &
purchase the Criterion for this sequence alone.
Hope this saves somebody $23.49
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't ignore human nature, July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
Amazon Reviewer "ploompy" notes, "...Look for Lermontov's great advice to Kraster when his intellectual & creative material is purloined by a professor. Lermontov says simply, "It is better to be stolen from than to have to steal..." I agree, this is an excellent piece of advice to remember in life.
Another line in the "Red Shoes" by the Lermontov character is worth noting. Lermontov is warned about "human nature" and how current events within his theatre group is breaking up the act. Lermontov responds to this by saying "I simply ignore it". As events unfold with the "Red Shoes" story Lermontov's ignoring of human nature comes back to haunt him in the end. One can never IGNORE human nature. It trumps eveything else.
Excellent movie on all levels. A true movie classic.
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to Turner Classic Movies....., July 3 2004
By 
D. J. Reep "DayLicious" (kansas city, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
I saw "The Red Shoes" tonight once more on TCM and my heart pounds each time I see it...The color, the acting, the art direction, the music. This is a film that has aged well like fine wine...... you just want more and more of it.
I am so glad to have finally ordered the DVD. I have had the VHS tape a few years but now I will soon have the DVD thanks to CDNOW for making it so easy to order...
Dave Reep
Kansas City
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powell And Pressburger's Greatest Film, June 1 2004
By 
Rudy Avila "Saint Seiya" (Lennox, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Shoes (Full Screen) (DVD)
Directors Powelland Pressburger collaborated in a number of films but The Red Shoes tops them all. This 1948 TechniColor movie has become a classic and lovers of the ballet fondly look to this film for inspiration. Stars ballerina turned actress Moira Shearer as Victoria Page the tragic heroine who wears the fatal shoes, Antal Walbrook as the demanding and imperious manager/impresario Boris Lentmontov. The film is drawn from the Hans Christian Anderson tale, in which a young girl is given red shoes by a shop keep only to dance herself to death. The film never even borders on magic realism nor is over the top but maintains a subtle psychological drama that turns grotesque into a climatic and grim finale.
Moira Shearer's performance is Oscar worthy. Vicky Page learns from Lentmontov all the right stuff to be a dedicated dance artist. But the ballet is second in her heart when she falls in love with a young composer/conductor. Distracted by love, Lentmontov worries that he has lost his greatest star. The crisis is even greater because apparently, cold though he is, Lentmontov falls for Vicky himself. Anton Walbrook delivers a great performance as Lentmontov. He would later take on the role of King Ludwig of Bavaria in the French Max Ophuls film "Lola Montes". There is an extended ballet sequence, the original ballet "The Red Shoes" which makes use of magic animation and colorful backdrops. This film is genius and art. A great film to be shown in ballet history class or dance classes. This is also a caution film. Perhaps it's unwise to seek artistic perfection. It's ultimately Victoria Page's own fault for her tragedy. The Red Shoes is a metaphor. She became a slave to her art and it destroyed her. Her indecision cost her greatly. Which is greater ? Perfection in her ballet career or true love ? Torn by her love of ballet and her love for Julian, she meets a dire fate. This movie is incredible. All the scenes, dialogue are artistic composition. The film was shot in European locations, including London and Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Shoes (Criterion)
The Red Shoes (Criterion) by Michael Powell (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 34.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews