Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Glitches....Fun Gameplay
This game has a lot of bugs and glitches but the overall gameplay kind of balances it out for me. Fallout 3 had the same problem but never complained as long as my game was being saved. I guess that's why auto-save kicks in everytime you move to a different area and it saves a lot. The makers probably knew the bugs will freeze up the game from time to time.

The...
Published on Nov. 26 2010 by AnimA

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with FO3 GotY edition
Most people would expect a sequel based on the engine of the previous release to have LESS bugs, but instead, there are MORE. The glitches and freezes make the game almost unplayable. There are things which you have to avoid, like traveling merchants, because they are almost guaranteed to freeze up the game.

The increased complexity of the crafting system...
Published on Dec 11 2010 by MadViking


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Glitches....Fun Gameplay, Nov. 26 2010
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game has a lot of bugs and glitches but the overall gameplay kind of balances it out for me. Fallout 3 had the same problem but never complained as long as my game was being saved. I guess that's why auto-save kicks in everytime you move to a different area and it saves a lot. The makers probably knew the bugs will freeze up the game from time to time.

The new game patch that came out a while ago never seemed to make any difference. The only time Fallout freezes is when I play over 2hrs or something like that. Other than that, starting the game over seems to refresh the whole gameplay. Considering all the flaws to New Vegas, which isn't really big for me because the auto-save, it's still a good game but a good patch to fix the majority of the bug issues would be nice and it's a must since people buy games like these and they expect a perfectly working game that's worth the money that's been paid for.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with FO3 GotY edition, Dec 11 2010
Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Most people would expect a sequel based on the engine of the previous release to have LESS bugs, but instead, there are MORE. The glitches and freezes make the game almost unplayable. There are things which you have to avoid, like traveling merchants, because they are almost guaranteed to freeze up the game.

The increased complexity of the crafting system just add frustration. You are stuck carrying around bits and pieces so that your misc inventory is a challenge in itself to navigate in. Shell casings, hulls, powder, primers, lead.. is this really necessary?? Does anyone even do this, aside from the novelty of doing it once? It really adds nothing to the game. In fact, I'd have rather had the old few recipes from F03 that I could use, rather than the long list of ones from FONV that were left alone completely since they were useless.

Weapon modifications can be worthwhile, but they also added some instabilities to the game. For instance, you CAN modify the pre-order bonus 10mm with regular 10mm pistol mods, but there are no gun models to render this configuration, leaving the gun ultimately unusable. Similarly, you are not supposed to be able to repair other weapons with modified weapons, but you can. You really need to be careful!

Speaking of graphics, there is so much terrain clipping, texture errors, and general items being at wrong elevations or otherwards misplaced to become uninteractable, it is disgraceful. Come on, having to use frag grenades to explode something into a usable elevation, what kind of junk programming is that? Is there no quality testing before it went out the door?

The quests too have problems. NPC's not having dialogue options available, thus being prevented from continuing the quest chain.. It is pathetic.

The trophies/achievements are complete junk. Being thrown out of all casinos, 10k damage healed with food/stimpacks, really?? I know trophies are supposed to be for accomplishments, but really? really?? They're not hard, its just painful and time consuming to get them. They must be sadomasochists. In fact, casino gambling is not a viable way to make money, but caravan can be exploited for unlimited resources. You can easily make 100k+ in a few hours by making the rounds to the caravan playing venders, tapping them out, waiting 3 days, then repeating until you have all the money you want. Then just go and buy every weapon/armor you could ever want.

The last thing that was hyped on FONV was the hardcore mode. This truly is not "hardcore" by any means. It adds little to the game, aside from the single trophy. So you have to eat, drink and sleep a little every so often, big deal.

I don't plan on buying any DLC content. I'll just pop in FO3 GotY and replay that. Having FONV return to the "original" programming team was a big step back if you ask me. Maybe we should abandon airbags and go back to lapbelts, they were the first too, right?

One Sunset Sarsaparilla Star Bottlecap out of 50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game but....., Nov. 16 2010
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
First off the game itself is amazing. The story, play style, graphics are solid. They've taken Fallout 3 and did some very minor tweaks to refresh it a bit but not enough to change the experience. Unfortunately there are a few downsides. First, do not buy this game for PS3. The game frequently crashes when playing for extended times (2 hours +). This is pretty much world wide and not limited to my PS3 system only. I imagine the developer is working on patches but they are taking their sweet time. I highly recommend buying this game for computer as there are no as many glitches. However, if PS3 is your only option, buy it and deal with the crashes and glitches (yeah it's that good). Finally, I will never again pre-order a game from Amazon.ca. The pre-order of this game from Amazon.ca was suppose to be shipped with two unique in-game items. However my Fallout: New Vegas did not receive any codes. I contacted Amazon.ca and explain the issue. They simply wiped their hands and said to contact the developer. I contacted the developer and I am still waiting on a reply for a couple weeks.

In short. The game is amazing if you can get past the PS3 freezing and minor glitches. Amazon.ca pre-ordering is terrible if there is a promotion involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bugs & Glitches, Nov. 1 2010
Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
If you bought a high-end super-luxury sedan that had its engine on the back seat bench, the transmission in the engine compartment, the windshield in the trunk and the headlights on its side doors, would you rate it high just because it's a high-end luxury car? I think not. I would think you'd want it fixed so you could drive it properly.

In the same vein, I really don't understand how people can rate FNV five stars. It is well known in the gaming community that FNV has some rather disturbing bugs and glitches. The company released last week a patch that's supposed to fix over 200 bugs. Despite the patch, people are still having issues (Pip-boy freezing comes to mind). Past Fallout games have been amazing, and no doubt FNV will be one as well, once the bugs and glitches have been fixed. Until then, this game is unfortunately broken. 1 out 5 stars. Not impressed at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best game ever, Jan. 11 2014
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is stunning, i love the choices you can make and how the whole game is completely centered around you. Persuade someone into telling you what you want to know, or kill them! so fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say about this that hasn't been said?, Dec 10 2013
By 
Freefall (Montreal, QC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
It's a great game that you will sink many hours of your life into. Buyer beware. This is a great game that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brayman, March 8 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
this game is the most coolest game from Bethesda Softwork it makes my feel like its your choise to do what you wont to do if you like Skyrim you will like this won i give 9 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game., Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Title says it all. You definitely cannot go wrong with this game. Anybody should be able to enjoy it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!!!, Dec 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Fantastic, a post apocalyptic skyrim! A fantastic game to kill the rainy days of winter on the coast! Tons of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100+ hours of Post apocalyptic Fun, Aug. 10 2012
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is very very addictive. It is by far one of the better rpg games out there. It's not exactly a direct sequel to fallout 3 but it is highly entertaining nonetheless. This game has a lot to offer especially four different endings and countless hours discovering new locations to explore.

It has a lot of different sites and attractions in especially in post apocalyptic las vegas.

The graphics are similar to fallout 3 but the game play is very good... just watch out for deathclaws lol.

I truly enjoyed the game and would give it a 9 out of 10.

I highly recommend this game and I can't wait for fallout 4!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition
Fallout New Vegas - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition by Bethesda Softworks (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews