Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Exemplary Cheap Trick Album
Cheap Trick, one of the most unique and entertaining, and if not unappreciated bands of all time has always been a purveyor of a wide range of emotions--raw energy, power, glammour, rage, and subtle splendor. No one has done such a great job of vending so many bleeding-hearted emotions before them or since. Their 1979 album "Dream Police" is the quintessential Cheap Trick...
Published on Aug. 4 2002 by Bud Sturguess

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last a Dream Police reissue
This is another great album from Cheap Trick. Some folks think that this was their last great album. Nice to finally have it reissued with bonus tracks. Unfortunately, the new material could be a bit better. You get three live tracks (one of which "I Know What I Want" was recorded in 1988, almost ten years after Dream Police was originally released, it was previously...
Published on March 10 2006 by Blair R. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last a Dream Police reissue, March 10 2006
By 
Blair R. Campbell (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
This is another great album from Cheap Trick. Some folks think that this was their last great album. Nice to finally have it reissued with bonus tracks. Unfortunately, the new material could be a bit better. You get three live tracks (one of which "I Know What I Want" was recorded in 1988, almost ten years after Dream Police was originally released, it was previously available on the box set) and a strings free version of "Dream Police". Maybe there were no outtakes but I find it hard to believe that this was the best that they could offer. There must be some rough early versions they could have released. I give the album 4 stars and the reissue package 3. It's worth getting but I think it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Bad Overall CD, Dec 13 2009
By 
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
With the CD/Album called "Dream Police" needless to say I think their biggest musical effort was on this song. The other songs are good as well but it's "Dream Police" that really stands out! Van Horn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, together with "All shook up", May 17 2004
By 
L. B. Ivarsson (Rock City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
"Dream police" (1979) is a very good album from the guys who seem to not think that rock 'n' roll is a dead serious business. The title track is very melodic and captivating, and the "House is rocking" is a steamy rocker. "I'll be with you tonight" and "Writing on the wall" show this band's talent for writing memorable tunes, and the ballad "Voices" is just beautiful. "Gonna raise hell" is a groovy number but it is far too long, and you actual get a bit bored at the end. The rest of the material is alright and "Dream police" is an album of rather high standard. The proper rating should be somewhere between 3 strong and 4 weaker stars. I believe this album together with "All shook up" is the best ever from Cheap Trick, and I advise you to get them both - you'll never know how long they will be available, since this most likely isn't considered to be cool among kids of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good hard rock album, May 7 2004
By 
Darian Dennison (Walla Walla, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Many people consider this album to be below par compared to their earlier albums, I don't really think that it's the case and I happen to think that this is a very good rock album but not quite in the classic mode, the band does sound like their starting to go through the motions a bit cause the songwriting isn't as good as their earlier releases but don't let that get to you too much.
Dream Police: The first single off of the album hitting the Top 30 in the fall of 1979 and this is a great song, one of the album's best songs. 10/10
Way of the World: Nothing too special but it's quite a decent song. 8/10
The House is Rockin' (With Domestic Problems): One of the heaviest songs and this song could've been easily penned by a 80's metal band and I don't take that as a bad thing. 9/10
Gonna Raise Hell: This is my favorite Cheap Trick song off of the album and clocking in at over 9 minutes, this song never gets boring although some people say that it's one of the most overrated songs but I consider it being the other way around. 10/10
I'll be Without You Tonight: This is a forgettable song by them but it's better than most of the post Next Position Please songs. 7/10
Voices: This is a wonderful ballad and this song fell short of making the Top 30 and this song deserves more airplay and it could've been easily penned by the Beatles or John Lennon. 10/10
Writing on the Wall: Most people consider this song to be the filler song but I don't think that it's the case and this is a pretty good song. 8/10
I Know What I Want: Tom Petersson takes the vocal duties on this song and he did quite a good job. 9/10
Need Your Love: I'm not really a fond of this song cause it goes on for too long clocking in at over 7 and a half minutes, I would've trim it down to 6 minutes. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars all day all night every day and every night....., Oct. 25 2003
By 
D. Murphy "verycoolstuff" (Warrington, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
the house is rockin'! this is a guilty pleasure. cheap trick in their heyday. one of the best album covers ever... this and "at Budokan" are all you'll ever need from Cheap Trick...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beloved Superheroes Save Rock and Roll ( Again), June 12 2003
By 
"dwebber2" (Bongo, The Congo) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
So I saw these dudes, like 30 times right? So one time I leave the concert in Philadelphia and run into Kenny. Now Kenny swears he's on the wagon, but maybe just one drink, okay? So we start drinking and he tells me he knows Nielson and Bun E from the post Nazz days when they lived in Philly and played with that Stookey guy in Sick Man of Europe which became Fuse ( I think , I'd had a few "scotchies"myself if you know what I mean)which mutated into Cheap Trick after Stooky, and after Xeno. Said they were and are great and learned men. Kenny tells a great story, and this one is true.
Oh, the recording? Well it's all about the Dream Police, now innit? They live inside Nielson's head. And nobody describes them better than Robin Zander, who sings as though Paul McCartney were sitting in the front row giving him two thumbs-diddly-up like a benevolent British Fonzarello. Voices is the Beatles ballad that Jeff Lynne would have loved to write. The title track is essential. Come on, admit it. This is the great American band of the past 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Criminally Underated, Feb. 2 2003
By 
Tim Brough "author and music buff" (Springfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
The surprise success of "At Budokan" bumped this album, which was already complete, to the back burner while the hits ran their course. Likely because of a budding backlash from the post Budokan overexposure and increased expectations, "Dream Police" took an unjust drubbing at the time. But it was really the sound of the band evolving. The almost disco thump of "Gonna Raise Hell" and the nightmare vision of the title track proved Cheap Trick still had the brains, "Way Of The World" and "Need Your Love" provided the brawn.
It was just that the band had become so competent that some of the edgy charm had slipped away. "Voices" was the kind of ballad that Cheap Trick might not have been able to pull off prior to this, and there were a few who viewed this kind of open balladeering as selling out. They missed the point.
Cheap Trick was exploring their range on "Dream Police." Be that in Robin Zander's polished vocal on "Voices" or in that Tom Petersen took to the mike for the stunning "I Know What I Want," "Dream Police" became a showcase for the boys from Rockford IL. If you compare the Tricksters' sound here to new wave acts like Blondie and the Cars that were now in the same arena (Blondie's "Eat To The Beat" arrived roughly the same time as "Dream Police" and covers a lot of the same ground), you'll see how "Dream Police" remains an excellent album from a band in their prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Trick's last stand, Jan. 16 2003
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
'Dream Police' was released in the fall of 1979 on the heels of Cheap Trick's landmark 'Live At Budokan' LP which launched the band into platinum level success. 'Dream Police' is a good rock & roll record and is a must own for any CT fan. But although it's a fun, hard-rockin' LP, it comes up a little short when compared to the magic of the band's first three studio releases and the incredible live set from 'Budokan'. 'Dream Police' was the first sign that the band's creative juices were starting to dry up. On the surface, this album is fine. It rocks hard and offers some pretty good songs, especially the title track and 'I'll Be With You Tonight'. And the lovely ballad 'Voices' is a personal favorite of mine. But underneath it all, the spark, inspiration and cleverness of the band's earlier work just isn't here. There's an intangible magic in the early albums thats hard to put your finger on but it's not hard to tell it's missing from 'Dream Police'. Go into the Rolling Stone Magazine archives and read the original review of this album sometime and you'll hear the same complaint. This album marks the beginning of the end of Cheap Trick's creative heyday, a trend that would continue with each subsequent album. Nonetheless, as rock n roll records go, this is a pretty good one. Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven but Full of Unheralded Gems of 70s Rock, Aug. 24 2002
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Though they never entirely kept their live edge in their studio recordings, Cheap Trick managed to loosen up enough to unleash some of their best stuff on this album. Songs like "Way of the World" and "House is Rockin" sound like vintage Aerosmith,"I Know What I Want" comes across as a Stooges/Stones hybrid and "Gonna Raise Hell" is just plain fierce. The title track (as well as the cover itself) shows a bit of New Wave wackiness(i.e. the Cars or Devo) that made Cheap Trick just a bit hipper and fun than bands like Styxx, Boston and Journey.
Not perfect, butdefinately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing some of the Madness -- But Still Magic, Aug. 4 2002
By 
"billyward" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Dream police may have come to Cheap Trick in their beds, but clearly visions of astronomical success were what really occupied their heads. In the wake of the fabulous "Live at Budakon," the band goes for more mainstream adulation here, though this time with a glossy, in some cases tricked up, studio sound. And about half the songs are glorious, including the title track, Robin Zander's ace "Way of the World" and the hard-riffing "Writing on the Wall."
But a certain blandness also sneaks in. "I'll Be With You Tonight," for example, has all the hallmarks of a CT classic, but never really gets there. Some of the madness of the group's legendary first three records is missing. There's nothing as reckless as "He's a Whore" or "Stiff Competition" here. Likewise, the hook-laden soulful-ness of "In Color"'s "So Glad to See You" and "Come On, Come On" is also absent.
Instead, "Dream Police" is ear candy doled out with an eye for reaching the masses. Not that there's anything wrong with that -- this crackerjack band deserved to hook as many pop-heads as possible. And did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Police (4 bonus tracks)
Dream Police (4 bonus tracks) by Cheap Trick (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews