Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars32
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$22.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2011
This movie seems to be aimed squarely at me. I'm a 30-something gamer, and this movie pulls obscure references from all over the gaming spectrum. The indie band influences, and hipster joking just add to the meat of the movie.

It's a great adaptation of the quirky 6-book comic set. As with any book to movie adaption, there were some things left out that I missed, but they only have so much time. The comic couldn't have the amazing soundtrack, or crazy visuals that the movie has.

The extras are great, and extensive, from the usual kinds of 'making of', commentaries, bloopers, deleted scenes and such, as well as a short cartoon chronicling one of Scott's highschool flashbacks that didn't make it into the movie. The extras FILL the blueray's free space. Which is a TON.

Having read the comic, I find the casting pretty darn good, except for the two main characters. I have nothing AGAINST either actor... they just don't look like the comics made me think of them. They did a good enough job though. The many musical performance segments in the story are pulled off amazingly.

To mangle a quote from the director, "In a musical, when feelings become too strong, people break into song. In this movie, when feelings get too strong, they break into fights." And fight they do. No bloody brutal fights, crazy impossible funny fights rarely seen in cartoons, let alone in live action.

If you like the movie, do yourself a favor and consider getting the soundtrack, or the books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2010
What a gem of a movie. I was very skeptical in regards to this movie, because I am a huge fan of the source material; that being the 6 book graphic novel series. But Edgar Wright did justice to all the fans of the series and made something really special, not for just the fans; but everyone who grew up in the last 20 years.

The story is about a 22 year old man named Scott Pilgrim. He has no job, plays in a band that's trying to get somewhere and just started dating a high school-er named Knives Chow. After he dreams about a girl than sees her at the library some days later he needs to know who this dream girl is. After running into her at a party he finds out she just moved her from America and works for, she's Ramona Flowers. When he finally starts to date he finds out she has 7 evil ex's and he must beat them all to win her as his girl friend.

Edgar Wright did what many have tried and failed at. He made a comic movie that is within a comic world. When someone gets punched hard you see a BLAM and when the phone rings it make the noise and the words BRING, BRING, BRING come up. And it all works, and works well. It's fun and takes some of the major highlights of the series and makes it into one fun movie.

Michael Cera is great as Scott. Everyone else does their job and they do it well the casting is just amazing every single person works as who they are. Except for Kim the drummer for Sex Bo-omb, she does not look right and they don't show ***SPOILER*** how Scott dated her and their history that was a very important part of their relationship and why she is the way she is. And that there is another huge fight sequence that goes along with that. They did change the story but that is to be expected, but I did not expect to enjoy it so much it worked really well. And man was it funny, everyone in the theatre was laughing.

But what really made the movie was the music. If you read the comic you know it's heavily musically influenced and this movie is as well. With parts playing Zelda sound effects to full Zelda music to the songs done by Beck for Sex Bo-omb or the other bands it works so well and is extremely enjoyable and really adds to the colour and feel of the world of Scott Pilgrim.

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World gives mad prop's to everyone who loves entertainment, its funny and action packed and has huge influences from video games, movies and music. And I have to say this is now in the top 5 of movies this summer. Don't think about seeing this movie go see it you will have a fun time watching Scott fight for Ramona's heart; Highly Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2011
At the end of 2010, I read a reviewer's top 10 list for the year. His number 1 was Scott Pilgrim. His point was that no movie in 2010 gave him more enjoyment to watch. That's how I felt about this movie. My two sons ages 18 & 21 both loved the film, the younger one almost as much as me. I loved that there was no hiding Toronto in winter and some of its landmarks, but that was only worth a few points. I loved the humour -- the mere fact that there were characters called "Lady Dudes"; the recurring joke about the bad haircut, are just two examples. The story, the music, the images, the acting performances, the action, the colours and sounds were all part of the enjoyment. (The Blu-ray with the 7.1 sound helped too.) It was a movie that I was happy to watch 3 or 4 times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The movie has no real parallels. It is Napoleon Dynamite quirky, and slightly reminiscent of 60's acid films (which may be the best way to watch this movie.) Scott Pilgrim is in a band with Stephen Stills and a guy name Young Neil waiting in the wings. He is currently dating a 17 year old Chinese school girl who wears Catholic school uniforms. Her name is Knives. They play video games together. Scott has a dream about a girl, then meets her in real life. They start to date and now he finds out if they are to continue dating he must fight (literally) her 7 ex-boyfriends. These fights take on the characteristics of video game battles complete with Batman like "Zonk" words, special effects, and magical weapons. The humor is at times laugh out loud funny. The dialogue is extremely clever and witty. Scott also lives with (shares a bed with) a gay roommate (Wallace), although Scott is not gay. Wallace has the ability to immediately text message Scott's sister whenever something happens in Scott's life. He can even do it passed out drunk. If you liked this film you might also enjoy "Kick-Ass" which also boasts quirky humor and special fight effects.

No nudity. No foul language. Adult situations. WARNING: This film is not for everyone. You will either love it or turn it off after 20 minutes. Instant cult classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 13, 2014
People often read novels or comics before embarking onto their cinematic adaptations. And how often have I heard about "this part was missing" or "they screwed the whole character", etc.

The trick, my friends, is simple: should you wish to enjoy both, you would be better to watch the film first. THEN read the source material. Sure, sometimes people delve into it before it even becomes a film, but then it kinda defeats the purpose of my post :/ where to begin, then...

Just take your time. As much as possible, try and do it at least once: watch the movie and read its novel or graphic novel afterwards.

This is an example I'm happy to have done this because there are quite a load of changes and deletion that had to be done to condense 6 massive Scott Pilgrim volumes in one 2-hour long movie.

Does it hurt the result? Well, not really. From my experience, it takes a very gifted director and an even wittier writer to avoid such trappings, and luckily, Edgar Wright has everything in Aces here. Comedic timing, surrealistic moments, the gold was already there when Bryan Lee O'Maley crafted his ingenious graphic novel, but Edgar, with such limited screen time, managed to make the trip worthwhile. Fast paced, fun, funny, never dull, filled with colorful characters, quirky and witty dialogues galore... the list goes on. It is easily one of the best most satisfying experiences I had in a long time and I hesitate not one minute to recommend it to anyone and everyone who's curious about watching this.

Then, read the source material ^_^

As far as special features go, there's plenty to end your appetite. Hours upon hours of bonus truly give you the experience of filming it, writing it, meeting with the comic's creator, deleted scenes, outtakes, interviews, featurettes about the music, etc... Edgar Wright's movies never disappointed me in terms of features... and this is no exception.

Scott Pilgrim is just about one of Wright's absolute BEST (toe-to-toe with Hot Fuzz so far). Please watch it :D
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2010
Edgar Wright's take on Bryan Lee O'Malley's series of slacker-indie-gamer comics came a true delight to fans of the source material.

Although the movie moves at a breakneck pace through the set-up and confrontation with each of seven evil-exes, it was necessary to cram all six books worth of story into a single film. As viewers we lose a lot of the witty dialogue and quieter moments between characters, but this is more than balanced by the insanely kickass action sequences and visual eye-candy on display. Wright's ability to seamlessly integrate comic book imagery and conventions onto the big screen is nothing short of incredible.

I would have preferred the narrative to be split into a two-parter to allow more room to explore (I mean, the Twins were pretty much glossed over completely!), but I can understand why that wasn't possible. Above all, as a Torontonian I was ecstatic to see my city portrayed as itself instead of disguised as an American city like usual. This movie makes Toronto look COOL, and makes me excited to live here.

I must admit that although I had reservations about Michael Cera being tapped for the dim-witted but loveable hero, his Scott shines with just the right mix of vulnerability and toughness. Cera manages to portray something other than the same version of himself that shows up in all his other movies. The rest of the cast turns in some great performances as well. Mary Elizabeth Winstead is a ringer for the mysterious Ramona, Ellen Wong captures Knives' teen exhuberance, and the evil exes turn in some delicious performances as well, particularly Chris Evans and Brandon Routh as Lucas and Todd.

All in all, if you are a child of the 80's or later, if you grew up with videogames and indie bands, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is a movie made specifically for YOU. Buy it, watch it, re-watch it, share it with friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2010
There is nothing more moving, and more real, than the fake world of Scott Pilgrim. You follow the ups and downs of this boy turning into a man. You follow the trial of carnage he leaves in his wake. You follow them both through the star door into subspace. Then you end up at the store, buying the Blu-ray. This particular bundle is packed with goodies. All the blogs are here as well as "Music Videos" for the 4 major songs in the movie as well as different commentaries and special pre-production features. Well worth the money and I am surprised they were able to get this much content bundled together so quickly after the movie was released. This is well worth even the full price tag of $45 once it clears the initial sales boost.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
I don't usually write reviews but I feel compelled to rave about this movie; Scott Pilgrim is a seriously amazing and innovative movie. The influences of the directing style, from video game to classic comic strip, are spectacular and it's essentially filmed for today's ADHD mentality. The Canadian references in the film are such a joy to recognize and the cast is really superb. It's a quirky, funny and just plain clever movie that I would highly recommend to any film watcher who is looking for a movie made with a contemporary stroke of genius.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
If you're from Toronto this is a must buy. Michael Cera plays an amazingly lame super hero.
Movies good, extra features are good, comes with concept art, deleted scenes worth watching
and steller movie stills. This movie will give you nerd chills, it will make you laugh, cry, scream well not scream
but you defeninetly will be in awe at what a good performance and quality CGI movie can bring. This movie has sound effects that will tantalize you. Look how much I'm writing about how good this movie is! MORE WORDS!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 12, 2010
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a veritable zeitgeist of pop-cultures mashing up against each other to deliver a romance unlike anything we'll likely see for the next decade.

A great comic book is made up of a delicate blend of artwork and storyline that leaps off the page. With comic books adapted for the screen already having made said leap, they must do more than simply use the source material as a storyboard - a vibe must be captured, some kind of sync between the creator and the director must be demonstrated, an evocation of nostalgia for the reader of the comic must be stirred and ideally, those not familiar with the material will be swept away onto the bandwagon. Edgar Wright manages to hit all of the above-mentioned notes to create a Torontonian experience unlike any other, blending elements of comic books, video games, indie music, and most importantly, movies.

Chances are, you've met a guy kind of like Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera); a likeable slacker who is lucky and clumsy with the ladies, and plays bass in a mediocre indie band. Scott is taking some time off from serious relationships by spending his time with a high school girl 6 years his junior when he meets the girl of his dreams, literally. Ramona Flowers (the completely unrecognizable Mary Elizabeth Winstead), a roller blading courier for, recently transplanted from the United States, has been taking a subspace shortcut through Scott's subconscious. When he finally meets her face to face, he is instantly smitten, and Ramona soon warms to his less awkward than usual Michael Cera-esque charms. There's only one problem, Ramona's got some skeletons in her closet. Skeletons covered in muscles, flesh and clothing with crouching tiger kung fu skills in the form of Ramona's ex-boyfriends (and girlfriend, rrrrraow!). Turns out that if Scott wants to be with Ramona, he'll have to defeat the League of Evil Exes...and maybe even clean up some of his own messes while he's at it. Fortunately, Scott is the number one rated fighter in all of Ontario, so he can handle them. (It might not say so in the movie, but trust me, it's in the books.) (Besides, the fights are just allegorical for the personal issues Scott and Ramona have to lay to rest before they can get together, so why does it matter whether this 98 pound weakling can nail a 64 hit mid-air combo?)

The first thing you'll notice about this movie is the pre-credit Universal logo, rendered in glorious 8-bit like a Donkey King table top at your favourite seedy tavern. And with that, the tone is set for the next two hours. Just about everything hat unfolds on screen, from the bathroom breaks to the high scores in the aftermath of each skirmish is coloured with the same playful Nintendo brush. Edgar Wright, the mad scientist behind such genre benders/blenders as Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead has proven himself to be positively soaked in the language of cinema. And I don't mean the techniques of Orson Welles or Jean-Luc Godard, I mean every pop-culture gem of the last 20 or even 30 years. He understands exactly how we glean information off the silver screen and he's devised his own cinematic shorthand to deliver that information faster and funnier than anyone else. It's the kind of style that comes in handy adapting a book that tends to express itself in images in feelings more than thoughts and words.

What is at the heart of its triumph, besides its innate sense of fun, is the tension/conflict/torsion between Toronto's reality in which it is so cozily nested with locations like Lee's Palace, Casa Loma and Pizza Pizza, and the fighting flights of fancy as Scott engages in fisticuffs that are one half Street Fighter 2 and one half Dance Dance Revolution. The mundane and the magical collide with each other to a deftly handled soundtrack as only a music lover like Wright could deliver.

With all of this bombast going on, it's easy to forget that this really is a love story. And that is perhaps where I find this movie's only shortcoming. Even if it's Wright's scrambled take on the "boy meets girl" story, there needed to be a tender heart to this take, and that is what Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is lacking. Everything is just too neon & plastic - and perhaps that's the point. Perhaps Wright was trying to make a statement of the transitory nature of young modern love... or perhaps Wright's directed a little too much bromance and not enough romance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse