Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing talent gorgeous blu-ray
There is a lot of talent displayed in this cgi masterpiece by Robert Zemeckis, and this hi-tech version of Christmas Carol looks fantastic on blu-ray. Jim Carrey is unrecognizable (both visually and verbally) as Scrooge, but he also plays several other roles in the film, as does Carey Elwes, Gary Oldman and Colin Firth. The film's artistic ingenuity combined with its...
Published on Nov. 19 2010 by Cheryl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gumby could have done just as well
The presentation follows the formula and the dialog follows the formula. There is nothing wrong with different interpret ions of this Charles Dicken's classic. Yet there is nothing unique enough to justify this version. It is just a hum-bug. You may be better off reading the book. This story was made as much for children as "Alice in Wonderland."

Now if they...
Published 9 months ago by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars amazing talent gorgeous blu-ray, Nov. 19 2010
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
There is a lot of talent displayed in this cgi masterpiece by Robert Zemeckis, and this hi-tech version of Christmas Carol looks fantastic on blu-ray. Jim Carrey is unrecognizable (both visually and verbally) as Scrooge, but he also plays several other roles in the film, as does Carey Elwes, Gary Oldman and Colin Firth. The film's artistic ingenuity combined with its technical capabilities have allowed for a more accurate interpretation of A Christmas Carol according to the director (and is as Dickens originally intended). Blu-ray extras include a featurette on motion capture, an interactive calendar, and a wonderful pic-in-pic commentary (with alternating viewing modes) of the entire acting process (complete with dots and all). This is a very creative and enjoyable version of a Christmas classic - and it's highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
very satisfied fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Memorable Disney Yuletide Classic, May 9 2014
OK, let me be honest: Jim Carrey is the greatest comedian since Dick Van Dyke. When you add Carrey's brilliant acting with all it both subtle comedy, the over-the-proverbial-top comedy, and all the effective drama, you really can't go wrong. Carrey's Scrooge rivals Alastair Sim's portrayal, and, in spots, even tops it. Add to that the idea that CG animation can present Charles Dickens' tale far more authentically as compared with the original novel, and you have instant classic material. Robert Zemeckis (of "Back to the Future" fame) does a highest quality directing job, as well. The only reason that I cannot give this movie five stars is that with only a 96 minute running time, the story line feels stunted; there is no reason that this tale should not be a full two-hour production, and I always come away from it feeling that I'm missing something, that I've been some how cheated of the plot. A most dis-satisfying sensation, especially around the holiday season. For that reason alone I give it only 4 out of 5 stars, and I leave it to you if such a feeling is something you can live with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i have been watching it few times, it was really funny as well. this movie is my favorite ever. that why im glad i bought this movie finally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (2009) (DVD)
I loved the movie. This review is more about the excellent service by the retailer than the movie, itself. I erroneously ordered from this retailer, not realizing that the product was in Italian [not my language], and in Region 2 format [I live in Region 1]. The movie was returned with no questions asked. Couldn't ask for more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST CHRISTMAS FILM EVER...., Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
It's a film not only for kids, adults can enjoy it similarly. The shipping time was more than expected. Well done Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bs, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got it and both blu ray and DVD didn't work its a shame I really love this movie what say you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son and I watched this movie together and we both enjoyed the movie. Great family movie, although it might be a little scary for very young children as a parent you can use your better judgment in deciding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gumby could have done just as well, Jan. 2 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The presentation follows the formula and the dialog follows the formula. There is nothing wrong with different interpret ions of this Charles Dicken's classic. Yet there is nothing unique enough to justify this version. It is just a hum-bug. You may be better off reading the book. This story was made as much for children as "Alice in Wonderland."

Now if they could have hired the actors to act instead of just twisted versions of their voices, we may have a good movie. If you think that the cheap flashy animation will make it more palatable for children, you may want to rethink. The presentation would have to be morphed in to one of those watered down cutesy things that Disney is noted for. This Marley looks like it was designed by John Carpenter.

Anyway it passes time and if it was the only version you own then it will do.

Scrooge, and ill tempered spend thrift is awaked to his social duty by three ghosts that visit him on Christmas Eve. Who will get the spirit of Christmas, and who will get the goose? (O.K. turkey)

I only saw the Blu-ray version so I cannot compare. There were the standard coming attractions trouncing 3D. The DVD extras include behind the scenes where they took the time to put dots on actors (motion capture) yet could have just made it as well with CGI. There is a tutorial on Disney digital 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This move has Awesome 3D effects! I highly recommend this move, it's a great holiday classic for all members of your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 56.99 CDN$ 34.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews