Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Messed Up
By far the most visually disturbing movie of the 90s. Will never forget the scenes in this movie. very good
Published 14 months ago by Gianfranco J. Petruzzi

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, but poor encoding...
If you're considering buying this movie, it's because you've already seen it,so I don't have to comment the movie, beyond the fact that, for me it's a marvelous psychological drama (4/5 or even 4.5/5). The thing that I want to discuss here, is the fact that the encoding of the movie in blu-ray is really poor(I think it has the same problem on DVD). There's a lot of «...
Published on Jan. 27 2012 by A. St-Laurent


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, but poor encoding..., Jan. 27 2012
By 
A. St-Laurent "Jazzymood" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're considering buying this movie, it's because you've already seen it,so I don't have to comment the movie, beyond the fact that, for me it's a marvelous psychological drama (4/5 or even 4.5/5). The thing that I want to discuss here, is the fact that the encoding of the movie in blu-ray is really poor(I think it has the same problem on DVD). There's a lot of « minor bugs » and « minor freezing » between scenes or even in the middle of a scene. I've already sent back the 1st copy I had... and when I've watched the movie with my 2nd copy, I still had the same problems... So if you really want it, buy it on Blu-ray, because it seems to have less bugs on this format. BUT If you like the movie, but it's not a must for you, it would be better not to purchase the movie on blu-ray or DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable arrival of a difficult to find DVD, Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not sure where this Dvd came from but, it took a while to arrive - as indicated when I ordered the dvd. It still came faster than estimated - a usual feature when ordering from Amazon.,

It was packaged well and came in excellent condition although the Cover was different then indicated in the photo. It was an older version / cover. The quality of the dvd was not exceptional - there was certain little flickerings on it at times indicated that it might have been converted from the original film so not quite as high quality. But, it's a difficult movie to find locally and the price was very reasonable so all in all it was an ok purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not worth the "special editon " title, Sept. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got the dvd. Proceeded to play it. Defaulted to directors comments talking over movie. No problem go to menu select play movie no comments. Problem! Their is no dialogue at all. Sound effects yes actors talking no. Went back to menu. No other options changed this. Only way to watch this dvd is with audio comments by director. Should have just bought the regular edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Messed Up, Feb. 22 2013
By 
Gianfranco J. Petruzzi "Jeff" (Montreal, Que, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Jacob's Ladder - Jacob's Ladder (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
By far the most visually disturbing movie of the 90s. Will never forget the scenes in this movie. very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare on film, April 22 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jacobs Ladder (VHS Tape)
Released during a time when horror movies meant bloodsplattered, plotless sequels ("Nightmare on Elm Street XXXVII" or "Halloween 213-Jason Eats Romania"), JACOB'S LADDER was a truly unnerving, disturbing horror film which resorted very infrequently to gore. This is a monster movie of the mind. You can read other reviewers comments for the plot; I won't waste Amazon's real estate on repeating that. What needs to be reiterated is that this movie captures that nightmare world between consciousness and unconsciousness: that troubled sleep, as Sartre put it.
The direction and editing are nearly flawless. And, across the board, the performances are electric. I have no idea what Rochell O'Gorman means by saying Tim Robbins' performance was "lethargic". His moments of fear, confusion, and sorrow are consistently convincing. And his few minutes of relief at the hands of his chiropractor (Danny Aiello in an unusually sweet turn, for him) also offer the viewer a break from the relentlessly frightening images. However, when those few moments pass, the horror that follows is made even more terrifying. At the very least, this movie deserves a viewing by everyone, horror movie fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ***** DANTE'S INFERNO *****, March 16 2003
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jacob's Ladder open's with New York postal worker Jacob Singer waking on a subway train having just experienced a nightmare flashback to his time in Vietnam. Upset and confused he tries to ask his fellow passengers if he has missed his stop but as he passes them he sees flashes of tails and horns in the uncommunicative people whom he approaches for help. Exiting the train he finds the stairs to the subway locked and on crossing the tracks he narrowly misses being hit by a train coming in the other direction and whilst lying on the track he witnesses yet more disturbing images as the train passes by. Unsure whether these images are real or as a result of some form of post traumatic stress disorder from his time in 'Nam, he struggles to keep his grip on sanity as his life becomes a nightmare, with his days punctuated by visions of demons, his first wife and his dead son. His life begins to unravel and the line between reality and delusion becomes ever more fragile.
This is, in my opinion, by far and away Adrian Lyne's best movie, which may surprise some people given the fact his CV includes big box office hits such as 9  Weeks, Indecent Proposal and Fatal Attraction. His direction is subtle, considered, well-paced and as near as you'll get to perfect. The cinematography is also excellent and the use of special effects are relatively understated but effective, which is something that can rarely be said since the advent of CGI. As for Bruce Joel Rubin's screenplay no praise is too high. It is intelligent, intricate and complex and it keeps you guessing until the end. In fact there is so much in this movie that second time around you'll find yourself picking up clues that you missed first time around and appreciate the cleverness and different levels of the story even more. Tim Robbins is excellent as Jacob, whom he succeeds in making a very sympathetic and vulnerable character, whose life literally becomes a nightmare. The supporting cast is excellent too with Elizabeth Pena (La Bamba, Rush Hour etc) and Danny Aiello (Leon, Do The Right Thing) in particular putting in notable performances. Jacob's Ladder also features supporting performances from Matt Craven (The Life of David Gale), Jason Alexander (Seinfeld) and Eriq La Salle (ER).
I first saw Jacob's Ladder at the cinema when it first opened back in 1990. I had read an article about it in a magazine, which was complete with disturbing still photographs from the movie. The article was intriguing in that it said that the screenplay, written by Bruce Joel Rubin (Ghost) had been doing the rounds in Hollywood for several years but that although everybody agreed it was an excellent screenplay it had been considered unfilmable until Director Adrian Lyne got hold of it. On the day before seeing 'Jacobs Ladder', for the first time, a review in the now defunct British newspaper 'Today' described it as a five star classic and I still remember watching it in the cinema on its opening night, transfixed by the story and disturbed by the images, whilst jumping out of my seat a few times. I have loved this movie ever since and have loaned out my old VHS copy many times since then but what still surprises me is that so few people seem to know this movie or have seen this movie, which to me seems like a crime.
Perhaps Jacobs Ladder's lack of box office success can be put down to it often being classified as a horror movie, which is to do it an enormous disservice. Sure there are elements of Jacob's Ladder that can be compared to the horror genre but it is so much more than that. Complex, downbeat but also spiritually uplifting it was perhaps too intelligent and too disturbing to achieve a mass appeal. However, it still amazes me and saddens me that real dross such as Vanilla Sky has many people waxing lyrical when something as good, sorry excellent as this slips by relatively unnoticed. Jacob's Ladder I would suggest is a superior forerunner to movies such as Vanilla Sky and even The Sixth Sense and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ENIGMATIC PSYCHOLOGICAL RAVAGES OF WAR.., July 5 2004
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jacob's Ladder is easily one of those underrated gems in the horror genre that aren't gory and don't feature a wisecracking slasher villain to appeal to the horror crowd, yet are surreal and disturbing enough to interest most mainstream audiences.
No doubt that Adrian Lynne has provided the inspiration for several films and music videos with its dark and extremely horrifying images of the rising paranoid insanity that appear in hallucinatory flashbacks at first.
As the story progresses the line between what is real in a war veteran's nightmares and what is not becomes blurred, both for the protagonist himself as well as for the audience, and in such a way that you cannot escape questioning yourself during and after the movie. Questions that do not necessarily lend themselves to easy answers. But the movie offers its own interpretations (in a somewhat watered down ending) while still allowing for the audience to draw its own conclusions.
Everything is right in this movie. The direction, acting and dialogue are intriguing. The plot is intricate but unfolds logically at a decent pace. The photography is atmospheric and and the special effects are understated yet effective. The character of the protagonist is developed immaculately, his anguish is almost palpable.
Unless you're super-squeamish, this is a fascinating movie. Especially if you have a taste for the ilk of Donnie Darko, Lost Highway, or pretty much anything by David Lynch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, dvd quality not so great, March 19 2004
By A Customer
I love this movie, it's one of my favorites of all time but the dvd transfer is not up to par. I have the VHS and thought the dvd would be a big improvement but it really wasn't. The dvd has many, many little specs and scratches on the print throughout the entire movie that completely distracted me from enjoying this movie. I just couldn't help it but everytime I tried to get into a scene I ended up wondering why there were so many white spots and scratches on the screen. This is strange to release the dvd with a damaged print but go to the extra effort of making it anamorphic. I don't get it. The vhs is not as sharp but does not contain these distractions. It seems they let the film deteriorate over time or struck the dvd from a different print. The extras that are not labelled on the dvd are a nice touch. A 30 minute documentary as well as deleted scenes and a full commentary by the director. There are actually more deleted scenes from the film that were not included but can be partially seen in the documentary for some reason. Overall, the poor transfer gives me second thoughts about recommending this awesome movie. Hopefully it will be rereleased at some point with a cleaner print and the rest of the deleted scenes. I give the movie itself 5 starts but this particular dvd version only gets a 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Movie Intelligent Enough for an Honors English Class to Study, Nov. 13 2006
To call Jacobs Ladder a "horror" movie is a crime. It is so much more. Part psychological thriller, part philosophical journey of dying and part character fed drama, this movie is as good as Hollywood gets.

Many called Tim Robbins portrayal of Jacob Singer, "lethargic" and I couldn't disagree more. Most reviewers fail to realize that the character Jacob was a highly educated, self-controlled man completly unsure of what is happening to him let alone how to react to it and Robbins pulls it off with precision. Actually, Robbins subdued acting technique made the horrors of his psychological torment even that much more of an impact. You feel for his character from the beginning of his macabre saga to the final ending scene where Jacob finally finds eternal peace.

But it is one of those movies where the intelligent moviegoer really gets a bang for his or hers buck. You basically understand that, whether real or not, Jacob is facing death. The subtle metaphors and symbolism in this film are as engrossing as the cinematography and directing. Part of the moviegoer's journey is playing detective and discovering what symbolizes what. For example, towards the end, Jacob goes back home and the doorman opens a wrought iron gate (heavens gate) to let Jacob in. That is just an easy one and there are many many more that make you pay even more attention to the story....an ingenious tool used by the writer and director.

If you want to see an intelligent movie that is as warm as it is horrifying, a movie that makes you ask questions about death, dying and life itself than see Jacobs Ladder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler-free explanation of why I love it, Sept. 22 2003
By 
"manalone923" (California,, USA) - See all my reviews
First of all, I don't mean to sound holier-than-thou, but a GREAT many reviews of this film give away the entire ending to the film, even if they liked it! I'm not one of that camp, and greatly respect the others here who didn't overindulge their need for analysis in such a revealing way. Ok now with that out of the way, I'll say that Jacob's Ladder is, primarily, a drama, the story of Jacob, a Vietnam vet who is beginning to have troubling nightmares and hallucenations in which his real world is abruptly visited by what appear to be demons. This is where the scares are genuinely startling, enough to classify this film generically as a horror flick even though it isn't at all. You see, the demons Jacob sees appear utterly at random, at any time of day or night, in places safe and otherwise. And he doesn't see them with such regularity that they become boring to the viewer. Rather, they look like humans one second and then suddenly in the next frame they have abruptly become human only in appearance but with frightening features such as grotesque twitching movements and uninvited facial distortions. Describing it can't give it justice, you have to see them and the great editing techniques in which they are shown to see why they're truly so startling. The creatures are seen so suddenly without any tense musical buildup or cue, and usually also after enough normal time has passed, so when they do appear it's such a jarring shock that our reactions of fright aptly mirror those of Jacob himself. Well, once he sees these demons, Jacob tries to figure out what's wrong with him, since he has also been slipping into dreamlike episodes in which he can't tell (nor can we) if he is living or dead, asleep or awake, and which time frame is the real one. It is a confusing film in the storytelling structure, because it cuts back and forth between several apparently different times of Jake's life in which he has, alternately, 2 different wives and a son who is alive at one time and dead at another. The viewer doesn't know initially why Jacob is seeing things, when he's dreaming or not, and which of the lives he's experiencing is the real one. This is a storytelling choice, and it works. Don't worry, you won't be alone because all throughout the film Jake is asking himself why he's seeing things, why he keeps remembering earlier times with his 1st wife (or dreaming of a different life with a second wife), and what is real. Rest assured that by the end of the film you ARE given an ultimate answer that does make sense, but it's been argued that it's the weakest, "letdown" aspect of the movie. I heartily disagree because the ending is one of the several possible outcomes that are hinted at during the film, and I can assume that it was considered a letdown by some because they were hoping for something more profound, or possibly less profound depending on their tastes. But don't worry, I'm not trying to confuse you. As a whole, the movie is a quiet drama in which we follow along with Jacob, trying to figure out why he's seeing what he's seeing, and by the end we do get an absolute answer. It's worth viewing as a horror film as well (though I've pointed out I don't think of it as one) because the moments of shock and horror, and more than anything, just general creepiness, will linger with you for a while. Moments in a subway, a hospital, and (to me) the most disturbing scene in an alleyway will stick with you, and are echoed in films like Session 9 and the Silent Hill video game series (though in Session 9 the threats are far more unseen). If you've had enough patience to read to the end of this, I do urge you to watch this movie objectively, not worrying what the ending will be but instead putting yourself alongside Jacob and trying to digest the info you're being given. Hopefully by the end you'll feel that the last link was completed, and at the very least, you should have had a good chill or 2 down your spine.
PS, IMPORTANT: Please note that while the Jacob's Ladder special edition dvd DOES contain the features listed in the Amazon description, those features ARE NOT listed on the dvd packaging. Don't worry, if you get that creepy dvd with an appropriately blurry Tim Robbins on the cover and the words "Special edition", you got the right disc. Good luck, and I sincerely hope you enjoy (and get freaked out by) Jacob's Ladder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb36abd20)

This product

NEW Jacob's Ladder - Jacob's Ladder (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 22.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews