Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Bob Clark film
For "B" movie fans this is a must see. CSPwDT is Bob Clark's first real movie for fans of the "B" movie director.
The first half drags out a little but when the movie takes off it's lots of scares. The special effects are done by Alan Ormsby of which takes the helm as lead actor. The zombies are well done and believable, not bad for a movie that only had a budget...
Published on Aug. 1 2009 by Jason Macdowall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cheesy but worth watching!
You take away the absence of production values, amature acting, bad dialouge and you got a pretty decent horror pic. That withstanding, Children Shouldnt Play with Dead Things is an underated zombie flick considering it was made with almost no budget. Why? Alan Ormsby gives one of the most annoying performances in B-movie history! Its only fitting that the viewer is...
Published on April 15 2004 by J. E Magoon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Bob Clark film, Aug. 1 2009
By 
Jason Macdowall "Gordie James" (Bowmanville, Ont, Can) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For "B" movie fans this is a must see. CSPwDT is Bob Clark's first real movie for fans of the "B" movie director.
The first half drags out a little but when the movie takes off it's lots of scares. The special effects are done by Alan Ormsby of which takes the helm as lead actor. The zombies are well done and believable, not bad for a movie that only had a budget of fifty thousand dollars. This DVD also has extras which are good to check out especially being a fan of Bob Clark or Alan Ormsby.
For the first time viewer, this movie is best to watch at night with all the lights out since it all happens at night.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Low Budget Zombie Flick, May 25 2004
By 
Children Shouldn't Play With Dead Things is an oft-overlooked zombie classic from the early 1970's. Although it is a low budget effort and this sometimes shows with the effects and dialogue, it has plenty of creepy atmosphere to give anyone the chills. The plot involves a group of actors heading to an island (an island that contains a graveyard, of course) to raise the dead. At first, it seems as if nothing has happened until the dead really DO begin to rise to slaughter those who have intruded on their island. With some humor and quite a bit of atmospheric tension, this film is best enjoyed late at night in a darkened room preferably as a fog settles outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the most underrated zombie flick of all time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 21 2004
By 
A TRUE ZOMBIE BLUEPRINT!!!!!!this movie stands side by side with the GREAT ONES like romero's "NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD" & fulci's "ZOMBIE" its such a shame its not as recognized as the other 2 are!!!!????!!!!!THIS IS TRULY ONE OF MY VERY FAVORITE HORROR MOVIES!!!! YOU GET SOME DECENT ACTING/TRULY CREEPY WEIRD ATMOSPHERE & STORYLINE(very original)/SUPERB DIRECTING(bob clark is the mannnnn!!!)/WAY MORE SCARY THAN BLOODY(like romero's MASTERPIECE N.O.T.L.D.)/& THE ZOMBIES LOOK TRULY SCARY & REALISTIC FOR SUCH A LOW BUDGET!!!!!!/ the dvd comes out looking and sounding just fine for the budget & date!!! bottom line if your a true horror or zombie fan & you haven't caught this GEM of a TRUE horror flick then THIS ONES FOR YOU!!!!! SO TURN OUT THE LIGHTS,LOCK ALL THE DOORS,GET SOME POPCORN READY(somthing to keep reminding you that its just a movie),PLOP THE DVD IN,HOLD ON TIGHT & E!!!!N!!!!J!!!!O!!!!Y!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cheesy but worth watching!, April 15 2004
By 
J. E Magoon "suavejuave" (Phoenix) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You take away the absence of production values, amature acting, bad dialouge and you got a pretty decent horror pic. That withstanding, Children Shouldnt Play with Dead Things is an underated zombie flick considering it was made with almost no budget. Why? Alan Ormsby gives one of the most annoying performances in B-movie history! Its only fitting that the viewer is treated to his death by the zombie he digs up and mocks! The zombie effects are surprisingly effective, creating some scary looking zombies that work to give a genuine creepiness about the film. A film worth watching for the horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prefer cheese to splatter? Bite into this one!, Feb. 24 2004
By 
J. McCrackan (Evanston, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, the acting ranges from poor to hilariously bad (although Valerie Mamches has a good moment or two), and yes, the dialog suggests that the script was ghostwritten (so to speak) by a couple of kids in a clubhouse after reading lots and lots of mouldering EC comix--but beyond that, it's a fine li'l film. The makeup was credible, and the sound effects were quite creative: I've never heard loons used to such disturbing effect.
But what makes this movie shine is the direction. The idiot kids time and again tempt fate, and the camera zooms in on what your experience with B-movies tells you will be the subject of explosive action...and nothing happens. Over and over, you're teased to the brink of jumping out of your seat and screaming, 'Enough! Just kill 'em already!' Imagine if a couple of teens were having sex in the woods in a 'Friday the 13th' movie, with the 'cha-cha-cha' soundtrack blaring and a hand-held camera's POV--then the sated kids got dressed and walked merrily away, hand-in-hand. Brilliant pacing redeems 'CSPWDT', condensing all the action into the final moments of the film.
The fact that nearly everyone who's seen this movie saw it on TV yet were still scared is solid evidence that this movie is a must-see for mature (i.e. patient and forgiving) fans of low-budget macabre. It's not Shakespeare--the title gives that away--but it's a terrific early effort by a talented director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go! Zombies Go!, Dec 6 2003
I found myself cheering on the dead to hurry up and eat the infuriatingly annoying living, in this darkly humorous classic. Alan (Alan Ormsby) carries on like a steam-driven peacock in his attempts to terrify his acting students. This man pontificates and blithers his way through most of the movie! There has never been more wind caught on film! Alan must be endured to be believed. Taking them to a long-forgotten island cemetery, he sets up a fake ritual and even digs up a dead guy! Unfortunately for him (fortunately for the rest of us) his "black magic" baloney actually works! Soon, the place is crawling with moldering zombies hungry for hams. Will they finally, blessedly shut Alan up for good? Watch and find out. Not very gory, but a great scare for those who enjoy zombies and their choice in snacks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but Creepy, Nov. 28 2003
By 
Edward D. Terhune "Ed T." (Basking Ridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yeah, it's a cheap, cheesy rip-off of "Night of the Living Dead." Yes, the acting is only marginally better than its illustrious and more famous predecessor, and the dialogue truly has to be heard to be believed. That having been said, this is still a low-budget classic of the genre. I remember that me and my friends loved this when we were teenagers and it was being shown on late-night TV; it still holds up fairly well, although the overblown dialogue does wear thin after awhile. Alan Ormsby is effective as an effete Charles Manson wanna-be and his wife Anya, while she at times overacts shamelessly, still manages to convey a sad, ethereal quality to her character. The others bring off their roles with varying degrees of competence. Still, you're not watching this because of its flamboyant characters or the complexity of its storyline. You're watching it because of the flesh-eating zombies. How do they hold up, 30 or so years later? Very well, considering the budgetary limitations and the passage of the years. In fact, I'll still put the scene where the Undead finally emerge from their graves, summoned either by Alan's pompous Satanic ritual or Valerie's irreverent mockery of the same, up against anything out there. I defy anyone to watch this scene alone late at night and not feel that shivery chill of fear that you probably haven't experienced since you were a child watching "Chiller Theatre." There are elements that certainly haven't aged well. The whole concept of a necrophiliac-style wedding is just plain sick, not scary, and if you've ever wondered how much progress gay people have made over the years, check out some of the flagrant stereotypes presented here circa 1972. However, this isn't Bergman, or Fellini, and it isn't supposed to be. It is what it is- a cheap, cheesy rip-off of "Night of the Living Dead" that's still a lot of creepy fun all these years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNBEATABLE, Nov. 15 2003
By 
D. Simpson "frankenstein" (New York, ny United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First I want to start by asking anyone who reads reviews that can range from 5 stars to 1 star, that you please read the other reviews those people have made and you will have an idea of true horror film enthusists. Now, "Children" is moody, scary, atmospheric, and scores a must have "OWN IT" rating. Watch it alone, late at night and I promise you will never forget it. The sound of the Loons (birds) is so damn eerie. Perhaps the greatest zombie film aside from Night of the Living Dead, and not to offend my peers...Children is my all time favorite, and always will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a hypnotist could help me forget a painful 87 min., Aug. 31 2003
With the reputation of the talent behind the camera, I thought I would give this cheapie a look. Bob Clark (Deathdream, Black Christmas) delivers what has to be the worst horror film in the history of cinema. That's okay though. Most directors have a film they are ashamed of. Clark specializes in perfect pacing but that quality is not present here. It also doesn't help that Alan Ormsby is like fingernails on the chalkboard, with his overwrought, dare I say "performance." This is worth seeing, if only to learn about casting no-no's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I had this on my wish list!, Aug. 25 2003
By A Customer
I love zombie movies but this is a bad excuse for a zombie flick. It's more like a zombie commercial. I can usually sit through anything but this was killing me. It's not scary at all, it's not gory and it's very boring. If you watch this flick, save yourself some time and only watch the last 15 min. It's the only good part. Not worth buying. I wouldn't even check it out for free at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1b16eb4)

This product

Children Shouldn't Play With Dead Things (35th Anniversary Exhumed Edition) [Import]
CDN$ 16.78 CDN$ 16.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews