Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Garry himself: aged but still funny
How about we get the bad stuff out of the way first... the picture quality isn't amazing (as to be expected, it's early 90's standard def in full frame, at a time when having a 42" TV meant you must have been some sort of royalty) and the topical nature of the show within the show (as well as the show outside the show) means you might not get some of the jokes if you're...
Published on Nov. 4 2010 by A. Buckley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seinfeld for grown ups - video quality is inexcusable
Larry Sanders was an awesome show, maybe the best. It predates the Office and Curb Your Enthusiasm being the seminal "awkward" comedy. It was topical so if you weren't an adult in the 90's you'll miss quite a bit. If you were, you'll have some warm and fuzzies. It should easily get five stars. However, there is no excuse for the poor encoding. It loses one star for the...
Published on Sept. 1 2011 by FromTheArchives


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Garry himself: aged but still funny, Nov. 4 2010
By 
A. Buckley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
How about we get the bad stuff out of the way first... the picture quality isn't amazing (as to be expected, it's early 90's standard def in full frame, at a time when having a 42" TV meant you must have been some sort of royalty) and the topical nature of the show within the show (as well as the show outside the show) means you might not get some of the jokes if you're younger or have forgotten your 90's references (a refresher: Dan Quayle was stupid, Bill Clinton was a pot smoker but not quite a womanizer yet, Ted Kennedy was a drunk and Madonna was... Madonna. There, all caught up).

As for the good... everything else! This is one of the most well written shows Television has ever seen. The show centers around Larry Sanders, a talk show host on a rival network (the network never seems to get named) to NBC and CBS, so he competes with Leno and Letterman. It's filmed in the single camera style that's become hugely popular these days with shows like The Office and Modern Family, and follows the day to day workings of a talk show as well as the personal lives of those involved with the show. Guests on the show play humorous send-ups of themselves, and as a fan of late night talk shows in the 90's, everything here seems genuine. The box set comes with every episode, all of the extras from previous box sets, new extras (including commentaries on select episodes and an introduction from Garry himself who's seen better days for sure) and a booklet about the show. If you enjoyed the show when it was first on, you'll really enjoy this. If you've never seen the show, get ready for a treat, assuming you have the right sense of humour (if you enjoy the UK version of The Office or Canadian shows like "Made in Canada" and "The Newsroom" which took on similar material, you'll enjoy this). If you're under 20... you're not going to get a lot of the jokes in Larry's monologues or some of the other references, so I'd suggest renting a season before buying to see if you'll like it. Another amazing box set by Shout! Also... around $100 for 6 seasons of an HBO show? Where are you going to see this kind of deal again!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great deal at Amazon, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
I haven't had a chance to view this yet, but I was soo excited to see this on sale at the great price amazon had it. I used to love watching this show late at night in the 90s, and I can't wait to revisit it. Thank you Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid package, excellent series that holds up surprisingly well so many years later, Nov. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
I didn't think the series would be that entertaining to watch now that all the guest stars are no longer very well-known (for the most part) but the leads are still phenomenal and the show is still hilarious. Only sad thing is seeing Garry Shandling in Iron Man or other films and being able to compare him to how he looked in Larry Sanders. Always a bit alarming...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST COMEDY EVER, Oct. 13 2013
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
No flipping!

The creation of Larry Sanders was comedic genius.

What a drag it was when this show had to end.

You may now flip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great box set, Oct. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
I've had most Sanders episodes on VHS for a long time now. And tape quality has deteriorated a lot over time. To be able to sit and watch on DVDs and have perfect episodes with no commercials or missed moments is wonderful. My only problem is I did not buy this sooner as I didn't know it was available. I'm finding it hard not to watch episode after episode. Right from Season 1, Episode 1 the show is flying at Mach 2 and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Now!, May 21 2013
By 
Taser Me - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
In the late 1990s, while I was undergoing a major career change, three programs satisfied my entertainment fix. One was "The Larry Sanders Show." I don't recall how I happened upon it--perhaps I was flipping^^--but I became an instant fan and watched it as often as I could.

There is a lot to love about this show, but I will mention inly a few gems. First, there is the loving relationship between Larry and Artie. The show takes pains to depict false and temporal relationships in Hollywood, but that cannot be said about the bond between Larry and Artie. They have genuine concern and affection for each other.

Second, there is the highly insecure Hank Kingsley, a man huge on ego but short on talent. He could be quickly dismissed as a mere buffoon, but that would be too harsh and inaccurate a judgment. In fact, the man's career is tied to Larry's, and his orbit is limited so as to never be greater than Larry's. I am sure the second banana is always a tough role for anyone because he or she is constantly on a short leash. For what it is worth, Hanh's struggles on the show are often hilarious.

Finally, the celebrities on the show play themselves. However, we are never quite sure if they are portraying their true selves or some caricature of themselves. For example, would Elvis Costello in real life knowingly sell a dodgy car to someone and then refuse to own up to it being a lemon and refund the buyer?

If you are already a fan of the show, I can say nothing about the show's brilliance that you don't already know. For people unfamiliar with it, if you like "Curb Your Enthusiasm," you might want to preview Larry Sanders.

Lots of comments about the poor video quality of this set. As I recall, when it was broadcast on TV, its image was a bit darker and not as crisp as many other shows at the time, but by no means could you say it was unwatchable or the picture quality was distracting. I am watching the DVDs on my 2005 Sony Trinitron WEGA and the video quality is terrific. I would say it looks even better than when I saw it on TV, but I am using a different TV to watch the DVDs than I used when I watched it on network TV. Do not let the many complaints about poor video quality dissuade you from buying this set.

One other thing--no flipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seinfeld for grown ups - video quality is inexcusable, Sept. 1 2011
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
Larry Sanders was an awesome show, maybe the best. It predates the Office and Curb Your Enthusiasm being the seminal "awkward" comedy. It was topical so if you weren't an adult in the 90's you'll miss quite a bit. If you were, you'll have some warm and fuzzies. It should easily get five stars. However, there is no excuse for the poor encoding. It loses one star for the spectacularly amateurish encoding and another for ruining one of the greatest shows ever made. Filmed scenes are far too noisy. Maybe wait for them to fix it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, poor video quality though, Jan. 17 2011
By 
Rob Blyth (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
The Larry Sanders Show remains a great series with great characters. It's becoming a bit of a time capsule now, since Larry's guests are celebrities from the early 90's. I was struck by one episode where the guests were Warren Zevon, John Ritter and Gene Siskel - they're all gone now, too young. The picture quality of the DVD's is quite poor and grainy. It doesn't bother me, as I rank content way above picture quality, but might bother you. This is still a very funny series with great writing and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put - best comedy series ever, July 30 2010
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
short and sweet - The Larry Sanders features intelligent comedy via well developed, hilarious characters. The release of the entire series is long overdue. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, Feb. 11 2011
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series (DVD)
I bought the first season of this show forever ago. Now after waiting years upon years for at least another season to come out, they decide to release the whole series. Thank you!!
This is by far one of the best shows that have ever been on TV. Every character is hilarious, every episode is awesome. I will be watching this one over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Larry Sanders Show: The Complete Series
CDN$ 149.95 CDN$ 104.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews