march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars66
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$56.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 19, 2010
There is a lot of talent displayed in this cgi masterpiece by Robert Zemeckis, and this hi-tech version of Christmas Carol looks fantastic on blu-ray. Jim Carrey is unrecognizable (both visually and verbally) as Scrooge, but he also plays several other roles in the film, as does Carey Elwes, Gary Oldman and Colin Firth. The film's artistic ingenuity combined with its technical capabilities have allowed for a more accurate interpretation of A Christmas Carol according to the director (and is as Dickens originally intended). Blu-ray extras include a featurette on motion capture, an interactive calendar, and a wonderful pic-in-pic commentary (with alternating viewing modes) of the entire acting process (complete with dots and all). This is a very creative and enjoyable version of a Christmas classic - and it's highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
I loved the movie. This review is more about the excellent service by the retailer than the movie, itself. I erroneously ordered from this retailer, not realizing that the product was in Italian [not my language], and in Region 2 format [I live in Region 1]. The movie was returned with no questions asked. Couldn't ask for more than that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
i have been watching it few times, it was really funny as well. this movie is my favorite ever. that why im glad i bought this movie finally.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 2, 2014
The presentation follows the formula and the dialog follows the formula. There is nothing wrong with different interpret ions of this Charles dickens classic. Yet there is nothing unique enough to justify this version. It is just a hum-bug. You may be better off reading the book. This story was made as much for children as “Alice in Wonderland.”

Now if they could have hired the actors to act instead of just twisted versions of their voices, we may have a good movie. If you think that the cheap flashy animation will make it more palatable for children, you may want to rethink. The presentation would have to be morphed in to one of those watered down cutesy things that Disney is noted for. This Marley looks like it was designed by John Carpenter.

Anyway it passes time and if it was the only version you own then it will do.

Scrooge, and ill tempered spend thrift is awaked to his social duty by three ghosts that visit him on Christmas Eve. Who will get the spirit of Christmas, and who will get the goose? (O.K. turkey)

I only saw the Blu-ray version so I cannot compare. There were the standard coming attractions trouncing 3D. The DVD extras include behind the scenes where they took the time to put dots on actors (motion capture) yet could have just made it as well with CGI. There is a tutorial on Disney digital 3D.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
Purchased this years ago when it first came out and when out kids were smaller, and turned it off after about 10 minutes. I figured since it was Disney, this would be 'light' viewing and comical: boy, was I wrong. It's actually pretty intense and according to some, closer to how Dickens had intended the story to be told.

Recently, we decided to try watching this again and....we really enjoyed it. The film was shot in motion-capture suits and visually comes across similar to Polar Express...part animation, part live. Jim Carey gives a great performance without being over-the-top as he can be in some of his films. Highly recommend this film to those who want a more 'grown up' version of this Classic Dickens tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
I am not a big fan of the story, A Christmas Carol. However this being Disney I wanted to see it. I was very pleased with it. I thought it was well told and on Blu-ray with a good surround sound system everyone will enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
The Cgi (motion capture, I think) is excellent for its time and genre - dark, magical, beautiful. It's a relatively slow-paced animation (punctuated by moments of soaring action) that's stays true to the language of Dickens (verbatim in many places). I think it would scare little ones when it's not boring them. But for a more mature audience, it's pretty darn great: a visually interesting character study with an optimistic message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
It's a film not only for kids, adults can enjoy it similarly. The shipping time was more than expected. Well done Amazon!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
while flipping through TV channels during the Christmas season I caught the end of this movie. I LOVE the digital animation, such as in Polar Express, so I immediately went to Amazon and bought the DVD. I would not recommend this particular adaptation of the story to young children as the animation is very graphic and thus scary. I loved that the dialogue stayed true to the original story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Didn't enjoy the movie the first time around. But it has seem to have grown on me each time i watch it. Animation is wonderful, but sometime i find Jim Carrey's voice is a little annoying. Overall, this movie makes the Christmas season that much more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse