Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy with my purchase - a minor complaint regarding aesthetics, but nothing more.
3D version is surprisingly good - little to no ghosting/crosstalk (Sony 3D LED HDTV).

However, Warner Brothers and/or whoever was responsible for packaging this release could have done a much better job with it, as the labeling quality of one of the two included discs (one 2D and one 3D Blu-ray) was completely monochrome, with a low DPI. Not cool, but if you...
Published 3 months ago by Sam

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has all the highlights and dialog of a Hallmark movie
Perseus (Sam Worthington) picked up from the sea by a fisherman, has no idea where he came from or where he is going. He just has distaste for gods, especially one that dispatch his adopted family. Now he is out to even the playing field and put Hades (Ralph Fiennes) down, way down. He has many assistants as Io (Gemma Arterton) and many adventures in the process. Three...
Published on July 23 2010 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has all the highlights and dialog of a Hallmark movie, July 23 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clash of the Titans (Blu-ray)
Perseus (Sam Worthington) picked up from the sea by a fisherman, has no idea where he came from or where he is going. He just has distaste for gods, especially one that dispatch his adopted family. Now he is out to even the playing field and put Hades (Ralph Fiennes) down, way down. He has many assistants as Io (Gemma Arterton) and many adventures in the process. Three witches keep an eye on him. Someone may lose his or her head and there is more than one bad person. Will Perseus take Hades (Ralph Fiennes) down a peg or is Perseus doomed. In any event, he must get Kraken.

This presentation shows that CGI and 3D do not a film make. It helps to have dialog, pacing and a little better knowledge of antiquity. As far as CGI is considered, some things can look scary and others like cartoons. This film falls somewhere in the middle but not as bad as it could have been. They only used what was needed to tell their story in today's action packed terms. I saw this movie in the theater for the 3D experience. I wanted to see if it was an improvement over the red and green or red and blue glasses.
So far, I will hold judgment. Some 3D can be eye popping and make you duck as it is coming at you. In the case of this movie, it was more like looking through a stereoscope or View Master. The third dimension was behind the front plate. Combining the CGI fast action with the 3D technology created a hairy mess and you had to wait until it was over to guess what happened. In any event, I now have a new set of glasses to add to my collection.

I am slightly prejudice because I saw the original Clash and know what the movie could have been. However, it was not as bad as it could have been and has all the earmarks of a Hallmark special. The original film took a few liberties with the story but this version was out of the ballpark. See it once to help appreciate the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy with my purchase - a minor complaint regarding aesthetics, but nothing more., Aug. 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
3D version is surprisingly good - little to no ghosting/crosstalk (Sony 3D LED HDTV).

However, Warner Brothers and/or whoever was responsible for packaging this release could have done a much better job with it, as the labeling quality of one of the two included discs (one 2D and one 3D Blu-ray) was completely monochrome, with a low DPI. Not cool, but if you don't mind that sort of thing, then please disregard my quip.

If you like Greek Mythology, and this item is on sale, then it's definitely recommended, especially if you'd like to see the likes of Medusa in 3D (an impressive transfer in my opinion - again, little to no crosstalk, and some deep 3D effects all around).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, especially after that cool trailer..., July 28 2010
By 
Despite a promising cast this is little more than a hollow popcorn flick, heavily laden with CGI effects. To me there is nothing more tiresome than the overuse of computer effects, but I know there are plenty of people who could easily have their whole film done in this manner so it's a personal preference. The various creatures are amazing, to be sure. But the plot does little than rush from one battle to the next with little room from any developments. There is little to engage the audience beyond the momentum of getting to the next surge of adrenaline. There is also no room for character development. Pete Postlethwaite was a breath of fresh air, but his appearance was brief. Either way you can decide how to take it. As pure fun, an epic spectacle of man battling gods and monsters. Or if you're feeling more critical and looking for something to engage you, you'll probably see it more as Greek mythology aimed at an increasingly attention deficient audience.
Special note: the only bonus feature on the DVD is deleted scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Release the Kraken!, Dec 10 2010
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Mythology has always interested me even at a young age, the stories of mythical gods and creatures where and still are fascinating to me, Medusa, Pegasus, the Kraken and more. It was only normal that I wanted to see what this movie made of these legends. This version of Clash of the Titans is a remake of the 1981 movie of the same name. Most film remakes today are criticized for particular reasons and this one falls into that category as well. Of course it's different from the original Class of the Titans, which is good because I don't want to watch a remake that's exactly like the original, if I did I'd just watch the 1981 movie. As with almost every single remake this one left out some things but followed the story close enough, just not as well perhaps. I don't think this particular remake was awful or that it was excellent but it falls somewhere between the two, a good popcorn movie is a proper way of describing it.

CotT follows Perseus, half-man, half-god and son of Zeus lives in a time where man thinks he is bigger than the gods and where prayers are not welcomed. Hades convinces Zeus to let him create conflicts between humans for them to convert back to the gods. Perseus being the son of god is said to be the savior of man and must fights titanic creatures to save his kind. Nothing complicated as far as storytelling goes. What's interesting is Perseus doesn't want to be acknowledged as the son of Zeus, he doesn't embrace his destiny even if he does what is expected of him. Those who are familiar with mythology already know that there some things are not totally accurate but the movie remains an entertaining one if you can get over that fact. The scenes where the action is, the fights against the creatures, are the high points obviously. The scene with Medusa was a highlight for me; I thought it was great that they kept her in the same way as the original.

CofT has mostly been slammed by critics and didn't earn high ratings, here on Amazon it is currently rated an average of 3 stars which is a fair rating in my opinion and it is also how I rated the movie. To be honest this remake is entertaining but whereas the visuals were good the film falls short in the story department (I feel the story was executed in a better way in the 1981 version). Clash of the Titans is not a terribly bad movie but it's a little far from completely satisfying and it's hard not to compare with the 1981 original, which I feel is the better one. If you have seen the original or are simply interested in watching it I suggest that you do because it truly isn't as bad as some are reporting it to be, but I would advise to rent before buying. 3/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sam worthington mmmm, June 16 2014
By 
Lorelei Lee (So.Cal originally) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
So this a reasonably good remake though slightly altered from the original, and the Greek myth that inspired it. CG animation has made my dreams come true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mythical action, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
If you like the Greek mythology stuff you'll enjoy this. I enjoyed it for the action. And, Sam Worthington is a great actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a shade on Harryhausen, Feb. 10 2014
If you are looking for entertainment this will do, although it is annoying at times. Io comes over as somewhat of a know it all.

However if you want something of some quality & merit you can't go wrong with Harryhausen's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was cool, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this type of movie as did my husband. I would recommend the purchase of this movie to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All right, but could be better..., Dec 18 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Louis Leterrier wasn't satisfied with his cut of "Incredible Hulk"... I wonder what he would say about this one... running just under 110 minutes, the vaguely epic spectacle delivers on some fronts and manages to have a few interesting scenes (one of the only movies where Liam Neeson's character's still "alive" at the end). But the action is very strong and the creature designs are quite powerful, but for some reason, you can't help but think about the actor against a big blue background and a script supervisor rather than feel like he's in any kind of danger. Nevertheless, it's a fun light movie to watch.

Special feature-wise, it's absolutely uninteresting and definitely far from in-depth, so watch, but it's mostly EPK press material (what's the point of selling a movie you're about to watch or already did watch?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still same experience, Dec 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the 3D experience make it more visually impressive but it did not improve the story any. Was good but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) by Louis Leterrier (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 8.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews