Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$39.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on June 3, 2011
Just a heads up for anyone considering this item. It appears that Amazon has merged the reviews from the "Season 4.0" into the "Season 4" listing.

The difference? Season "4" includes all 20 episodes plus Razor. Season "4.0" includes just the first 10 plus Razor. After reading the reviews, I bought Season "4.5" in addition and ended up having to return it since the 4.5 episodes were already included.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on December 25, 2008
I won't comment on the quality of the show, besides that it's great. I assume if you are buying this season 4 DVD set, or are thinking about it, then you've seen all previous seasons and enjoy the show thus far.

I picked up this DVD set at a store that was selling it early, so I'm able to comment on its contents first hand.

For those who are new to the show, or are trying to catch up, this season 4.0 box set only contains the first 10 episodes of season 4 (which make up the first half of the season (the second half will commence January 16th, 2009.)) This style of packaging is similar to what they did with season two (the entire season is purchasable over two box sets: Battlestar Galactica: Season 2.0 and Battlestar Galactica: Season 2.5 They will no doubt release a 4.5 box set later in the year.

Also included with this box set is Battlestar: Razor (which can also be purchased separately: Battlestar Galactica: Razor (Unrated Extended Edition).) This is great if you don't already own Razor.

Overall, it's a great box set. The lack of the second half of the season is made up with the bonus Razor disc (which isn't so great if you already own it.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on March 22, 2009
I was surprised to find that season 4.0 included "Battlestar Galactica: Razor", which was not clear from the product description.
This was unfortunate for me personally, as I had ordered "Razor" separately, on the understanding that it was not inlcuded.
So if you purchase this, I would suggest not purchasing "Razor".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 8, 2009
I've loved this show since the beautifully-crafted miniseries that started it all, but I almost quit watching it during the third season as it limped along through soap opera plotlines, and unrelievedly grim storytelling.

In season 4, they leave all that behind and the story-telling is taut and compelling again, constantly leaving you with the question of "Where can this show possibly go from here?" highly recommended - try it, you'll love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon November 11, 2011
One of my favorite television series of all time along with 'The Wire'
and 'Breaking Bad'.

Like 'The Wire' this is a complex, Dickensian study of human nature,
not afraid of asking big questions, and meticulously plotted like a
great novel, so that each episode is a chapter in a much larger whole.

Just as 'The Wire' used the overly familiar cliché' world of the cop
show to jump off from and shatter our preconceptions, and 'Battlestar
Galactica' uses the sci-fi series, and the idea of human versus robot
wars the same way.

This is thinking person's sci fi, in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke,
or Isaac Asimov. It's about why we are how we are, what it means to be
a human being, morality under constant pressure in times of war,
fathers and sons, impossible loves, metaphors for modern and recent
politics and real world situations.

My wife, far from a sci-fi fan was hooked after 3 episodes, and we tore
through 5 years of shows in just a few days. It's that addicting.

The acting is all at least quite good, and some cast members are
remarkable, creating characters full of depth, complexity and
contradiction. The writing is terrific, allowing the characters to
change and grow, but always in ways that make sense, creating seemingly
inexplicable conundrums, only to find surprising, sometimes shocking -
but ultimately logical and satisfying - ways to explain where they've
taken us. The special effects are generally very impressive for TV,
even if they're not really why you watch this show.

It also has some of the most tense episodes of television I've ever
seen, and some of the season enders left me completely wrung out and
blown away. I was sad to get to the last episode, just as one is sad to
finish a great book.

Things definitely get a little stranger in Season 4. To some the
show went a little of the rails. For me it took another step into
brave and twisted plot turns that confounded expectations in
the best way. I loved this show for the chances it took with
story, with character, with ideas and with style, and season 4
might the the pinnacle of that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 12, 2012
There are enough shocking moments in season 4 to match any other season.

This is a great offer. You get season 4, season 4.5 and razor all in one package. All the extras are there making this an easy purchase of all the items for the price of one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This season is a bit of a let-down. The pace suffers from far too much contemplation of navels and irrelevant flash-backs, the sci-fi gets sidelined by religious mumbo-jumbo and main characters either go off the rails or behave totally out of character. A few inconsistencies start to creep in too, suggesting that the writers have both lost interest in maintaining continuity and that they are making the story up as they go along rather than having the whole plot story-boarded from day one.

As this is the first half of the last season, it should be working towards a gripping conclusion and a mass tidying-up of loose ends. Unfortunately, it seems to have lost the drive and vision of the earlier seasons.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
This was part of a gift for my boyfriend and let's not kid ourselves, it was kinda mine as well! We both love Battlestar Galactica the remake and since I started his collection two years ago, I decided for Christmas to buy him the rest of the series. He loved it, I love it! One of the best sci-fi series ever made! The acting is amazing, the storyline very addictive, the special effects very believable and unforgettable! You'll wanna watch this over and over again!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
The description isn't completely clear, but for those wondering, both seasons 4.0 and 4.5 are included in the bluray box set. The audio and video quality is fantastic and, of course, the show is too. I would recommend this to any fan of the show!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I bought them all when they were on sale at 20$, I usually hate sci-fi tv show because most of them have cheesy plots and crappy special fx, but it's probably one of the best tv show i've ever watched.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Battlestar Galactica: Season 4.5 [Blu-ray]
Battlestar Galactica: Season 4.5 [Blu-ray] by Edward James Olmos (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 16.99

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Edward James Olmos (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 71.49

Battlestar Galactica (2003 Miniseries) (Bilingual)
Battlestar Galactica (2003 Miniseries) (Bilingual) by Edward James Olmos (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 11.52