Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Cube look credilbe as actor, need I say more.
Well, actually I do need to say more. The fact of the matter is this is one of the greatest movies ever made. To begin with there is an amazing cast. Stars include George Clooney, Ice Cube, Mark Whalberg, Spike Jonze, Mykelti Williamson, Nora Dunn, Jamie Kennedy, and most notably is Cliff Curtis. Cliff Curtis is one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood today...
Published on Sept. 19 2003 by Justin Skiftenes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Actually, it's more like Two Pair
I wanted to love this movie, but wound up liking it.
The problem: The writer/director has written a brainy script, cleverly layering lots of challenging and occasionally comic ideas, but unhappily, there's too little feeling. In the end, there's something empty about Three Kings; it's interesting but not captivating. It feels like a really good op ed piece, but it...
Published on Dec 12 2002 by ethan100


‹ Previous | 134 35 36 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars SO BAD I KICKED THE CAT!, April 27 2000
By 
gordon toha (IN BED WITH THREE BUXOM BLONDES) - See all my reviews
WHY? FOR WHAT REASON WOULD SOMEONE MAKE SUCH A BAD MOVIE? STAY AWAY II'S COMPLETE PANTS WITH STAINS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm torn between hating and liking this one., April 2 2003
Summary:
The movie begins as Desert Storm ends in 1991. Troy Barlow (Mark Wahlberg) and two of his fellow soldiers/friends, Chief Elgin (Ice Cube) and Conrad Vig (Spike Jonze), find a map hidden in a surrendering Iraqi soldiers butt. Knowing that Iraq has stolen money and gold from Kuwait they believe the map contains the directions to the bunker where it is stored. Former special forces soldier Archie Gates (George Clooney), who is now escorting newswoman Adriana Cruz (Nora Dunn), catches wind of the map and ends up joining the trio in attempting to take the gold from Iraq for themselves. Archie distracts Adriana with false directions and leads the foursome into the Iraqi desert where they end up finding the gold, Iraqi civilians being held prisoner and being tortured, and plenty of Iraqi soldiers.
My Comments:
The reason I am torn over this movie is because it has too many perspectives and too many political messages. At first it wants you to think that the American soldiers who are stealing the gold are just boys being boys. Then the movie turns them into bad guys. But in the end they end up the heroes. All the while the Iraqi civilians are seen as oppressed and in desperate need of help and the Iraqi soldiers are made out to be both human (by being afraid of Saddam Hussein and having suffered dramatic losses) and inhumane for torturing and killing anyone they can. In the end you don't really know who you are supposed to be rooting for which left me a little bothered by the whole thing.
Also, the acting is surprisingly good seeing as how the last time (I believe) Wahlberg and Clooney teamed up - The Perfect Storm - the movie was about as bad as they come. Perhaps the reason why is that they don't really have to do much acting. Clooney isn't too bad, but Wahlberg just has to play a greedy young soldier who has a hidden heart. Ice Cube isn't particularly outstanding, especially with his overly bizarre fascination with 'Christ fire' that never really makes much sense. Spike Jonze, on the other hand, was pretty good at being the rather mindless soldier that he was trying to be.
Admittedly, I liked the story. And perhaps it should get a much higher review because, in a sense, it really does capture something of the picture of the relationship between Iraq and America in the two hour microcosm that makes up the movie - some Americans are greedy, some really want to help Iraqis, some Iraqis are monsters, and some are caring individuals that 'just want to cut hair', have a family, and live their lives.
Overall, I have to recommend the movie because it does keep your attention and even, I hate to say it, makes you think a little bit. Perhaps as I think about it over time I'll feel that it is worthy of a higher rating, but I just can't give it to it today.
(On an interesting side note, I watched this movie at a unique time - the 2003 war with Iraq began just a couple of weeks ago and raised all of the same issues.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars three kings, July 10 2000
By A Customer
i know some guys that had a small part in this movie...cool movie....george and mark OOUU YA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOT BETTER THAN SAVING PRIVATE RYAN!, April 22 2000
By 
CHI-TOWN (LIL BLACK $$$$$) - See all my reviews
IT HAS TONS OF ACTION.BEST WORK FROM THE THREE OF THEM.BUY THIS MOVIE FOR YOUR DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of Movies, Oct. 11 2002
By A Customer
Terrific movie great cinematography and exceptional acting. What else can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of movies, April 1 2000
By 
John S. "jschlotfelt" (Solon, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
Terific movie great cinimatography and exceptional acting. What else can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great action, black humor, drama movie, July 30 2001
By 
Nice movie. Great for action fun relaxing. Some rising to Iraq ambience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three Kings, June 12 2000
By A Customer
Great movie! Treats the Arabs like they are human! Wonderful visuals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shipped fast!!, Dec 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very happy. Was shipped with care! Very happy from start to finish!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Movie For Our Time, Sept. 20 2001
This film has so much to say on so many levels. Please see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 36 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Kings [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import]
Three Kings [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import] by David O. Russell (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 17.10 CDN$ 14.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews