Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ava makes Madonna seem like Shwarzenneger
Ava is a true femme fatale. She oozes pheromones as Pandora.
James Mason is mere flotsam in the throes of the whirlpool that is Pandora. Like any man, caught in the grip of this Charybdis, he is without hope. As is she, fated loves' victim.
See the movie for a glimpse of transcendental eros.
Then, whimper that your love life is truly as a pitiful shadow...
Published on Oct. 16 2001 by Richard, El Revistador Cosmico

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Remastered????????????
I loved the original story and actors. This video technically is not what I expected. I would have thought a remastered video would have been easier viewing. It is far too dark. Even after playing with all the combinations on the vcr and tv for brightness and color it was not acceptable.
Published on July 27 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ava makes Madonna seem like Shwarzenneger, Oct. 16 2001
Ava is a true femme fatale. She oozes pheromones as Pandora.
James Mason is mere flotsam in the throes of the whirlpool that is Pandora. Like any man, caught in the grip of this Charybdis, he is without hope. As is she, fated loves' victim.
See the movie for a glimpse of transcendental eros.
Then, whimper that your love life is truly as a pitiful shadow dancing on the walls of the cave, a flimsy whisp of the eternal as represented by these two lost souls. Then shuffle off, gloomily, as must have Leonard Maltin--pining for the Ava he can never conceive of having--in any sense of the term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2010 KINO Remaster of Pandora and the Flying Dutchman Is an Improvement, Feb. 15 2015
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
The version of Pandora and the Flying Dutchman included in the KINO Leading Ladies package was an older KINO release, from 2000. The print was too dark in some places and murky in others. The 2010 remaster is an improvement. The murkiness has been cleared up, and the colours are brighter. But like many old Technicolor films, this one sometimes has flesh tones that are too bright, in particular too red. I had to adjust the colour down to compensate for this. Also, the image is not flawless; there are some sparkles and other weaknesses in the print from which the DVD comes. This is no computer-aided Criterion-level cleanup. But still, this new edition is an improvement, and allows one to experience the film with something closer to the image and sound quality that the original audience would have experienced.

There are some new special features in this edition, though none of them is very exciting. There are a few behind-the-scenes stills, for example, and three trailers for the film instead of one. The big extra item is a 17-minute documentary on a real Spanish bullfighter who was gored to death at age 30. (The justification for including this here is that the bullfighter in the documentary is supposed to have been the inspiration for the bullfighter character in the film.)

The film itself is an odd one for its time (the brassy, loud 1950s). It combines hard-nosed modern characterization with moody, magical romantic fantasy. Ava Gardner's character starts out as what one would expect from Gardner -- a beautiful, confident, and utterly selfish woman who uses men while loving none of them. But the character changes when she meets the mysterious sea-captain played by James Mason. All of the male characters who revolve around Pandora play their roles well, and the photography and scenery in the film are at times striking.

I don't know whether or not this is a great film, but it is surely an interesting one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kino on Video Scores Again!, March 25 1999
By A Customer
Combine hot-blooded gypsies, passionate half-breed bullfighters, the Rubyiat of Omar Khayaam, and a worldly-wise and tweedy English narrator who talks to the camera, and you have the frame of the movie down pat. Over-the-top and unapologetic romanticism is the order of the day, and Albert Lewin's fantasy delivers plenty of it. Mason and Gardner are splendid as the lead couple. They underplay splendedly, keeping the whole thing from blowing up into a farce. Kino is to be commended for bringing this baby back where it belongs, to video. Even the opening advertisement for Kino is nothing short of breathtaking for a cinephile, as it consists of a beautiful montage of shots from their films, starting from the gunshot of THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERY through the present. Clever editing juxtaposes Louise Brooks and Marlene Dietrich turning their heads to the right, and in those similar actions we see the differences in their screen personas eloquently manifested. Combine this with a wonderfully venomous trailer appearance by Hedda Hopper, and you'll have a delightful night of romantic cliches' galore. Oh, I almost forgot, there's a suicidal poet as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Estupendo! fantastico! me encanto!, Oct. 17 2001
By A Customer
This is a super film that brings together so many good actors. It may be a little dated but with a bit of imagination it is a very acceptable way to spend a couple of hours and boring it certainly is not. To watch the film and visit Tossa de mar on the Costa Brava in Spain where it was shot is a great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED THIS FILM! Still do 50 years later. Even better, Nov. 11 2000
By 
"westwindwalker" (El Segundo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
than the first time I saw it. The new remastered DVD is awesomely clear, color crisp and Ava G as always beautiful.
And Leonard Maltin, you said: "Sorry to say, a big Technicolor bore, one of writer-director Lewin's misfires, about a woman who destroys the lives of all the men around her; then mystical, otherworldly Mason materializes." ... aside from that did you like it? LOL.
Not boring, yes about a selfish lady who finds a reason to not be selfish. geeeeee what a concept.
Seriously, if you like mystical possibilities, beautiful women, and scenery... buy this, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most hilariously wooden performances!!!, Oct. 22 2001
By 
Axolotl (Honolulu HI) - See all my reviews
The above performance I'm referring to is that of mario Cabre, Ava Gardner's toreador torch in real life at the time. In this film he gives what has got to be one of, if not the, most (although unintendedly) wooden performances in cinematic history! Gardner was involved with some of the most fascinating and talented men ever in the entertainment industry--Rooney, Shaw, Sinatra, Duff, Taylor, Scott, etc.--and it is unfortunate she did not use her influence to get any of them in her films because in this one exception with a hopeless novice, even Cabre's good looks and lithe body can't save his appallingly bad acting (also debut, by the way). Not to be missed for this alone! He makes someone like Victor Mature or George Raft seem absolutely Shakespearan!!! With that rant over, I will move on. "Pandora" is an otherworldly romance about a centuries-ago sea captain who unjsutly murdered his wife for unfaithfulness and as a result the gods have doomed him to a wretched, ghostly existence on the high seas for eternity, the only escape being if he can find a woman during his brief sojourns on earth who truly loves him and is willing to sacrifice her life, thus permitting him to finally die. James Mason gives his usual fine performance as the ghostly Dutchman, imbuing his character with vulnerability behind the cool surface. As for Ava Gardner--can one ever have enough words about her? Even if not for the painful acting of the aforementioned Cabre, this film would be worth it alone just to see the ravishing Gardner in sumptious technicolor. Surely one of the most beautiful women who even existed, she is more than believable as Pandora, the restless and disatisfied playgirl who is adored by many men and brings them ruin, but is never touched by love herself until she meets the Dutchman. A mystical romance in the mold of the depthful and haunting "The Ghost and Mrs. Muir" with that other Circe of the Cinema Gene Tierney, although "Pandora" is somewhat superficial, I found it entertaining enough and it's worth it, as I mentioned earlier, if you want to see arguably the worst acting in movie history and inarguably one of the most gorgeous women in film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful DVD format, Sept. 11 2001
By A Customer
The ulitmate love story. With 'Pandora' being one my top favorites of all time, I was disappointed in the VHS copy. This DVD format, although just a bit scratchy at the beginning is what I've been waiting for. Gone is that awful redness of the VHS. The night scenes are still a little dark, but I still give it a thumbs up. I loved it. A must have for Ava and James lovers!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Restored and brighter., Sept. 4 2014
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Pandora and the Flying Dutchman (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
One of my favorite old (1951) movies. I saw the VHS, the DVD and both had a very dark picture. The bluray has been restored and is appreciably brighter. the Bluray includes a six minute demo of the remasterization. A star vehicle for Ava Gardner for sure, this movie retells the Flying Dutchman legend in a romantic fashion. Recommended for romantic old movie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Remastered????????????, July 27 2000
By A Customer
I loved the original story and actors. This video technically is not what I expected. I would have thought a remastered video would have been easier viewing. It is far too dark. Even after playing with all the combinations on the vcr and tv for brightness and color it was not acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, due to James Mason and Jack Cardiff, April 4 2004
By 
Brian R. Greenhalgh (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The fantasy / romance premise for this film is an interesting one, but the execution of the plot leaves quite a lot to be desired and much of the dialogue is quite lame and stilted. The plot has been covered well by others, no need to add more about that. James Mason's central character is the best thing about the film. He is extraordinary (as usual). Ava Gardner is very lovely to look upon (although her gowns are far closer to 1951 than to the 1930 time frame), but her acting is rather lackluster (as usual). However, far worse performances are given by Mario Cabre' and Sheila Sim (extreme under-playing and over-playing respectively). The Spanish location photography is great, as to be expected from the legendary cinematographer, Jack Cardiff. The direction is adequate, but no better. The telecine transfer on this DVD is poor in places, with color timing way off at times (sometimes with a purplish cast) and falls seriously short of what a Technicolor print can deliver. The print this was transferred from has considerable damage at the start and end of reels (can't be missed with scratches, dirt, and multiple cue marks). There are several splices, most producing a loud pop in the audio. Some simple re-making of the splices or blooping them would have helped a lot. Some scenes are way too dark to easily watch, and generally the picture is very grainy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pandora and the Flying Dutchman (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 39.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews