Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Exemplary Cheap Trick Album
Cheap Trick, one of the most unique and entertaining, and if not unappreciated bands of all time has always been a purveyor of a wide range of emotions--raw energy, power, glammour, rage, and subtle splendor. No one has done such a great job of vending so many bleeding-hearted emotions before them or since. Their 1979 album "Dream Police" is the quintessential Cheap Trick...
Published on Aug. 4 2002 by Bud Sturguess

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last a Dream Police reissue
This is another great album from Cheap Trick. Some folks think that this was their last great album. Nice to finally have it reissued with bonus tracks. Unfortunately, the new material could be a bit better. You get three live tracks (one of which "I Know What I Want" was recorded in 1988, almost ten years after Dream Police was originally released, it was previously...
Published on March 10 2006 by Blair R. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last a Dream Police reissue, March 10 2006
By 
Blair R. Campbell (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
This is another great album from Cheap Trick. Some folks think that this was their last great album. Nice to finally have it reissued with bonus tracks. Unfortunately, the new material could be a bit better. You get three live tracks (one of which "I Know What I Want" was recorded in 1988, almost ten years after Dream Police was originally released, it was previously available on the box set) and a strings free version of "Dream Police". Maybe there were no outtakes but I find it hard to believe that this was the best that they could offer. There must be some rough early versions they could have released. I give the album 4 stars and the reissue package 3. It's worth getting but I think it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good hard rock album, May 7 2004
By 
Darian Dennison (Walla Walla, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Many people consider this album to be below par compared to their earlier albums, I don't really think that it's the case and I happen to think that this is a very good rock album but not quite in the classic mode, the band does sound like their starting to go through the motions a bit cause the songwriting isn't as good as their earlier releases but don't let that get to you too much.
Dream Police: The first single off of the album hitting the Top 30 in the fall of 1979 and this is a great song, one of the album's best songs. 10/10
Way of the World: Nothing too special but it's quite a decent song. 8/10
The House is Rockin' (With Domestic Problems): One of the heaviest songs and this song could've been easily penned by a 80's metal band and I don't take that as a bad thing. 9/10
Gonna Raise Hell: This is my favorite Cheap Trick song off of the album and clocking in at over 9 minutes, this song never gets boring although some people say that it's one of the most overrated songs but I consider it being the other way around. 10/10
I'll be Without You Tonight: This is a forgettable song by them but it's better than most of the post Next Position Please songs. 7/10
Voices: This is a wonderful ballad and this song fell short of making the Top 30 and this song deserves more airplay and it could've been easily penned by the Beatles or John Lennon. 10/10
Writing on the Wall: Most people consider this song to be the filler song but I don't think that it's the case and this is a pretty good song. 8/10
I Know What I Want: Tom Petersson takes the vocal duties on this song and he did quite a good job. 9/10
Need Your Love: I'm not really a fond of this song cause it goes on for too long clocking in at over 7 and a half minutes, I would've trim it down to 6 minutes. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beloved Superheroes Save Rock and Roll ( Again), June 12 2003
By 
"dwebber2" (Bongo, The Congo) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
So I saw these dudes, like 30 times right? So one time I leave the concert in Philadelphia and run into Kenny. Now Kenny swears he's on the wagon, but maybe just one drink, okay? So we start drinking and he tells me he knows Nielson and Bun E from the post Nazz days when they lived in Philly and played with that Stookey guy in Sick Man of Europe which became Fuse ( I think , I'd had a few "scotchies"myself if you know what I mean)which mutated into Cheap Trick after Stooky, and after Xeno. Said they were and are great and learned men. Kenny tells a great story, and this one is true.
Oh, the recording? Well it's all about the Dream Police, now innit? They live inside Nielson's head. And nobody describes them better than Robin Zander, who sings as though Paul McCartney were sitting in the front row giving him two thumbs-diddly-up like a benevolent British Fonzarello. Voices is the Beatles ballad that Jeff Lynne would have loved to write. The title track is essential. Come on, admit it. This is the great American band of the past 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Criminally Underated, Feb. 2 2003
By 
Tim Brough "author and music buff" (Springfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
The surprise success of "At Budokan" bumped this album, which was already complete, to the back burner while the hits ran their course. Likely because of a budding backlash from the post Budokan overexposure and increased expectations, "Dream Police" took an unjust drubbing at the time. But it was really the sound of the band evolving. The almost disco thump of "Gonna Raise Hell" and the nightmare vision of the title track proved Cheap Trick still had the brains, "Way Of The World" and "Need Your Love" provided the brawn.
It was just that the band had become so competent that some of the edgy charm had slipped away. "Voices" was the kind of ballad that Cheap Trick might not have been able to pull off prior to this, and there were a few who viewed this kind of open balladeering as selling out. They missed the point.
Cheap Trick was exploring their range on "Dream Police." Be that in Robin Zander's polished vocal on "Voices" or in that Tom Petersen took to the mike for the stunning "I Know What I Want," "Dream Police" became a showcase for the boys from Rockford IL. If you compare the Tricksters' sound here to new wave acts like Blondie and the Cars that were now in the same arena (Blondie's "Eat To The Beat" arrived roughly the same time as "Dream Police" and covers a lot of the same ground), you'll see how "Dream Police" remains an excellent album from a band in their prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Trick's last stand, Jan. 16 2003
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
'Dream Police' was released in the fall of 1979 on the heels of Cheap Trick's landmark 'Live At Budokan' LP which launched the band into platinum level success. 'Dream Police' is a good rock & roll record and is a must own for any CT fan. But although it's a fun, hard-rockin' LP, it comes up a little short when compared to the magic of the band's first three studio releases and the incredible live set from 'Budokan'. 'Dream Police' was the first sign that the band's creative juices were starting to dry up. On the surface, this album is fine. It rocks hard and offers some pretty good songs, especially the title track and 'I'll Be With You Tonight'. And the lovely ballad 'Voices' is a personal favorite of mine. But underneath it all, the spark, inspiration and cleverness of the band's earlier work just isn't here. There's an intangible magic in the early albums thats hard to put your finger on but it's not hard to tell it's missing from 'Dream Police'. Go into the Rolling Stone Magazine archives and read the original review of this album sometime and you'll hear the same complaint. This album marks the beginning of the end of Cheap Trick's creative heyday, a trend that would continue with each subsequent album. Nonetheless, as rock n roll records go, this is a pretty good one. Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing some of the Madness -- But Still Magic, Aug. 4 2002
By 
"billyward" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Dream police may have come to Cheap Trick in their beds, but clearly visions of astronomical success were what really occupied their heads. In the wake of the fabulous "Live at Budakon," the band goes for more mainstream adulation here, though this time with a glossy, in some cases tricked up, studio sound. And about half the songs are glorious, including the title track, Robin Zander's ace "Way of the World" and the hard-riffing "Writing on the Wall."
But a certain blandness also sneaks in. "I'll Be With You Tonight," for example, has all the hallmarks of a CT classic, but never really gets there. Some of the madness of the group's legendary first three records is missing. There's nothing as reckless as "He's a Whore" or "Stiff Competition" here. Likewise, the hook-laden soulful-ness of "In Color"'s "So Glad to See You" and "Come On, Come On" is also absent.
Instead, "Dream Police" is ear candy doled out with an eye for reaching the masses. Not that there's anything wrong with that -- this crackerjack band deserved to hook as many pop-heads as possible. And did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Exemplary Cheap Trick Album, Aug. 4 2002
By 
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Cheap Trick, one of the most unique and entertaining, and if not unappreciated bands of all time has always been a purveyor of a wide range of emotions--raw energy, power, glammour, rage, and subtle splendor. No one has done such a great job of vending so many bleeding-hearted emotions before them or since. Their 1979 album "Dream Police" is the quintessential Cheap Trick record.
"Dream Police" was nearly unappreciated by critics, many of whom were still in woe from their previous two hit albums ("Heaven Tonight" and "Live at Budokan"). But nonetheless, this album truly puts the prowess of Zander, Petersson, Nielsen, & Carlos right in the listener's eardrum. The elegant dementia of the title track is a prime example, while 'Voices' and 'Need Your Love' are ironic yet fitting, ghostly yet surreal. 'I Know What I Want' is a punk-backlash, another example of the band's wide range of talents when one looks at the hints of glam-rock in their music. 'Writing on the Wall' is a subtle Cheap Trick ruby and 'The House is Rockin' (With Domestic Problems)' is sure to bring on a guilty grin or two.
"Dream Police" is the exemplary Cheap Trick album, neatly bundling all of their wide ranges, then letting them go in a burst of energy. But although their supreme reaches are included don't stop here--an entire career's worth of achievement is still available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS AIN'T NO FALSE ARREST!, Sept. 8 2000
By 
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
"DREAM POLICE" was recorded in 1979 after the band finally scored big with the classic "Live at Budokan." Cheap Trick was a band that came out with a sound all their own with a unique image to compliment that originality. They created little masterpieces consisting of witty lyrics and a magical knack for potent melody. Cheap Trick could not be classified or limited to one type of music. They incorporated punk,new wave,rockabilly,metal,pop,and rock into their sound resulting in a one two punch of pure sonic bravado. "Dream Police" was not as electric as their previous efforts due to the more radio friendly commercial approach but was still a worthy and successful achievement. "I Know What I Want" rages with punk rock attitude and features Tom Petersen on lead vocals. "I'll Be With You Tonight" is perfect pop melody played with ecstatic delight. "Need Your Love" slithers along with a grinding desire that locks you down and holds you in its spell.
"Writing on The Wall" is a raving urgent rocker that displays Cheap Trick's musical chemistry at its finest. "Dream Police" also includes the melodically intoxicating "Way Of The World" and the sinister onslaught of "Gonna Raise Hell." Buy a copy and enjoy some interrogation from the Tricksters. You'll be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST OF THE GREAT FIVE, Aug. 18 2000
By 
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Cheap Trick produced five incredible albums beginning with their landmark debut and leading up to this fine recording. The band would never produce rock n' roll of such a high calibre until the 1990's with their self titled comeback album. Cheap Trick not only displayed a effortless way with melody but also created the alternative sound on these recordings. "Dream Police" would produce a more polished commercial sound yet the bands edge was still intact. Songs such as "Writing On The Wall" and "I'll Be With You Tonight" showcase irresistable melody tacked on with a rock n' roll spirit that is pure ecstasy. "I Know What I Want" is pure punk brought forth with a malevolent roar that is addictive and a joy to hear. "Need Your Love" has the feel of a animal slowly stalking its prey and is compelling in its quiet thunder. "Voices" has the spotlight on Robin Zander with his incredible vocal phrasing and feeling for the lyrics. Other highlights include the menacing "Gonna Raise Hell" and the epic title track. "Dream Police" captured this band in its prime and is an essential recording for any fan of rock n' roll of the highest order. Don't be left out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you could only have 1 Cheap Trick album, this is the one., July 22 1998
By 
Mark Ostendorf "moooog" (Ismay, MT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Police (Audio CD)
Forever fighting the curse of being defined by a live album, Cheap Trick shows with Dream Police why they are much better than "Live at Budokan" could ever show. The title song, "Dream Police" grows in stature with every listening. Wonderful harmonic vocals, frantic yet structured drumming, replete with a exciting creschendo of violins that bursts into the final chorus. Rick Nielson's musical knowledge/ability and songwriting talent are on full display throughout the album, and Tom Petersson turns in his best bass work, and does well on a rare vocal performance on "I Know What I Want". The album has a more personal style than most Cheap Trick albums, with songs and lyrics that will make you feel like you're on stage with the band during a concert tour. Even some social commentary can be found here, in songs like "The House Is Rockin", and the Jonestown Massacre inspired "Gonna Raise Hell." "Voices" will b! e sure to please any ballad lover, and will appeal to most anyone. This album is filled with wonderful orchestration, and is best described as Heavy Metal meets Beethoven, with a dash of youth and exuberance mixed in. If you want raw energy with an orchestrated touch, you've got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Police (4 bonus tracks)
Dream Police (4 bonus tracks) by Cheap Trick (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews