Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still creepy after all these years.
I remember this coming out on TV when I was in the 4th grade. It was very scary to me then, but even though it's not so scary now that I'm older, it still holds up as a really good creepy movie. I also remember the next day at school every kid was talking about it. Good stuff.
It amazes me how great made for TV movies were back then. I recently found out that the...
Published on June 25 2004 by Anita

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Audio Quality
On the good side, the restoration of the picture quality is excellent throughout. For a movie originally produced in 1981 I was most impressed. On the negative side, the audio quality is likely the worst I have ever experienced. While I have supplementary speakers attached to my LCD TV, you have to really crank the volume to hear any of the dialogue whatsoever. Very...
Published 20 months ago by Geoff Carter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still creepy after all these years., June 25 2004
By 
Anita (California) - See all my reviews
I remember this coming out on TV when I was in the 4th grade. It was very scary to me then, but even though it's not so scary now that I'm older, it still holds up as a really good creepy movie. I also remember the next day at school every kid was talking about it. Good stuff.
It amazes me how great made for TV movies were back then. I recently found out that the classic thriller "Duel" was also made for television. Wow.
Dark Night of The Scarecrow is among my favorites in the classic horror genre. I also think this movie was even good enough to have been released in theaters. So, if you are a fan of creepiness, then this film should make you happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Dark Night of the Scarecrow (1981) ... Charles Durning ... VCI Ent. (2010)", Sept. 20 2010
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import] (DVD)
Joe Wizan and J.D. Feigelson presents "DARK NIGHT OF THE SCARECROW" (24 October 1981) (96 mins/Color) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) -- Don't leave this film out of your collection, as being made for television and it's not up to par for all of the thriller and suspense fans out there --- Just be prepared to disprove those rumors, as this well-acted little shocker inclusive top notch actors convey, especially Charles Durning, Tonya Crowe, as the little girl, Mary Lee does a superlative job with her acting, Jocelyn Brando (Marlon Brando's sister) and Larry Drake as the mentally challenged Bubba, are genuine with their performances --- You can feel the sense of dread and terror throughout within this idyllic rural setting --- Which in now transformed into a scene where fears are realized --- Not to mention the wind is always blowing leaves across a lonely road, the shadows seem especially deep, and as the title states, the night seems especially dark, just right for a "Scarecrow".

VCI gives us a clean & clear copy with many bonus and extras in this special release.

Under the production staff of:
Frank De Felitta [ Director]
J.D. Feigelson [Story/Screenwriter]
Butler Handcock [Story]
Bobbi Frank [Producer]
Janet Greek [Associate Producer]
Joe Wizan [Executive Producer]
Glenn Paxton [Original Score]
Vincent A. Martinelli [Cinematographer]
Skip Lusk [Film Editor]

BIOS:
1. Frank De Felitta [Director]
Date of Birth: 3 August 1921 - New York City, New York
Date of Death: Still Living

2. J.D. Feigelson
Date of Birth: 8 February 1941 - Beaumont, Texas
Date of Death: Still Living

3. Charles Durning
Date of Birth: 28 February 1923 - Highland Falls, New York
Date of Death: Still Living

4. Larry Drake
Date of Birth: 21 February 1950 - Tulsa, Oklahoma
Date of Death: Still Living

5. Robert F. Lyons
Date of Birth: 17 October 1939 - Albany, New York
Date of Death: Still Living

6. Lane Smith
Date of Birth: 29 April 1936 - Memphis, Tennessee
Date of Death: 13 June 2005 - Northridge, California

7. Tonya Crowe
Date of Birth: 24 January 1971 - Los Angeles, California
Date of Death: Still Living

8. Jocelyn Brando (older sister of Marlon Brando)
Date of Birth: 18 November 1919 - San Francisco, California
Date of Death: 27 November 2005, Santa Monica, California

the cast includes:
Charles Durning ... Otis P. Hazelrigg
Robert F. Lyons ... Skeeter Norris
Claude Earl Jones ... Philby
Lane Smith ... Harless Hocker
Tonya Crowe ... Marylee Williams
Larry Drake ... Bubba Ritter
Jocelyn Brando ... Mrs. Ritter
Tom Taylor ... D.A. Sam Willock
Richard McKenzie ... Judge Henry
Ivy Jones ... Mrs. Willams
James Tartan ... Mr. Williams (as Jim Tartan)
Ed Call ... Defense Attorney
John Steadman ... Mr. Loomis
Dave Adams ... Deputy
Ivy Bethune ... Mrs. Hocker
Dennis Robertson ... Ray
Jetta Scelza ... Mrs. Whimberly
Modi Frank ... Waitress
J.D. Feigelson ... Ludie - CB radio
Robert J. Koster ... The Scarecrow
Alice Nunn ... Mrs. Bunch

SPECIAL FEATURES [BONUS]:
1. Trailers of upcoming "VCI Spine Tinglers"
2. Director & Writer Commentary
3, CBS Network World Premiere Promo ~ October 24, 1981

In closing this is one of the best made for TV movies ever to come along --- Great performances by a perfectly selected cast make this a must watch for classic thriller fans --- The plot gets a boost in an interesting way, check out the interaction between Durning and Tonya Crowe and how it plays out --- Plus Charles Durning as a nasty scumbag and Larry Drake in the touching role of a sweet retarded man living in a prejudicial community --- Highly recommend "Dark Night of the Scarecrow" for all die-hard fans of thrillers and suspense genres.

Total Time: 96 min on DVD ~ VCI Entertainment #8200 ~ (09/28/2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle, Underrated Halloween Classic, Nov. 6 2010
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import] (DVD)
"Dark Night of the Scarecrow" is the perfect Halloween movie for those who are fed-up with the over-the-top, ridiculous gore in fare like "Friday the 13th" or "Scream".

This is a quiet little TV-movie from 1981 that has garnered somewhat of a cult following over the years from its annual reruns on cable stations like TBS.

Charles Durning and a trio of small-town vigilantes execute the town simpleton Bubba Ritter after a young local girl named Marylee is hurt. They immediately learn that the mentally-challenged Bubba actually SAVED her life after a vicious dog attack. Though the judge declares them all innocent, Bubba's mother warns "There's other justice in this world besides the law!".

A series of strange events makes each of the murderers gradually come unglued until Durning himself is convinced little Marylee is responsible for all the bizarre accidents that are offing his cronies.

Though I like my horror movies to be based somewhat in reality, the ghostly and supernatural overtones of this movie didn't put me off at all. It's a highly-entertaining ride all the way through that never lags or bores, despite the low-key ambiance of the whole thing.

The visuals here are very interesting; Durning leers behind a skeleton decal on the window; wind blowing eerily through a dry wheat field; trash cans rolling through the street on a gusty night; the bright oranges and rusts of the pumpkin patch. All of these evoke a wonderful autumn atmosphere that makes this a Halloween classic.

The director also uses several clever cuts like when one character falls to his death into a wood chipper cuts to a dollop of strawberry preserves being plunked onto a dessert plate--brilliant! And never before has a silo looked so menacing or the piercing whistle of a kettle been used to such great effect to amplify the tension.

The film is also surprisingly layered and subtle, as when we learn that Durning may have had another motive for killing Bubba--jealousy of his friendship with Marylee. Durning's stalking of the girl at the Halloween dance and Mrs. Ritter's insinuations of pedophilia visibly unnerve him and give the viewer more reason to despise him.

The movie has an almost fable-like quality to it, about the pitfalls of paranoia, reaping what you sow and has not dated at all.

There is also an ambiguity about Marylee's spiritual connection with Bubba and a creepy, ambiguous ending.

**TRIVIA NOTE** Tanya Crowe (Marylee) was the actress who played the young Kelly Garrett/Jaclyn Smith in the famous "Seance" episode of "Charlie's Angels" where the wicked orphanage matron Beamish locks young Kelly in the closet.

VCI Entertainment has done an exceptional job on this release. The print looks fabulous--as though it was filmed yesterday. Though most of their output so far has consisted of more Grindhouse-like horror movies, I commend them for doing such a great job in putting out the long overdue "Dark Night of the Scarecrow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Scarecrow Horror Movie...Great job by VCI, Jan. 20 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import] (DVD)
The other reviewers have said it all, VCI has done an outstanding job with the release of this classic horror movie. Terrific picture, sound and extras.

As for the movie itself, DARK NIGHT OF THE SCARECROW is a throwback to the days when chills, not gore, made a horror film. I believe this is the film that started the scarecrow-horror genre, but if it's not, it is certainly the best of them. As good as I remember, when seeing the premiere as a kid.

Great scares, solid acting and a creepy story combine for a film you won't want to watch alone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a well done 1981 horror film that does not rely on gore for scares, Oct. 30 2007
this movie is pretty hard to find,especially on DVD,and even on VHS.but
if you can ever catch it on TV,i think it's definitely worth a
watch.Dark Night of the Scarecrow may be over 25 years old,but for me,
it still stands the test of time as a horror film.The basic plot is
about a mentally challenged,harmless man who ends up accused of a crime
he didn't commit and becomes a victim of mob justice.all those who took
part in his killing realize their mistake,but make a pact to go to
their graves with their secret.and go to their graves they do,just
sooner they any of them expect.each meet their end through a series of
bizarre circumstances.this movie is low on gore but high on horror and
suspense. i think the music is brilliant,filling the movie with a sense
of dread and doom.The acting is well done by all,very understated,
keeping the focus on the events happening and less on the actors.this
movie is as suspenseful and even scary,as any movie made today,(though
i could be out to lunch with that opinion)and more than most
considering it does not rely on gore,but might just play with your
psyche.i know it played with mine. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The creepiest made-for-tv horror, April 22 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import] (DVD)
I think this film is the best of the television horror films. I remember being terrified by this movie, Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark, Bad Ronald and The Car when I would watch them in reruns. Now I can be creeped out all over again.

Dark Night Of The Scarecrow - 1981, 97 mins, full screen 1.33:1, either English Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround or original audio, subtitles: English & Spanish, extras: commentary track, CBS Network promo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, homey early 80s made for TV horror movie, Oct. 14 2013
By 
Lara "Lex" Kinast (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import] (DVD)
This made-for-TV movie has an after-school special feel to it but is worth watching if you like "retro" horror movies from the 70s and 80s with slightly stilted acted (I'm not being sarcastic, they have their charm). The story is about a mentally challenged man named Bubba (of course, how could a mentally challenged guy in the south be named anything other than Bubba?) in his late 30s or early 40s who befriends (in a totally platonic, innocent way) a local 10 year old girl named Marylee (also, of course. Marylee). The busybody town mailman finds their friendship inappropriate and, though it has been a while since I watched this, I believe the mailman himself might be a perv. Anyway, after Marylee is attacked by some dogs, the mailman and his brain dead cronies rush off and kill Bubba, because they are certain *he* hurt the girl and they apparently are a bit lacking in the grey matter department. Obviously, it comes to light that their redneck justice was misplaced and soon after, they begin to die in horrible, mysterious ways. Is Marylee the killer? Is Bubba back from the dead? Is Bubba's momma the badass? Watch and find out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Audio Quality, Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
On the good side, the restoration of the picture quality is excellent throughout. For a movie originally produced in 1981 I was most impressed. On the negative side, the audio quality is likely the worst I have ever experienced. While I have supplementary speakers attached to my LCD TV, you have to really crank the volume to hear any of the dialogue whatsoever. Very Disappointed. I'm going to contact the producers on this too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good......., Nov. 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very good movie there is not much blood but it just goes to show you how Karma is a real bitch Larry Drake is the guy who suffer at the hands of some very mean people that can't ask question before they act and with dire consequences and once you'er in it's all or nothing..Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import]
Dark Night of the Scarecrow [Import] by Frank De Felitta (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 16.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews