Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel Hasn't Been This Fun Since "Back to the Future"
4.5 out of 5

Four friends, all failures. Adam's (John Cusack) wife just left him. His nephew, Jacob (Clark Duke), is a stay-in-the-basement nerd. Nick (Craig Robinson) works at a pet spa and Lou (Rob Corddry) is suicidal.

And it's Lou that gets them into trouble because when a suicide attempt lands him in the hospital, the four friends decide to...
Published on May 19 2010 by A.P. Fuchs, author of The Axio...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, full of promise
Adam (John Cusack) and his buddies Nick (Craig Robinson) and Lou (Rob Corddry) and his nephew Jacob (Clark Duke), have run a "down and out" sort of life. They get naked together and are washed back to the year 1987 where they have an opportunity to reflect and correct old attitudes. Will they take advantage of this opportunity or just relive their poor choices that let...
Published on Aug. 7 2010 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel Hasn't Been This Fun Since "Back to the Future", May 19 2010
4.5 out of 5

Four friends, all failures. Adam's (John Cusack) wife just left him. His nephew, Jacob (Clark Duke), is a stay-in-the-basement nerd. Nick (Craig Robinson) works at a pet spa and Lou (Rob Corddry) is suicidal.

And it's Lou that gets them into trouble because when a suicide attempt lands him in the hospital, the four friends decide to return to a small town, the glory place of their youth, and try and cheer him up.

Greeted by a bellhop named Phil (Crispin Glover), who lost his arm long ago, the four friends try and party like they used to in a town that is no longer the cool place they remember.

After one drunken night in the hot tub, they suddenly find themselves back in 1986, and what's even weirder is they also look like their younger selves. (Though onscreen we see their present-day selves but in mirrors it's their younger versions and that's what everybody else sees. Nice touch on a time travel story.) Once coming to grips of their predicament and while trying to figure out a way "back to the future," they vow to maintain the space-time continuum and repeat what they did back in 1986 so as to not accidentally execute the butterfly effect and destroy the timeline. They swear to do things as they did it and how they did it back in 1986. Except little do they realize it's much easier said than done because no one wants to go through that horrific break up all over again (great white buffalo), or get their face bashed in, or sleep with a hot blonde though you're married to someone else in the future. (Actually, this last scene was done quite well.)

Guided by the aloof and cryptic hot tub repairman (Chevy Chase), these four misfits either accept the misfortunes of their past or, if they're daring enough, try and right what went wrong in the past in the hopes for a better future.

Being a time travel nut, I had to see this movie. I went opening night. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it.

This flick was an ode to time travel movies, especially Back to the Future (and having Crispin Glover in it, who played George McFly in BttF only added to it). The 80s fashions, gadgets, phrases, music all amounted to a true trip through time and really convinced you that you were along for this crazy ride via hot tub time travel.

This movie is so tongue-in-cheek yet at the same time wasn't just stupid slapstick comedy, but instead opted to take itself seriously enough to sell you on the concept.

Now, I'm not sure if you're like me or not, but I really appreciate buddy-buddy humor--you know, the teasing, the kicks between the legs, the sarcasm--and the time-traveling quartet were just loaded with it, so much so you wished you were a part of their little group. And, really, the way the tale was presented in this flick, yeah, you were.

So many jokes, so much sarcasm, so much fun. This movie was just amazing and I'm counting the days till I can grab the Blu-ray for my collection and watch it over and over.

My only gripe was the coarse language. A handful of times in a movie--though, for me, a bit jarring--I can live with, but when it's every second word then it becomes too much and it pulls you out of the flick during those little blurts of profanity.

Now I just need a hot tub time machine of my own to go back in time and check this flick out in the theatre again without having to spend the $10.25 (Canadian) all over for it.

Recommended.

A.P. Fuchs
Canister X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Past!, Nov. 17 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Do you like comedy movies with heart? Characters instead of charicatures? A plot that matters? Then Hot Tub Time Machine is not for you!

This is a modern comedy, along the lines of The Hangover. Outrageous situations, gross-outs, vulgarity and hollow characters. But I liked it. What can I say, I'm easily amused. I don't mind this kind of movie, and to me the performances by Cusack and Corrdry sell it.

Plot in a nutshell: Three dudes plus Cusack's nephew are going nowhere in life and in their relationships. Trying to dip back into the past, they visit the same ski resort that they went to back in '86. It's gone downhill since then, but after a drunken night in the hot tub, they wake up (gasp!) back in 1986, forced to relive one of the most interesting vacations of their lives! Will they do things the same? Will they try to change the future? Can they even get back to the future? Watch to find out!

Each character has his own trip to relive, Corrdry's being the lynchpin of the whole situation. The plot is pretty simple but the movie is fun. Music from the 80's -- Poison, The Crue, and more -- make this a movie for the balding generation. Heck, there's even a vintage-looking Poison concert complete with some dude that looks exactly like CC Deville circa Look What The Cat Dragged In. If you're from the 80's, you'll enjoy reliving these moments. If you're not, you'll wonder how the hell we managed without txt msgs.

The ending was a twist I didn't expect, and I enjoyed the cast plus special guest Chevy Chase. I enjoyed reliving my own 1986 (even though some tunes, such as Kickstart My Heart didn't come out until '89).

Blu-ray special features include commentaries, deleted scenes and extended scenes. The best deleted scenes were multiple takes of Corrdry, who's comes across as a pretty funny guy. Digital copy is included but don't ask me about it, because I don't use them. All I know is that the digital copy is just the "rated" version of the film.

4 stars. For retro-heads. Cusack fans hoping for another High Fidelity better keep hopin'. Don't stop believin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual) (DVD)
I also got this for chistmas for a friend of mind he likes becuse of the music ans stuff and he came from the 80"s

from
steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good comedy show, July 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual) (DVD)
we laugh and funny show .love it tks for it have subtitle we need it no need audio great tks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie, April 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual) (DVD)
i watch this movie over and over just to make sure that i didnt miss any of the funny parts, great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, full of promise, Aug. 7 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Adam (John Cusack) and his buddies Nick (Craig Robinson) and Lou (Rob Corddry) and his nephew Jacob (Clark Duke), have run a "down and out" sort of life. They get naked together and are washed back to the year 1987 where they have an opportunity to reflect and correct old attitudes. Will they take advantage of this opportunity or just relive their poor choices that let them their present life.

The formula is as old as the hills. Nevertheless, it is always nice to see the old actors and watch their rendition of confrontation with life changing opportunities. What would you do if you could do it over?
My only disappointment was expecting something a tad more feminine in the tub.

If you like this formula a more sedate version is:
The Family Man

If you were expecting a hot tub, a better mix is:
Eating Raoul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, July 25 2010
By 
S. Anthony - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual) (DVD)
I thought the movie was overly funny, I recommend watching if you like comedies, you will laugh at this movie, I guarantee it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Sept. 15 2011
By 
Suzy Q "muppetlise" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
My husband and I really enjoyed this movie. Saw this movie in the theatres and couldn't wait for the Blu ray to be released. Hilarious. You have to have a good sense of humor to enjoy this. Took us back to the 80s. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Tub What?, Aug. 18 2010
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual) (DVD)
Hot Tub Time Machine can be described in the same way as its title; ridiculous, stupid and at the same time, funny. Many reviewers have found this movie to be plain stupid and obviously did not get it or simply couldn't get it; HTTM is definitely NOT a smart movie and will certainly not help raise your IQ. Someone who views it could possibly hate it the same way he hated movies such as Superbad I'll be the first to admit that as much as I enjoyed the movie it's dumb, really dumb. But you know what? It's what I like about it, it doesn't try to be smart and it's just a fun movie with this crazy plot that doesn't make much sense. This type of humor will not please anyone and the rating on amazon shows it. But really what do you expect of a movie with such a title?

Adam and his friends Nick and Lou (along with Adam's nephew) go to snowy Kodic Valley, a place that holds great memories for them but they quickly realize that a lot has changed since then. Their hotel rooms has a hot tub and that night they do something that makes the hot go back in time, in 1986 precisely (you probably knew that a hot tub was going to be there at some point and that it would act as time machine, no spoilers there). The fun only starts there as they discover that what they do in 1986 could change their futures. Having a fondness for the 1980's in general (especially Motley Crue!) would really help you appreciate the movie, on the other hand if you can't stand 80's references you should stay clear of Hot Tub Time Machine. The movie references Motley Crue, Michael Jackson, Poison and mostly the MTV era, they even captured the clothes, the fashion and all. What really made me like the movie were the characters, Lou and Nick really carry the movie.

Watching Hot Tube Time Machine may either bring some fond memories, make you hate the 80's even more or wonder why you watched it in the first place. The reviews for HTTM are clearly mixed and not everyone will enjoy it. Oh and the movie clearly earned it's rated R rating, just so you know there is bad language and sex scenes. I like HTTM for what it was, it's a funny stupid movie and should be taken for what it is. 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual)
Hot Tub Time Machine (Bilingual) by John Cusack (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews