Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a charade
Cary Grant. Audrey Hepburn. A hidden megafortune. Three nasty pursuers. A slick, chic thriller with a Hitchcockian edge.

With that kind of formula, it's not surprising that "Charade" deserves every shred of praise it receives -- and over the years, this classic has received a lot. Director Stanlet Donen had his finest moment when he created this funny, witty,...
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good picture. Poor sound.
This film happens to be in my top 10 of my all time favorite films and I was very happy to pick up this copy. However there are differences between the Critereon versions and this version from Madacy. Unless you want to spend [money] for the Critereon version {and I wasn't prepared to do so} this version is good but not great. The film itself really needs no detailed...
Published on June 2 2002 by Robert Bauer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good picture. Poor sound., June 2 2002
By 
Robert Bauer (The Villages, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charade [Import] (DVD)
This film happens to be in my top 10 of my all time favorite films and I was very happy to pick up this copy. However there are differences between the Critereon versions and this version from Madacy. Unless you want to spend [money] for the Critereon version {and I wasn't prepared to do so} this version is good but not great. The film itself really needs no detailed review except to say that is one of the best comedy/thrillers ever made. It was also Cary Grant's last great film {He made only 2 more films after this-"Father Goose" and "Walk Don't Run"}. He is so suave and debonair that he could give James Bond a run for his money. Also Audrey Hepburn, James Coburn, George Kennedy, and Walter Matthau give excellent performances. I was very suprised about the film quality {I expected worse} however the films sound is quite muddled and hard to understand. There are no real bonuses except for the theatrical trailer, and a trivia game that's not really worth mentioning. There is also a second film included bearing the same name that stars James Mason and Pamela Mason. There is no connection to the Cary Grant version. The quality of that film is much worse and you can see it once and never worry about it again. It is in b+w and was made in 1953. To sum it all up if you don't want to spend alot more money this is an ok version for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a charade, Feb. 20 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Charade (DVD)
Cary Grant. Audrey Hepburn. A hidden megafortune. Three nasty pursuers. A slick, chic thriller with a Hitchcockian edge.

With that kind of formula, it's not surprising that "Charade" deserves every shred of praise it receives -- and over the years, this classic has received a lot. Director Stanlet Donen had his finest moment when he created this funny, witty, tightly-plotted little thriller, where you're left with questions right up to the final scene.

While on vacation at a ski lodge, Regina Lampert (Hepburn) decides to get a divorce. But when she returns home, she finds that her husband has been tossed off a train -- and even stranger, she finds that he was mixed up in a gold robbery many years ago. To get her mind off her problems, Reggie goes out on the town with Peter Joshua (Grant), a guy she met at the resort.

But during her outing, she's cornered by three strange, creepy men -- and the worst part is, she finds that Joshua may be in on their plot. Unsure whom to trust, Reggie starts digging to find out where the gold is -- and then her pursuers are murdered one by one. Will she be the next target?

It's a sharp, taut little thriller, reminiscent of the more commercial thrillers by Hitchcock, though set in a chic 1960s Paris setting, and with a New Wave edge. Stanlet Donen did mostly comedies in his career, which makes the tight plot and wry wit of this movie stand out even more.

The movie moving along at a fairly steady pace, with one or two dead spots, but mostly just following the twisted plot threads. There are some really harrowing moments, like Regina being attacked by the Hook-man. By the tense finale, a lot of the odd little clues suddenly fall into place, especially the murder of the three thugs. It's a brilliant piece of scripting, even if the storyline is a bit unreal.

Fortunately it's not all spy-thrills and revenge. Donen could change from action to horror to comedy in a moment, and he keeps the quieter moments lively with funny dialogue and some sophisticated slapstick, like Grant showering fully-clad. The witty dialogue is full of glorious one-liners. "You won't be able to lie on your back for awhile," Reggie quips, "but then you can lie from any position."

Though Grant wasn't wholly comfortable playing opposite Hepburn, the two actors have kinetic chemistry. Whether they're goofing off, or chasing a kiss in a nightclub, they feel entirely real and romantic. Better yet, nobody knows who Grant really is or what he's doing, so there's an added element of danger to their relationship.

This tightly-plotted, fast-moving thriller deserves to be as well-loved as it is, and cinephiles should be ashamed of themselves if they haven't yet seen it. A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb tongue in cheek suspense thriller, Aug. 3 2002
By 
Gary M. Greenbaum (Fairfax, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charade [Import] (DVD)
Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn star in this classic thriller. Regina Lambert, wife of a wealthy Parisian, returns from a ski vacation to find that her husband has fled--unsuccessfully, as he's been murdered while en route by train. He has thoughtfully saved his widow-to-be the bother of an estate sale, having sold all his household goods, leaving her an empty apartment and the question of where his money have gone. But she's not the only one looking--seems he stole his money from the U.S. Government during World War II, and both the U.S. and Charles' co-conspirators would like the money. In fact, seems someone is prepared to kill for it . . . again.
An absolute delight. The funeral scene is one of the funniest on record, with one of Charles' wartime "buddies" sticking a pin into him to make sure he's dead. Both Grant and Hepburn excel in their roles, as does James Coburn as Tex Panthollow (I love that name), one of the wartime "buddies".
Let's face it, this movie is based on a flawed premise. The items into which Charles converted his wealth would suffer greatly in value if treated in the way indicated in the film, and I refuse to believe that their very unusual nature could be overlooked by the police (even the French police) and by everyone else who sees them.
But if you're prepared to overlook that, it is a delightful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charade DVD--Excellent!, Jan. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Charade [Import] (DVD)
Charade is an awesome movie in an awesome DVD. I know there are lots of Charade DVDs out there, and I've only seen this one, but it's very good. There are a lot more things on it than it says on this page! There is about a 15 min. biography on Cary Grant, another version of Charade in 1953 i think. It comes in a nice keep case, which is alot better than snap cases, in my opinion! The dvd i'm talking about has audrey hepburn hugging cary grant on the cover, and a little picture of them both running away. The words "Charade" are red @ the bottom....just so you know which one i'm referring to. very good! i bought this version because i DID NOT want to shell out $... on the criterion one! that's outrageous. i think you'll be please with this version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What to get the wife? I know! An Audrey Hepburn movie!, April 3 2014
By 
James Benesh (Regina, SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charade (DVD)
This is always my go-to purchase when I need to think of something to buy the wife when I'm ordering a lot for myself from Amazon. this did not disappoint. She advised me that she liked it. While not a classic in the "My Fair Lady" vein, it entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charade, Dec 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charade (DVD)
It has been said that Charade was the best Hitchcock-type film that Hotchcock had nothing to do with and it's true. The two stars had great chemistry despite their significant age difference and the supporting cast included some new (at the time) up and comers. If you're a Fan of Hitchcock, Cary Grant & Audrey Hepburn you'll enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cary Grant at his best, Sept. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charade (DVD)
One of my all-time favourite films. My old VCR was showing wear and I wanted better quality. The dialogue is terriffis and timfless..
Cary Grant at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charade (DVD)
This film makes me think that it was an Alfred Hitchcock's movie.

If you like suspense It is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic, Aug. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an old classic that all can enjoy. Clean, funny and great actors. Hard to beat some of the oldies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of money for a substandard Blu-ray, June 19 2013
By 
Jamie (St. Catharines ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was very disappointed in this Blu-ray copy. I was expecting a crisp clear remaster like many of the classics that are coming out now. Although the colours are good and true, a lot of "flecks"are quite visible.

I understand that Universal is releasing their Blu-ray of this in July 2013. Guess I will have to spend MORE money until I get the definitive copy that I would like.

This movie has been plagued by bad copies over the years, I believe due its public domain status resulting from an error in displaying correct copyright symbols when it was released. Still one of my favourite movies though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9fc2fb4c)

This product

Charade [Blu-ray]
Charade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 35.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews