Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great work of scientific outreach
Professor Brian Cox is a particle scientist who's clearly passionate about his work. In Wonders of the Solar System, he explains some of the wonders in space (hence the title) with comparisons to phenomena on Earth to make the subject matter more easily understood. For instance, when talking about Saturn's icy rings, he draws a parallel with the Arctic glaciers. His...
Published on Oct. 25 2010 by Sarah Szefer

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
BBC documentaries are always great...at least that's what I used to think. I bought this Blu-ray expecting an amazing documentary with lots of images of the solar system...both real & CGI. While there are some images of planets, moons and the sun, there's just way too much of Brian Cox, the presenter. While I have nothing against Cox personally - he seems like a...
Published on Aug. 5 2011 by Pierre J. Meunier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great work of scientific outreach, Oct. 25 2010
By 
Sarah Szefer (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Professor Brian Cox is a particle scientist who's clearly passionate about his work. In Wonders of the Solar System, he explains some of the wonders in space (hence the title) with comparisons to phenomena on Earth to make the subject matter more easily understood. For instance, when talking about Saturn's icy rings, he draws a parallel with the Arctic glaciers. His enthusiasm is contagious and makes you want to learn more. For people with little or no scientific knowledge, this is a great documentary series that look simply amazing on Blu-ray. There are some CGI used for the planets, but it is so well done that it's unnoticeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, (a 30 year update on Cosmos),, Aug. 29 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Wonders of the Solar System (DVD)
I have just finished watching the UK DVD. Superb, I loved it. Prof. Brian Cox is great (winsome actually), his explanations were very good, his explanation about the conservation of angular momentum in star formation and tornadoes was superb. His explanation of the retrograde motion of Mars was also very good, it was the first time I understood it. He calculated the total energy output of the sun, using a can of water, an umbrella and a thermometer. Maybe he will encourage more people to study physics (he is a particle physicist).

As it was written in 2009, it takes into account all the probes that we have sent into the Solar System (over the last 30+ years). What was of particular interest, to me, is all the moons in the Solar System, all 145+ of them, Saturn alone has 61 moons. Titan has liquid methane lakes instead of water and it has an atmosphere, Enceladus has geyser like events. With Jupiter's 63 moons, IO has active volcanoes, and Europa is an Ice moon with some evidence of water below the surface. With Mars there is evidence of water and an atmosphere in the distant past, and there is methane on Mars now. He goes into some detail about Saturn's rings, which was fascinating, to me as a physicist. The only problem I have is it is only 5 episodes and I wanted more, the next series will be on Wonders of the Universe. It is fascinating stuff. The SFX were good too.

The series is a good example of the Anthropic principle, Cox calls it the Goldilocks principle, "everything was just right" to produce life (on Earth). It is the correct mass, distance from the sun, it has an atmosphere so that the Earth can support liquid water, without which there would be no life. The magnetic field deflects the solar wind so the atmosphere is not stripped off, the atmosphere helps to regulate the climate, protects us from the sun's rays and helps to protect from meteorites.

Episodes: (Adapted from Wiki.)

1. "Empire of the Sun"
The first episode illustrates how the formation and behaviour of the Sun affects each planet in the Solar System. Includes solar wind, Aurora Borealis, plus aurora on Jupiter and Saturn.

2. "Order Out of Chaos"
The second instalment focuses on the Rings of Saturn, and the geysers of Enceladus. Plus the formation of the solar system. Here he introduces the conservation of angular momentum, as my degree is in physics, I loved it.

3. "The Thin Blue Line"
The third episode looks at the atmosphere of Earth and that of Saturn's moon Titan. Plus Enceladus's geyser like events.

4. "Dead or Alive"
The fourth episode looks at the size of planets, volcanoes, and the Jovian moon Io. Plus dead Mars and hot Venus, Earth being the Goldilocks planet.

5. "Aliens"
The final installment covers life surviving in extreme environments, and how the search for life on other worlds follows the search for water, focusing on Mars and Jupiter's moon Europa.

NB. The next series is on Wonders of the Universe [Blu-ray] release date October 11th 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 30 2011
By 
Gary Fuhrman "gnox" (Manitoulin Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I'll try just about any nature documentary produced by the BBC, and this 5-hour series doesn't disappoint. It's a great way to catch up on the pictures and information that our probes have been sending back from the outer reaches of the solar system in the past decade or so. Brian Cox is a physicist, and develops the central idea that the same laws of physics have shaped all the different bodies in the solar system, for instance comparing the icy eruptions of one of Saturn's moons with geysers on Earth. His enthusiasm for these discoveries is infectious and some of the footage, both direct video and CGI, is astonishing. The extras on this Blu-ray, hour-long programs on gravity and time hosted by Cox, are also well worth a look if you're curious about what physicists are up to.

Why only four stars then? Well, i don't think either the script or the delivery is quite up to the level of a David Attenborough, or of Iain Stewart in "Earth: The Biography." The music here is a bit obtrusive at times, and so are all the scenes of Brian Cox zooming around on everything from a jet climbing to the upper reaches of the atmosphere, to an ATV in the Namibian desert, to an ultra-deep-sea submersible. I suppose these add to the excitement for many viewers, and maybe i've just become jaded from seeing too many spectacular BBC science programs. But i can't quite put this in the same class with favorites like Galapagos, or Life in the Undergrowth, or the original Planet Earth series. I can certainly recommend it though! If nothing else, it will renew your respect for the natural forces which have shaped our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Series, Aug. 20 2011
By 
I just watched this series and I thought it was fabulous. The Narrator is so excited about his subject that it really captures your attention. I also liked how he related everything in the solar system to earth and made it easier for a non-scientist to relate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing documentary!, June 30 2010
By 
David Ayache (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
The documentary is split into 5 episodes of about an hour each, very easy to watch. The graphics and images are truly beautiful! The commentator is very thorough, great explanations, and a great accent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, Aug. 5 2014
You will enjoy this if you are a science buff or just are interested in our universe. Great educational value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, Aug. 5 2011
By 
BBC documentaries are always great...at least that's what I used to think. I bought this Blu-ray expecting an amazing documentary with lots of images of the solar system...both real & CGI. While there are some images of planets, moons and the sun, there's just way too much of Brian Cox, the presenter. While I have nothing against Cox personally - he seems like a pleasant fellow - when I watch a series called Wonders of the Solar System, I expect to see lots of stuff of the solar system, not Cox talking at me. And was it really necessary for Cox to go all the way to Iceland just to pick up a piece of ice and tell us that Saturn's rings are made of the same stuff? Couldn't they have just pointed the camera to his freezer and use the money that they saved to create more CGI of the solar system?

As for the special features on this set...don't bother. The special features are 2 episodes from another series called Horizon. One episode is about gravity, and the other is about time. I was falling asleep half-way through both episodes.

I bought this set in preparation for the upcoming release of Wonders of the Universe. I'm not sure now if I'll bother to get that set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not entertaining, Sept. 27 2010
By 
Mr. Lawrence E. Jenkins (Belmont, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Wonders of the Solar System (DVD)
I like this kind of stuff but this video left me board. I haven't seen all of it yet. I can't take watching too much of it in one shot.

I personally like space documentaries that talk about one planet or one concept and don't get off topic. I like it when they say...talking about the sun and show you both real pictures and computer graphics and its effects on the solar system while a narrator is guiding the show. Then zoom in on an expert when you need to explain something. That's not what they do things here.

With this video, think of it as you are hanging out with a buddy as he is doing a road trip and he's taking you to different places on earth explaining how stuff works. The camera is always on him as he talks. There are a lot less scientific pictures than you would expect and it seams to have a bit of a tilt towards explaining what's happing in relation to the earth. Like how the earth sees the solar system is all that's matters.

There are some interesting facts but it certainly lacks excitement. You are better off getting a video that presents a better picture; this is not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonders of the Solar System
Wonders of the Solar System by Various (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 43.98 CDN$ 23.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews