Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Entertainment!
I saw this movie in 1963 when it was released. I was captivated by it then and remain so. The kaleidoscopic opening credits are as beautiful as I remember, and the chase scenes-- on foot here-- are still exciting. We will never see anyone like Audrey Hepburn again. A total original, she and Gary Grant-- showing considerable skill as a comedian here-- are magnificent as a...
Published on June 1 2004 by H. F. Corbin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good picture. Poor sound.
This film happens to be in my top 10 of my all time favorite films and I was very happy to pick up this copy. However there are differences between the Critereon versions and this version from Madacy. Unless you want to spend [money] for the Critereon version {and I wasn't prepared to do so} this version is good but not great. The film itself really needs no detailed...
Published on June 2 2002 by Robert Bauer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Entertainment!, June 1 2004
By 
H. F. Corbin "Foster Corbin" (ATLANTA, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade [Import] (DVD)
I saw this movie in 1963 when it was released. I was captivated by it then and remain so. The kaleidoscopic opening credits are as beautiful as I remember, and the chase scenes-- on foot here-- are still exciting. We will never see anyone like Audrey Hepburn again. A total original, she and Gary Grant-- showing considerable skill as a comedian here-- are magnificent as a couple, having both style and electricity, often forgotten qualities in many of today's leading actors. Heburn and Grant are assisted by the likes of James Coburn, a young Walter Matthau and George Kennedy in supporting roles. Then there's Henry Mancini's score and direction by Stanley Donen. The plot takes many interesting twists and turns as Ms. Hepburn tries to figure out just who the dashing Mr. Grant really is-- a criminal or her savior or perhaps both or neither.
If you've seen this movie before, you'll enjoy a replay. If this is your first time, you'll in for a real treat, a delightful way to spend an evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good picture. Poor sound., June 2 2002
By 
Robert Bauer (The Villages, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade [Import] (DVD)
This film happens to be in my top 10 of my all time favorite films and I was very happy to pick up this copy. However there are differences between the Critereon versions and this version from Madacy. Unless you want to spend [money] for the Critereon version {and I wasn't prepared to do so} this version is good but not great. The film itself really needs no detailed review except to say that is one of the best comedy/thrillers ever made. It was also Cary Grant's last great film {He made only 2 more films after this-"Father Goose" and "Walk Don't Run"}. He is so suave and debonair that he could give James Bond a run for his money. Also Audrey Hepburn, James Coburn, George Kennedy, and Walter Matthau give excellent performances. I was very suprised about the film quality {I expected worse} however the films sound is quite muddled and hard to understand. There are no real bonuses except for the theatrical trailer, and a trivia game that's not really worth mentioning. There is also a second film included bearing the same name that stars James Mason and Pamela Mason. There is no connection to the Cary Grant version. The quality of that film is much worse and you can see it once and never worry about it again. It is in b+w and was made in 1953. To sum it all up if you don't want to spend alot more money this is an ok version for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb tongue in cheek suspense thriller, Aug. 3 2002
By 
Gary M. Greenbaum (Fairfax, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade [Import] (DVD)
Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn star in this classic thriller. Regina Lambert, wife of a wealthy Parisian, returns from a ski vacation to find that her husband has fled--unsuccessfully, as he's been murdered while en route by train. He has thoughtfully saved his widow-to-be the bother of an estate sale, having sold all his household goods, leaving her an empty apartment and the question of where his money have gone. But she's not the only one looking--seems he stole his money from the U.S. Government during World War II, and both the U.S. and Charles' co-conspirators would like the money. In fact, seems someone is prepared to kill for it . . . again.
An absolute delight. The funeral scene is one of the funniest on record, with one of Charles' wartime "buddies" sticking a pin into him to make sure he's dead. Both Grant and Hepburn excel in their roles, as does James Coburn as Tex Panthollow (I love that name), one of the wartime "buddies".
Let's face it, this movie is based on a flawed premise. The items into which Charles converted his wealth would suffer greatly in value if treated in the way indicated in the film, and I refuse to believe that their very unusual nature could be overlooked by the police (even the French police) and by everyone else who sees them.
But if you're prepared to overlook that, it is a delightful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charade DVD--Excellent!, Jan. 26 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Charade [Import] (DVD)
Charade is an awesome movie in an awesome DVD. I know there are lots of Charade DVDs out there, and I've only seen this one, but it's very good. There are a lot more things on it than it says on this page! There is about a 15 min. biography on Cary Grant, another version of Charade in 1953 i think. It comes in a nice keep case, which is alot better than snap cases, in my opinion! The dvd i'm talking about has audrey hepburn hugging cary grant on the cover, and a little picture of them both running away. The words "Charade" are red @ the bottom....just so you know which one i'm referring to. very good! i bought this version because i DID NOT want to shell out $... on the criterion one! that's outrageous. i think you'll be please with this version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "You fell for her like an egg from a tall chicken", Aug. 19 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade (DVD)
Beginning credits play a Henry Mancini's score and we are swept back to the sixties.

The opening scene is of a metro train rolling down the track in Europe. A body is tossed off. Then a flash to a ski resort where a hand with a Luger-Parabelum is being lowered and aimed directly between Reggie's (Audrey Hepburn) eyes.

Turns out that the body from the train was that of Reggie's husband, Charles Lambert. At the funeral a strange selection of sinister characters one by one check to be sure Charles is really deceased.

Looks like Charles left with something of theirs and they want it back. Everyone except Reggie knows that she has it. In the process of retrieval Carry Grant appears to be helping her; however his name and occupation seems to change periodically, hence the title "Charade."

Many people will be dispatched in unique and creative ways. What is everyone after and will Reggie find it before it is too late for her?

The criterion edition has a voiceover track of director Stanley Donen and screenwriter Peter Stone discussing the film. Most of it sounds like rattling. However once in a while there is a useful piece of information. Such as the gloved hand with the Luger in the beginning scene was a man's hand so you would not suspect the next scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "You fell for her like an egg from a tall chicken", July 2 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade (DVD)
Beginning credits play a Henry Mancini's score and we are swept back to the sixties.

The opening scene is of a metro train rolling down the track in Europe. A body is tossed off. Then a flash to a ski resort where a hand with a Luger-Parabelum is being lowered and aimed directly between Reggie's (Audrey Hepburn) eyes.

Turns out that the body from the train was that of Reggie's husband, Charles Lambert. At the funeral a strange selection of sinister characters one by one check to be sure Charles is really deceased.

Looks like Charles left with something of theirs and they want it back. Everyone except Reggie knows that she has it. In the process of retrieval Carry Grant appears to be helping her; however his name and occupation seems to change periodically, hence the title "Charade."

Many people will be dispatched in unique and creative ways. What is everyone after and will Reggie find it before it is too late for her?

The criterion edition has a voiceover track of director Stanley Donen and screenwriter Peter Stone discussing the film. Most of it sounds like rattling. However once in a while there is a useful piece of information. Such as the gloved hand with the Luger in the beginning scene was a man's hand so you would not suspect the next scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "You fell for her like an egg from a tall chicken", July 2 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade (VHS Tape)
Beginning credits play a Henry Mancini's score and we are swept back to the sixties.

The opening scene is of a metro train rolling down the track in Europe. A body is tossed off. Then a flash to a ski resort where a hand with a Luger-Parabelum is being lowered and aimed directly between Reggie's (Audrey Hepburn) eyes.

Turns out that the body from the train was that of Reggie's husband, Charles Lambert. At the funeral a strange selection of sinister characters one by one check to be sure Charles is really deceased.

Looks like Charles left with something of theirs and they want it back. Everyone except Reggie knows that she has it. In the process of retrieval Carry Grant appears to be helping her; however his name and occupation seems to change periodically, hence the title "Charade."

Many people will be dispatched in unique and creative ways. What is everyone after and will Reggie find it before it is too late for her?

The criterion edition has a voiceover track of director Stanley Donen and screenwriter Peter Stone discussing the film. Most of it sounds like rattling. However once in a while there is a useful piece of information. Such as the gloved hand with the Luger in the beginning scene was a man's hand so you would not suspect the next scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "You fell for her like an egg from a tall chicken", Sept. 9 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Charade [Import] (DVD)
Beginning credits play a Henry Mancini's score and we are swept back to the sixties.

The opening scene is of a metro train rolling down the track in Europe. A body is tossed off. Then a flash to a ski resort where a hand with a Luger-Parabelum is being lowered and aimed directly between Reggie's (Audrey Hepburn) eyes.

Turns out that the body from the train was that of Reggie's husband, Charles Lambert. At the funeral a strange selection of sinister characters one by one check to be sure Charles is really deceased.

Looks like Charles left with something of theirs and they want it back. Everyone except Reggie knows that she has it. In the process of retrieval Carry Grant appears to be helping her; however his name and occupation seems to change periodically, hence the title "Charade."

Many people will be dispatched in unique and creative ways. What is everyone after and will Reggie find it before it is too late for her?

The criterion edition has a voiceover track of director Stanley Donen and screenwriter Peter Stone discussing the film. Most of it sounds like rattling. However once in a while there is a useful piece of information. Such as the gloved hand with the Luger in the beginning scene was a man's hand so you would not suspect the next scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Hitchcock movie . . ., May 6 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Charade [Import] (DVD)
. . that Hitch never directed! From the music and design of the opening credits to the mesmerizing turns and twists of the plot and its excruciatingly delayed ending, this Stanley Donan picture has all the feel of a Hitchcock classic, complete with Cary Grant!
However, Hitch had a thing for blondes like Grace, Kim and Tippi, so the legend never worked with the greatest actress of all time, Audrey Hepburn.
Beyond Cary and Audrey (and their fabulous chemistry), everything else about this movie is ideal as well. The shots of Paris are magnificent, as is Henry Mancini's music. And "Charade" has one of the best plots you'll ever see.
Particularly memorable are the supporting actors: Walter Matthau of course, but also the odd collection of "bad guys" out to get the money left behind by the deceased husband of Reggie Lampert (Audrey). James Coburn is as 'Tex' as Tex can be and George Kennedy is delightfully vicious with his one steel hand (echoes of 007).
Is Peter Joshua (Cary Grant) a good guy or bad? That bewildering mystery ties us in knots, and is reminiscent of Cary in some earlier Hitchcockian masterpiece. Funny how, good or bad, we still like him.
No one does bewilderment better than Audrey Hepburn. Her husband dead, her very name in question, she spins through a labyrinth of maddening events. However, not helplessly. Audrey always made her characters possess a certain toughness, even as they walk in their cute clothes and say their witty charming things.
Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn was a dream pairing which is almost too good to be true. But what makes their pairing so successful is that they were cast together in a movie with countless other things to recommend it. That means, whether you're fans of these two legends, or not (impossible!), the plot of "Charade" is enough to entertain you through viewing after viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic!, May 5 2004
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.
First of all, there are two pressings of this DVD. the original went out of print a few years ago, It was re-realesed early this year and is virtually identical to the original release. The most noticable difference is the enhancement for widescreen DVD's There are some other subtle differences including an update on the biographic information to include the death date of the film's writer, Peter Stone.
The film itself is very famous and has an all star cast, including Cary Grant, Audrey Hepburn, James Cubrun, George Kennedy, Walter Matthau, and Ned Glass. Their performances are excellent and the film has numerous surprises in the plot. The soundtrack, by Henry Mancini is also very well known and popular.
The music has been likened to the theme song for the James Bond films.
The film is about a woman whose husband was murdered. His fortune of $250,000 stolen from the government is missing and all that was with him was a small tote bag with some personal articles. Later 3 crooks are after her thinking she has the money.
The DVD has audio commentary by the director Stanley Donen and writer Peter Stone. It also has a theatrical trailer of the film, and a biography and filmography of Stanley Donen and Peter Stone.
The first printing, now out of print, is still worth more than it originally sold for and is vbecoming a collector's item as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charade [Blu-ray]
Charade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 36.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews