Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most original superhero film in years
We''ve all seen the "zero to hero" storyline a hundred times before, but I must say that this is the most refreshing take on the superhero origin that I''ve ever seen. Never quite a pure satire, this film doesn't really play it straight either as it moves back and forth between hilarious comedy and brutal action while always giving us characters we can care about. The...
Published on Jan. 31 2011 by John Woodward

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Kick-Ass: Limited Steelbook aplatie
Le steelbook m'atteint aplatie et coûte très cher de le retourner.
Je n'ai pas été heureux avec cette expédition
salutacions,
Published 3 months ago by edgart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most original superhero film in years, Jan. 31 2011
We''ve all seen the "zero to hero" storyline a hundred times before, but I must say that this is the most refreshing take on the superhero origin that I''ve ever seen. Never quite a pure satire, this film doesn't really play it straight either as it moves back and forth between hilarious comedy and brutal action while always giving us characters we can care about. The only thing I can really compare it to is Kill Bill, and even that's not really appropriate. This one of a kind movie will take you on a unique, fun journey, provided you're willing to leave the beaten path.

Matthew Vaughn wrote and shot a great story, but the film wouldn't have worked nearly so well without such a stellar cast. Aaron Johnson keeps Dave a likeable teenager amidst all the craziness that surrounds him and Nicolas Cage delivers his best performance in years as Big Daddy. As wonderful as it is to watch these two skirt the line between superheroes and guys playing dress up, it's Chloe Moretz as Hit Girl that steals the show. The vicious killer who's also an innocent child could've gone wrong in any number of ways, but her performance carries it through.

Extras
This thing is absolutely loaded with bonus features. The featurettes range from ok to fascinating and cover every element of the film. Vaughn's commentary is more informative than entertaining but it does provide some really good insights into his process. Finally, the 'Bonus View' mode is actually worth checking out as it intercuts the commentary track with various interviews and behind-the-scenes looks. A fan really couldn't ask for anything more on this disc.

Presentation
While certainly not a big-budget spectacle, this movie is still well served by the Blu-Ray format. The comic-book style colour palate shines in HD and the set pieces, engaging to begin with, really pop on this disk. Vaughn favours long shots over the schizophrenic editting so many action films lean on and his steady visuals really deserve the clearest possible picture.

Bottom Line
This movie is not for everyone, but that's the price you pay for creating something so unique. If you can accept that a film can be simultaneously ridiculous, visceral, and heartfelt then this one's sure to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film ...but beware, Sept. 30 2014
By 
Beware ...this is a great small film, but has a very darker tone that works on so many levels.
But not a film for comicbook watching audiences members (i.e. young boys/kds) who watch 'Iron Man' type movies ...as this movie has a darker, yet still entertaining (even humorous) tone that deals with another side of the superhero craze out there.

Nick Cage is brilliant, Chloë Grace Moretz (at 13yrs) is also brilliant.
Some will recognize (a more adult) Aaron Taylor-Johnson from the current 'Godzilla'.

Highly recommend this film ....just beware of the darker tone (not for young kids), as the marketing material can be alittle deceiving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding movie with great roles played by both main father, Aug. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass (Bilingual) (DVD)
Outstanding movie with great roles played by both main father, daughter characters. A somewhat surreal setting using a lethal tongue in cheek humor used to keep this cutting edge movie riveted in your seat. All other characters were also very well played and believable to an extent. This is a movie I'd recommend over and over again, a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Kick-Ass: Limited Steelbook aplatie, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Le steelbook m'atteint aplatie et coûte très cher de le retourner.
Je n'ai pas été heureux avec cette expédition
salutacions,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites, May 2 2014
By 
Ludwin (Etobicoke, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my favorite action or super-hero movies. It is shocking, novel, entertaining and very well acted. The action sequences are exhilarating. For mature audiences only, as the violence is truly shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great action movie!, Aug. 31 2013
By 
Carlo Nuccio (Saint-Hubert, Quebec, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass (Bilingual) (DVD)
Comedy, a bit of suspense and non-stop action. Good story.

Quite violent, not recommended for the very young audience.

Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another somebody done somebody wrong song...er movie! 4-4 1/2 stars., Aug. 17 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kick-Ass (Bilingual) (DVD)
You know,the great thing about being an independent reviewer here at Amazon is that I don't have to follow the latest edition of the Hollywood Reporter,or be at the next L.A.soiree for the premiere of some movie,or attend the latest film festival in Timbuktu.Instead I may,or may not have heard some movie hype before hand,just like any other person.Well I did not hear squat about Kick-Ass(released Mar/10) except for it being shown at the local theatre where I live.So what a pleasant surprise to view a film that has combined the super hero genre with the human condition and wrapped it all up in a film with a big heart.It is NOT what you might expect,as this is one film that should not be judged by its derivative and simplistic title.
The film stars,among others,Aaron Johnson,Christopher Mintz-Plasse,Chloë Grace Moretz,Mark Strong and Nicolas Cage.
The story finds an ex policeman who was framed by the local drug lord in New York City.He is back and has been slowly seeking revenge on the king pin who did him wrong,Frank D'Amico.In his preparation,he has brought up his pre teen daughter to be able to handle herself physically and mentally in dangerous circumstances.She knows everything from kung fu to shooting an AK-47,and everything in between.In a parallel plot we have a young high school student who fantasizes about fighting crime.He actually orders a form fitting blue uniform one day and starts his perilous journey,which has more than its share of bumps.When he confronts three bullies beating up on one man he becomes an instant You Tube sensation and his life and new moniker,Kick-Ass,turn upside down in an instant.His girlfriend tells him about some guy who has been hassling her and he goes to his apartment to warn him off.Instead he ends up getting a bad beating,but there is a sudden intervention.It comes from the ex cop and his daughter,who are Big Daddy(dressed like Batman) and Hit Girl respectively.They tell him that they will be around should he ever need his help.
D'Amico's son comes up with a plan for his dad,who blames Kick Ass for his problems.He asks him to buy him a tailored costume of his own,and he will assume the name of Red Mist.That way he can befriend Kick Ass and deliver him right to his dad.The plan goes better than expected when Red Mist gets Kick Ass asks to meet with Big Daddy and Hit Girl.When Red Mist enters the room he shoots Hit Girl who falls right out the window.Kick Ass and Big Daddy are taken hostage and paraded on camera,on line,before countless viewers,who will witness their execution.Both are beaten badly and just as the two are to be set on fire Hit Girl enters the scene and starts a one by one campaign of kick-assery.She rescues both,but her father succumbs to burns he suffered.
Back home Hit Girl is out for revenge.She and Kick-Ass take the fight directly to D'Amico's office tower and floor.Hit girl is a virtual dynamo and mows down all who oppose her,until one of D'Amico's henchman brings out a bazooka.Just as it looks like she's headed for heavens gate,Kick-Ass appears outside in a hover suit,loaded with two machine guns.He does some housing cleaning and saves Hit Girl.They finally get into D'Amico's office and while Kick-Ass fights Red Mist,Hit Girl takes on the don himself.Kick-Ass ad Red Mist fight to a draw,while Hit Girl is down and out and just about to receive the coup de' gras.Kick-Ass enters with the bazooka originally intended for Hit Girl and blasts D'Amico out the glass window.The film ends as Hit Girl has enrolled at Kick-Ass's school and we listen as D'Amico's son plans revenge.
This movie has multiple in jokes with past movies and its' soundtrack at times is very clever.For example,when we first see Hit Girl's fighting abilities the theme song to the old cartoon the Banana Peels,is playing in the background.As I said this film has a ton of heart and the girl's hutzpah,moves and,dare I say,language,are something to behold.She may be around 11,but she is more like 31 in attitude.Cage plays her loving father and at no time do we not know that.Although I should qualify that by saying when we first see the pair together,it is Cage firing rounds into his daughters chest at close range,so she can get the feel of what a bullet impact feels like.It tends to make you scratch your head and say,"wtf?",but soon all is revealed.Oh,and she does wear a Kevlar vest at all times(dad taught her well!).
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 2:35:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include commentary,and featurettes on its making and art and the trailer.
All in all a VERY pleasant and surprising diversion of a film(I love it when that happens).It is a nice twist and mix of different genres and has great heart.I highly recommend Kick-Ass.And kids....don't try this at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kick Ass 2 Coming soon, Aug. 10 2013
By 
Scooter_EDM (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a great movie and one that surprised a lot of people with the language and graphical gory scenes considering the age of some of the actors. Kick Ass 2 is coming and a third sequel is in the works as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, April 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass (Bilingual) (DVD)
it has everything, love interests, comedy, drama, sadness etc. so many unexpected scenes that i didnt see coming that blew me away, Nick cage is really fine in this movie but Im a huge fan and think he is so damn sexy so that isnt fair to rate him but he was good in this movie, hopefully a part two comes out soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pas pour enfant, Sept. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass (Bilingual) (DVD)
bon film , mais j ai été un peu surpris par sa violence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick-Ass (Bilingual)
Kick-Ass (Bilingual) by Matthew Vaughn (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 5.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews