Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
i have been watching it few times, it was really funny as well. this movie is my favorite ever. that why im glad i bought this movie finally.
Published 4 months ago by Lisa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gumby could have done just as well
The presentation follows the formula and the dialog follows the formula. There is nothing wrong with different interpret ions of this Charles Dicken's classic. Yet there is nothing unique enough to justify this version. It is just a hum-bug. You may be better off reading the book. This story was made as much for children as "Alice in Wonderland."

Now if they...
Published 7 months ago by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
very satisfied fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Memorable Disney Yuletide Classic, May 9 2014
OK, let me be honest: Jim Carrey is the greatest comedian since Dick Van Dyke. When you add Carrey's brilliant acting with all it both subtle comedy, the over-the-proverbial-top comedy, and all the effective drama, you really can't go wrong. Carrey's Scrooge rivals Alastair Sim's portrayal, and, in spots, even tops it. Add to that the idea that CG animation can present Charles Dickens' tale far more authentically as compared with the original novel, and you have instant classic material. Robert Zemeckis (of "Back to the Future" fame) does a highest quality directing job, as well. The only reason that I cannot give this movie five stars is that with only a 96 minute running time, the story line feels stunted; there is no reason that this tale should not be a full two-hour production, and I always come away from it feeling that I'm missing something, that I've been some how cheated of the plot. A most dis-satisfying sensation, especially around the holiday season. For that reason alone I give it only 4 out of 5 stars, and I leave it to you if such a feeling is something you can live with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i have been watching it few times, it was really funny as well. this movie is my favorite ever. that why im glad i bought this movie finally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (2009) (DVD)
I loved the movie. This review is more about the excellent service by the retailer than the movie, itself. I erroneously ordered from this retailer, not realizing that the product was in Italian [not my language], and in Region 2 format [I live in Region 1]. The movie was returned with no questions asked. Couldn't ask for more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST CHRISTMAS FILM EVER...., Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
It's a film not only for kids, adults can enjoy it similarly. The shipping time was more than expected. Well done Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bs, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got it and both blu ray and DVD didn't work its a shame I really love this movie what say you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son and I watched this movie together and we both enjoyed the movie. Great family movie, although it might be a little scary for very young children as a parent you can use your better judgment in deciding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gumby could have done just as well, Jan. 2 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The presentation follows the formula and the dialog follows the formula. There is nothing wrong with different interpret ions of this Charles Dicken's classic. Yet there is nothing unique enough to justify this version. It is just a hum-bug. You may be better off reading the book. This story was made as much for children as "Alice in Wonderland."

Now if they could have hired the actors to act instead of just twisted versions of their voices, we may have a good movie. If you think that the cheap flashy animation will make it more palatable for children, you may want to rethink. The presentation would have to be morphed in to one of those watered down cutesy things that Disney is noted for. This Marley looks like it was designed by John Carpenter.

Anyway it passes time and if it was the only version you own then it will do.

Scrooge, and ill tempered spend thrift is awaked to his social duty by three ghosts that visit him on Christmas Eve. Who will get the spirit of Christmas, and who will get the goose? (O.K. turkey)

I only saw the Blu-ray version so I cannot compare. There were the standard coming attractions trouncing 3D. The DVD extras include behind the scenes where they took the time to put dots on actors (motion capture) yet could have just made it as well with CGI. There is a tutorial on Disney digital 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This move has Awesome 3D effects! I highly recommend this move, it's a great holiday classic for all members of your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story obliterated - Just hated this!!, Dec 17 2013
By 
Poetkitty (Victoria, British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (2009) (DVD)
I started this with an open mind, knowing it wouldn't be as wonderful as the Alaistar Sim version. I own the novel, and I've seen several adaptations. This was visually interesting and well done, but the little nuances of the story were completely missing!!! Even the more obvious parts were muddled.

The whole point of the story is redemption. And we decide whether Scrooge deserved redemption by a thorough understanding of what made him sour and greedy in the first place. When Scrooge is a boy at school and his sister comes to take him home, she looks like an 8 year old dwarf! And he says, "You're quite a woman, now" and thus ends the reference to his sister. Really!!!! She's a hugely important motivator in his life. She's supposed to be older than Scrooge as Scrooge's mother dies giving him birth! And thus his father resents him and not only sends him to school for his whole life, but refuses to allow him to come home on his holidays, like the other boys. Wow - a pretty important point to leave out!!! And when Fan gives birth to Scrooge's nephew and shortly dies, Scrooge resents his nephew in the same manner. In the A.S. version, he leaves the room after Fan is clearly dying and never hears her parting plea to "look after my boy"....Another omission that is so important to Scrooge's motivations and reformation.......

We do not see, as we do in the A.S. version, how Scrooge's ideas about commerce and getting ahead change throughout his apprenticeship. Another hugely important omission. We see him dancing with Fezziwig and co., some romance between him and the girl and then her releasing him from their promise....We don't see Fezziwig packing up, the coarse man telling Scrooge to come work for him etc etc....And the little details that made Scrooge who he was........

The prize turkey was supposed to go to the Crachitt's house - and in this version, Scrooge and his nephew and co consume it. Where's the charming scene with Tiny Tim clutching the bird thinking, for some unknown reason, that Scrooge sent it? Where's the cramped rooms of his nephew, who's poor but trying hard? Where's the charming scene where the little maid gives Scrooge a smile and nod of encouragement when he goes in to see his nephew? The scene with Mrs Dilber is cut way back - another lost opportunity....

In any case, the little gems and nuances and motivations etc are glossed over or perverted to make way for boring scenes of 'excitement' which add nothing much to the story. Even when Marely's ghost visits early on, the scene is drawn out and bombastic.

It's such a shame that this lovely story was ultimately dumbed down and given a lot of pointless action....the charm eradicated, and the truly meaningful parts omitted altogether. I can only assume that the writers had no real connection to the story at all.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 56.99 CDN$ 34.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews