Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Top 5 Movies Of 2010
What a gem of a movie. I was very skeptical in regards to this movie, because I am a huge fan of the source material; that being the 6 book graphic novel series. But Edgar Wright did justice to all the fans of the series and made something really special, not for just the fans; but everyone who grew up in the last 20 years.

The story is about a 22 year old man...
Published on Dec 1 2010 by James D White

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but..
This movie is full of fun and original humor for the 80s-90s kids. However, there's a big caveat: get it on bluray for only a little bit more and not only do you get the bluray, but the DVD, the digital copy, and an additional choice of another digital copy movie included! What a deal!
Published on Nov. 25 2010 by D. Gillies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Top 5 Movies Of 2010, Dec 1 2010
By 
James D White (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
What a gem of a movie. I was very skeptical in regards to this movie, because I am a huge fan of the source material; that being the 6 book graphic novel series. But Edgar Wright did justice to all the fans of the series and made something really special, not for just the fans; but everyone who grew up in the last 20 years.

The story is about a 22 year old man named Scott Pilgrim. He has no job, plays in a band that's trying to get somewhere and just started dating a high school-er named Knives Chow. After he dreams about a girl than sees her at the library some days later he needs to know who this dream girl is. After running into her at a party he finds out she just moved her from America and works for Amazon.ca, she's Ramona Flowers. When he finally starts to date he finds out she has 7 evil ex's and he must beat them all to win her as his girl friend.

Edgar Wright did what many have tried and failed at. He made a comic movie that is within a comic world. When someone gets punched hard you see a BLAM and when the phone rings it make the noise and the words BRING, BRING, BRING come up. And it all works, and works well. It's fun and takes some of the major highlights of the series and makes it into one fun movie.

Michael Cera is great as Scott. Everyone else does their job and they do it well the casting is just amazing every single person works as who they are. Except for Kim the drummer for Sex Bo-omb, she does not look right and they don't show ***SPOILER*** how Scott dated her and their history that was a very important part of their relationship and why she is the way she is. And that there is another huge fight sequence that goes along with that. They did change the story but that is to be expected, but I did not expect to enjoy it so much it worked really well. And man was it funny, everyone in the theatre was laughing.

But what really made the movie was the music. If you read the comic you know it's heavily musically influenced and this movie is as well. With parts playing Zelda sound effects to full Zelda music to the songs done by Beck for Sex Bo-omb or the other bands it works so well and is extremely enjoyable and really adds to the colour and feel of the world of Scott Pilgrim.

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World gives mad prop's to everyone who loves entertainment, its funny and action packed and has huge influences from video games, movies and music. And I have to say this is now in the top 5 of movies this summer. Don't think about seeing this movie go see it you will have a fun time watching Scott fight for Ramona's heart; Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim Verses The Commentaries, Dec 20 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (DVD)
As I said in my review with regards to the Scott Pilgrim comics series, I actually watched this film in theatres first before reading the books. I wasn't sure that I'd even try to review this here, but Amazon asked me to review my recent purchase and I decided that there are some things I want to say about this film.

So first I would like to talk about the movie itself and then its DVD features. I really liked the film. The music that it begins with is excellent and it really hits a chord in many old-time console gamers out there. It also sets the tone of just what kind of film Scott Pilgrim will be and -- on a tangent and in retrospect -- it also makes you realize just what kind of video game character Scott Pilgrim's physical design is reminiscent of in the comics.

I really like the comic book caption and scene structure in the film as well as its video game elements: particularly in its combat system or in how Scott fights the evil exes of Ramona Flowers. I will say that the characters of Kim Pine and Ramona Flowers really seem a little flat. They convey their mood and their personality well on a very elementary level, but there is only so much that they say or do in the film to round them out as three-dimensional characters. To me anyway, Ramona does not seem like a very sympathetic character in the film. In fact, one of the few times she does seem so is in one of the last Deleted Scenes on the DVD.

But as I have said before, this film really is "an epic of epic epicness." It lives up to its hype with its arcade, comics and popular culture influences. I really enjoyed seeing it. Then we come to the DVD element of this product. I really enjoyed the Deleted Scenes: particularly the alternate ending. The irony is, I actually liked the alternate ending a lot more than the real one. There were just elements in the film itself that practically led to this other ending and I definitely think people who love this film and the Scott Pilgrim world will definitely want to check this out. There is a lot of supplemental material in the DVD as well with regards to sketches and potential foes that were never used in the movie: though they did get used in the comics and the video game versions of Scott Pilgrim.

I was disappointed by the commentaries. Don't misunderstand, they were some very interesting tidbits in there and it was interesting to hear Wright and Bryan Lee O'Malley as well as some of the actors talk about their work and insights in the film, but I think it would have been more effective if they had a separate Interview section or Commentary instead of having to watch the film over and over again to hear it. Like I said, there were some interesting insights there but I was really interested in hearing more from O'Malley with regards to his work and from the actors and their insights into the characters themselves.

Yet I really found it interesting that as Wright and the actors were working on this film, Bryan Lee O'Malley was still in the process of finishing the Scott Pilgrim comics series. There was definitely some cross-pollinating media work happening during the creation of the film and the comics and that particular observation really put some things in perspective for me.

So overall, I really loved this film and I think the DVD is definitely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-See for Anyone Under 40, Dec 17 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (DVD)
Edgar Wright's take on Bryan Lee O'Malley's series of slacker-indie-gamer comics came a true delight to fans of the source material.

Although the movie moves at a breakneck pace through the set-up and confrontation with each of seven evil-exes, it was necessary to cram all six books worth of story into a single film. As viewers we lose a lot of the witty dialogue and quieter moments between characters, but this is more than balanced by the insanely kickass action sequences and visual eye-candy on display. Wright's ability to seamlessly integrate comic book imagery and conventions onto the big screen is nothing short of incredible.

I would have preferred the narrative to be split into a two-parter to allow more room to explore (I mean, the Twins were pretty much glossed over completely!), but I can understand why that wasn't possible. Above all, as a Torontonian I was ecstatic to see my city portrayed as itself instead of disguised as an American city like usual. This movie makes Toronto look COOL, and makes me excited to live here.

I must admit that although I had reservations about Michael Cera being tapped for the dim-witted but loveable hero, his Scott shines with just the right mix of vulnerability and toughness. Cera manages to portray something other than the same version of himself that shows up in all his other movies. The rest of the cast turns in some great performances as well. Mary Elizabeth Winstead is a ringer for the mysterious Ramona, Ellen Wong captures Knives' teen exhuberance, and the evil exes turn in some delicious performances as well, particularly Chris Evans and Brandon Routh as Lucas and Todd.

All in all, if you are a child of the 80's or later, if you grew up with videogames and indie bands, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is a movie made specifically for YOU. Buy it, watch it, re-watch it, share it with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Blu-Ray of Epic Epicness, Nov. 11 2010
There is nothing more moving, and more real, than the fake world of Scott Pilgrim. You follow the ups and downs of this boy turning into a man. You follow the trial of carnage he leaves in his wake. You follow them both through the star door into subspace. Then you end up at the store, buying the Blu-ray. This particular bundle is packed with goodies. All the blogs are here as well as "Music Videos" for the 4 major songs in the movie as well as different commentaries and special pre-production features. Well worth the money and I am surprised they were able to get this much content bundled together so quickly after the movie was released. This is well worth even the full price tag of $45 once it clears the initial sales boost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrim Rules!, Dec 8 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (DVD)
I don't usually write reviews but I feel compelled to rave about this movie; Scott Pilgrim is a seriously amazing and innovative movie. The influences of the directing style, from video game to classic comic strip, are spectacular and it's essentially filmed for today's ADHD mentality. The Canadian references in the film are such a joy to recognize and the cast is really superb. It's a quirky, funny and just plain clever movie that I would highly recommend to any film watcher who is looking for a movie made with a contemporary stroke of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable zeitgeist of pop-culture, Nov. 12 2010
By 
Steve Johnston "Bus Stop Boxer" (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a veritable zeitgeist of pop-cultures mashing up against each other to deliver a romance unlike anything we'll likely see for the next decade.

A great comic book is made up of a delicate blend of artwork and storyline that leaps off the page. With comic books adapted for the screen already having made said leap, they must do more than simply use the source material as a storyboard - a vibe must be captured, some kind of sync between the creator and the director must be demonstrated, an evocation of nostalgia for the reader of the comic must be stirred and ideally, those not familiar with the material will be swept away onto the bandwagon. Edgar Wright manages to hit all of the above-mentioned notes to create a Torontonian experience unlike any other, blending elements of comic books, video games, indie music, and most importantly, movies.

Chances are, you've met a guy kind of like Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera); a likeable slacker who is lucky and clumsy with the ladies, and plays bass in a mediocre indie band. Scott is taking some time off from serious relationships by spending his time with a high school girl 6 years his junior when he meets the girl of his dreams, literally. Ramona Flowers (the completely unrecognizable Mary Elizabeth Winstead), a roller blading courier for Amazon.ca, recently transplanted from the United States, has been taking a subspace shortcut through Scott's subconscious. When he finally meets her face to face, he is instantly smitten, and Ramona soon warms to his less awkward than usual Michael Cera-esque charms. There's only one problem, Ramona's got some skeletons in her closet. Skeletons covered in muscles, flesh and clothing with crouching tiger kung fu skills in the form of Ramona's ex-boyfriends (and girlfriend, rrrrraow!). Turns out that if Scott wants to be with Ramona, he'll have to defeat the League of Evil Exes...and maybe even clean up some of his own messes while he's at it. Fortunately, Scott is the number one rated fighter in all of Ontario, so he can handle them. (It might not say so in the movie, but trust me, it's in the books.) (Besides, the fights are just allegorical for the personal issues Scott and Ramona have to lay to rest before they can get together, so why does it matter whether this 98 pound weakling can nail a 64 hit mid-air combo?)

The first thing you'll notice about this movie is the pre-credit Universal logo, rendered in glorious 8-bit like a Donkey King table top at your favourite seedy tavern. And with that, the tone is set for the next two hours. Just about everything hat unfolds on screen, from the bathroom breaks to the high scores in the aftermath of each skirmish is coloured with the same playful Nintendo brush. Edgar Wright, the mad scientist behind such genre benders/blenders as Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead has proven himself to be positively soaked in the language of cinema. And I don't mean the techniques of Orson Welles or Jean-Luc Godard, I mean every pop-culture gem of the last 20 or even 30 years. He understands exactly how we glean information off the silver screen and he's devised his own cinematic shorthand to deliver that information faster and funnier than anyone else. It's the kind of style that comes in handy adapting a book that tends to express itself in images in feelings more than thoughts and words.

What is at the heart of its triumph, besides its innate sense of fun, is the tension/conflict/torsion between Toronto's reality in which it is so cozily nested with locations like Lee's Palace, Casa Loma and Pizza Pizza, and the fighting flights of fancy as Scott engages in fisticuffs that are one half Street Fighter 2 and one half Dance Dance Revolution. The mundane and the magical collide with each other to a deftly handled soundtrack as only a music lover like Wright could deliver.

With all of this bombast going on, it's easy to forget that this really is a love story. And that is perhaps where I find this movie's only shortcoming. Even if it's Wright's scrambled take on the "boy meets girl" story, there needed to be a tender heart to this take, and that is what Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is lacking. Everything is just too neon & plastic - and perhaps that's the point. Perhaps Wright was trying to make a statement of the transitory nature of young modern love... or perhaps Wright's directed a little too much bromance and not enough romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, Dec 13 2010
By 
C. Deloughery "movieman" (Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (DVD)
This was a movie i'd heard about, and decided to get it when my buddy told me how awesome it was. He was right. Cool story with enough romance, comedy and action to suit just about anyone and great characters you feel like you could hang out with yourself. All round great flick. Can't believe it didn't do better in theatres when it came out, but here's hoping for a sequel sometime in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Dec 6 2010
It's awesome. And it stars Toronto AS Toronto, not as some other city. For the video game / comic book / action movie nerd inside everyone, this movie delivers on all fronts. If you don't know what 1Up means, this might not be for you...but it's still worth a shot since it's non-stop fun from start to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reminds us of a more simple time., Nov. 12 2010
Come on everyone doesent this movie bring you back? make you remember playing all those 8/16 bit video games as kid and day dreaming about if they were real? Well that is this movie, Its about a slacker dude named Scott Pilgrim who just wants an easy life and to just do nothing. Untill he meets Ramona flowers and decides that she is the one for him even if at first she reacts as anyone would, weirded out. Though scott grows on her. Soon slacker 22 year old Scott finds him self having to fight all her past Ex's to the death for the chance to date her.

This movie has it all for nerds and geeks alike. This movie is extreamly well put togeather and is top notch in quality. If you just want a movie to remind you of how life used to be. or even a move that reminds you of haniging out with close friends. then please pick up this movie. You will not regret it not for a second. It is the best movie i have seen all year, maybe even of all time.

10/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews