Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Will Sleep Good Tonight...
I tell you I'm so blessed because,this movie is been out for so long and
never have i took the chance to see it,and oh my goodness what a stupid A**
i was to not have seen it, Christopher Nolan i just love you man,you just take
a simple concept of who dunnit and almost put it into a time capsule that would
make anyone eyes bulge with lack of sleep,now...
Published 13 months ago by trek fan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lesser Nolan
I love Christopher Nolan and the filmmaking is first-rate even in this more formulaic type of movie. Basically, it's a thriller but the setting in Alaska in the always daylight summertime there makes the movie what it is.

Now I'm not a big fan at all of Hilary Swank (sorry, those gigantic teeth and her being Steve Sanders' annoying girlfriend at one point on...
Published on Oct. 19 2010 by Brian Maitland


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Will Sleep Good Tonight..., June 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I tell you I'm so blessed because,this movie is been out for so long and
never have i took the chance to see it,and oh my goodness what a stupid A**
i was to not have seen it, Christopher Nolan i just love you man,you just take
a simple concept of who dunnit and almost put it into a time capsule that would
make anyone eyes bulge with lack of sleep,now if for some reason you say you
don't like this movie,well you're a complete A** like me for not watching in the first place
I sound like Blake Shelton on the Voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filmmaking 101, May 10 2013
This review is from: Insomnia [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am a huge Chris Nolan fan because of his cerebral story-telling. Possibly my favorite director (along with Danny Boyle).
The blu-ray version of insomnia is a must have for any potential film makers out there who want to listen and learn from the best.
There is a Chris Nolan commentary track that you HAVE to check out. The track reorders the film into the actual shooting schedule so you get a real feel of what it is to shoot a Hollywood film. Chris Nolan gives an incredible amount of detail about the choices he made, why he likes to get the camera close to the actors (in particular, one phone scene with Al Pacino) and his relationship with Wally Phister (DOP), Nathan Crawley (Production Designer) and his editor (whose name eludes me, sorry) who understand the "Chris Nolan vision" and compliment it in every way.
I am a new filmaker myself and what I learned from watching the film itself and all the informative extras cannot be rivaled.
Anytime a Chris Nolan film is available with a directors commentary, I extremely recommend it (the following, memento)... Of course, that's if you're into "how the sausage is made," as opposed to just eating it blindly;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** WORTH STAYING AWAKE FOR ****, March 10 2003
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insomnia (Widescreen) (DVD)
Insomnia is of course a remake of a Norwegian film starring Stellan Skarsgard, directed by Erik Skjoldbjaerg in 1997 but as much as this may make me a heathen to European film culture, I must confess to having never seen the original. However, thanks to one of my good friends (Steve, take a bow) I was lucky enough to see the UK premier of Insomnia as the closing movie of the 2002 Edinburgh film festival and lucky enough to see and hear the Director Christopher Nolan say a few words about this fine movie.
Opening with incredibly stunning cinematography of Alaskan ice fields, haggard L.A police detective Will Dormer (Al Pacino) and his partner Hep Eckhart (Martin Donovan) arrive in America's most northerly city to help solve the brutal killing of a teenage girl. Met by a local Detective (Hilary Swank) who openly hero-worships Dormer and his successful career as a Detective, Pacino's character sets about showing the local hicks how it's done. However, it soon transpires that Dormer is only in Alaska in the first place to avoid an ongoing criminal investigation by police Internal Affairs back in Los Angeles and it is not long before his investigation into the Alaskan girl's murder goes horribly wrong. Troubled by his conscience and the never-ending daylight of an Alaskan summer Dormer prays for sleep.
For many people that have seen either of Christopher Nolan's previous two movies (Following and Memento) Insomnia may seem like an odd choice; it's a 'mainstream' Hollywood movie (Warner Brothers studio), it is told in a linear timeframe and it's a remake. However, there must have been obvious attractions apart from the budget and his paycheck. First off, Stephen Soderbergh, who successfully makes mainstream movies with an Indie heart, oversaw production and secondly there was the chance to work with great actors such as Pacino, Swank and Robin Williams, although at this point I have to add that I believe Williams was totally miscast and made an unconvincing villain.
There are some wonderful scenes in this movie, including a nightmare like chase over hundreds of floating logs and the hunt for the killer in a freezing fog. It is also a movie that allows it's stars to shine and this is undoubtedly Pacino's best role (and best movie for many a year) and it is a pleasant change to see him with a decent script in an intelligent movie instead of hamming it up in the likes of The Devil's Advocate, alongside walking surfboard Keanu Reeves. This movie will also undoubtedly and deservedly enhance the careers and reputations of both Director Christopher Nolan and Hilary Swank, who both produce work of depth and subtlety. However, I also feel that much of the credit for what is a beautiful photographed and well-written movie should go to Wally Pfister and (for what is an excellent adapted screenplay) to Hilary Seitz. Insomnia is an excellent movie made by a very modest, very talented young British movie Director. Be warned though, you probably need an IQ to fully appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insomnia, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would class this as one of my favourite movies.
Pacino can sometimes be over the top but he pulls it off well here.
A career policeman who's fallen and can't seem to get back up.
A good guy gone bad with no redemption in sight but you find yourself pulling for him.
Robin Williams;what can I say.He plays the bad "bad guy".
His acting is a match for Pacino's any day.
I like the setting for the movie and the constant daylight theme is great.
I will watch this movie again and would recommend it to a friend for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Without sleep, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Insomnia (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Out of all the movies Christopher Nolan has directed, "Insomnia" is probably the most... normal. No dream technology, no superheroes, no magical Tesla devices.

No, "Insomnia" is pretty much a cop thriller about hunting down a murderer. But it's much deeper and more layered than it sounds -- it's a tragic, haunting story of a good cop who begins sliding inexorably down, until he ends up collaborating with a murderer. And in true Nolan style, it's murky and slightly disorienting.

LAPD detectives Will Dormer (Al Pacino) and Hap Eckhart (Martin Donovan) are sent to the remote town of Nightmute, up in Alaska, to investigate the shocking death of a teenage girl. There's some tension between the detectives because Dormer is under investigation by Internal Affairs, and Eckhart is going to testify against him.

And since Nightmute is in the Arctic Circle, the sun never sets in summer. Unable to sleep, Dormer becomes increasingly disoriented -- until he accidentally shoots Eckhart while chasing the murderer.

Knowing that no one would believe it was an accident, Dormer desperately hides the evidence of his crime. But there was one witness to the shooting -- the murderer, mystery writer Walter Finch (Robin Williams). Finch is only willing to keep silent if Dormer frames the dead girl's boyfriend, and lets him go free.

Based on a Norwegian film of the same name, "Insomnia" is essentially a study of guilt. It's never entirely clear whether Dormer's insomnia is caused by the daylight (symbolic light of truth?) or his own guilty conscience, but the events of the movie are a tragic portrait of a fundamentally good man degenerating before our eyes.

And it's one of the best roles that Al Pacino has done in years -- he depicts Dormer as a man who desperately wants to do the right thing, but is twisted into doing the WRONG thing out of his own fear. And Nolan leaves you wondering if, on some subconscious level, he did want to shoot his partner for betraying him.

And if Dormer is in the middle of the moral spectrum, then Finch and Ellie Burr are on the two extremes. I normally cannot stand Robin Williams, but he gives a surprisingly good performance as a genial yet ice-cold murderer who wants to drag Dormer down with him. And Hilary Swank is excellent as a pure-hearted young cop who is investigating Eckhart's murder.

As for Nolan, he cloaks the movie in a sense of stillness and a pale, strange daylight that never goes away, and he builds up a slow-burning sense of suspense right to the subdued ending. This makes it all the more shocking when Dormer's sleeplessness catches up to him, causing him to act recklessly and even hallucinate -- suddenly the world seems jagged and chaotic for a few minutes, before snapping back to normal.

In fact, the movie is at its weakest when it focuses just on police procedural stuff, instead of following Dormer's descent. Even if those scenes are essential to the plot, Nolan cannot make that interesting.

While not exactly what people expect from Christopher Nolan, "Insomnia" is a beautifully tragic little movie, with amazing acting and exquisite direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very solid 4 stars ., Jan. 20 2003
By 
Vlad (russianwriter.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Insomnia (Widescreen) (DVD)
Everybody was expecting a 10 stars hit from director Christopher Nolan in this film . As result - they was very dessapointed . I watched this film totally blank , without any expectations . As result - I loved it . No flashy scenes , no big chases . Just very solid and deep film . I gave it only 4 stars just because of the power of the director in it . You can feel how much power he has ... but holding back a little . This feeling of danger and exitment at same time . Friends ! He is about to explode ! Next one will be a killer .
I didn't say anything about what this film about just because it is so many very good reviews right behind me . I don't want to repeat them . But I can tell you which moment I loved the most ... the last one :
- Nobody needs to know ?!
-I just need to catch some sleep....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stay awake? Try watching INSOMNIA!, Oct. 11 2002
By 
Kristy M. Ross "Kristy" (CT, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insomnia (Widescreen) (DVD)
Christopher Nolan's follow-up to MEMENTO is a more straight-forward thriller which serves as both an excellent tour-de-force of suspense in terrific form and re-establishment of Robin Williams' serious acting roles. But the main guy here is of course, the great Al Pacino, who gives another fantatsically compelling performance. The story, basically, is centered around Pacino hunting down a serial killer on the loose (Williams). Hey, at least Williams is breaking away from his "funnyman" sterotype and proves, at least with this, that he can be serious and still bring the same commanding M.O to any character on film. Hillary Swank also provides impressive supporting energy, helped with a sharp script. Not surprisingly, the score, very important addition in this genre, is a fantastic blend of slighty etheral tracks with downbeat percussions building up the tension. Director Nolan, having proven his coup-de-grace with the intracate stylistic MEMENTO, here works in more familiar action territory. That's not to say that the film is bereft of twists however, for there are numerous shockers and suprises along the way. A terrific film, and a must have on DVD.
Speaking of which, the DVD extra features are fantastic, with an interesting commentary by director Christopher Nolan, commentary by actor Hilary Swank, production designer Nathan Crowley, editor Dody Dorn, cinematograher Wally Pfister, and screenwriter Hillary Seitz, additional scene with commentary the doco "Day for Night" making of documentary, "180 Degrees": A Conversation with Christopher Nolan and Al Pacino, "In the Fog": Cinematography and production design and "Eyes Wide Open": The insomniac's world. Also included are trailers and stills gallery. Very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lesser Nolan, Oct. 19 2010
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insomnia (Widescreen) (DVD)
I love Christopher Nolan and the filmmaking is first-rate even in this more formulaic type of movie. Basically, it's a thriller but the setting in Alaska in the always daylight summertime there makes the movie what it is.

Now I'm not a big fan at all of Hilary Swank (sorry, those gigantic teeth and her being Steve Sanders' annoying girlfriend at one point on "Beverly Hills, 90210" just can never be erased from my brain) or Robin Williams on the big screen but I at least found them tolerable and believable in this. Meaning they must be good actors for me to overcome my completely prejudiced views of their whole body of work.

Anyway, in no way shape or form is this anywhere near as great as Inception, Memento or Following which both contain the same sort of themes of playing with time and people's perceptions of time as well as using the location as really a major part of the film. Throw in the whole Nolan obsession with the human mind and that's where Insomnia is at. Problem is it's at its base level this is still a murder mystery of which way too much gets revealed at the start when Al Pacino shoots his fellow cop accidentally on purpose early in the movie. Don't worry it's not a spoiler as the audience sees and knows this on screen very early in the flick.

I would say it is worth watching but I think it suffers mainly in comparison to Nolan's other majestically brilliant work. Taken on its own, it's a decent almost film noir in some ways and well worth seeing even if it doesn't stack up to Nolan's other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars unfortunately "Sleep Aid" would have been a more apt title(although they tried hard to make this one work) 2.5/5, Aug. 20 2007
This review is from: Insomnia (Widescreen) (DVD)
i didn't like this movie too much.as a matter of fact,it nearly put me
to sleep.how's that for irony.the movie is basically about murder which
occurs in a small Alaskan town.two big city cops are sent to
investigate.the twist to this movie.the sun doesn't set,which throws
everything out of whack for the detectives and complicates their
investigation.Robin Willima is in this one,in another darker role for
him.Al Pacino,Hilary Swank and Martin Donovan also star.there's nothing
wrong with the acting,but the movie is much to methodical,as it slowly
plods from one clue(or non clue) to the next.as i said earlier,i had a
heck of a time staying awake with this one.Christopher Nolan directed
this movie,but he cannot be blamed for this one.the writing is the
culprit here.i suspect,it looked good on paper and even while they were
filming,but somehow the end product doesn't seem to work.i think they
tried really hard with this one,but sometimes things just don't work
out the way you planned.this is not a horrible film,but it's just
missing something.i give "Insomnia" 2.5/5 for the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars i was dissapointed, June 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Insomnia (Widescreen) (DVD)
I expected this to be really good, but the potentially excellent film by Christopher Nolan was really hurt by the attitude of Al Pacino as a cop in Alaska. In his past few movies, he tries too hard to be young and savvy when he just needs to accept that he is aging. He tries to be cool in this and he is just retarded. Hilary Swank didn't do anything at all to make this movie any better. Robin Williams is the only bright spot in this movie. He is the reason for me giving this three stars. He can play a pretty good villain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insomnia (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews